Photography Nikon D40/D40X, finally, dslr for noobs

fecgoh
post Apr 21 2007, 11:59 AM

64 posts

There are some Tamron lens at The Curve top floor. Forgot the name of the shop.
fecgoh
post Apr 27 2007, 06:09 PM

64 posts

Just con my company to buy me D40X (body only) RM2200 and 18-200mm VR lens RM2600. The total damage is RM4800. But not my money smile.gif

After using it one whole day, I pick up my pana FZ7..... so light!!!! like a toy only! But it have it strong points too. Easy to take anywhere, movie mode, longer zoom, closer marco shot and changing settings is much easier. The D40X you need to dig more. But picture quality is better. Both have its good and bad points too. If I am doing a shoot for my company, I'll use D40X and if I am going out jalan-jalan, I'll use FZ7.

Frankie
fecgoh
post May 4 2007, 06:01 PM

64 posts

I was wondering if we can take pictures inside AQUARIA at KLCC or not. It is a good place to have a gatering or TT cause we can learn about white balance and how to set it manualy and also about using flash and ISO in dark places and etc.... Just an idea see if you guys are up to it.
fecgoh
post May 7 2007, 02:38 PM

64 posts

I got the 18-200mm for RM2600 at Ampang Park 1st floor.

Went to Aquaria last weekend saw a guy with D40x there too. A word of advice, go on week day. Weekend is full of school children. They'll bang you around while you are taking your shots and they smells too blink.gif

Also, if your lens don't have VR, do bring a tripod along. The lighting is quite dark there so ISO will need to bump up to 1600 to catch better and quicker shots. If you have macro lens or close up filter, bring them along too. Base on my exp there, you'll need to change WB mininum twice. I suggest for the main big tank use custom WB. Set it first ah!

Also take your time there. The place don't have lots of tank for you to shoot so take your time and wait for the subject to present itself properly.

For RM28, it is worth the money if you consider what you'll learn about your camera and the exp gain. It would be better if you can bring some buddy along (photo nut like you tongue.gif ) so you can see what works and what not.

Happy shooting guys!
fecgoh
post May 17 2007, 09:14 AM

64 posts

Guys, I need to ask about the AE-L/AF-L button.

My setting for the AE-L/AF-L button is AF Lock. This makes me be able to focus with the shutter button and use the AE-L/AF-L button to measured exposure manually rite?

Now, if I do not press the AE-L/AF-L button, but take the shot anyway with the shutter button, will my camera automaticly focus AND measured the exposure at the same time for that shot? Thanks!
fecgoh
post May 23 2007, 01:13 PM

64 posts

Guys, what do you think of my sig below? Nice or not?
fecgoh
post May 24 2007, 07:58 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 23 2007, 07:27 PM)
Nice siggy! Mind sharing to us?? drool.gif
I'm a bit blur blur sweat.gif but can you right click and download it? Tell me if there is another way. Glad you like it!
fecgoh
post May 28 2007, 01:22 PM

64 posts

I have, but you can see the picture at KenRockwell.com also.

Added on May 28, 2007, 1:29 pmHere is the link:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d40.htm

This post has been edited by fecgoh: May 28 2007, 01:29 PM
fecgoh
post May 29 2007, 06:07 PM

64 posts

wellcome linkokkeen rclxms.gif

Did not encounter any problem with the shortcut button. But then, I dont use it most of the time. What's up with yours?
fecgoh
post May 30 2007, 07:35 AM

64 posts

Shortcut Key = Function Key = Timer Button. Can only be set for Timer (default), Shooting Mode, Image Quality/Size, ISO and White Balance.
fecgoh
post May 31 2007, 07:56 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Kenishi @ May 30 2007, 07:53 PM)
Just got my D40+kit, with 55-200mm VR.
RM2200- D40
RM830  - 55-200mm

Gonna get 2 UV filter for both kits lens and 55-200mm lens this week.
Nice lens coverage there buddy rclxms.gif

supazta, how much did you get it for?
fecgoh
post May 31 2007, 06:43 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ May 31 2007, 02:16 PM)
To all Sifu sekalian, I planning to get the D40x soon. Going to travel on Sept.

Btw, i am really noob is dslr... I pm-ed some of the forumer on the lens and setting they use on their cam... Some advise me to get the CPL in order to capture nice scenery with vivid colour.

Please advise what should i buy together with the camera. I dun think i need expesive kit lens since i still dunno how to utilize it.
It depands on what you are going to shoot. If you're gonna shoot indoor or scenes which dont include much sky, then you do not need CPL. For vivid colours, you can adjust the setting in your camera like I do. But if you need a CPL, get the HOYA rclxms.gif

As for what more you need with your camera, it depands too. Are you a casual snapper, outdoor landscape indiana jones type, macro madness or zoom pervert tongue.gif like me.

1. Do you use flash offen in your shoots? Get the sb400 flash if you do for it's bounce effect.
2. Do you always need to zoom from far? Get a lens that reach 200mm to 300mm with VR.
3. Get a bigger SD card if you can.
4. If you dont have the CPL, get a UV filter for your lens for protection.
5. If you use the kit lens for night shoots or longer shutter speed, you might need a tripod.

Thats all I can come up with in my head for the moment. Better study on what you need before buying. Add-ons are great if you use it cause if not, it's a waste of money. The important thing is what you shoot and how you shoot it. If you are limited by what you have on your camera then only buy the extras. Hope this helps.

Added on May 31, 2007, 6:46 pm
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 31 2007, 06:02 PM)
Aiyoo dont judge the skill of the photographer by looking at the gears only lah. It all depending on someone's skill. U will never know someone with a pns DC will pwn someone with a Pro DSLR. sweat.gif
Totally agree with you!

This post has been edited by fecgoh: May 31 2007, 06:46 PM
fecgoh
post May 31 2007, 07:35 PM

64 posts

It does make adifferent if you shoot scenery or sky with a CPL. Reflections will be reduce or elimated from sceanery. Sky will be a darker blue and you will see more clouds than before. Just remember that CPL only works 100% if it is 90 degrees from the sun. And you need to adjust the filter ring to get the effect you want.

I have Panasonic FZ7 and the pictures I get from it is sharp with MEGA OIS on. With bright daylight most p&s is also very sharp. Dont know if pictures from your FX9 is cause by handshake or not.

FYI: The D40X kit lens don't have VR, so if handshake is your problem, you might wanna increase shutter speed or get a lens that have VR.

As for your future D40x, get the CPL and you'll love it! nod.gif

This post has been edited by fecgoh: May 31 2007, 07:40 PM

0.0185sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:34 AM