Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Official Thread V9, 5.1.1 Rolling out in Malaysia

mydragoon
post Jul 27 2015, 12:04 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 27 2015, 10:33 AM)
First set bought to test. Than upgraded to Mate 7
Bought again after few days helping out my friend setup his - I missed the S Pen
Sold it off after I decided to fund for the new MacBook. I had 3 other smartphones with me than ( Mate7, K3 Note, LG G4)
3rd set given to me by my friend free as he had gone on to test other phones. This friend of mine changes phone every 1-2 months and he is freaking rich !
As said before,  Note4 remains my next favorite phablet after Mate7
had to LOL reading that bit... smile.gif

anyway, i'm watching this thread as i might have to start looking for my note 2 replacement soon. still want something with pen since i love it. so... looks like it'll still be note for me. just maybe not note 5. need to be budget conscious.

lumia 950XL is probably something i'll be watching out for as well... just to see what will turn up.
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2015, 08:23 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(OwlsHeart @ Jul 28 2015, 04:08 AM)
uhh..the whole iphone vibe to it...   yawn.gif
if it's any consolation, the OnePlus 2 seems to have Samsung vibe to it... leaked images:

from: http://www.theverge.com/2015/7/27/9048321/...led-photos-leak

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 28 2015, 08:26 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2015, 08:29 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 28 2015, 03:42 AM)
note 5 photo
http://www.sammobile.com/2015/07/27/high-r...-note-5-leaked/

*back side slightly curved

and here the note 5 spec (4gb ram, 2k display, exynoss 7422)
http://www.sammobile.com/2015/07/27/confir...am-exynos-7422/
hmmm... headphone jack at the bottom?!? yikes... personally, i dun like that. i dun think i would like it... guess have to wait and try. coz i'm used to jacks being at the top. looks like non-removable backcover and battery? guess that might also mean no microSD like s6.
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2015, 09:45 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Jul 28 2015, 08:30 AM)
This actually looks quite good. Seeing their specs vs their price... and samseng is becoming iphone... can consider.. hmm.gif

Any experience from n4 users with oneplus one?
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 28 2015, 08:37 AM)
I dump the one+one after a month
i was decieved by the praises at the 1+1 thread
Still don't understand why so much praises especially on its smoothness??? Many phones smoothness better
Only good stuff is cheap n good for rom flashers
Paid rm1.3k new for 64GB n can consider value for money
Camera is average, display is average n performance above average
benny888 isn't that far off...

smoothness... personally for me. i dun see how ppl say smooth like butter cr4p. smooth is smooth la. and what i can see with the OnePlus One... no lag.

camera is average. yes. and honestly, for a 2014 flagship killer, i felt the camera was kinda bad. but i think oneplus realised it and the two is supposedly coming with laser focus and also OIS.

performance is good for the oneplus one. battery life too... comes with CM12S.

display... i'm an AMOLED kaki... so... hahaha... but still, 1080p display... it is ok.

oneplus 2... expected to be usd449 for 64GB model. not as cheap as the oneplus one.
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2015, 11:33 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Jul 28 2015, 10:47 AM)
hi, so u mean there is no flagship camera phone at non-flagship price? any?
some said that the camera performed much better using the apps that came with oneplus one's other OS -- colorOS.

so... could be more an apps issue.
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2015, 11:39 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 28 2015, 10:00 AM)
One+ONE I would recommend only for those interested to root, flash stuffs. The default OS is seriously nothing great to even talk about ! A good alternative to the Nexus series as is much cheaper
actually, default OS is very customisable. lots of things like permission settings/ revoke... and secure too. we're talking about CM12S, ya? smile.gif

plus, OS... very much a personal preference. i am happy to admit i like Touchwiz (most of it anyway). but many claim TW is lousy, sense is lousy... and stock/ vanilla from Google is good. but i look at the vanilla... and ewww...

so, very much depends on personal preference. as a daily driver, i think it's fine for most users. the oneplus i have... used by someone else in my family now and the person is happy with it. alarm works. can browse for hours. battery life is still good. can watch video for hours as well.
mydragoon
post Aug 10 2015, 08:27 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Aug 9 2015, 09:42 PM)
Doesnt say anything abt batt capacity mad.gif
some are saying got 4000mAh battery... but i doubt it'll be such drastic increase.

then some are saying the dual SIM will actually allow one slot to double up a microSD slot. if true... wow... this is what i call flagship (if the battery size does not shrink). smile.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 10 2015, 09:46 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Aug 10 2015, 09:13 AM)
Note4 is still a highly capable device.

About this time last year, I did state that I wouldn't get a Note 4, but I ended up with one because I was given an offer I couldn't refuse. Free Gear S for getting a Note 4...

Anyway, after using the Gear S, I have found 2 design issues with the device, and until such time that manufacturers improve it, I will not get any wearable device, but that's another story.

For those thinking of getting the Note 5, my opinion is that if you have the money and like getting the latest shiny, then go for it. Otherwise, the smartphone market is very much like the PC market now, only incremental improvement, and each year's flagship is just a speed bump. My PC is now 4 years old, and I still get good utility out of it.

The current "trend" of increased lockdown, loss of choice and reduced planned obsolescence cycles are simply ways to rape customers more.
I leave you with a quote attributed to Carl Sagan:

We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology.
have to agree with you...

wearables... i really can't see how they can add-value at this moment. do doubt they can do a few extra things, but personally for me, they just don't warranty the price. for me anyway...

in terms of trend of extra lockdown, etc... ya... agreed. and increasing launch price rather than lowered price is also another issue. i remember when s2 used to launch at rm2199 (i think) but looking at current model's launch price... i'm shocked. and i thought we're at the time where prices are supposed to have dropped to an "affordable" level.

and... oneplus did make things worse... after paying only rm1.4k for a real flagship phone (oneplus one), i just find it hard to pay so much more for a phone. but... the s-pen is so different... so... useful. i am scouting for a replacement for my note2. probably wait for note5 to hit market... that's when i expect note4 prices to drop. then grab one... smile.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 10 2015, 01:19 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Aug 10 2015, 12:54 PM)
3k for android seems overpriced.

I'll consider note 5 if within 2k to 2.3k , anything else I have plenty of other choices.

Many phones have quick charge even my 1k Zen phone 2 have it
you should check out some of the "flagships" from the big guys... quite a few all more than rm3k (for high end specs)...

mydragoon
post Aug 10 2015, 04:03 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Aug 10 2015, 02:04 PM)
Please share the model for research purpose thanks
hmmm... looks like i have to eat my words. very sure i recall seeing many phones were like rm3.1k, etc... but just had a quick check again at DirectD website... and i am wrong. biggrin.gif

i wonder if i stepped into Twilight Zone at that time or something...?!? smile.gif

edit 1:
there's the Ironman version of the s6 going for like rm10k.
s6 edge... 64GB... going for about rm2.9k (before GST)

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 10 2015, 04:05 PM
mydragoon
post Aug 10 2015, 04:42 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Aug 10 2015, 04:37 PM)
If u see it as u mentioned, n5 also looks the same. And the top up will definitely be more than 1k.

I think it will be around 3.2k - 3.3k

It cant and wont be cheaper than s6edge.
i think it can and will be lower than edge. in the past, it's like rm100-200 more than the regular S version. <-- this is something i can be wrong about again. long time no follow Samsung phones

the edge series... who knows... might have note edge 2 or sth... there's also supposedly the bigger edge plus or something that should be launching at the same time as note 5.
mydragoon
post Aug 11 2015, 08:19 AM

7,044 posts

interesting... soya cincau mentioned of SIRIM certification for Note 5. dual SIM version. now just hoping that the rumours about dual sim tray supporting microSD. now... then maybe i hope my note 2 can last another 1.5years. then grab note 5 instead... hahaha...

but dem... wish battery was removable though...
mydragoon
post Aug 11 2015, 09:14 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Aug 11 2015, 08:59 AM)
If its dual SIM, I am considering getting it.
see:
http://www.soyacincau.com/2015/08/03/samsu...dual-sim-ready/
mydragoon
post Aug 11 2015, 10:37 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 11 2015, 09:24 AM)
Note 5 Dual SIM SIRIM Certification is mysterious missing now.

I try search also can't find. Now only S6 Edge + listing is there.

www.soyacincau.com/2015/08/10/samsung-galaxy-s6-edge-plus-dual-sim-malaysia-sirim/
SIRIM checking site: https://ecomm.sirim.my/SirimEnquiry/search_model.aspx
ya, the latest soya cincau article mentioned that as well -- note5 is missing from sirim database.

i'm not sure what that means... whether launch cancelled or what... oh well... just wait and see... biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 14 2015, 09:11 AM

7,044 posts

the take out pen while screen is still blank... that's interesting. i wonder if Samsung will actually bring this to Note 4 via ROM update
mydragoon
post Aug 21 2015, 09:06 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(fashionkilla @ Aug 21 2015, 08:37 AM)

this is what i mentioned
always happen in my lollipop
sigh
isn't this more an apps issue rather than the phone/ touchwiz? sometimes apps don't work properly on some phones and it is up to apps developer to fix it...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 21 2015, 09:13 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 27 2015, 09:09 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 26 2015, 10:21 PM)
No theme store, no 64 bit doh.gif
that link earlier did note:
Update: We’ve seen a lot of comments on XDA saying that the update doesn’t bring 64-bit support, so we thought we should point out that 64-bit support will never come to the Note 4 since only the Exynos version has 64-bit capabilities. The Snapdragon 805 used in the other variant is a 32-bit processor, and Samsung is unlikely to offer 64-bit support to only one section of Note 4 users and not the other.

mydragoon
post Aug 27 2015, 09:11 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ming86 @ Aug 26 2015, 08:54 PM)
Managed to repair the camera... Originally Sony IMX240 Sensor, Now Samsung ISOCELL sensor...  cry.gif

Sony IMX240 Sensor:

Samsung ISOCELL sensor:

the diff is quite big, based on the photo you shared... wonder if we can tell which unit ships with what sensor...
mydragoon
post Aug 27 2015, 09:56 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ming86 @ Aug 27 2015, 09:31 AM)
Just disappointed with Samsung  mad.gif  mad.gif

Download AIDA64 at Google Play, Run it and Click "Devices".

Or try capture few street light photo...

Around 7PM with ISOCELL sensor:
see the flore effect on street lamp and motorbike lamp...  mad.gif

user posted imageISOCELL by Ming, on Flickr
thanks for the "link"... hmmm...ya, that's kinda bad. is that due to exposure? can reduce the exposure time? or sth... i dunno... not ran expert in photography.
mydragoon
post Aug 28 2015, 01:48 PM

7,044 posts

wah, just checked DirectD and 1Gadget... both also quoting rm2099 for a new Note4.

as to whether worth it to go for Note5 via the second one at 50%... for me, not going with N5 because of the non-removable battery + no microSD. but that's just me. also, very limited units only... so... good luck queuing up.

0.0391sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:55 PM