post Oct 11 2007, 08:29 PM

3,110 posts

I have update the first post again with your recommendation icon_rolleyes.gif

anyway, if you want to find score
you can try your luck in here

http://imslp.org/index.php?title=Main_Page

Added on October 11, 2007, 8:30 pmfor the Dvorak's music
you can find free recording of "From the New World" Symphony in the free download link I have put in first post...

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Oct 11 2007, 08:30 PM
TStan_pang
post Nov 7 2007, 05:18 PM

3,110 posts

At last, thanks to Greasy Sweet, I already found the Picture at an Exhibition, Ravel's Orchestral version...

this is a very good piece, and I think I should share it with other people...
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=T1XKJWGP

because I have upload it to Megaupload, so if you didn't have Megaupload toolbar
you can use the way that teach in this thread to bypass the Megaupload toolbar
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=448282
TStan_pang
post Nov 8 2007, 07:09 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 8 2007, 12:19 AM)
Interesting thread, never knew there were this many classical music listeners ^^
I listen to many different kinds of music, including classical. But the only problem is, i never remember the names of classical pieces @_@
almost anything(not everything) from mozart, to dvorak ive heard before >_>
Does John Williams count? lol he is a classical composer after all =P
Oh have you guys heard Fernando Sor's works? Its guitar and theyre brilliant too! i would list a few more classical guitar composers if youd like ^^
welcome to this thread!! rclxms.gif

John Williams do compose some music that can consider as Classical Music......

and please post some recommendation in here, so that we can share the great music together biggrin.gif
TStan_pang
post Nov 8 2007, 01:18 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Nov 8 2007, 11:13 AM)
These are the songs that are playing in my short play list now.

Camille Saint-Sans - Bacchanale Samson and Delilah

Peter Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture and Overture-Fantasy (From Romeo And Juliet) icon_rolleyes.gif
Camille Saint-Sans - Samson and Delilah
this is an Opera...
and you recommend the dance in ACT III, Bacchanale ??

anyway, I didn't found the recording in classiccat...... and never heard before tongue.gif

for the Tchaikovsky's music, have you try the Piano Concerto No. 1??
TStan_pang
post Dec 5 2007, 09:58 PM

3,110 posts

although it is not good to promote blog in here sweat.gif

but here is some blog that dedicated to classical music and made up by us:

my classical music blog
http://myclassical.blogspot.com/

Greasy Sweet classical music blog
http://www.mradagio.blogspot.com/

if anyone also have made a blog dedicated to classical music
can post in here too!! smile.gif
TStan_pang
post Jan 10 2008, 12:40 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(MoriJenn @ Jan 9 2008, 06:14 PM)
Anyone heard of Nessun Dorma? I'm looking for it. sweat.gif All the download website are charging.. sad.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VATmgtmR5o4

This is the Nessun Dorma I always listen to
go to http://keepvid.com/ and download this video... thats what I do...
If you want the mp3, especially from Pavarotti... I think need to pay...

Last times someone give me the link to his mp3, but just 64kbps... sweat.gif
TStan_pang
post Jan 10 2008, 05:04 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 10 2008, 04:35 PM)
pavarotti good?

ps" sorry tat day couldnt make it as i was in a rush & get ur sms aldy too late.  notworthy.gif
of course good la...
he is one of the 3 Tenor that is famous around the world... just died on last year only...... cry.gif
TStan_pang
post Mar 9 2008, 07:52 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(tchaikovsky @ Mar 9 2008, 03:18 PM)
i like Mozart's pieces..help increase our intelligent quotient while listening to his music
Your nickname is "tchaikovsky" but you tell us that you like Mozart's music piece...... sweat.gif

Welcome to this thread rclxms.gif
can tell us what music you like and recommend it to us??
TStan_pang
post Mar 18 2008, 05:19 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ Mar 10 2008, 01:09 PM)
emmm... no one listen Franz Joseph Haydn ?
didn't notice this post......

he is one of the most famous composer in Classical Era, but I never listen to his work before tongue.gif
or maybe just have 1: Clock Symphony... thats all
TStan_pang
post Apr 19 2008, 10:55 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(do_or_die @ Apr 14 2008, 03:07 AM)
hlo. big fan of chopin here. anyone here has his nocturne op.9 no. 2 music ? I have problem looking for it.  hmm.gif
Didn't notice this post

You can find it on here
http://www.classiccat.net/chopin_f/9.htm
TStan_pang
post Apr 25 2008, 11:48 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ Apr 25 2008, 10:48 AM)
this thread looks dead.... zzzzZZzz

any one listen to opera or tenor/ soprano singer?

Recently was introduced to Andrea Bocelli... damn keng
Try this...
http://www.imeem.com/people/gIZ4rS/music/r..._la_sonnambula/

Added on April 25, 2008, 11:51 amBy the way, I will "watching" to the Nielson's Symphony No. 4 "The Inextinguishable" on next week...
hope can meet any classical music fellow at there... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Apr 25 2008, 11:51 AM
TStan_pang
post Apr 25 2008, 12:40 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ Apr 25 2008, 12:38 PM)
u mean at PMO?
Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
MPO

not PMO... sweat.gif

They will perform "The Inextinguishable" on 3th and 4th of May
It is famous because of timpani duel on the finale...
TStan_pang
post Apr 25 2008, 01:17 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ Apr 25 2008, 12:52 PM)
Oops....  laugh.gif  my mistake.. should be MPO.  I went MPO once only with my brother and sis.
modern period composer... emm...  interesting.

I prefer romantic period composer  icon_rolleyes.gif .  Baroque make me sleepy.  tongue.gif
I also prefer Romantic Era's composer. But I don't think Baroque Era's music will makes me feel sleepy...

Try visit Kinokuniya in KLCC
there got a lot of Baroque string music, very nice!! thumbup.gif
TStan_pang
post May 5 2008, 05:01 PM

3,110 posts

Anyone listen to MPO's performance on 3rd and 4th of May?? <--- (It is over)

They perform:
Elgar's In the South
Duddell's Ruby
Nielson's "The Inextinguishable" Symphony No. 4

From all the above, I impress with the timpani duel in "The Inextinguishable" and also the percussion's music in Ruby.

I would strongly recommend the Duddell's Ruby!! This music piece is very nice, and the percussionist, Colin Currie have receive (I think is) 5 ovations!!

Next on the list MUST WATCH/LISTEN
12 Jul Sat 8.30pm
Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
Matthias Bamert conductor
Indra Thomas soprano
Natascha Petrinsky mezzo soprano
Paul Austin Kelly tenor
Pauls Putninš bass baritone
Melbourne Chorale

BEETHOVEN Symphony No.8 in F (Op.93)
BEETHOVEN Symphony No.9 in D minor (Op.125) "Choral"

Pre-Concert Event: 7.30pm

RM95 | RM75 | RM55 | RM25

This post has been edited by tan_pang: May 5 2008, 05:01 PM
TStan_pang
post May 6 2008, 11:57 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ May 5 2008, 05:19 PM)
yea.. my bro and sis are thinking whether we should go for the July 12 MPO Beethoven event.  Very tempting
I wil go on 13rd of July, 3pm afternoon...

If you watch (or should say "listen" tongue.gif ) on 13rd of July too, then we can meet each other...
TStan_pang
post May 7 2008, 02:57 PM

3,110 posts

Just now I have went to KLCC Box Office and bought the ticket for 13rd of July

I fell surprise when the person that selling ticket said just got Upper circle D1-D5 left... other full... even the "Stalls" also full...

So, I guess, if you going to buy the ticket now, they probably will tell you it been sold out...
TStan_pang
post May 18 2008, 11:56 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ May 17 2008, 01:49 PM)
yea... expected liao.  they playing symphonies from one of the world most famous composer wor.
em.... upper circle D1-D5 = box seat?
how much for your ticket?
If you check the price for the seating in the MPO website
the Upper Circle is RM55... sweat.gif
TStan_pang
post Jun 6 2008, 01:49 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(The_YongGrand @ May 25 2008, 08:01 PM)
You have totally forgotten Domenico Scarlatti's works there.

They sound pretty brilliant, on the harpsichord and on the guitar as well! biggrin.gif

Also, Vivaldi's has a number of concertos composed for the Mandolin and the Lute. They are great too, check them out! biggrin.gif
Thanks for your comment in my blog... notworthy.gif

I have briefly update the 1st post... if anyone have create a blog for classical music, please PM me.
I will put in the list in 1st post... rclxms.gif
TStan_pang
post Jun 15 2008, 11:48 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(mattkhoo87 @ Jun 15 2008, 01:43 AM)
i went for that concert.. smile.gif i liked the inextinguishable a lot! smile.gif agreed that the timpani "duel" was good! smile.gif well done paul philbert and kiyomi kikuchi.. smile.gif

of course colin currie was good as well smile.gif very well presented smile.gif i got his autograph.. haha xD

ohh.. beethoven`s symphony no.9 and no.8... i`m quite interested to go watch cos MPO`s playin` symphony no.9... hehe.. thinking of goin`.. smile.gif

anyone goin` for june 28th? they`re playin` tchaikovsky`s pieces.. smile.gif i love tcaikovsky and bach a lot! smile.gif i like bach`s suites... hehe.. currently learning bach suite no.1 prelude on marimba...

btw.. a little "advertisement" here... anyone who has or know`s places where they have marimba and allow public to "rent" them out? i want to "rent" it to practice.. haha.. =p
Oh~
The timpanist is Paul Philbert and Kiyomi Kikuchi??

From the seat I got, I can only see Kiyomi Kikuchi, and can't see Paul Philbert well...
She is very good!! Like her very much especially on the duel!! thumbup.gif

And you got Colin Currie's autograph?? Oh, can upload a photo to let us see?? (make sure to put watermark on it)

For the Tchaikovsky's music, I will not go... But I sure will go on the Beethoven's 8th and 9th.
By the way, the Beethoven's 8th and 9th ticket is sold out... tongue.gif
TStan_pang
post Jun 16 2008, 12:29 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(mattkhoo87 @ Jun 15 2008, 11:57 PM)
yup.. both are the timpanist.. from my seat can see both.. haha.. but can see paul philbert more clearly... kiyomi kikuchi can see a bit oni.. haha.. paul philbert is my senior`s timpani tutor.. haha.. he`s quite a funny and nice person! smile.gif went for his masterclass before..

haha.. yea.. i got his autograph on the programme notes smile.gif oh.. watermark? meaning? hehe.. noob question =p

beethoven`s symphony tickets are sold out?!?!? damn!! :S i love the choral symphony.. nice smile.gif sigh.. u mean all days sold out?!?!
Wow~ You even know them... ><

You can refer to here for information about watermark
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_watermarking

I told you to do so is to avoid other people use the photo as their own...
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 16 2008, 12:06 AM)
wanna ask, recently the music play in Shell adv (Shell made to move). wht music is tht!?

Hey guys, wanna gatherin? maybe we can go to MPO for some real ochestra. I never go before, but i saw the ticket is quite affordable!! Ard RM40-100. Any one interested?
http://www.malaysianphilharmonic.com/season.php
Sharing: The Malaysia Philharmonic Orchestra (MPO) costing RM 3,500,000 per month to sustain.

Hahahaha laugh.gif

http://myclassical.blogspot.com/
This is my classical music blog, please go there, and play the music in latest post!
You will know what music is that~~ brows.gif

By the way, after saw your news then only I know they have very big amount of wages!! shocking.gif

Added on June 16, 2008, 12:35 amA gathering??
Great!!

who will join?? tongue.gif

I will wait for next season schedule release first...

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Jun 16 2008, 12:35 AM

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:47 AM