Public First Macro with DIY LightBox, TRY AGAIN with new setup!

ac98
post Nov 4 2006, 11:00 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

LanEvox ... I got some suggestions (suggestions, not advice, becoz I never used a DIY lightbox before) :

1. Change your lighting, try fluorescents instead. Energy savers are okay but the lighting is too weak, too diffused and light coverage is bad.
2. Use a tripod and shut down your aperture to create a greater depth-of-field and visibility.
3. Light is escaping from the box's opening, increase your ISO (if can!) to capture them before they cabut (haha!)

This post has been edited by ac98: Nov 4 2006, 11:03 PM
ac98
post Nov 5 2006, 12:15 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(aichiban @ Nov 4 2006, 11:47 PM)
eh, light can escape wan meh?

Oh yes. I study light like water : It goes around bends and curves, and you STILL can decide how water flows similiar to light. If light escapes, you get partial darkness ... if you let water escape, you get what? You get BANJIR laugh.gif
ac98
post Nov 5 2006, 12:21 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(gold3knight @ Nov 4 2006, 11:40 PM)
laugh.gif you beat me to a DIY lighttent.
after seeing maniac's lighttent, I had an idea to make one, but maniac's a little too big, so I was and am still planning on making mine portable, ie being able to keep inside a normal document bag, with interchangable background cloth.

A DIY lightbox with an interchangeable backdrop, now that's something new! thumbup.gif

Actually, a lightbox can be as big (heard of a 'lighthouse'?) or as small as you want. It bows down to how practical it will be vs how effective it is. Too small a lightbox and you can't even fit a 10" high flower vase in tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ac98: Nov 5 2006, 12:22 AM
ac98
post Nov 5 2006, 12:56 AM

3,758 posts

That was the part i missed, the 4th point doh.gif

Light was partially escaping thru the rather-translucent mahjong paper but I dunno if white glossy cardboards are more expensive or not. One disadvantage would be ... should LanEvox uses external flashes later to replace strobes and using remote triggering, it won't possible to shoot past the cardboards.
ac98
post Nov 5 2006, 01:27 AM

3,758 posts

Alamak! The lighting looked even more diffused ... got any sample of shots from this setup?
ac98
post Nov 5 2006, 01:40 AM

3,758 posts

Maniac is right, you need more contrast to kick ass you know what I mean? From the mouse's shots it's still very obvious that light is trying to make a quick run away from you. And go easy with the close-ups, you need to master the lighting 1st.

Anyway, I need some Oreo and Root Beer now ... brb ... laugh.gif
ac98
post Nov 5 2006, 10:44 PM

3,758 posts

Maniac's shots are good samples, nice and tight.
ac98
post Nov 5 2006, 11:16 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Nov 5 2006, 10:10 PM)
be patient, my friend, anger leads to the dark side hehehe biggrin.gif

Nolah ... the correct line should be "Fear leads to hate, hate leads to anger, and anger ... leads to suffering. I sense much fear in you, my young padawan" tongue.gif

0.0164sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:36 PM