TS??!!
post Jan 12 2007, 09:49 AM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 11 2007, 11:56 AM)
dang, i missed the shadow play pics...
where do you meter the 1st and 2nd pic?
which pix are you referring to?...the shadow play one or the Ermei ones?

Metering...something that have me stumped many a times..most times, I meter on the subjects, away from the sky...unless, my focus is on the clouds.
nairud
post Jan 12 2007, 10:14 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

yup, the shadow.. your focus point is pointed to the wooden house?
TS??!!
post Jan 12 2007, 04:43 PM

2,548 posts

Focus was on the ground where the shadows formed. That's why the sky is kind of blown out, and the hut is a little under.

More Ermei pix:

Golden Summit

The massive statue of Buddha

The Buddha sees you wherever you may be

Silver Temple
Shadow of couple refllected on marble floor as they gaze at the Golden arch of the yet another temple up the mountain

TS??!!
post Jan 12 2007, 04:58 PM

2,548 posts

Elephant sculpturesatop balustrades on the stairway to 'Golden Summit' Temple

Cable cars up to Ermei. Mode of transport for ordinary folks. Kung-fu experts at Ermei fly to the summit. smile.gif

Situated 3099 m above sea level, the summit of Ermei is usually covered in mist most of the time. We were extremely lucky to have the clouds cleared. Suppose it was due to the amount of prayers offered as seen here

The mother of all hand-held joss -stick

aaron
post Jan 12 2007, 05:07 PM

LUMIX Freak
2,451 posts

wow....u been to so many places....great photo i can say...i love them very much..........i wish i can be just like u..always traveling around the world.
TS??!!
post Jan 12 2007, 05:20 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(aaron @ Jan 12 2007, 05:07 PM)
wow....u been to so many places....great photo i can say...i love them very much..........i wish i can be just like u..always traveling around the world.
Been to some places; many more on my wish list. Ya, I'm a travel maniac..most of my $$ spent on travelling moneyflies.gif

Glad that you like the pix..hope they can poison you to travel more,,hehehe
aaron
post Jan 12 2007, 05:26 PM

LUMIX Freak
2,451 posts

haha....u already poison me on traveling.........
now i just wish to save more money for travel....DSLR wait awhile la..haha...

normally how much u spend on a trip? how much u put on ur accomodation?
clemong_888
post Jan 12 2007, 05:41 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(aaron @ Jan 12 2007, 05:26 PM)

aaron tai kor, come japan travel tongue.gif can get a dslr along the way!
aaron
post Jan 12 2007, 05:55 PM

LUMIX Freak
2,451 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Jan 12 2007, 05:41 PM)
u oso!!! always poison me with ur japan pic mad.gif
haha......but really great place..i love japan alot......on the top of my travel list....
no DSLR cannot go ar??!!! FZ50 oso cannot sad.gif
gold3knight
post Jan 12 2007, 06:46 PM

1,672 posts

hm, your photos make me wish i had a better paying job and that my kids are at least 5 years old so I can go traveling.
TS??!!
post Jan 13 2007, 12:21 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(aaron @ Jan 12 2007, 05:26 PM)

aahh...dilemma! ...soo many loves, soo lack of $$...SLR or travel??

The amount I spend varies.,,can range from RM200 to 8k per trip. Depends on who I go with and the destination...Accomodation can range from few ringgit for back-packers hostel to few hundred for a splash at some resort..It really depends on the place I visit.

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Jan 12 2007, 05:41 PM)
is it more expensive to get camera stuff from Japan?..i see lots of Japanese buying cameras in Spore.

QUOTE(gold3knight @ Jan 12 2007, 06:46 PM)
hm, your photos make me wish i had a better paying job and that my kids are at least 5 years old so I can go traveling.
leave the kids at 'out-laws'(oops!...i mean --in-laws) place. Ever thought of making your money work for you while you work for the money? This way, you have more than 1 income stream.
TS??!!
post Jan 13 2007, 12:41 PM

2,548 posts

Mount Balang
At the peak...Crossing the Balang range to get to Mt. Siguniang

See how far we've come!
View of the roads winding round the mountains. Knowing that we started from behind the mountain range in the background somehow gave me a sense of how far we've actually travelled.
Pix not very sharp. Taken thru the moving bus window

Destination drawing near..Finally some sign of our destination drawing near... 36 km to Siguniang.It seemed like forever since we've been going round and round the mountain. Save for the bumpy ride, the glorious views out of the window makes the journey all worthwhile.

Workers' Tent on the summit of Mount Balang, Just plastic sheets to shield from the bitter cold..They cook,eat and sleep in there.
aaron
post Jan 15 2007, 11:40 AM

LUMIX Freak
2,451 posts

interesteing photo....haha...........look very cold there....
gold3knight
post Jan 15 2007, 12:09 PM

1,672 posts

wow, look at all the snow, my wife would love to visit this place, just to see and touch real snow and it's not even muddy. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gold3knight: Jan 15 2007, 12:09 PM
mantra
post Jan 15 2007, 11:09 PM

64 posts

nice pics thumbup.gif
TS??!!
post Jan 16 2007, 04:30 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(aaron @ Jan 15 2007, 11:40 AM)
interesteing photo....haha...........look very cold there....
At about 5000 m, the cold was biting! But the poor construction workers repairing the road had to brave the cold and thin air to eke out a living. sad.gif

QUOTE(gold3knight @ Jan 15 2007, 12:09 PM)
wow, look at all the snow, my wife would love to visit this place, just to see and touch real snow and it's not even muddy.  thumbup.gif
I'm sure she'll love the scenes. No ppl trudging thru the snow to turn it into slush.

QUOTE(mantra @ Jan 15 2007, 11:09 PM)
nice pics  thumbup.gif
Thanks!
TS??!!
post Jan 18 2007, 05:07 PM

2,548 posts

The colours of autumn.

Finding difficulties in metering. It's a pity, as my pix do no justice to all the awesome colours of autumn.

Shooting sky-wards, it's either the leaves are blacked-out or the sky's blown out...haiz!!

TS??!!
post Jan 24 2007, 04:09 PM

2,548 posts

Shangli Village....where time stood still. An ancient official post station along the ancient Silk Road, Shangli boasts beautiful scenery and ancient structures. It reminds me of Lijiang old city in Yunnan.

Tranquil view

All smiles; pleased with the choc candy I gave them.

Favourite pastime..game of mahjong

Local delicacy...air dried meat. Looking at the colour, this is something I refuse to try, adventurous spirit notwithstanding.

HenryLow
post Jan 24 2007, 04:23 PM

liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
4,336 posts

wah... look like china a lot of things to shoot...
i wish i can be there... tongue.gif
TS??!!
post Jan 24 2007, 04:23 PM

2,548 posts

It's the real thing!
Coloured poodle(?) at a tea-shop

Taditional malt sugar candy maker, The piece of black stuff between the hands is the candy.

Check this out!
Rudimentary machine used by a tailor at a street market user posted image

Laundry time .Women washing their clothes by the bank of Baima River

Tete-a-tete.
Group of senior citizens having a chat at the village entrance,

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0142sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled