Forex Version XVI, Foreign Exchange Market Discussion

sleepwalker
post Jul 21 2015, 10:44 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(RotiCanai91 @ Jul 21 2015, 09:53 PM)
"commenting/bashing people without using common sense and logic." ????

for me you are no common sense and logic, because you are comparing your 200% result with other people and judge him.

by the way, i would like to give you a word ~
" enjoy your day bastard "^^
I'd like to add a word too.. enjoy your warning.
sleepwalker
post Jul 21 2015, 11:18 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Zanmai0146 @ Jul 21 2015, 10:27 PM)
Is nearly impossible to upbeat the market, when you don't know next second whats obama gonna say. One word the entire USD affected  unsure.gif
It's more Yellen than Obama.
sleepwalker
post Jul 24 2015, 08:20 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Jul 24 2015, 01:28 PM)
well... i'll skip aud pairs atm..
that is pretty early for a move without any news releases except following gold movement which i think gold should proceed to 1130 before continuing.
anyway, eurusd and nzdusd/nzdjpy are better options (...to long  whistling.gif)
Aussie's move was due to China's poor news. AUD is always tied to China's news as China buys most of the commodity from AUD. AUD takes a hit each time China's news is bad. China's news is just as important as Aussie news for the AUD.
sleepwalker
post Jul 27 2015, 08:28 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Jul 27 2015, 06:50 PM)
Zanmai, audusd look pretty good.
8.30 usd news... looks good the forecast..
just might continue down..
Unfortunately for the Core Durable goods it has a history of missing forecast. Lets see how this one plays out.
sleepwalker
post Jul 27 2015, 08:32 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Whoa.. big time overshoot but opposite reaction from EU pair..
sleepwalker
post Jul 29 2015, 10:43 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Zanmai0146 @ Jul 29 2015, 09:40 PM)
not funny. its very simple fundamentals. you know AUD is weak now and GBP is keep releasing the fake "interest rate hike news"

hence, GBPAUD short/long buy

much more easier than u go after EU GU
He said funny pair because there is not much fundamentals in those risk/risk pairs. USD and JPY has always been safe haven pairs (people buy them to be safe/risk aversion) and EU/GBP/AU are all risk pairs that people buy when the market is good and everybody is all in to higher risk trades. AU is mainly liked to commodities and China. EU is purely volume since it is second largest traded currency after USD. GBP... welll.. like people always say.. GBP is GBP and makes it's own wild moves. tongue.gif
sleepwalker
post Jul 31 2015, 10:09 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Zanmai0146 @ Jul 31 2015, 09:34 PM)
Because DXY drop. Hence USD value drop. So it surge up.
DXY is the USD. It is just an index of USD against a basket of 6 currencies. It's the other way around. DXY drop because USD drop or the other 6 currencies go up (which still means the same thing.. USD drop).
sleepwalker
post Jul 31 2015, 10:15 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Jul 31 2015, 10:02 PM)
Dollar drops after employment-cost index report
https://www.mql5.com/en/blogs/post/645717?u...ce=MQL5+EN+Blog
That report has minor affect to the USD. Today is the last day of the month. At the end of every month there is always a repatriation of funds back to Euro. Everybody's been selling EURO since FOMC (which really hinted at nothing) and the whole day today, nobody wanted to purchase the EURO even though they have to do it before the month end. All waited until the last moment, the final news before all going in to buy the Euro.

Institutional purchases like these have to happen irrespective of the conditions and you can see this trend close to the end of the month. Usually more obvious in cases like this month when there was selling pressure after FOMC but institutional purchases of EU still have to continue.
sleepwalker
post Aug 4 2015, 11:23 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 4 2015, 11:07 AM)
Can someone suggest the best way to hedge against the Ringgit drop? The USD strength wont last for long. Soon the US Gov will intervene to lower the USD so changing now to the USD may not be wise. Im looking at Euro, AUD or SGD. Ive also looked at foreign currency FD's but rates are quite poor.

What do you suggest and how?
They are unlikely to intervene as the USD is still the most sought after currency even with worldwide payment being done electronically. While we have a weak ringgit, the USD is not at a historical high against other major currencies. Most of the currency pairs like EUR/USD, AUD/USD, USD/JPY and GBY/JPY are all around halfway between highest and lowest ever. The US Dollar index against the basket of currencies is around 97. Historical low around 70 (2008) and high around 120 (2001). Even the dollar index is around halfway point between highest to lowest.

Most members here are spot traders and would seldom hedge since most trades are very short term reacting to recent news and events. And the funniest thing here is that almost all spot traders here are dealing only in USD with our brokers so the falling ringgit is actually beneficial to us. Not sure how we can help you here.
sleepwalker
post Aug 4 2015, 01:48 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 4 2015, 01:38 PM)
So in your opinion, where do you see the Ringgit heading in the next 3-6 months against the USD, Euro and SGD?
That's the problem.. We don't bother with fundamentals of the Ringgit as we don't trade it. We put our money in USD with the brokers and trade with it. Win/Loss comes in the form of USD.

Ringgit is now considered reaching all time low against the Dollar due to both ringgit weakness and dollar strength. We don't see the dollar losing grounds until after the interest rates are confirmed and priced in. That means its all about the ringgit itself and it is being speculated back in 1997 again. As you can read from the news there is a rather large 'put' option for the ringgit priced at RM4. Politics are not helping either.
sleepwalker
post Aug 4 2015, 03:34 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(carrer @ Aug 4 2015, 03:23 PM)
Cannot withdraw from local IB or agent?
I'm not sure if they can help you if you are not part of their downlines. It all depends on the arrangement of how IBs are setup by the brokers.
sleepwalker
post Aug 6 2015, 08:56 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Aug 6 2015, 07:19 PM)
Seriously how do you guys know the movement? Boleh tunjuk ajar?
THis is where you need to learn the fundamentals. GBP has been talking about raising interest rates recently. They forecasted that 2 out of the 9 MPC will vote to raise interest rates but ended up with only 1 out of 9 when the meeting minutes came out. After that.. can you spell 'free fall'? tongue.gif
sleepwalker
post Aug 11 2015, 08:54 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Aug 11 2015, 04:43 PM)
Have to look at NY open later on..
European open seems like a bit blur... can't digest pboc devaluation maybe..
thank you for supporting  thumbup.gif
still in range... careful @1133  nod.gif
That's because the Greek secured their loan after 23 hours of meeting. Up up and away...
sleepwalker
post Aug 12 2015, 03:57 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Aug 12 2015, 03:51 PM)
Anyone can give opinion about what's EUR/USD currently? Don't worry, I won't saman if you got it wrong. Hehe. Just want to know why the relative strengthening is happening on EUR now.

My uneducated school of thought is that since CNY devalue to become more competitive, so will USD and EUR? Or I'm just talkingcock? Hehe.

I'm not trader. Just need to exchange some money to EUR for cuti cuti oversea next month. That's all. Jangan fire me ok.
I already answered that last night. Greece has secured loans to pay off debt on Tuesday which started the . CNY devaluation hits AUD hard as I have mentioned before that events in CNY hits AUD the hardest.
sleepwalker
post Aug 12 2015, 04:35 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Aug 12 2015, 04:31 PM)
Ahh ok good point re: Greece. So it's a feel good/confident factor la.

When CNY devalue, would the ECB feel that EUR become less competitive? Especially when eurozone QE seems to me is to export their products more to get the economy back on strength.
You have to understand whether there is any impact on the EU at all. They are immediately less competitive by 2% since CNY devalued its currency by 2% but there is nothing EU can do about it and it won't cause anybody to sell or buy EU because of that. Greece has more impact and securing the loan is positive the for EU.

sleepwalker
post Aug 13 2015, 11:52 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Zanmai0146 @ Aug 13 2015, 11:32 AM)
I did suggested but not good lor.. But a small discussion group on Whatsapps also not bad.

What do you think?
This is what I think of Whatsapp group...

10am ding.. you have message..

2pm ding.. you have message..

4pm ding.. you have message..

7pm ding.. you have message..

1am ding.. you have message..

3am ding.. you have message..

Mute Whatapps...

6 hours later.. You have 198 unread messages... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
sleepwalker
post Aug 13 2015, 02:34 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Zanmai0146 @ Aug 13 2015, 02:06 PM)
xm.com still playing good role.

Local withdrawal. No charges on deposit and withdrawal. Got XM office at oasis damansara.
But the office means nothing since BNM does not allow forex companies to open branches here. That office would be either illegal or registered under a different name and purpose which also means nothing. One day can be here.. next day can be gone.
sleepwalker
post Aug 13 2015, 02:55 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Zanmai0146 @ Aug 13 2015, 02:37 PM)
Yeah true. But least free facilities to use. I wonder how they registered here? Must be using fake company nature.
But you do know that most of these are setup by IBs and have no relations whatsoever with XM. You already sound like an IB and IBs make good money from their downlines in what we call SLM (Single Level Marketing). They more they trade, the more money you make.

There are only a few large brokers that have actual offices around the world. Oanda is one of them. If you check their Singapore office it states "OANDA Asia Pacific Pte Ltd (Co. Reg. No 200704926K) holds a Capital Markets Services Licence issued by the Monetary Authority of Singapore and is also licenced by the International Enterprise Singapore."

sleepwalker
post Aug 13 2015, 03:09 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(KeroroQ @ Aug 13 2015, 03:05 PM)
Yes I use OANDA, spreads are ok but so far the most reputable broker for me icon_idea.gif
I wanted to use Oanda a long time ago.. but at that time they only had Java trading interface. Didn't have MT4.. hahaha.. yeah.. that long ago.. and almost all indicators/EAs/scripts are based on MT4.
sleepwalker
post Aug 14 2015, 11:04 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(KeroroQ @ Aug 14 2015, 10:47 AM)
GOLD will follow AUD, I'm bearish biased for AUD, sentiment wise
providers are also bearish on it drool.gif Let's wait pre London and search for clues
It's actually the other way around. AUD is a commodity currency and not only tied up to Gold. There is also silver and iron and everything else they dig out of Australia. The demand for the commodity will create a demand for the currency. So the actual relation would be AUD will follow Gold.

0.0455sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:41 PM