AMD Radeon™ Discussion V13, Radeon Software 16.5.3, God Speed

TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 19 2016, 03:15 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Mar 18 2016, 11:56 PM)
hm i dunno when is out i think i need to own AMD Flagship in my Rig...  biggrin.gif
If you buy that card, i hope you enjoy some of it's features like the latest one below. tongue.gif

-The Division may experience flickering in AMD Crossfire™ mode.
-League of Legends® may experience some graphical corruption on characters death animation in AMD Crossfire™ mode.
-Plants vs Zombies™: Garden Warfare 2 may experience some flickering in AMD Crossfire™ mode.
-Hitman™ may experience poor AMD Crossfire™ scaling when "Super Sampling" is set to 1.5x.
-Need for Speed™ may experience poor scaling or flickering in AMD Crossfire™ mode.

terradrive
post Mar 19 2016, 01:43 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Mar 17 2016, 03:42 PM)
Vega
yes, 290/290X is still good to handle high settings for now even for me at 1440p.
i think it can last another year until Vega announced. unless Polaris performance increase compare to Fury is significant and cheap at the same time.
Hopefully polaris 10 will be $329. Because AMD had been hinting about this minimum entry price for vr for quite a while now.

$329 fury x performance and cool and quiet, tergugat hati oh
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 19 2016, 03:49 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 19 2016, 01:43 PM)
Hopefully polaris 10 will be $329. Because AMD had been hinting about this minimum entry price for vr for quite a while now.

$329 fury x performance and cool and quiet, tergugat hati oh
I might jump too if that is the case. tongue.gif Fury-X performance with better overclockability and thermal at below RM2k. wub.gif
Skylinestar
post Mar 19 2016, 08:45 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

To the R9 Nano users out there,
does your Nano ever experience thermal throttling? How's the fan noise to maintain max performance (without thermal throttling) in our hot weather?

After reading hardocp review 1 & review 2 , I'm disappointed.

Do note, even with the cooler temperatures the video card still cannot maintain a flat line of 1000MHz due to power limits. The TDP is the limiting factor, not temperature. This is what we have learned from this.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Mar 19 2016, 08:59 PM
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 19 2016, 09:16 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 19 2016, 08:45 PM)
  does your Nano ever experience thermal throttling? How's the fan noise to maintain max performance (without thermal throttling) in our hot weather?

I'm still confused about that, hope Nano's owner can clarify. Is the card thermal throttle or power throttle?
Unseen83
post Mar 19 2016, 11:05 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 19 2016, 03:15 AM)
If you buy that card, i hope you enjoy some of it's features like the latest one below. tongue.gif
i dont own any of that game... you buy me than i exp it smile.gif
kizwan
post Mar 20 2016, 01:01 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 19 2016, 08:45 PM)

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 19 2016, 09:16 PM)
I'm still confused about that, hope Nano's owner can clarify. Is the card thermal throttle or power throttle?
Stock Power Limit & TDP can cause throttling even if temp is low. Just increase power limit.
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 20 2016, 01:38 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 20 2016, 01:01 AM)
Stock Power Limit & TDP can cause throttling even if temp is low. Just increase power limit.
Yeah because i saw few reviews show that by simply raising the power limit to +50 can hold the clock or even a slight overclock pretty well.

If you plan on doing any overclocking, you will have to increase the card's power limit or the card will always run below 1000 MHz. All our OC testing is done with a power limit setting of +50%, the maximum, to avoid the way in which AMD's card limits power draw.

Maximum overclock of our sample is 1060 MHz on the GPU, a 6% overclock; GPU overclocking potential is quite slim. Memory doesn't overclock much better, reaching 565 MHz, a 13% increase. The biggest performance gain is achieved by increasing the power limit as additional clock increases only yield small performance improvements.

This post has been edited by Acid_RuleZz: Mar 20 2016, 01:39 AM
Skylinestar
post Mar 20 2016, 09:34 AM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2015/12/01/.../2#.Vu3_BVIpqwY

Looks like the Nano can only achieve the rated clock speed at 100% fan & +50 power boost.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Mar 20 2016, 09:45 AM
pjsplayez
post Mar 20 2016, 11:46 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 19 2016, 03:11 AM)
Crimson 16.3.1 outto.

Download: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/P...ion_16.3.1.aspx
Radeon Software Crimson Edition 16.3.1 Highlights
Going to try NFS with this new driver and see if it improve the min FPS.
how ur nfs fps performance with new 16.3.1 ?

TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 20 2016, 03:31 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 20 2016, 09:34 AM)
http://www.hardocp.com/article/2015/12/01/.../2#.Vu3_BVIpqwY

Looks like the Nano can only achieve the rated clock speed at 100% fan & +50 power boost.
I thought the card should automatically ramp up the fan to 100% to keep the 75c temperature limit similar to Hawaii 95c?

QUOTE(pjsplayez @ Mar 20 2016, 11:46 AM)
how ur nfs fps performance with new 16.3.1 ?
Didn't notice any significant performance different, i'm starting to think my CPU kinda bottlenecking it. hmm.gif
No plan to upgrade to Skylake with current pricing, hopefully with Zen the price will drop.
pjsplayez
post Mar 20 2016, 05:17 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 20 2016, 03:31 PM)
I thought the card should automatically ramp up the fan to 100% to keep the 75c temperature limit similar to Hawaii 95c?
Didn't notice any significant performance different, i'm starting to think my CPU kinda bottlenecking it. hmm.gif
No plan to upgrade to Skylake with current pricing, hopefully with Zen the price will drop.
what ur cpu?
im using i5 also sometime lagged lol

This post has been edited by pjsplayez: Mar 20 2016, 05:18 PM
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 20 2016, 07:36 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(pjsplayez @ Mar 20 2016, 05:17 PM)
what ur cpu?
im using i5 also sometime lagged lol
Xeon E3-1230V2, when gaming it probably perform similar to your i5 give or take.
SUSGregyong
post Mar 20 2016, 07:38 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 20 2016, 03:31 PM)
boot up task manager and GPUZ to see which one sees most load?
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 20 2016, 08:15 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Mar 20 2016, 07:38 PM)
boot up task manager and GPUZ to see which one sees most load?
Yeah, GPU usage rarely went above 90% and in some areas my CPU usage was around 50% which already max out.

GPU Usage

CPU Usage

GPU usage in AOTS

terradrive
post Mar 21 2016, 07:06 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

I'm also waiting for zen, sometimes i really wanted to get second gpu but my mobo does not support it.

Sigh when i bought that time low on money, then the next month i got like extra 9k rolling in zzz. If not mmg i7 and z87 liao
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 21 2016, 03:20 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 21 2016, 07:06 AM)
I'm also waiting for zen, sometimes i really wanted to get second gpu but my mobo does not support it.

Sigh when i bought that time low on money, then the next month i got like extra 9k rolling in zzz. If not mmg i7 and z87 liao
I pray Zen will have some competitiveness to bring down Skylake and future Kabylake price if not i rather upgrade my sport rim. laugh.gif
sai86
post Mar 21 2016, 03:41 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 20 2016, 08:15 PM)
Yeah, GPU usage rarely went above 90% and in some areas my CPU usage was around 50% which already max out.

GPU Usage

CPU Usage

GPU usage in AOTS

go i7 once and you can forget the need to upgrade until the next 5 years and beyond.
unless you do serious intensive CPU things la.
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Mar 21 2016, 03:53 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Mar 21 2016, 03:41 PM)
go i7 once and you can forget the need to upgrade until the next 5 years and beyond.
unless you do serious intensive CPU things la.
Mine is technically an i7 bro, slightly slower than i7-3770 but without iGPU. laugh.gif
Problem is that many games didn't benefit from HT.

http://ark.intel.com/compare/65732,65719
sai86
post Mar 21 2016, 03:58 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 21 2016, 03:53 PM)
Mine is technically an i7 bro, slightly slower than i7-3770 but without iGPU. laugh.gif
Problem is that many games didn't benefit from HT.

http://ark.intel.com/compare/65732,65719
aiks. i was meant to quote bro terradrive. haha.
your xeon E version is a very nice buy and recommended to those that want i7 but does not require K or igpu.
sadly not alot newbie know these info and they thought it muz be some meh cpu coz its not "i" laugh.gif

130 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:53 PM