post Jun 25 2015, 01:53 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

mist might cause from compressor kick-in... not sure... maybe.. hmm.gif
amad108
post Jun 25 2015, 02:37 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

check at foreman for them to check the gas pressure..
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 25 2015, 02:37 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

mist could be gas low. pls bring to shop check
McFD2R
post Jun 25 2015, 03:48 PM

1,074 posts

Back in my Proton Sage and Wira days, I used to turn on the air cond at it's lowest temp. When in normal traffic, it's no issue. But when running on highways or roads that aren't congested, your air cond will run colder than it should because your engine and belts are also running faster.

I recall I had air cond issue one day and I found that it wasn't cold not too long after I restarted the car after stopping. When I open the hood, a hose had ice wrapped around it. I was soon advised by a trusted foreman that when running the car at constant speed, the temp need not be at the coldest. This will freeze the hoses if prolong. Then when you restart, mist will appear and little air will come through because the inlet has reduced due to ice inside. When that happened to my car, I poured water on the ice to melt it and it was fine after that. Since then, never have I turned it to the coldest.

Cars these days could be smarter and more advanced compared to then. TS, what car is this?
oHkereD
post Jun 25 2015, 03:54 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 25 2015, 01:00 PM)
Few times, my aircond went like this.

Normal --> warm (10 secs or so) --> mist coming out of aircond --> normal

Is there a prob?
When it's "Normal", compressor kicks in as usual, and the cooling coil will freeze, creates ice for the fan to blow cold air, when it reaches a certain freezing temperature, the compressor cuts off to prevent further freezing (depending on the temperature u set at the panel), thus when ice melts, mist as u call it, blows out (most of the time if u kasi max fan). then when ice melts and temperature rise, compressor kicks in and cooling coil starting forming ice again and cold air out.

get the concept? biggrin.gif

usually old car will have this problem, newer car tarak.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 25 2015, 04:16 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Jun 25 2015, 03:48 PM)
Back in my Proton Sage and Wira days, I used to turn on the air cond at it's lowest temp. When in normal traffic, it's no issue. But when running on highways or roads that aren't congested, your air cond will run colder than it should because your engine and belts are also running faster.

I recall I had air cond issue one day and I found that it wasn't cold not too long after I restarted the car after stopping. When I open the hood, a hose had ice wrapped around it. I was soon advised by a trusted foreman that when running the car at constant speed, the temp need not be at the coldest. This will freeze the hoses if prolong. Then when you restart, mist will appear and little air will come through because the inlet has reduced due to ice inside. When that happened to my car, I poured water on the ice to melt it and it was fine after that. Since then, never have I turned it to the coldest.

Cars these days could be smarter and more advanced compared to then. TS, what car is this?
QUOTE(oHkereD @ Jun 25 2015, 03:54 PM)
When it's "Normal", compressor kicks in as usual, and the cooling coil will freeze, creates ice for the fan to blow cold air, when it reaches a certain freezing temperature, the compressor cuts off to prevent further freezing (depending on the temperature u set at the panel), thus when ice melts, mist as u call it, blows out (most of the time if u kasi max fan). then when ice melts and temperature rise, compressor kicks in and cooling coil starting forming ice again and cold air out.

get the concept? biggrin.gif

usually old car will have this problem, newer car tarak.
I usually dun put until the coldest, pointer at 3 quarter of temperature knob only, fan speed 1. New car proton iriz.
McFD2R
post Jun 25 2015, 04:21 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 25 2015, 04:16 PM)
New car proton iriz.
Ah, my problem occurred with Saga & Wira. Could it be Proton technology from old days carry forward to current days? laugh.gif
scoupe
post Jun 25 2015, 05:06 PM

93 posts

Aircond should not freeze over. there are devices that regulate temperature. It is regulated by a sensor that sits on the cooling coil. Freezing over can also be caused by a faulty expansion valve. perhaps you havent serviced your aircond in a long time.
oHkereD
post Jun 25 2015, 06:24 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jun 25 2015, 05:06 PM)
Aircond should not freeze over. there are devices that regulate temperature.  It is regulated by a sensor that sits on the cooling coil. Freezing over can also be caused by a faulty expansion valve. perhaps you havent serviced your aircond in a long time.
lulz he just said new Proton Iriz. how long could it be? tongue.gif

anyway, it could be the failure of the box design that holds the cooling coil and blower to drain the water not quick enough, making the blower able to blow the leftover ice water out through louver.

This post has been edited by oHkereD: Jun 25 2015, 06:25 PM
post Jun 25 2015, 09:08 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

This usually happens if you have low refrigerant or clogged air filter. The moist air comes into contact with the cold coils at its dew point. The fog/mist is condensed water vapour.

This is because the cooling coil is not cold enough to fully condense all the water vapour due to low refrigerant level in the aircond system. Recharging your system to the correct pressure would solve the problem

This post has been edited by 779364: Jun 25 2015, 09:09 PM
eddievh
post Jun 25 2015, 09:30 PM

3,219 posts

Ts normal la, low fan usually can produce mist one. It because low fan speed the air is very cold meet interior warmer air will produce mist or fog.

0.0146sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:22 AM