LYN Suzuki Swift Owner Club V4, Where handling speaks all

Yoona<3
post Apr 22 2016, 11:09 PM

Hi All,

I feel that my car doesn't accelerate like how it does before. As in the pick up I feel that its a bit slower compared to the first few years. The car I'm driving is a 1.5 Swift its about 5 or 6 years now and my mileage is pretty low around 25k only since I don't drive much until the recent one year where I have to travel around 40 - 45km in total(to work and back from work) daily. So I noticed over the years my acceleration/pickup seems to slow down. Was wondering what is causing it and what part that I need to replace ? Since I'm going on highways almost everyday, I can say I drive pretty fast at times ? maybe 120 - 140 ? is this stressing the car causing it to slow down ? sad.gif Also I did some research online where people say its due to clogged oil filter/fuel pump ?

P.S : the low mileage is because I only used it to travel to university and back over the year and some times tumpang cars in the past, hence the low mileage.

sorry newbie here any advice is welcomed cry.gif
Yoona<3
post Apr 25 2016, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 25 2016, 09:38 AM)
Check air filter. Is it clogged?
Then spark plugs. Are they due for replacement?
Fuel filter, fuel pump got replace before?
Tire pressure ok?

Acceleration slow, have u tried to full throttle all the way? Maybe the TCU has gone lazy. Drive the Swift in a more spirited manner, it could help a bit.
I sent to the SC and they asked whether I changed the car battery recently which is yes and they mentioned that the alignment for the battery is a bit out lol not sure what it means. And can say the way I drive is quite spirited haha but I'm afraid that it would cause the car problem icon_question.gif some times when I press the pedal i noticed like the rpm and speed is struggling to go up unless I really floor it. It usually happens only after I break to slow down. (For example, I slow down at the toll and after the toll I feel like the car is struggling to pick up speed as compared to last time cry.gif

Anyways after they re-aligned the battery it did seems better but since I just got it done quite awhile ago, have to continue monitoring whether the problem is still there. As for the parts , tire pressure ok. spark plug changed but I cant recall the exact date. Others I never changed , unless my dad changed it , gotta check with him.
Yoona<3
post Apr 25 2016, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 25 2016, 09:04 PM)
Sounds like some dragging to me. Wheel bearing ok? brake pads ok? brake fluid level ok?

Erm.. not sure about wheel bearing and brake fluid .. but i noticed break sound when I press the brake some times, the eerie sound like something is scratching the brake if you get what I mean. Does that have to do with pickup ? shocking.gif I told my dad regarding the issue before but he didn't do anything as his altis has the same sound as well. I did ask my friend about this as his dad is a mechanic and his old bmw has this similiar issue and his dad says its normal ? confused.gif
Yoona<3
post Jul 20 2016, 08:56 PM

Hi guys, did anyone have problem with the car getting slower in acceleration ? I had asked the SC ppl before and they told me its because of my floor mat blocking the accelerator so I moved that and I still feel the same. I have already done the oil change along with spark plug change. Any ideas on what could have cause the problem ? I read online and some general info is pointing at oil filter or catalytic convertor ???

My car is 5 or 6 years old now with only about 27k milleage as before this I just use it to commute to the university hence the low milleage. Currently driving about 50km (to office and back from office) per day to work. is driving around 120 - 140 stressing the car? Sorry I'm not that car savvy.

And thanks in advance.
Yoona<3
post Jul 22 2016, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(s@ni @ Jul 20 2016, 11:20 PM)
Rahman brothers.. At least u could ask for quotation before repair.
Oil change, spark plugs done..
Cleaning throttle body? Change air filter? What type of engine oil u used? Recommended full syn or semi.. If mineral acceleration will be slower
Using full syn oil :/
Yoona<3
post Jul 26 2016, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 23 2016, 11:59 PM)
Check spark plugs
Check spark plug coil
Check air filter
Try pumping RON97

Oil filter and cat con won't affect performance, at least not that i know of hmm.gif

Also check tyre pressure, brakes. Maybe brakes rubbing? hmm.gif

Gearbox oil changed?

120 - -140 is easy task for the Swift flex.gif I find it too easy to hit the end of the meter whistling.gif
spark plug changed
spark plug coil - Need to check on this
Air filter - Need to check on this as well

I did try shell vpower = ron 97 ... I don't notice much of a difference.

Tyre pressure checked as well.

Gearbox oil - Need to check when was the last date or was it even changed before (Sorry newbie here, maybe my dad did have it changed before as it was maintained by him before this)

and yea 120 to 140 on a stock swift is easy.. actually going up to 170 is pretty easy as well.. however what I face is some times I feel like the car is struggling to climb when I floor the pedal but I still see the rpm meter around 3k rpm only. it Usually happens around 80 - 100 or 120 ?

Maybe it's the gearbox oil. Anyways will get it checked out and hopefully it solve the problem. And thanks for the advice ! thumbup.gif

PS : I notice there is screeching sound when I brake some times (usually when reversing out of the house or going down a car park slope), is it the brake pad or brake disc problem ? my dad's altis has similiar issue as well. Even my friend's subaru has the screeching sound when brake but he told me its normal for his car ? rclxub.gif Anyone experience this as well?

This post has been edited by Yoona<3: Jul 26 2016, 04:09 PM
Yoona<3
post Jul 26 2016, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(barcabodo @ Jul 26 2016, 04:18 PM)
am using zc21 - when accelerating N --> D (usually uphill), sometimes i can hear like a stone chip kind of sound. asked around and someone recommend me to change hydraulic mounting.

any other possible reason apart from the mounting?
Now that you mentioned about this.. I just noticed it when I release the break and press the accelerator while going up the slope and I hear that "knocking sound" .. It just happened to me just now bangwall.gif why la all the issue coming up now ? mega_shok.gif
Yoona<3
post Jul 26 2016, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 26 2016, 08:12 PM)
S-flow mufler,  pivot throttle controller, stiff rings, ultra racing front sturt bar, rear antiroll, spring buffer, Eibach sport spring, K&N drop in filter, lightweight 15" 7j 4.7 kg advanti racing rims, project mu rotor, metal king brake pad, pro rs brake hoses..orsen shield( better airflow, cooler engine bay)
motul 300v 5w30,
waaa shocking.gif
Yoona<3
post Jul 27 2016, 03:24 PM

QUOTE(barcabodo @ Jul 26 2016, 04:18 PM)
am using zc21 - when accelerating N --> D (usually uphill), sometimes i can hear like a stone chip kind of sound. asked around and someone recommend me to change hydraulic mounting.

any other possible reason apart from the mounting?
An update for you.. I sent to the workshop to check and the mechanic told me its the engine mounting so I had that changed and there is no sound anymore. The problem only happen when I come to complete stop and when I start moving forward / accelerating and I will hear a knocking sound. Not sure whether its the same for your case

However, it's solved now and all is good thumbup.gif but its a bit of a price just for 1 engine mounting (around 360 + labor + gst = around 410) cry.gif
Yoona<3
post Jul 27 2016, 04:25 PM

QUOTE(barcabodo @ Jul 27 2016, 04:19 PM)
yeah that is what i'm having currently. not too often but still can notice it.

so after you changed the sound totally gone or are you still hearing it?  hmm.gif
Just changed it this morning .. and the sound is totally gone now. I will continue monitoring though. Below is the picture of the engine mounting that I changed. The mechanic told me its quite common for suzuki swift though not sure true or not. confused.gif Hope this helps biggrin.gif

Yoona<3
post Jul 27 2016, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(Khai RULE @ Jul 27 2016, 04:49 PM)
It is quite common for the hydraulic mount to fail, some of the first gen Swift, had to be replace under warranty, usually the part last around 60,000 to 80,000km.
You all are lucky if it lasted till then.. my current millage is only around 27k and and my car is about 5 years old now. The low millage is due to the fact that I only used it to commute to the university before this and some times I carpool so the car was left at home. Currently driving the car to work on daily basis about 50km per day (to work and back from work).
So the car is most of the time on highway. Maybe that's the reason mine died on me cry.gif Also will have to cut down on my spirited driving doh.gif

This post has been edited by Yoona<3: Jul 27 2016, 05:35 PM
Yoona<3
post Sep 5 2016, 05:49 PM

Hi all sifu .. I have ZC21S .. wondering did anyone change the bodykit to hikari kit and change the exhaust from single to dual exhaust to fit the bodykit ? if yes could you recommend where to get it done for bodykit and exhaust conversion. In KL or in subang preferably icon_rolleyes.gif Also any recommendation to where to get projector lamps for ZC21S? too biggrin.gif

Thanks in advances. Cheers thumbup.gif
Yoona<3
post Sep 5 2016, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 4 2016, 08:23 PM)
Hi guys. I'm freshly graduate and plan to buy used Swift as my first car. So far thinking of the second generation. Just want to ask, what else should I consider besides the boot-less and small size of the car? Is there any variant I should avoid to buy or I should find? Any other advice from all sifus here?
Are you driving the car alone or will you be having to fetch people as well ? cause for tall ppl like me, I tend to push the driver chair all the way to the back and its very small space for the one sitting behind. This is one of the issue I faced when I have to fetch ppl, it can be rather cramp for the passenger behind. Aside from that, been using mine for 5 or 6 years already, so far so good.. only change a few wear and tear items thus far. No major issue up till now and hopefully it stays that way icon_rolleyes.gif

As for which variant, if you want to vroom vroom, you can opt for the swift sport for 2nd gen which is manual and 1.6 else the normal 1.5 swift should be sufficient. Not to sure about the 3rd gen swifts as no one I know owns them. hope this helps
Yoona<3
post Sep 5 2016, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 5 2016, 08:06 PM)
Lol Im also very tall but not bringing any passenger. I mean probably not more than 3. Still single and just to be used to go to school. Btw which variant are u using at the moment?
oh .. well then the passenger sitting behind you will be very cramped if you push your chair all the way to the back like how I did on mine haha. Most probably you need to try it yourself, your comfortable driving position may not require you to push the chair all the way to the back like mine haha. Anyways I'm driving the 2nd gen 1.5 swift. My friend has the 2nd gen 1.6 swift sport.
Yoona<3
post Sep 19 2016, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(megahertz @ Sep 15 2016, 07:32 PM)
currently im using hikari bodykits but only for front bumper. the rest is stock. mine is 2nd gen 1.5 GXS full spec.

previously the car came with sport bodykits as stock, then my father in law got accident, broke the front bumper. then only change front bumper. so i didnt change the dual exhaust.

i think the bodykits should be less than 2k
I checked around sunway ... the price is around 1.8k for the kit itself without paint cry.gif if with paint its like another 900 bucks just to paint those parts ? I feel like I have been given cut throat price doh.gif

0.0646sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:29 PM