Nintendo World Expo 2006, Wii First Impressions

TSclemong_888
post Nov 3 2006, 08:28 PM, updated 20y ago

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

been a while since i posted anything here tongue.gif just came back from ninty expo leg in nagoya.. my 1st wii experience!

queue was a pain..40 to 50mins a game. zelda's quota finished at abt 1 when the expo was supposed to end at 4! so no chance la.will go through a list of games i played and my thoughts.

1.wii sports:tennis

1st game i tried. i had to admit, i was doubtful about how well the controls were. could all of this be a gimmick? everything was dispeled when i picked up the wiimote. it was simple, just whack at the right timing.i thing the settings were at it's simplest as the players would move themselves, all u had to do was whack,whack n whack!wasn't that hard at all actually.spins,lobs are possible too.

2.wii sports:boxing

one of my favourite.really good controls here.as u all know d, nunchack as one hand, wiimote as the other. move both to the left n u'll strafe left to dodge attacks. can even move it behind!uppercuts,st8 punches and hooks can be done easily.all in all, a great excercise game.

3.excite truck

i found that the controls were a bit too sensitive.2 as accelrate,directional button as boost and the sensors to move left n right. found it slightly challenging. reminds me of excite bike and tony hawk crammed together.. get bonuses for stunts done. rewards u well if stunts are successful,punishes u if not.

4.super mario galaxy

awesome controls here.easy n fun.. and trademark mario all over.cant say much but it's really really awesome!

5.super mario strikers

another great mario game here.played against a ninty guide there so he gave face. cant tell how good the a.i is. but style of play is great. no rules no nothing and u can score multiple goals at one go!

that's all i played. other notable games.. fire emblem! it's up n running. abit relieved that it uses the classic controller. cant imagine playing it using the wiimote! pokemon had a big presence but i'm no fan so i din bother.. no time also..only had time to play those five games!oh yea, i talked to an american who played metroid. he enjoyed it but the only thing he complained about was that he was too tall that going down became up. i guess this flaw can be changed with the height of the sensor bar.(it wasnt on top of tv)

in conclusion.. the launch games are great.would have been perfect if it had online play!wii sports n excite truck especially.

from the looks of it, wii has a strong launch lineup window. from the general demographic, saw a lot of women,some were even pplayin fire emblem and there was a girl dressed as link!i guess wii will sale like hotcakes when it's released!

if i had no financial commitments, i would have gotten one on launch day but i'm broke. will think of it only after fire emblem's out(2007 january)

my say,get one if u have the chance!

pics are at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=311756&st=280
rhoyo
post Nov 4 2006, 02:18 PM

-
2,800 posts

so no smash mario game eh .. .. btw is the wii up for sale at the expo ? ..
hafez13
post Nov 4 2006, 04:37 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

u so damn lucky got to play the wii...
i wan to go japan....
TSclemong_888
post Nov 4 2006, 05:31 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 4 2006, 02:18 PM)
so no smash mario game eh .. .. btw is the wii up for sale at the expo ? ..
smash bros only on vids.. no new news.. slated for release next yr. wi wont go on sale will dec 2 here but they had sth like a lucky draw(gave u no when u entered) at the end of the day.. i suspect wii giveaways..missed my number by 4!

QUOTE(hafez13 @ Nov 4 2006, 04:37 PM)
u so damn lucky got to play the wii...
i wan to go japan....
haha.. it's fun.. go buy one!
corez
post Nov 4 2006, 09:22 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Im so jealous,
bidfordun
post Nov 4 2006, 09:39 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Nov 4 2006, 09:22 PM)
Im so jealous,
why have to be jealous? later buy one la!
satanduck
post Nov 4 2006, 11:36 PM

292 posts

I'm GREEEEEN WITH ENVY!!!
but the booth babes are a bit... disappointing tongue.gif
bidfordun
post Nov 5 2006, 12:03 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(satanduck @ Nov 4 2006, 11:36 PM)
I'm GREEEEEN WITH ENVY!!!
but the booth babes are a bit... disappointing tongue.gif
where did u c the booth babes?
yikyeou
post Nov 5 2006, 12:05 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

wow, cool man. i wish i was there!! but i am not able to...
satanduck
post Nov 5 2006, 01:22 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Nov 5 2006, 12:03 AM)
where did u c the booth babes?
First post, he posted a link to the pictures mah...
Mr Ez
post Nov 5 2006, 02:09 AM

Super Cool
700 posts

Yeah the booth babes... sad.gif
TSclemong_888
post Nov 5 2006, 06:21 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

sorry bt the booth babes la. i queued up until there was 30mins left and as i couldnt shoot in front of the booths,had to ask girls walking around to pose tongue.gif
kelvint83
post Nov 5 2006, 06:28 AM

120 posts

The booth babes are really....Speechless....Nearly have to use alcohol to wash my eyes ..LOL happy.gif
TSclemong_888
post Nov 5 2006, 06:30 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

goes to show not every japanese girl is pretty tongue.gif for every one girl i find good in miniskirts, i find 9 that arent
kelvint83
post Nov 5 2006, 06:37 AM

120 posts

LOL...maybe we all watch too many jap drama or ahem dy hahaha...that's y expectation so high.
awh85
post Nov 5 2006, 06:41 AM

2,156 posts

it doesnt matter if the chicks arent A+ quality but at least dun hire porkchops ler. dissapointing stuff from nintendo.

0.0158sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:13 AM