9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

pengster
post Apr 1 2007, 06:32 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(vampiric @ Apr 1 2007, 05:49 PM)
if my phone storing 2k sms, the lag is acceptable comparing if i install tons of stuff in phone and the lag time to open each folder.

The memoryleak problem is because of Symbian, not nokia. And I think everyone do know about the problem, if there are a solution, it would be implemented long ago. sad.gif

8mb is still ok, u should be surprise when it drop to 5mb or 4mb.
Compare with my old 6680, N80 memory leak is not too bad. smile.gif because the working ram is much bigger to withstand it.
oh my bad.thought it was nokia at fault laugh.gif this is a really big bug in symbian then.

hmm but last time when i used a 6600 i never encountered this memory leak before. unsure.gif
pengster
post Apr 4 2007, 11:02 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(wcwl @ Apr 4 2007, 01:16 PM)
i dunno if v can open youtube via hp,i jsut scare of not enough memory to opens youtube as it has so many flash,etc haha
i m using f-secure antivirus running in background and never auto resrart as well...so weird ur fon will does that?
there's a site for Youtube mobile which is http://m.youtube.com/?client=ytdemo laugh.gif

but its only on beta stage.
pengster
post Apr 5 2007, 09:04 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(tonktonks @ Apr 5 2007, 08:23 PM)
Hello everyone.  I am very much interested in this phone but i'm very very new to mobile phones  sad.gif  My question is, if i get AP set, will i be able to update my softwares/firmware from the official Nokia site, which is linked on the first page.  Any reply would be nice, please.
Yeah you will be able to update your firmware.mine's an ap set and it updated flawlessly smile.gif

the only difference in AP and original is the warranty and several other minor things.
pengster
post Apr 7 2007, 12:07 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Apr 6 2007, 10:28 AM)
Me too.....join the club of Fone fanastik....hehehe

Added on April 6, 2007, 10:32 amI just got my software upgraded yesterday (DIY) now it is V 4.0704.0.7, 28-03-2007, RM-92, Nokia N80(11). Question is the when I go online is so long to appear the page? Anyone encounter this problem?
ooh.new firmware.is it for N80 or the Internet Edition? laugh.gif any noticable differences?

QUOTE(kaywyl @ Apr 6 2007, 11:19 PM)
Thanks for the advise but still not understand question no.2. smile.gif
you'll have to download NSS aka Nemesis Service Suite if im not mistaken to change your product code.this will let NSU detect your phone as N80i
pengster
post Apr 7 2007, 01:50 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Apr 7 2007, 11:26 AM)
Goin to do it later after work... This time i try not to recover my backup copy to reduce my phone's lagness... Jz backup my address book...

Will observe the lagness between now and after updating... smile.gif
Great! will be waiting for your comments laugh.gif want to know if its worth it to update the firmware.if it fixes some major bugs like the memory leak issue or laggyness then im definately updating tongue.gif
pengster
post Apr 7 2007, 11:51 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(bububang @ Apr 7 2007, 11:28 PM)
Juz upgraded from nokia service center today.. The thing i found different was.. Some update of browser.. Then got adobe reader,hotside,wlan wizard.. But there was a big problem using 2nd cam take pic.. After take pic, the pic will auto flip from left to right.. Duno how to explain.. But the time of saver mode active faster then b4, and multimedia key changed. For previous we can set if we press the multimedia key,now it had set to music player.. I think there still got some other changes..
you mean it becomes like the music key on those Music Edition Nseries? blink.gif
pengster
post Apr 9 2007, 07:23 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Apr 8 2007, 10:54 PM)
Updates for today, some observation for not recover data from my memory card, infos for letting u guys to know here.

Indeed, it is much more faster compare i recover data from mini sd instead of install 1 on 1....

So, my phone currently is running faster compare to last time... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(wcwl @ Apr 9 2007, 01:08 PM)
after updated FW,i think my fon runs faster than earlier version of FW.so far haven't noticed any big difference between FWs.
Is there any higher capacity battery for our N80 up to date?
not bad.means less lag also?or overall just faster by abit. unsure.gif

till now i've never come across any high capacity battery for our N80. sad.gif i'll gladly buy one if there is. biggrin.gif
pengster
post Apr 15 2007, 09:50 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Apr 15 2007, 04:09 PM)
Synchronize ur phone then can adi lo.... Before update synchronize 1st, Later when u have done, synchronize 1 more time. Everything will b fine... smile.gif  I did that for my calendar and notes.....
Oh yea, wana ask all N80 users here about 1 thing. When u guys taking photo out there, after u snap a photo, it will show the photo rite? But mine jz show about 3 - 4 sec, then it will change back to camera automatically eventhough i didnt press any button. Although i have select the settings to show photos, but it will only show for few secs unlike others phone it will show u the photo until u press something only resume back to camera mode....

Any ways to fix that??? sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
yeah im facing that too.i think its a standard feature in the N80.was pretty suprised too when i first got my N80.i find it annoying. laugh.gif
pengster
post Apr 19 2007, 10:22 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Apr 17 2007, 01:54 PM)
hie guys..i've thought of getting a N80IE. any problems regarding the phone? coz i duwana regret swapping. is it laggy?
im using my N80i with a 2GB miniSD filled up to about 1.2GB and the only part where i cant stand the lag is when viewing pics & videos in gallery.even with 1 full movie (around 200mb) its laggggs till no end doh.gif

other parts of the phone are okay,perhaps just a 1-2second delay when opening My Own folder.maybe its cuz i stored alot of apps in there laugh.gif
pengster
post Apr 20 2007, 12:00 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Apr 20 2007, 01:10 AM)
So try not to put so much software into the phone lah...sometimes I think it will effect the phone with so many software.....opening gallery is slow but not like N91 at all....lagi teruk....trust me...
actually those softwares i have in my phone doesnt really lags up the phone.its the gallery laugh.gif

with just 10 pictures,2 videos its still okay.but after i tried to put in a full length movie thats around 200+mb the Images & Videos lags like hell doh.gif

QUOTE(doomx @ Apr 20 2007, 05:12 AM)
i got a question,is n80 better than n73? i got two choices and i dont know which one to go for.... thanks for yr time smile.gif
get the n80 if you need the WiFi.cuz the N73 has everything the N80 has except for WiFi. smile.gif
pengster
post Apr 23 2007, 09:03 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Futurisco @ Apr 21 2007, 07:49 PM)
Anyone using Kingston 2gb mini sd? how is the performance? By the way 4gb mini SD is not available yet right? thx for the help
nope 4GB miniSD aint available yet.

QUOTE(kaywyl @ Apr 23 2007, 09:23 AM)
Dear all N80 users,

When I am using wifi to browse internet, there is an error said that 'not enough memory, pls close some applications to continue'. What does that mean? Please help.
QUOTE(kaywyl @ Apr 23 2007, 08:56 PM)
Dear all, thanks for the info but it just really sucks when have to restart phone while browsing. Do nokia solve this problem for other phone too? e.g N95? or E65?
its a known issue in all symbian phones.called "memory leak" iianm smile.gif newer models might not be as bad lah.

another alternative is to use Opera browser.

pengster
post Apr 23 2007, 09:26 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(bububang @ Apr 23 2007, 09:21 PM)
opera browser also will memory full la.. but its better then embedded browser..
really?so far i've been using the N80's browser and Opera 8.65 and have never encountered the memory full thing when using Opera. smile.gif
pengster
post Apr 26 2007, 05:45 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kaywyl @ Apr 23 2007, 11:09 PM)
Thanks for the advice. Btw, where to download the Opera 8.65 software?
you can download from here -> http://www.opera.com/products/mobile/

but,its just a trial for the Opera 8.65.you have to pay to use it.

QUOTE(bububang @ Apr 24 2007, 01:32 AM)
u try to open a website that full of images  tongue.gif

Added on April 24, 2007, 1:34 am

why i type like that it appear.. dynamic page didnt support IMG.. sad.gif
tried before lah.at first tried with the imbedded browser then came out the memory problem then used Opera no problems. laugh.gif

QUOTE(wcwl @ Apr 24 2007, 01:16 PM)
may i know that after restart,and use some software such like taskman or handy task manager to check the memory without opening any applications; so far the highest i got is 19MB...dunno high or not... unsure.gif
what about other users?usually memory full comes when the memory falls below 10MB or around sweat.gif  doh.gif
i usually get around 15mb of free ram after a restart.and then it goes down to around 11mb to 13mb.
pengster
post Apr 27 2007, 11:01 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Apr 27 2007, 10:54 PM)
i'm going to buy n80 soon..how's to differentiate between n80 and n80i?i'm scared to be cheated..any significance way for i to differentiate between this two model?or izzit the internet edition label as N80i on the phone itself and normal edition is just only n80?how about the accessories?both are same or they carry different package?urgent help needed
basically if you plan to get the black coloured one,there wont be any difference in the outlook of the phone.there's no "i" on the phone.

but the package should say N80 Internet Edition,and on the barcode area it should be NOKIA N80-1 IE Pearl Black.oh yeah it comes with a 256mb miniSD too instead of the normal 128mb miniSD. smile.gif
pengster
post Apr 29 2007, 09:25 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Apr 29 2007, 07:55 PM)
dunno the exact figure for N80, my bro's N80 failed once for the same reason too, sent for warranty, while my N80 and my dad's N80 are still working fine, albeit the loose slider.. but common sense is that the price will probably be 3 digit, and the figure probably starts with 2 or 3.. smile.gif
wow.whole family using the N80. thumbup.gif laugh.gif

any reason behind this? tongue.gif
pengster
post Apr 30 2007, 07:48 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Apr 29 2007, 09:53 PM)
my bro runs a hp shop..  tongue.gif
when my bro gave the 1st N80 to my dad, he noticed the hassle of different charger connector between the older nokia models and the N series..
so he gradually upgraded my whole family's phone to N series so we can just bring 1 charger when we go for family outing..

anyway, all our Nseries are not new units, all are traded in units after raya, which most probably had just been used for few months and still in good condition.. there's always this trend every year, the sales would peak before raya, then after raya, the purchasing power will decrease cause everyone no more money, and that is when they will come trade in their expensive phones for cheaper ones and get some cash from us..

every year this trend would repeat itself, and by next raya, my current N80 warranty will probably be running out already, so it's time to dispose them off (to save the risk of repairing cost if problem arise) and wait for traded in units.. this explains why my family members change phone by annual basis.. tongue.gif
thats damn nice.have a brother running a hp shop.can get phones at dealer prices laugh.gif

maybe next raya all change to N95 brows.gif

QUOTE(kenjimoo @ Apr 30 2007, 02:41 PM)
can i ask will N80ie lag ?
when put in 2gb mmc
n 1gb in use
N80 uses miniSD not mmc.

and it wont lag much unless you cram it up with hundreds of applications or other stuff in it.im using a N80 now with a 2gb miniSD and it doesnt lag much.just some slight lag thats all.
pengster
post May 4 2007, 09:44 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Serial8000 @ May 3 2007, 09:07 PM)
Thanks both !

ya regarding ur frm what u mention , i think its true , but what is NSS stands for ? & I 've search troughly still dont get it ?

can I get ur Step by step ? i think im pretty close at it now , smile.gif sweat.gif
if im not mistaken NSS stands for Nemesis Service Suite. smile.gif

QUOTE(Punish @ May 4 2007, 04:47 PM)
anyone here really know how to use Maps app. the GPS app....how to get connected to satelite...

GTG
you have to get a 3rd party bluetooth GPS receiver.
pengster
post May 6 2007, 12:29 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(mylpjsmy @ May 5 2007, 01:29 PM)
hello guys, i m a new owner of n80ie, just bought it few days ago. I m planning to update my firmware using NSU, but i hav some question, after updating to the newest firmware, does the new firmware has chinese language ? i heard ppl say update firm using NSU only got english language, izzit true ?
you can download the NSS and change your product code to a HK or APAC version.the codes can be obtained from the 1st page.then after you update your phone's firmware you'll have chinese support. smile.gif

correct me if im wrong.
pengster
post May 6 2007, 02:01 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ May 6 2007, 01:25 PM)
any nice stereo bluetooth headset recommended to pair with n80?i try with se hbh-ds970 the output is terrible..dunno it's the sound's quality or the headset problems
wait..if im not mistaken the nokia n80 does not support A2DP. blink.gif

anyway,i've just updated my firmware to the latest v4.0704.0.7.is it just me or are the fonts slightly different? laugh.gif
pengster
post May 6 2007, 04:46 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ May 6 2007, 02:29 PM)
well.. if your set's a AP set, it will usually not have the same IMEI number as the box.. smile.gif but als long as the IMEI in your phone and the IMEI written in your receipt is the same, you should not have anything to worry about.. smile.gif
are you on the APAC/HK region's firmware? if you are, it's normal to have a different font from the European firmware's.. smile.gif
hmm..no wonder.i changed my default region from the Europe to APAC1.no wonder the fonts changed. laugh.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0450sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:40 AM