103 posts

xp-90c or tt big typhoon
Which one better?

SUSScorpionKing
post Nov 4 2006, 04:04 PM

Validating

Why you didnt consider XP120 ? It lighter and cheaper then xp90c. But performence just behind them by a small margin which i consider negligible.
TSconchunchun
post Nov 4 2006, 04:09 PM

103 posts

So actually xp-90c and tt big typhoon not much different in the performance rite?
soulfly
post Nov 4 2006, 04:33 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

tt big typhoon better value
siauann
post Nov 4 2006, 05:05 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 4 2006, 04:33 PM)
tt big typhoon better value
yeap..agree..thking of gettint tat one too rclxms.gif
avengers88
post Nov 4 2006, 05:40 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

scythe infinity ...
mikelanding
post Nov 4 2006, 05:57 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Nov 4 2006, 05:40 PM)
scythe infinity ...
ThermalRight Ultra-120... tongue.gif
siauann
post Nov 4 2006, 06:42 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Nov 4 2006, 05:40 PM)
scythe infinity ...
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 4 2006, 05:57 PM)
ThermalRight Ultra-120... tongue.gif
ini dua budak ah..mamang naughty! ppl ask xp90 and thypoonvx lu orang suggest lain... laugh.gif
TSconchunchun
post Nov 4 2006, 07:15 PM

103 posts

nvr mind la..since they also give suggestion oni...But for me I prefer tt big typhoon...SO si fu got any comment on those two product?
SUSScorpionKing
post Nov 4 2006, 08:22 PM

Validating

TT big typhoon cant use varies of fan. But thermalright u can just put any fan you want that suit your need. Remember that. I am using XP120 with TT UFO green colour 80m. More then enough to calm a64 4200+ x2.
TSconchunchun
post Nov 4 2006, 08:28 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ScorpionKing @ Nov 4 2006, 08:22 PM)
TT big typhoon cant use varies of fan. But thermalright u can just put any fan  you want that suit your need. Remember that. I am using XP120 with TT UFO green colour 80m. More then enough to calm a64 4200+ x2.
What u mean by varies of fan? Size or model?
styloe
post Nov 4 2006, 08:55 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(conchunchun @ Nov 4 2006, 08:28 PM)
What u mean by varies of fan? Size or model?
u can put 80,90 or 120mm fan.some heatsink only compatible with certain fan size my fen.

my vote xp120 for value also very nice design rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by styloe: Nov 4 2006, 08:56 PM
tachlio
post Nov 4 2006, 09:14 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

both perform almost same but my vote for thermalright~
sHawTY
post Nov 4 2006, 10:38 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

As a die hard fan of Thermalright Heatsinks, i'll vote for Thermalright XP90C then... rclxms.gif

wakakakakaka... laugh.gif
LittleLinnet
post Nov 4 2006, 11:06 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

why not consider SI-120 but XP-120 ??

`
Ash
post Nov 4 2006, 11:31 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

i have problem trying to install my XP 90c on gigabyte DQ-6 sad.gif bought the lga 775 bracket but it seems that i cant remove the original dq-6 bracket
enter
post Nov 4 2006, 11:44 PM

vine vini vici
807 posts

batter buy big typhoon or if u have extra buget... get XP120 ... icon_rolleyes.gif
baok
post Nov 5 2006, 01:23 AM

737 posts

i never use big thyphoon... but u will never regret with xp-90c tongue.gif
mikelanding
post Nov 5 2006, 11:23 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(enter @ Nov 4 2006, 11:44 PM)
batter buy big typhoon or if u have extra buget... get XP120 ...  icon_rolleyes.gif
If u got budget for XP-120 why not go for Ultra-120 then...
With ultra-120, it reduced my load temp up to 10C compare to XP-120.

sniper69
post Nov 5 2006, 12:52 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(conchunchun @ Nov 4 2006, 04:02 PM)
xp-90c or tt big typhoon
Which one better?
sleep.gif Tt Big Typhoon user here...and ThermalRight XP-90 (Aluminium) user too wink.gif

i must say, both is good, very good, IMO, Tt is quite big and not ideal on cute casing or small casing, while XP-90 is good in overall size, i mean suit in any size of casing. add to that, any standard fan can easily fit into XP-90 while BigTyphoon, maybe need some mod i think...smile.gif, so i think...it's all depends on you
kalakatu
post Nov 5 2006, 01:22 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

me vote for thermalright..if can,get xp120 instead of xp90
Vervain
post Nov 5 2006, 02:15 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

xp90c is not bad but then to fit it with a screamer fan. the noise is loud. xp120 and typhoon is good also. vortex is heavier than xp120 and xp120 has alu fins only. kinda hard to choose as i love si120 and xp120. but i find vortex's fin is a big too dense but if what the other forummers mentioned that it can only stick to its stock fan. then its not nice as you cannot pair with other fans than have enough pressure to push thru the dense dan.
SUSScorpionKing
post Nov 5 2006, 05:02 PM

Validating

If your TT Big typhoon fan spoil one day, it will be hard to find a replacement. And for performence/price ratio, i will definately vote for thermalright. Have bad experience with TT volcano series during S462.
Bliz
post Nov 5 2006, 05:35 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ScorpionKing @ Nov 5 2006, 05:02 PM)
If your TT Big typhoon fan spoil one day, it will be hard to find a replacement. And for performence/price ratio, i will definately vote for thermalright. Have bad experience with TT volcano series during S462.
TT BT can fit any 120mm fan as long as it's 25mm thick, those 38mm one have to find longer screws whistling.gif
kvmcom
post Nov 5 2006, 05:42 PM

203 posts

vote ttbtvx.......
styloe
post Nov 6 2006, 10:00 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 5 2006, 11:23 AM)
If u got budget for XP-120 why not go for Ultra-120 then...
With ultra-120, it reduced my load temp up to 10C compare to XP-120.
hehe get this say ur moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif bye bye
nghj
post Nov 9 2006, 06:52 PM

1,790 posts

thermalright xp-90c thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
xp-120 also not bad, but might be too bulky for your pc depending on your setup.

This post has been edited by nghj: Nov 9 2006, 06:53 PM
styloe
post Nov 10 2006, 10:35 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Nov 9 2006, 06:52 PM)
thermalright xp-90c  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
xp-120 also not bad, but might be too bulky for your pc depending on your setup.
if u have a good casing like TT u shud be able to use xp120.IMO get this very good since xp ultra 120 is really tall if not sycthe ninja shud be enuff rclxms.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 10 2006, 11:09 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 10 2006, 10:35 AM)
if u have a good casing like TT u shud be able to use xp120.IMO get this very good since xp ultra 120 is really tall if not sycthe ninja shud be enuff rclxms.gif
Haih, ko ni, tak abis abis tersalah... laugh.gif

XP 120 and Ultra 120 is two different heatsink liao... icon_rolleyes.gif

There is no XP Ultra 120... tongue.gif
nghj
post Nov 10 2006, 11:15 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 10 2006, 10:35 AM)
what casing is the TS using anyway?? rolleyes.gif
well, two type : either those fan blowing downwards like xp-90c, xp-120, ttbt or those blowing sidewards like xp-120 ultra or ninja. i prefer the ones blowing downwards. cools the mosfets, and also my chipset which is nearby thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 10 2006, 05:57 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Nov 10 2006, 11:15 AM)
what casing is the TS using anyway?? rolleyes.gif
well, two type : either those fan blowing downwards like xp-90c, xp-120, ttbt or those blowing sidewards like xp-120 ultra or ninja. i prefer the ones blowing downwards. cools the mosfets, and also my chipset which is nearby  thumbup.gif
Paiseh, one more mistake, it is not XP-120 ultra liao...

It's Ultra 120... sweat.gif

About you're opinion on blowing downwards, yes, i also agree in that, as i don't just want to cool my processor, i want to cool down everything that is near the processor socket... icon_rolleyes.gif
Guriseruda
post Nov 10 2006, 10:00 PM

660 posts

thermalright XP-90C user here.. good.& Xp120 also not bad.. . . TT Big typhoon too big... scare mobo KO.. >_<
avengers88
post Nov 10 2006, 10:35 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

err ya .. for my opinion , tt product for cooling not that good la ..
most of my tech buddies said dun get TT ..
anyway , i got myself a scythe infinity .. XD !!!!
so big yet so nice .. can dry ur hair .. hahaha !!!
nghj
post Nov 10 2006, 10:56 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Nov 10 2006, 10:35 PM)
wahaha, who say tt no good?
xp-90c, put on a tt ufo fan and u get instant bling. hehe...
sHawTY
post Nov 13 2006, 09:23 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Nov 10 2006, 10:56 PM)
wahaha, who say tt no good?
xp-90c, put on a tt ufo fan and u get instant bling. hehe...
Because some of their products are just made to get some profits, not for the goodness of their customers...

For example, Thermaltake Bigwater SE, that sucks so much... sweat.gif
nckent
post Nov 18 2006, 06:25 PM

||>e-M'si@n<||
676 posts

4 me, i'll choose either XP-90C or TT MiniTypo (both r full copper)
i cant bear a huge heatsink in my casing tongue.gif

sum1 used MiniTypo? how bout its performance?

This post has been edited by nckent: Nov 18 2006, 06:33 PM
styloe
post Nov 18 2006, 07:24 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(nckent @ Nov 18 2006, 06:25 PM)
4 me, i'll choose either XP-90C or TT MiniTypo (both r full copper)
i cant bear a huge heatsink in my casing tongue.gif

sum1 used MiniTypo? how bout its performance?
erkk mini u knowla mini same like mini performancela get xp120 better light weight xp90c good but heavy.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 10 2006, 11:09 AM)
Haih, ko ni, tak abis abis tersalah... laugh.gif

XP 120 and Ultra 120 is two different heatsink liao... icon_rolleyes.gif

There is no XP Ultra 120... tongue.gif
sorila im a noob laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 19 2006, 12:53 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 18 2006, 07:24 PM)
erkk mini u knowla mini same like mini performancela get xp120 better light weight xp90c good but heavy.
XP120 is already out of the market, Thermalright has stopped producing XP120 for a long time edi...

It's a phase out model... smile.gif

sHäwTY(tm)

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:40 PM
styloe
post Nov 19 2006, 01:40 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 19 2006, 12:53 AM)
XP120 is already out of the market, Thermalright has stopped producing XP120 for a long time edi...

It's a phase out model... smile.gif
maybe can get 2nd hand just a suggestion.i'll go for g power pro its light bundle with good fan but hellish to assemble. sweat.gif
emmeir
post Nov 22 2006, 01:11 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Nov 10 2006, 10:35 PM)
who said that?
i use Big Typhoon and max load never reach 40 deg. thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 02:35 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(emmeir @ Nov 22 2006, 01:11 PM)
who said that?
i use Big Typhoon and max load never reach 40 deg. thumbup.gif
Thermaltake Air Cooling heatsinks are good...

The thing that brings Thermaltake Products to lower quality and bad name for Thermaltake is their Watercooling Parts... laugh.gif
E-J@1
post Dec 1 2006, 02:23 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 22 2006, 02:35 PM)
Thermaltake Air Cooling heatsinks are good...

The thing that brings Thermaltake Products to lower quality and bad name for Thermaltake is their Watercooling Parts... laugh.gif
what wrong with their parts? cepat rosak ka?
sHawTY
post Dec 1 2006, 11:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 1 2006, 02:23 PM)
what wrong with their parts? cepat rosak ka?
It's not that it's "cepat rosak"...
It's about it's performance... sweat.gif

All their watercooling system can be beaten by any high end air cooling heatsink... doh.gif
zonlee
post Mar 28 2007, 02:07 PM

506 posts

my gigabyte G-power Pro
the "smart fan controller" burn at the first day i install (after used 6 hours)

Gigabye tech support reply me this is 1st case
and the shop keeper said
it never happen

so i ask them 1 to 1 exchange to me

lolhalol
post Mar 28 2007, 04:15 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ok, bro this thread has been going on four bout 5 months di, iirc both companies have realeased their new lines of heat sinks... ok, if u havent bought ur heatsink, let me recomend u a comprehensive list (available in malaysia) of the best performing heatsinks and bang for buck heatsinks.

firstly, if u want pure performance with money no object, theres definately the ultra 120 extreme, seems like the tr engineers heard our story when we did the hsf roundup bout the base problems, n made an even beter one.

secondly, best performance for the money, u got two choices, theres the ttbtvx, or an artic colling freezer pro (depends on wat socket u use, amd would be freezer 64 pro, intel would be freezer 7 pro)

thirdly, xp90c and xp120 have been hased out by way beter designs, n its hard to find, no doubt if i could i would buy an xp120 ( its still one of teh sexiest hsf around) , the si-120 is a much beter option and well designed heat sink, but even that has been replaced by the si-128, but as u can see form me and superflys comparisons tests, the si-120 is the beter all round hsf, as the si-128 has teh same base dsign as the hr-01 and ultra 120, meaning it might have some problems on intel sistems, an from my personal observation, the base design on the hr-01 is more towards amd side of things, n will have somtimes dificulty in an intel processor hsf. this is only my personal observantion, and in no way is it officially proven. but if u see these three hsfs side by side, u will c wat imean.

as u can se i have left out the other brands like zalman and cooler master, and noctua and etc. firstly i think zalmans coolers are overpriced , no doubt revolutionary and inovative( cnps9500 & 9700 hsfs) its is expensive when a similar or beter performing hsf can be had for less ( come on 210 for a cnps9500 is way too much when even the tuniq tower 120(imo the best aircooler now days but availability is low) can be had for a liitlle more form online stores.) secondly cooler master is not consistent with their quality, u can heard storuies of hsfs performing well , then anotehr of the samee hsf performing under expetation, btm so far tehir Geminii AKA Fujin heatsink looks good, but its beter for heavy overclockers as its quite big and heavy. lastly noctua coolers are complicated to fit, trust me i have done one and i did the mounting bracket wrong even folowing the instructuions as most of teh parts for amd and intel look similar. not to say noctua is bad, ( sorry irangan ) i mean i would hapily own one of them, but to me mounting systems must be easy to use and simple in design,( artic cooling has as far as i know teh easiest to fit coolers around, excluding thermalright as their hsfs can sometimes be dificult.

p/s i left scythe out of this coz im not a believer in more size equalls more performance, look at hr-01, comapre the teh ninja, its absolutely tiny, yet it performes similar.

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Mar 28 2007, 04:24 PM
irangan
post Mar 29 2007, 01:36 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Nothing to sorry about. Hehe. I do admit that mounting a Noctua U12F is not a easy task especially to someone that new in third party heatsink installation. But it is tedious for a reason. I did emailed Noctua regarding this matters and they told me that the mounting design is neccessary because from their R&D, that is the best method to mount in order to provide the required pressure on the processor.

Lack pressure = Lack contact = Higher temp smile.gif
lolhalol
post Mar 30 2007, 09:58 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

phew lucky u not coming after me with a parang wanting to chop my head coz i say noctua bad...lol....somemore u know where i live sad.gif lol...neway yeah i got a similar reply from them, adn it does provide good pressure....so function over form i guess
irangan
post Mar 30 2007, 01:44 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Mar 30 2007, 09:58 AM)
phew lucky u not coming after me with a parang wanting to chop my head coz i say noctua bad...lol....somemore u know where i live sad.gif lol...neway yeah i got a similar reply from them, adn it does provide good pressure....so function over form i guess
LOLZ... Dont worry, I will come to find you one.. But for yam cha.. need to ask you about WC stuff. Hehe..

Back to Noctua stuff, I just studied the manual book and found that the instruction there is quite straight forward wor. I am quite sure most ppl wont have problem mounting. I mounts it even without looking at the manual.

Yup, it is function over form for sure. But seriously why someone will get something that expensive if its performance not up to the mark but it is real nice.. haha.

0.0221sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:29 AM