Due to the haywire system of tmnut , certain areas will be affected with random ping.
CS does not even know how to handle the problem and how to output the situation to their respective backend.
Usually they'll just ask the backend to reset your port which does not solve the issue.
When it comes to international connection, it requires more communication to check on the issue which will be usually ignored unless there's a high amount of users being affected.
If you're minority, you're out of luck.
Solution.
What we usually deal with lag spike is we get vpn/tunnel services to route & shape the traffic properly.
There're many types of VPN/Tunnel services provider around globally.
What i suggest would be looking into game specifically vpn service such as battleping or wtfast .
They are for games and strictly not for downloading purposes. Prices will be a lot cheaper then a fully tunneling services such as bolehvpn.
Battleping-Easy selection of server (Nearest is the best always select Malaysia) and click connect , that's all.
If you like easy interfaces without the highly customizable functions like walking into a pilot cockpit , i suggest going for battleping. A simple 1-2 clicks brings you straight to what you need.
WTfast- UFO cockpit. They can be fast but if you're not alien or alien literate , you mind end up not moving the ship at all.
WTFast is highly customizable and certain users are able to get better ping rates from wtfast over battleping. But for users who went in and thought that they walked into some alien spacecraft cockpit , you'll end up getting very much worse that you could imagine.
i think ur first paragraph kinda explain my current situation. after i upgraded to vip10, the following month (upgraded may so in early june) i am having terrible dl/ul speed and ping, i played dota2/csgo and started out at good ping of less than 100, then sudden spike to 1000++ for a bit before slowly going down. teleported everywhere. tested on Guild wars 2 with NA server usually giving me 300~ ping can spike up to 3000+ ping (no joke) before going down again. i would assume ffxiv might give me something similar. wonder if it just me or tmnet something wrong liao. called customer service and they came check say nothing wrong also. weird. (sorry going out of topic a bit, just ranting)