Online MBA- - which is better?

TSMoneyMaker prince
post Jun 26 2015, 08:19 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 25 2015, 11:09 PM)
Online MBA might as well get it from American University of London. Cheap fast good with the effort of filing up forms and pay money only. Can get into gahmen job some more. Kena caught also no problem.

If SG go for NUS/NTU/SMU at least, highly recommend NUS best in SG and JB, some say even Batam. Best if you can get into Insead. Loan from bank also worth.
Wah.. I know SG MBA is very good. But the fee is just ridiculous for a middle age employee like me.

I feel is very risky. What if upon completion of the course and I still get nothing from it (increment/promotion), that will be pathetic..
Fiona Chin
post Jun 26 2015, 10:21 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Jun 26 2015, 08:19 AM)
Wah.. I know SG MBA is very good. But the fee is just ridiculous for a middle age employee like me.

I feel is very risky. What if upon completion of the course and I still get nothing from it (increment/promotion), that will be pathetic..
People will definitely ask where you got your MBA from if they see it as something relevant. If you tell them you got it from online school or sub par one then people will be meh yawn.gif . If HBS those brands their face straight away drool.gif , this guy has good connections.

My company paid for my tuition fee, part of my promotion criteria to graduate in 3 years after I accept the offer. Either you find a company who does that, or you take it as an investment. The 3 public schools not say you want then sure can go in one you know... must have good good record. Insead more die... But if get into Insead confirm good life ahead. NUS bout 50k, Insead bout 90k last time.

But its your choice la, your money your time. If got budget constraint then apply the best one you can afford lo thumbup.gif .
Furfur
post Jun 26 2015, 02:57 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Jun 26 2015, 08:19 AM)

an MBA (or any paper) doesn't guarantee promotion or increment. If that is your main purpose, then I suggest you don't take. If you look from that perspective, it will be a lousy ROI
katijah
post Jun 26 2015, 04:12 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Furfur @ Jun 25 2015, 11:19 AM)
whatever you choose, go for UK ones. plus, don't choose MBA that says you don't need to do dissertation/thesis/fyp. A master with no thesis is not a valid master and is worthless in many countries
I found University of London distance learning was worthless in teaching jobs in Singapore. Beware some of them used to be popular with South Asians because it gives them MBA cert without real personal test .
Furfur
post Jun 26 2015, 05:53 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(katijah @ Jun 26 2015, 04:12 PM)
I found University of London distance learning was worthless in teaching jobs in Singapore.  Beware some of them used to be popular with South Asians because it gives them MBA cert without real personal test .
that's why need to be cautious lo. any masters with no proper thesis is useless piece of overpriced paper
TSMoneyMaker prince
post Jun 26 2015, 05:53 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(Furfur @ Jun 26 2015, 02:57 PM)
an MBA (or any paper) doesn't guarantee promotion or increment. If that is your main purpose, then I suggest you don't take. If you look from that perspective, it will be a lousy ROI
I understand that it does not guarantee promotion or increment, I mean the ROI will be low. Of course I also understand the knowledge you can get from MBA and the perspective you look at thing will be priceless
patryn33
post Jun 27 2015, 01:06 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 26 2015, 10:21 AM)
People will definitely ask where you got your MBA from if they see it as something relevant. If you tell them you got it from online school or sub par one then people will be meh yawn.gif . If HBS those brands their face straight away  drool.gif , this guy has good connections.

My company paid for my tuition fee, part of my promotion criteria to graduate in 3 years after I accept the offer. Either you find a company who does that, or you take it as an investment. The 3 public schools not say you want then sure can go in one you know... must have good good record. Insead more die... But if get into Insead confirm good life ahead. NUS bout 50k, Insead bout 90k last time.

But its your choice la, your money your time. If got budget constraint then apply the best one you can afford lo thumbup.gif .
Insead is not easy to enter even if U have the money. If U have to ask here and no where near management its super hard to get into insead.
NUS/NTU alot easier

http://mba.insead.edu/the-insead-mba/class-profile.cfm

this issue is 2 part.
- Will TS be admitted, its a reachable goal
- can TS afford
patryn33
post Jun 27 2015, 01:08 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Jun 26 2015, 05:53 PM)
I understand that it does not guarantee promotion or increment, I mean the ROI will be low. Of course I also understand the knowledge you can get from MBA and the perspective you look at thing will be priceless
really depends not all MBA program is life changing in that way.
U could do those free program to understand the biz side of things
TSMoneyMaker prince
post Jun 27 2015, 12:56 PM

507 posts

Dear all,

Thanks for all the advise. I have decided to go for MBA that has the quality rather than affordability.

As of how and where to find the money to enter these university, I think i will go search for sponsorship / scholarship/ study loan. On the mean time, will take some free courses from cousera to understand more on bisness and management.

Most importantly is to never give up. i firmly believe that poor is never a reason for anyone to pursue his/her education.
SUScute_miao
post Jun 27 2015, 01:50 PM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

OUM better
tinkerbel
post Jun 27 2015, 11:14 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@patryn33,
Hard to get doesn't mean cannot get. In fact, I know of people who's completed the INSEAD EMBA biggrin.gif

@MoneyMaker prince,
It's definitely a good choice. U won't regret it!
patryn33
post Jun 28 2015, 12:32 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 27 2015, 11:14 PM)
@patryn33,
Hard to get doesn't mean cannot get.  In fact, I know of people who's completed the INSEAD EMBA biggrin.gif

@MoneyMaker prince,
It's definitely a good choice.  U won't regret it!
I am saying how possible for TS, I am not saying impossible. Hard does not imply impossible.

how easy for TS? The people u know how have made into Emba is already in management.
The way u have it is like there are successful ppl like gates, jobs and jack ma it's hard but possible. Questions is how possible for joe here? Or TS?

It's not logical to say I know A therefore it's possible, yes possible but how possible for TS is in qns. For those riding high usually money is not a issue for these ppl. Insead Emba one could find prc or Thai flying in weekly for class.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jun 28 2015, 01:03 AM
TSMoneyMaker prince
post Jun 28 2015, 09:31 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 27 2015, 11:14 PM)
@patryn33,
Hard to get doesn't mean cannot get.  In fact, I know of people who's completed the INSEAD EMBA biggrin.gif

@MoneyMaker prince,
It's definitely a good choice.  U won't regret it!
@tinkerbel,

You mean good choice in terms of taking MBA or enrol into INSEAD?
tinkerbel
post Jun 28 2015, 01:25 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@patryn33,
Well he's going to need some time to find the $ so whilst he's doing that, he'll be accumulating experience. And, he doesn't need to look at the EMBA programme, he can always do the MBA programme smile.gif

@MoneyMaker prince,
Good choice picking a good MBA programme, not necessarily need to be INSEAD.
TSMoneyMaker prince
post Jun 28 2015, 07:21 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 28 2015, 01:25 PM)
@patryn33,
Well he's going to need some time to find the $ so whilst he's doing that, he'll be accumulating experience. And, he doesn't need to look at the EMBA programme, he can always do the MBA programme smile.gif

@MoneyMaker prince,
Good choice picking a good MBA programme, not necessarily need to be INSEAD.
hmm... understand notworthy.gif
tinkerbel
post Jun 28 2015, 09:17 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@MoneyMaker prince,
Good Luck! And there are a LOT of options out there so pick the right one that's suitable for U biggrin.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jun 29 2015, 01:19 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jun 27 2015, 01:06 AM)
Insead is not easy to enter even if U have the money. If U have to ask here and no where near management its super hard to get into insead.
NUS/NTU alot easier

http://mba.insead.edu/the-insead-mba/class-profile.cfm

this issue is 2 part.
- Will TS be admitted, its a reachable goal
- can TS afford
1) Never try never know.
2) There are loans available.
patryn33
post Jun 29 2015, 07:08 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 29 2015, 01:19 PM)
1) Never try never know.
2) There are loans available.
That I agree no harm trying, even trump is trying

0.0206sec    1.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:05 AM