4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Reduce House Loan: Knock Off 8.5 years from loan!, Anyone is doing this?

aeiou228
post Jul 8 2015, 08:54 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 8 2015, 12:34 AM)
I do not do OD often enough to be in the know. but come tomorrow morning I will get myself updated and let you know with policies with my bank.

But if you do not mind, may I know the MV and type of the property?

RM390k DSL.
wild_card_my
post Jul 8 2015, 09:59 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 8 2015, 08:54 AM)
RM390k DSL.
I just checked with my Relationship Managers from HLBB MBB and OCBC.

There shouldn't be any 1% commitment fees on the OD facility in your case since the OD amount is lower than 250k. Let me know if you need help with this.
aeiou228
post Jul 8 2015, 10:32 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 8 2015, 09:59 AM)
I just checked with my Relationship Managers from HLBB MBB and OCBC.

There shouldn't be any 1% commitment fees on the OD facility in your case since the OD amount is lower than 250k. Let me know if you need help with this.
Do you reckon these banks offer part OD, part term loan for housing loan facility ?
I prefer OD facility albeit slightly higher interest rate because I can make my lazy money in FD account to work harder in OD account and at the same time remain comfortably liquid in the event of contingency.
wild_card_my
post Jul 8 2015, 10:47 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 8 2015, 10:32 AM)
Do you reckon these banks offer part OD, part term loan for housing loan facility ?
I prefer OD facility albeit slightly higher interest rate because I can make my lazy money in FD account to work harder in OD account and at the same time remain comfortably liquid in the event of contingency.
Reckon? No. Confirmed? Yes. Sorry I forgot to mention that. Yeah, these banks do offer part OD and part Term loan like you wanted. I asked them at the same time when I was talking to the RMs.

And yeah, you have a good grasp of use of OD. It's a good facility for those who can get it.

laugh.gif cool2.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 8 2015, 11:46 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 8 2015, 10:47 AM)
Reckon? No. Confirmed? Yes. Sorry I forgot to mention that. Yeah, these banks do offer part OD and part Term loan like you wanted. I asked them at the same time when I was talking to the RMs.

And yeah, you have a good grasp of use of OD. It's a good facility for those who can get it.

laugh.gif  cool2.gif
Thank your Sir.

My current house is under OD/TL facility.

A question about full flexi TL.
Consider I plan to fully pay up full flexi TL upon full loan disbursement to save the interest cost, can a full flexi TL offers the same convenient and liquidity as in OD ??

mmuhammadhaziq
post Jul 8 2015, 02:43 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 3 2015, 03:56 PM)
For these "Semi-flexi" account, you really need to ask the bank. This is because from my experience, the rules are different from one to another. OCBC for example, the only one as far as I know, allows any advanced payments to reduce the outstanding balance. You do not need to inform the bank for that to take place, as long as money is put into the loan account in excess to that month's installment, it will reduce the outstanding balance until next installment date.

So my advice would be to confirm with the bank, even for OCBC customers since they change their rules every now and then.
Is it applicable on car loan?
wild_card_my
post Jul 8 2015, 02:59 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 8 2015, 11:46 AM)
Thank your Sir.

My current house is under OD/TL facility.

A question about full flexi TL.
Consider I plan to fully pay up full flexi TL upon full loan disbursement to save the interest cost, can a full flexi TL offers the same convenient and liquidity as in OD ??
Term loans with Flexi can be cheaper, but it has a term. You may also accidentally finish paying off the loans and the account would be closed. And it comes with a monthly charge of RM5 to RM20 depending on the banks.

Best to have a combination of facilities, or full OD. Although even without the commitment charges, the OD facility may have higher rates than term loans.

QUOTE(mmuhammadhaziq @ Jul 8 2015, 02:43 PM)
Is it applicable on car loan?
Not at all. Car loans have their interest calculated in advance. You will not save any interest by paying more.
mmuhammadhaziq
post Jul 8 2015, 03:32 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 8 2015, 02:59 PM)
Term loans with Flexi can be cheaper, but it has a term. You may also accidentally finish paying off the loans and the account would be closed.  And it comes with a monthly charge of RM5 to RM20 depending on the banks.

Best to have a combination of facilities, or full OD. Although even without the commitment charges, the OD facility may have higher rates than term loans.
Not at all. Car loans have their interest calculated in advance. You will not save any interest by paying more.
Thanks...
lonely143
post Jul 28 2015, 07:31 PM

168 posts

My banker from Maybank have offer me semi flex housing loan.

Explanation

For example, housing loan is RM250,000
So, if you dump RM100,000 into the loan. (need written letter)
Therefore the loan interest is calculated base on RM150,000 (Principal) + Interest

She said I can withdrawn the money with T & C

1. Minimum withdrawal will be RM 1,000
2. Each withdrawal service charges - RM20

It should be better rather you put in the FD because
my loan interest 4.45% vs FD 3.15%

I'm just sharing this info, correct me if I am wrong.

BestWorker8-5pm
post Dec 5 2015, 06:08 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Jul 28 2015, 07:31 PM)

Explanation

Therefore the loan interest is calculated base on RM150,000 (Principal) + Interest

How effective bi-weekly payment on maybank will reduce the Interest rate? Compare to I pay monthly basis as well as capital dump to offset principal? Any master can advise?
Win Win Inspiration
post May 29 2017, 05:38 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(BestWorker8-5pm @ Dec 5 2015, 06:08 PM)
How effective bi-weekly payment on maybank will reduce the Interest rate? Compare to I pay monthly basis as well as capital dump to offset principal? Any master can advise?
What is the type of loan that you are having with Maybank for this?
Win Win Inspiration
post May 29 2017, 05:39 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Jul 28 2015, 07:31 PM)

Explanation

If you are using M2U, putting Advance Payment into the Loan Account does not necessarily need to notify the bank, it will automatically reduce your Remaining Principal amount. smile.gif
monara
post May 30 2017, 09:15 PM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

2 year old thread, is the payment 2-weekly stoll relevant with current loan structure, in order to reduce principle? Heard that some types will treat advance as next installment.
jrmsong
post Jun 7 2017, 10:34 AM

73 posts

The so-called trick that can pay off faster with bi-weekly payment because you are effectively paying extra one month of installment in advance each year.

One year has 52 weeks. Paying installment bi-weekly will be equivalent to paying 13 months worth of installment each year instead of conventional 12 months. That's why some companies are paying employees additional 13th bonus in order to compensate the extra working weeks.

You can knock off your loan repayment earlier by paying extra installment manually when you receive your bonus once a year too. Same principle only.
wild_card_my
post Jun 8 2017, 03:18 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(monara @ May 30 2017, 09:15 PM)
2 year old thread, is the payment 2-weekly stoll relevant with current loan structure, in order to reduce principle? Heard that some types will treat advance as next installment.
yeah, most banks now allow you to pay in advance and whatever is over what you ar esupposed to pay will reduce the capital outstanding, thus lowering your payable interest (interest is calculated on a daily rest, on the capital outstanding)

check with your banks though, not all banks do this.
SUSMNet
post Jul 16 2017, 10:08 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Nation of Sensation @ Jul 1 2015, 07:11 AM)
Hello,

In regards to the article below:

http://michaelyeoh.com.my/knock-out/

TLDR; version:

1) Instead of paying monthly for your housing loan installment, pay bi-weekly. That basically means that you will be paying every 2 weeks once.
2) Topup another 10% from your installment amount so that the additional payment would knock off the principal amount and reduce the interest even further subsequently.

I'm wondering, is there anyone that is following either or one of the method mentioned above? I'm with Ambank for now, do they even allow bi-weekly payment? Or is there a hidden catch somewhere?

Do share your experience. Thanks!
still the same if u pay by bi-weekly.
worst case u still in loss.

loan 400k
tenure 35 yr
monthly installment 1843.79
interest 4.3%
due date every 1st day of the month
full flexi loan

daily interest 400k x 4.3% / 365 = 47.1232

at 15th of the month
Payoff amount 400k + 15 x 4.3% / 365 = 400k + 706.8493 = 400706.8493
Outstanding amount 400k

Option 1(pay bi-weekly)
Assuming u pay bi-weekly which is at 15th of the month
Payoff amount 400706.8493 - (1843.79/2) = 399784.9543
Outstanding amount 400k

take note that the interest rate is calculate based on the outstanding amount which is 400k and the interest rate will be 47.1232/day

Option 2(offset principle, withdrawal option)
Assuming at 15th of the month, u use (1843.79/2) and bank in to offset the principle, withdrawalable
Payoff amount 400706.8493
Outstanding amount 400k - (1843.79/2) = 399078.105

interest rate after 15th will be based on 399078.105 which is 47.01468/day

Summary, its not worth to pay bi-weekly and a lot of agent is giving false info on this.

lifebalance
post Jul 17 2017, 02:53 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(monara @ May 30 2017, 09:15 PM)
still works the same.

Using the bi-weekly (2 week) payment on your installment will effectively pay your housing loan by an additional 1 month by end of the year.
ColdDasher
post Jul 27 2017, 02:42 PM

98 posts

Hello all Sifus,

So lets say if i took a loan of RM500k, with a bank interest rate of 4.45%

And i put RM400K of my own monnies into the flexi accont, does that mean that the 4.45% interest will only be based on RM100k?

SUSMNet
post Jul 27 2017, 08:42 PM

11,954 posts

yes u r right
wild_card_my
post Aug 1 2017, 11:06 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ColdDasher @ Jul 27 2017, 02:42 PM)
Hello all Sifus,

So lets say if i took a loan of RM500k, with a bank interest rate of 4.45%

And i put RM400K of my own monnies into the flexi accont, does that mean that the 4.45% interest will only be based on RM100k?
Yes you are correct. But you would have to be careful with the flexi account. It is possible that the banks have limits on your flexi capital repayment. Please check in your LO and call your bank directly, because CIMB has made some changes which would not be reflected in your signed LO

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0248sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:15 PM