Huawei Honor 7 Official Thread v1, your unfair advantage!

alvanyap
post Nov 17 2015, 12:09 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(azeemzuhair @ Oct 15 2015, 04:37 PM)
Here:
http://www.carbontesla.com/2015/10/huawei-...d-5-0-firmware/

It's legit from Huawei Server. I have tested it because I was trying to flash B121 EU ROM but that ROM does not support dual-SIM. So, had to re-flash back to our Stock B100 ROM....

Unfortunately, the same link directed to latest ROM B120....

Uploading the stock B100 ROM now to 3rd party cloud...
beside lost the dualsim, did you notice any malfunction on EU ROM?
alvanyap
post Nov 17 2015, 09:42 PM

29 posts

just now i try to:

1. Unlock bootloader = SUCCESS
2. Flash china official rom 5.1.1 for UL-00 = FAILED
3. Flash EU B121 Rom = IN PROGRESS

seems like can't flash across different model code
alvanyap
post Nov 18 2015, 09:21 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(alvanyap @ Nov 17 2015, 09:42 PM)
just now i try to:

1. Unlock bootloader = SUCCESS
2. Flash china official rom 5.1.1 for UL-00 = FAILED
3. Flash EU B121 Rom = IN PROGRESS

seems like can't flash across different model code
after 1 night test, i manage to flash EU B121 rom, however i cant apply any OTA update after B121...which consider pretty useless rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
alvanyap
post Nov 18 2015, 10:57 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 18 2015, 08:03 PM)
Can.. I did mine.. The trick is to reinstall the B121 using manual update (update.app) to overwrite any other checks.. Did mine already and I'm currently on B140 😜

Did you flash b121 using bootloader too?I can't manage to flash using key combination so I flash by using fastboot(extract out the system.img, recovery.img, boot.img & userdata.img)

Would you mind to share your step?

This post has been edited by alvanyap: Nov 18 2015, 10:58 PM
alvanyap
post Nov 19 2015, 09:49 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 19 2015, 08:23 AM)
This is how I did it (no data lost / wipe)
Using fastboot flash these
1. CUST (change the build CUST ID)
2. BOOT
3. System

Reboot and copy update.app to storage (the same b121)
Install update.app using internal EMUI update tool
Install B140 OTA update

I still kept my old data as this is my primary phone now since my wife took my trusted nexus 4.

Have fun!!
oh i think this is the 1 i missed out tongue.gif

thanks for the advise bro, will try it out later
alvanyap
post Nov 19 2015, 11:15 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 19 2015, 08:23 AM)
This is how I did it (no data lost / wipe)
Using fastboot flash these
1. CUST (change the build CUST ID)
2. BOOT
3. System

Reboot and copy update.app to storage (the same b121)
Install update.app using internal EMUI update tool
Install B140 OTA update

I still kept my old data as this is my primary phone now since my wife took my trusted nexus 4.

Have fun!!
i didnt c any CUST.img in my downloaded B121 firmware rclxub.gif (but i did c it on malaysia B120 firmware shakehead.gif )
where you download the B121 firmware?from modacco?
alvanyap
post Nov 19 2015, 12:53 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 19 2015, 12:10 PM)
Yup.. Downloaded it from there as i can't find other place
It's inside the update.app
Got already but there's error when try to extract cust.img, later I try to re download
alvanyap
post Nov 20 2015, 12:00 AM

29 posts

finally done, haha have to rename the update.app under cust folder in DLOAD as well
alvanyap
post Nov 22 2015, 02:51 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 21 2015, 09:40 AM)
I don't own Zenfone 2 or Honor 7, but I'm a casual reader between this 2 phone thread. And I do recommend both phone to any other as long is within their budget.

I assume your budget is RM1,399. There are better alternative between this two. Huawei G8 RM12XX at Lazada (local warranty), you can use voucher RM100 for extra discount.
QUOTE(minami_ke @ Nov 21 2015, 05:19 PM)
I'll check on the G8.
Ok thanks for feedback
I don't think g8 is a better options, for extra rm100 the only two advantage is bigger screen(which I don't think it's an advantage anyway) & bigger rom, but a slower processor & lower resolutions camera
alvanyap
post Nov 22 2015, 02:53 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 21 2015, 04:08 PM)
Could be better IMHO..
Don't like the idea of fast charging trump over battery life. I know H7 could support fast charging but some people (like me) don't have power bank
I think now most phone is limited to current battery technology's bottleneck that's why they have no choice but to reduce the charge time by introduce quick charge
alvanyap
post Nov 22 2015, 03:10 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(minami_ke @ Nov 21 2015, 09:19 AM)
Hey Honor 7 users,
I have zenfone 2 and honor 7 as my 1st smarthphone choices.
I have a thread asking opinions here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3781542. Zenfone 2 got bashed. haha
As a heavy user, storage is important to me, can l put most apps, games and data into the SD card? Any good bad ugly experience (hardware and software issue) with honor 7, other than less powerful GPU power and storage? 64gb version and honor 7 plus can cost up to rm2000 from overseas. sweat.gif Mostly scared product kena damage or scammed if buy online.
Any other better alternatives? As I will be in KL in early December.
I was jumping from Asus padfone s to honor 7, Asus phone especially zen phone series famous for their value for money, from paper you get a decent spec device with incredible low prices, if you ignore the software part, overall winner of spec in terms of performance is zen phone 2 (bigger ram, bigger storage). However, I have to say that Asus software tuning are terrible(especially when upgrade the os which is the main reason I give up on it), and the build quality as well as design also feel cheap

Honor 7 will be a better options when comes to
1. Build quality
2. Telco receptions (biggest advantage by huawei)
3. Stock UI
4. Overall features and performance (faster processor, better battery life, finger print and smart key)
5. Half year 1 to 1 exchange for screen crack

Zen phone will be a better options when comes to
1. Value for money (biggest advantage)
2. More ram & storage

alvanyap
post Nov 23 2015, 05:02 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Nov 23 2015, 04:19 PM)
hi guys,

interested with honor 7, but seems like a lot of ppl complaining bout whatsapp notification issue

does the issue solved already or not?
This solved via ota
alvanyap
post Nov 23 2015, 11:19 PM

29 posts

I've founded why there's confusion on kirin 935 GPU already, as per claim by numerous review site they mentioned kirin 935 is run on T628 while our actual unit show it's T624

The truth is, MALI T624 & 628 are actually same design in terms of GPU, the difference is on the core which T624 up to 4 core and 628 up to 8 core, which means the mali t628 mp4 which means it's a quad-core gpu is actually a T624 MP4

This post has been edited by alvanyap: Nov 23 2015, 11:20 PM
alvanyap
post Nov 24 2015, 04:38 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 23 2015, 11:24 PM)
Yup.. T628 is supposedly with 5-8 core with older Samsung using MP6 (6 core) while T624 is 1-4 core with MP2 is the normal implementation.. Kirin somehow using the MP6 design with only 4 core so in theory both Huawei and benchmark are correct.. A T628 MP4 would be counted as T624 only.. Hahaha.. Why huawei did this way is anyone guess
I believe it's cost issue as hisilicon only brought rights on t624 mp4 from ARM by the time they develop kirin935
alvanyap
post Nov 27 2015, 01:45 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 26 2015, 07:59 AM)
Hmmm... Too bad no testing unit for H7. Will visit maxis later to try G8 and 1P2. How about video recording between these three? The more reply, the confused I get. Haha...
well, ask yourself what you want first smile.gif there's no perfect phone as there's always better options.

put G8 aside, between 1P2 & honor 7 i picked the later with following facts:

1. snapdragon 810 known for it's performance & also it's heating & power issue, thus honor 7's kirin is a better alternative in between snapdragon 810 & 615 (especially when 1+2 select to underclock the 810 speed)

2. im more favor of 5.2" which more single hand friendly & sharper screen under same resolutions

3. i dunno if 1+2 is sapphire also but honor 7 is smile.gif

4. Expandable storage (althought 64gb of 1+2 should be more than enough too)

5. Price issue (im not maxis user anyway), for me RM1788.22 it's not worth for a phone that only slightly outperform honor 7 (theoretically)
alvanyap
post Nov 27 2015, 01:47 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 27 2015, 01:14 AM)
A bird once told me that H7 would be on 5.0.2 until the day 6.0 (with the latest EMUI) version is out.. Normally newer phone (such as H7) will get update first..
EMUI 4.0 which based on Android M is announced together with Mate 8, stay tune for honor 7....just dunno if we will get it as soon as china or EU...cross my finger rolleyes.gif
alvanyap
post Nov 27 2015, 10:19 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Nuzzary @ Nov 27 2015, 01:56 AM)
I don't have 1+2 but I have nexus 6p (better phone than 1+2 by miles) and during my short spell (just got my nexus 6p a few hours ago) there are things that H7 is better
1. Finger print unlock - H7 unlock is fast!! Really really fast and accurate.. I was taking it for granted until I start using Nexus 6p and felt slower and need a steady finger.
2. The IPS neo screen is beautiful - Nexus 6p is using AMOLED and when the brightness is high the difference are small but when you are using your phone in the dark / slight darkness the AMOLED can't really find the balance correct (color become saturated in lower backlight scenario) while the IPS screen on H7 tend to maintain color accuracy even with dimmer screen.

In just a few hours I could see things that I was taken for granted on H7 was actually very very good vs other phone (even the flagship Nexus 6p)
Yeah, actually kirin 935 did a pretty good job consider it's actually is a53 core, I don't know if anyone c the detail of antutu benchmark, c it and compare with those beast with snapdragon 810, you will have surprise
alvanyap
post Nov 30 2015, 10:24 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ Nov 29 2015, 03:30 PM)
True that about the CPU and GPU performance. That's why I'm more concern about the software reliability and fluidity rather than processing power as I'm a light user.

Came across with XiaoMi devices, I guess MIUI is just not my cup of tea, but my gf is enjoying MIUI with her Mi3 haha. Another thing is that i always have the urge to try new android version when it comes out. While Mi3 is still with KitKat if not mistaken, so I ruled XiaoMi out.
Miui7 have two version, kitkat & lollipop, mi3 & those powered by 32 bit snapdragon is on kitkat while the rest is lollipop, so mi4c should be on lollipop

0.0492sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:14 PM