Graphic Design course, is it worth it?

TSx-loki
post Nov 3 2006, 11:43 PM, updated 20y ago

yo!
718 posts

Hi guys,

Up until now I was doing CG as a hobby and I want to go further in this. So was it worth to take a course on this? if yes, anyone know here can I get a good course at a reasonable price?
blaxez
post Nov 3 2006, 11:55 PM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

As long as you're interested in it, there's no reason that it wasn't worth the fees you paid.
TSx-loki
post Nov 4 2006, 12:07 AM

yo!
718 posts

I mean like right now most of the time I learn from tutorial on the net. Would I get extra thing that they don't teach on the net from the course?
MohdRidhwan
post Nov 4 2006, 12:21 AM

337 posts

i was thinking the same thing, im a SPM candidates, after that going to take 3D animation.Wanna know the same thing as x-loki said.
TSx-loki
post Nov 4 2006, 11:21 AM

yo!
718 posts

anyone been to graphic design course and feel it's not worth it?
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 4 2006, 12:38 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

sometimes it will depends on which type of company u r goin to interview.
Or the way u "promote" urself.

Online portfolio is the cheapest way to impress the employer.
(Some company will ask for u portfolio website, but some specify which college students they prefer).

A cert would be much easier to get u a passcard to attend an interview. Afterall, they still care bout ur Portfolio works.

So, if u dun haf extra money for study. It is still best u polishing on ur portfolio that suit for ur next job position.

And, which field u wanna indulge next? Some field might not need cert but still an Impressve portfolio.
Kellicros
post Nov 4 2006, 05:38 PM

1,028 posts

A certificate is very necessary when you discuss about salaries, if you plan to be a graphic designer, attending the course would be good.
apek
post Nov 4 2006, 06:03 PM

fufu
691 posts

portfolio is also important..if you dun want to further..do extensive research and build a superb fortfolio..who knows..maybe you can impress somebody even if you don't have certificate...

but certificate is important oso..as a ticket and salary range..
my advice: if you have the money..go for it..get a certificate/diploma/degree... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by apek: Nov 4 2006, 06:05 PM
Stupid Khor
post Nov 5 2006, 04:31 AM

276 posts

comparing any graphic design course with online tutorial, generally, you can learn much faster in graphic design course, but in term of technique, online tutorial is more impressive if you learn in a correct way... let's say you learn by trial n error, it is more impressive since you realize by experience... but that's for technique studies only, and somehow learning with internet tutorials is way too slow... to get the full concept of graphic design, a course is still necessary... moreover, you'll find you improve much faster with a course taken... smile.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 5 2006, 11:42 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

one thing to join gfx course is best to stick wif those ppl who really passionate in art & design.

Those ppl are very good motivation to keep brushing ur skills & knowledge.

In future, college's freinds might help/intro u to get a better career.
At least, u wouldn't worry bout ur job's prospect so much if u oredi done ur part best.

Der are ppl who really like Arts b4 enter a course. After studying the course, minority of them dislike Arts more than before. Due to the intensive homeworks & pressure from others better artwork btwn friends. (This could be personal issue lar. But i knew ppl like dat.)

Being self-taught could be frustrate & helpless for quite sometimes.. At least, u prefer to do this than others job.
We are on the same boat. Dat's y I could feel why u wanna get the paper.

X.E.D
post Nov 5 2006, 08:03 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

http://www.animationmentor.com/

The BEST. Take this is you REALLY want to be serious.

p/s: Other stuff, get Gnomon workshop DVDs. Courses (especially Malaysian courses) mostly rip you off severely.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Nov 5 2006, 08:12 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 6 2006, 02:04 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

XED, do u personally know anyone who had completed the animationmentor course?

The course seems pretty good. The paid is incredibly high for normal income ppl..
artfiq14
post Nov 8 2006, 02:21 AM

110 posts

im rite now studying GD now final sem..one sem spend bout 7k for this course..aiyahh...its all bout how fast ur thinking,work and deadlines...majoring in illustration thou kinda regret abit...thinking of changing to advertising
artfiq14
post Nov 8 2006, 02:22 AM

110 posts

is anyone here using ibook?especialy g3.come share abit bout that thing
Namgor2006
post Nov 9 2006, 02:59 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(x-loki @ Nov 3 2006, 11:43 PM)
Hi guys,

Up until now I was doing CG as a hobby and I want to go further in this. So was it worth to take a course on this? if yes, anyone know here can I get a good course at a reasonable price?
i say~~~ u better take multimedia designer course is much more worth than graphic designer, because everything taught in graphic design course will be taught in multimedia design but u can learn how to do animation using Macromedia Flash or 3d software such as 3Ds Max.

in case, u will find it more interesting when u came to design ur own game or short movie....
when u become famous 3d animation, don't forget to treat me eat..
hahahha
notworthy.gif
haris_2305
post Nov 15 2006, 08:53 AM

48 posts

ya me too i spend 7k for 1 sem.... haha i know what university is that... might be the same as where im study... its totally worth it... when i study GD course...i really feel like working lah... got work today tomorrow already DEADline... =)
TSx-loki
post Nov 15 2006, 11:25 AM

yo!
718 posts

haha...guys, I dont think I hv the time to take another degree or dip. I was thinking more like a GD cert course like Maya or Photoshop or Flash.

I'm currently working as a full time IT Specialist for Windows Server and i'm doing GD as a hobby. So taking ANOTHER DEGREE is way out of question here. biggrin.gif

BTW, any place here in KL offer such course? I'll try check gnomon workshop and animationmentor when I get back from office. Thx for the info
mclelun
post Nov 15 2006, 06:04 PM

662 posts

if u just want to "learn", then I think you can actually learn it by yourself eassily.

Taking the course is just all for the certificate/diploma. I am not saying taking course sucks, but design and multimedia is much more on your portfolio rather than a piece of paper.
zeist
post Nov 15 2006, 11:11 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Self-learning will help you alot in future when you take Graphic Design course.

x-loki: I don't think there are any useful part time GD cert out there, even if there is, i would suggest you not to waste money there because you would feel bored, they definitely will teach all those basic applications on softwares, really pointless.

I've seen before Graphic Design cert, no idea what gh3y cert are they offering, but if you choose to take only 3D professional course, maybe much better.

It is better if the cert is useful like those MCSE, CCNA/CCNP/CCIE and etc.

IF you really want to learn Graphic Design as a hobbie/interest, i highly suggest you go to bookstore and read, F.O.C somemore! laugh.gif

You can find many executives 'curi tulang' at places like MPH and Borders, LMFAO! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zeist: Nov 15 2006, 11:12 PM
haris_2305
post Nov 16 2006, 12:18 AM

48 posts

its totally different...u can't say it a waste of money... when u learn gd in diploma or degree...u have a deadline and a outline its not like learning a basic thing in software.... some more feel like real life situation...real client come to you ask you to do certain job...(what i experience when study GD)...

0.0230sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:51 PM