130 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

AMD Radeon™ Discussion V13, Radeon Software 16.5.3, God Speed

Unseen83
post Aug 16 2015, 09:18 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(Moongrave @ Aug 15 2015, 04:05 PM)
Hi I just got a sapphire 390 and im here to ask what is a safe oc for the memory and how to indicate it that it is not too high

I know that for the core, if its too high, there would be artifacts but what about memory clocks?

I'm on stock voltage and I'm not increasing it, so far my clocks are 1125 (1130 is possible but to be safe) and 1675 (1700 possible but scared to go higher)

My temps is 75 at max
Evening sir, May i know reason of you increasing the Memory Clock ? is to benchmark purpose or a gaming purpose.. or simply to know limit of your Graphic cards.. hmm.gif

possible to know Software you use to overclock your gpu ? and if i were you i focus on Core clock to overclock.. always give best performance boost.. smile.gif and 5-10% increase from base core should be safe.. without touching +Vcore

This post has been edited by Unseen83: Aug 16 2015, 09:19 PM
kizwan
post Aug 17 2015, 03:34 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(Moongrave @ Aug 15 2015, 04:05 PM)
Hi I just got a sapphire 390 and im here to ask what is a safe oc for the memory and how to indicate it that it is not too high

I know that for the core, if its too high, there would be artifacts but what about memory clocks?

I'm on stock voltage and I'm not increasing it, so far my clocks are 1125 (1130 is possible but to be safe) and 1675 (1700 possible but scared to go higher)

My temps is 75 at max
You can max out clocks if you want. It's safe. The ones you need to monitor is voltage & temps. If you're using stock BIOS & overclocking software like MSI AB, the +100mV increase over stock voltage is pretty much safe & the only thing you need to watch is temps. For temps, try aim below 80C.

Many 390's can run 1700 on the memory. Many also run it for 24/7.
Unseen83
post Aug 17 2015, 12:11 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

Hello.. guys.. i got to ask why some sifu who master in recommend Rig/pc built still say/put down GTX 970 as base budget conscious pc built(RM3-4K built) ? over to R9 390 ? i mean Granada is a enhancement of Hawai.. (is a refresh) review youtube show is a bit faster, almost same price.. (just get it lelong found better price than lynt)
Moongrave
post Aug 17 2015, 12:24 PM

422 posts

I run the oc for gaming purposes and I plan to run it to gain performance without increasing temps so i don't want to increase voltage?
Unseen83
post Aug 17 2015, 03:47 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(Moongrave @ Aug 17 2015, 12:24 PM)
I run the oc for gaming purposes and I plan to run it to gain performance without increasing temps so i don't want to increase voltage?
your gaming on 1080P or 1440P ? are you getting below 30FPS average ? or higher 40Fps on average.. :? what game your playing.. usually.. For me la.. if just game sake all on high if average fps is 40-50Fps is okay already.. smile.gif is what im getting on 4K(AA is off) with my single Fury X and 5% OC core.. z
antaras
post Aug 17 2015, 05:23 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 17 2015, 12:11 PM)
Hello.. guys.. i got to ask why some sifu who master in recommend Rig/pc built still say/put down GTX 970 as base budget conscious pc built(RM3-4K built) ? over to R9 390 ?  i mean Granada is a enhancement of Hawai.. (is a refresh)  review youtube show is a bit faster, almost same price.. (just get it lelong found better price than lynt)
Maybe because you need a larger PSU to run R9 390? Which in turn makes the built slightly more expensive. Since as you said they are almost the same price(GPU).
Unseen83
post Aug 17 2015, 06:45 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Aug 17 2015, 05:23 PM)
Maybe because you need a larger PSU to run R9 390? Which in turn makes the built slightly more expensive. Since as you said they are almost the same price(GPU).
eh sure.. psu need to be 650W to run r9 390... laugh.gif
SUScrash123
post Aug 17 2015, 06:50 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 17 2015, 12:11 PM)
Hello.. guys.. i got to ask why some sifu who master in recommend Rig/pc built still say/put down GTX 970 as base budget conscious pc built(RM3-4K built) ? over to R9 390 ?  i mean Granada is a enhancement of Hawai.. (is a refresh)  review youtube show is a bit faster, almost same price.. (just get it lelong found better price than lynt)
Lets say the cheapest custom PCB GPU is
PowerColor PCS+ R9 390 RM 1,278 on lelong
MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4GB RM RM 1,505

AMD 41dB

NVIDIA 39dB

Most of the game ATI win but when use stock memory, but when OC Nvidia is win on heat/performance/noise level.
It doesn't count on famous ATI driver performance and high power consumption brows.gif
So to answer your question go for ATI if u go tight budget(can get custom PCB on 1.2k) but if u got money go for GTX 970 coz better OC room and lower heat.
EDIT: Just found that u can get Gigabyte R9 390X for 1.6k LOL. So GTX 970 is no brainer unless u are NVIDIA fanboy or dont want take risk on ATI driver. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by crash123: Aug 17 2015, 06:50 PM
Unseen83
post Aug 17 2015, 07:28 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(crash123 @ Aug 17 2015, 06:50 PM)
Lets say the cheapest custom PCB GPU is
PowerColor PCS+ R9 390 RM 1,278 on lelong
MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4GB RM RM 1,505

AMD 41dB

NVIDIA 39dB

Most of the game ATI win but when use stock memory, but when OC Nvidia is win on heat/performance/noise level.
It doesn't count on famous ATI driver performance and high power consumption  brows.gif
So to answer your question go for ATI if u go tight budget(can get custom PCB on 1.2k) but if u got money go for GTX 970 coz better OC room and lower heat.
EDIT: Just found that u can get Gigabyte R9 390X for 1.6k LOL. So GTX 970 is no brainer unless u are NVIDIA fanboy or dont want take risk on ATI driver.  laugh.gif
sure.. but check out EVGA GTX 970 4gb Super Clock vs MSI R9 390 8GB

again bringing out about AMD driver again heat.. and noise.. lol okay GTX lie to their Fan about Memory.. Cripple game with Gamework.. what else.. hmm.gif oh some GTX 970 got coil whine..

add-on: what next ? AMD R consume 100W more!! argh! my utility bill will be 2% more nooooo

This post has been edited by Unseen83: Aug 17 2015, 07:34 PM
SUScrash123
post Aug 17 2015, 08:03 PM

271 posts

Everybody kinda agree with heat and noise generated by AMD card. Coil whine is not noticeable unless u open ur case and put ur ear on GPU(not from this video). BTW IIRC r9 390 or 290 got some massive issue and many people RMA that card from what im reading on the web. From recent ATI driver r9 390 and r9 390x is the best for the buck GPU. So buy r9 390 RM1.2k and 750W psu around RM400 and walaa, GTX 970 killer. Gamework suck hard even my GTX980ti cant get 60fps on witcher 3 1080p if hairwork on(come from NVIDIA fanboy brows.gif)

terradrive
post Aug 17 2015, 08:30 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(crash123 @ Aug 17 2015, 08:03 PM)

Everybody kinda agree with heat and noise generated by AMD card. Coil whine is not noticeable unless u open ur case and put ur ear on GPU(not from this video). BTW IIRC r9 390 or 290 got some massive issue and many people RMA that card from what im reading on the web. From recent ATI driver r9 390 and r9 390x is the best for the buck GPU. So buy r9 390 RM1.2k and 750W psu around RM400 and walaa, GTX 970 killer. Gamework suck hard even my GTX980ti cant get 60fps on witcher 3 1080p if hairwork on(come from NVIDIA fanboy  brows.gif)
If you got aircon, 390 runs pretty darn cool with all those custom cards or custom fans made by almost all manufacturers. Plus it got 8GB VRAM, shadow of mordor, COD Advanced Warfare etc can use those additional VRAM.

Even without aircon, I can still run my 290 Tri-X overclocked to 1150Mhz (stock 290 is 947Mhz, means 21.4% overclock) and memory to 1500Mhz (stock 1250Mhz, 20% overclock). Even with the voltage increase it still runs below 84C without aircon room (ambient temp 32C)

Face it, R9 390 is the new sub 300 dollar GPU king. Talking about PSUs, putting RM400 into better PSU is always good, trust me that you shouldn't even run GTX 970 with those cheap PSUs. Look at this guy with a dead GTX 970 with the first boot. Unlucky his PSU shorted and killed the brand new 970.

https://www.reddit.com/r/pcmasterrace/comme...ad_a_short_and/

Plus you should always use high quality PSUs to run high end parts, even though GTX 970 doesn't use more than 200 watts, it is still considered as high end (counted when it was first released)

Not to mention high quality PSUs have long warranty time, it is not a +RM400 upgrade just to use R9 390, it is a "supposed to use it from the beginning" upgrade.
Unseen83
post Aug 17 2015, 08:37 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(crash123 @ Aug 17 2015, 08:03 PM)

Everybody kinda agree with heat and noise generated by AMD card. Coil whine is not noticeable unless u open ur case and put ur ear on GPU(not from this video). BTW IIRC r9 390 or 290 got some massive issue and many people RMA that card from what im reading on the web. From recent ATI driver r9 390 and r9 390x is the best for the buck GPU. So buy r9 390 RM1.2k and 750W psu around RM400 and walaa, GTX 970 killer. Gamework suck hard even my GTX980ti cant get 60fps on witcher 3 1080p if hairwork on(come from NVIDIA fanboy  brows.gif)
right.. PSU now.. so to used R9 390 all suden 750W psu.. become additional cost/price to consider ? my friend using R9 390 on CM GXII 550W.. no problem.. by way Nvidia should lower price GTX 970.. i mean it have discounted memory on it so why not follow with price too tongue.gif
SUScrash123
post Aug 17 2015, 08:46 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 17 2015, 08:37 PM)
right.. PSU now.. so to used R9 390 all suden 750W psu.. become additional cost/price to consider ?  my friend using R9 390 on CM GXII 550W.. no problem..  by way Nvidia should lower price GTX 970.. i mean it have discounted memory on it so why not follow with price too  tongue.gif
I heard many of people running r9 390 without problem with SeaSonic M12II 620, but if someone heavily OC with i5-4690k or i7-4790k and GPU can u run on 550w??Better buy 750w coz the difference in pricing between SeaSonic 620w and CM 750 is not to far brows.gif

This post has been edited by crash123: Aug 17 2015, 08:50 PM
antaras
post Aug 17 2015, 10:37 PM

196 posts

hahaha... guys... calm down calm down... I'm just saying. Maybe perhaps not everybody is as tech savvy as you guys. Most will just prefer to plug and play and not fiddle around with drivers and what not. So, I guess that is perhaps the answer for the earlier question? I'm not sure, just giving out opinions based on what you guys written.
shikimori
post Aug 17 2015, 11:21 PM

236 posts

Guys need help is there any way to go higher for my r9 290 core above 1200? Temp idle 36 load 56 equip with kraken g10

Voltage is at 1.3 memory 1500. Game plays great on freesync except on witcher 3 where the game literally tore the bastardize 290 .
terradrive
post Aug 18 2015, 12:10 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(shikimori @ Aug 17 2015, 11:21 PM)
Guys need help is there any way to go higher for my r9 290 core above 1200? Temp idle 36 load 56 equip with kraken g10

Voltage is at 1.3 memory 1500. Game plays great on freesync except on witcher 3 where the game literally tore the bastardize 290 .
1200Mhz is the border for 290's overclock... very rare 290 can go above 1200Mhz stable with 1.3v. IINM a user said above 1200Mhz, it needs +100mV for every 50Mhz increase on his 290X (custom watercooled).
chocobo7779
post Aug 18 2015, 12:19 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Aug 17 2015, 08:30 PM)
If you got aircon, 390 runs pretty darn cool with all those custom cards or custom fans made by almost all manufacturers. Plus it got 8GB VRAM, shadow of mordor, COD Advanced Warfare etc can use those additional VRAM.

Even without aircon, I can still run my 290 Tri-X overclocked to 1150Mhz (stock 290 is 947Mhz, means 21.4% overclock) and memory to 1500Mhz (stock 1250Mhz, 20% overclock). Even with the voltage increase it still runs below 84C without aircon room (ambient temp 32C)

Face it, R9 390 is the new sub 300 dollar GPU king. Talking about PSUs, putting RM400 into better PSU is always good, trust me that you shouldn't even run GTX 970 with those cheap PSUs. Look at this guy with a dead GTX 970 with the first boot. Unlucky his PSU shorted and killed the brand new 970.

https://www.reddit.com/r/pcmasterrace/comme...ad_a_short_and/

Plus you should always use high quality PSUs to run high end parts, even though GTX 970 doesn't use more than 200 watts, it is still considered as high end (counted when it was first released)

Not to mention high quality PSUs have long warranty time, it is not a +RM400 upgrade just to use R9 390, it is a "supposed to use it from the beginning" upgrade.
...and that's the reason why I always recommend a high quality unit. It's ironic that some people has the money to afford expensive gaming machines but cannot afford a high quality PSU. shakehead.gif
chocobo7779
post Aug 18 2015, 12:46 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

That amount of gains though:

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalf...enchmark-tested

TSAcid_RuleZz
post Aug 18 2015, 01:35 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 18 2015, 12:46 AM)
We can't download the benchmark? Only press release? sad.gif

Meanwhile, i hope i don't need to upgrade my card again for this game.

Unseen83
post Aug 18 2015, 02:14 AM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(crash123 @ Aug 17 2015, 08:46 PM)
I heard many of people running r9 390 without problem with SeaSonic M12II 620, but if someone heavily OC with i5-4690k or i7-4790k and GPU can u run on 550w??Better buy 750w coz the difference in pricing between SeaSonic 620w and CM 750 is not to far  brows.gif
hm eh he got i5 4440 and r9 390 on 550w psu.. smile.gif no oc..

QUOTE(antaras @ Aug 17 2015, 10:37 PM)
hahaha... guys... calm down calm down... I'm just saying. Maybe perhaps not everybody is as tech savvy as you guys. Most will just prefer to plug and play and not fiddle around with drivers and what not. So, I guess that is perhaps the answer for the earlier question? I'm not sure, just giving out opinions based on what you guys written.
hahaha.. yeah i am sooo Master pc overclocker... why im using AMD R9 fury X cause when i install new gpu i need to mod mobo bios.. do os refresh.. so on.. tongue.gif wait.. hmm i buy amd r9 fury x remove my last crossfire..(by way is breeze to get that working plug play dual gpu) oh install fury driver.. boom.. work like champ... same goes with R9 290x Trix/VaporX.. wub.gif i miss them already.

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 18 2015, 12:46 AM)
wow 67-75% performance boost.. no way... hmm wonder how HBM memory hmm.gif eh..

130 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:58 PM