9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

TSSurvivor
post Dec 5 2006, 04:53 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Dec 5 2006, 04:35 PM)
Any comment?
N80 battery life is not that great, that's a fact, but i still can live with it. Daily charge is a must i would say if you are a moderate to heavy user. My N80 battery can last around 1 and a half day with average of 50 SMS, some browsing (~15 minutes), and 10 short phone calls (~2 minutes on each phone call). As for the phone restart thing, I personally haven't face any of that since the 1st day I owned the N80 smile.gif

If i were to given a choice again between K800i or N80, i will still choose N80 for its all around performance rclxms.gif I think it all goes down to personal preferences, no device is perfect though smile.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 5 2006, 05:31 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Gizmo VoIP (the VoIP software pre-installed in the new N80 Internet edition) available for download for existing N80 user! rclxm9.gif Check post #1 for download link!!! icon_idea.gif thumbup.gif

I m facing problem installing it though sad.gif

This post has been edited by Survivor: Dec 5 2006, 06:07 PM
TSSurvivor
post Dec 6 2006, 11:00 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

Anyone tried to upgrade their standard N80 to the N80 internet edition?
TSSurvivor
post Dec 12 2006, 01:30 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Gentlemen....
Please do all ur argument and personal attacks away from N80 thread, this thread is solely for discussion regarding N80...
TSSurvivor
post Dec 12 2006, 04:16 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Dec 12 2006, 03:31 PM)
Bisdes that, is it that there really have no other solution other than goin to a shop which can flash my firmware to our region's firmware?? Coz, i jz want an answer for that only. If really cant, then its ok, i will go to the shop to flash it. Need chinese desperately la. My mp3 cant read chinese, it will show all the squares and boxes. May i noe roughly how much will it cost??
In my opinion there is no other way other than flashing ur firmware to our region one. If u flash ur firmware at phone shop, it usually cost around RM30 to RM50, so be prepared.
TSSurvivor
post Dec 13 2006, 10:15 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(maRx @ Dec 13 2006, 12:22 AM)
anyone try flashing their n80-NE to n80-IE already?? and can we get n80i housing??
Not that i know...equally eager to know also... hehe biggrin.gif I dun think there is any different between the N80 n N80i housing...u won't find the extra "i" at the N80i housing...i observe that at the Nokia advertisement in TV.... hehe tongue.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 14 2006, 08:38 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Dec 14 2006, 12:03 AM)
If it is a AP n80 set, can we still upgrade the firm ware from the site you gave here?

http://www.nokia.com.my/nokia/0,,96606,00.html

Or original sets only can be upgraded only at Nokia site?
AP N80 set also can upgrade the firmware from the site, as long as it is a Nokia phone. The AP set is also made by Nokia mar, just that it is not distributed by the authorized distributor only... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(xeNOS @ Dec 14 2006, 12:07 AM)
hi, does any1 has problem with the vibrating alert? i realised that the n80 sometimes doesn;t vibrate to incoming calls or msg n i hv to restart the fon to make it work. thx !

i'm using 4.0623.0.41.
Haven't face this kinda problem so far... smile.gif

TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 08:33 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Lipsy @ Dec 15 2006, 01:36 AM)
Hi all,

Juz spent almost 4hrs reading this thread + checking some of the links provided. Im planing to get a N80 too, hopefully next week. But im wondering will it be cheaper when N95 launch. And i cant afford to hv a Ori N80, Amedion's price list tag AP price at RM1,508.

Anyway, im no experince user of Symbian OS or mobile fans. Im still using my 7yrs old mobile, those black & white phone. However, due to work related I think its time to get a more powerful mobile, and i hope my IT network background helps. Still i hv some questions, please answer them. Thanks in advance and forgive me for my stupid Q.

01> What are the codes i need to key in to check the manufature date? #06#?
02> is there any program i can download mails in my Outlook Express into N80 using Wifi/bluetooth? Some sort like a data sync.
03> in case of system corrupted/virus attack, is there anyway to restore the system without sending to service? Or is there a some sort of config backup?
04> is the miniSD hotswap? I mean , can i pull the miniSD while the phone still on? Or i need to shut it down, before i can take it out?
05> software are installed in the phone's memory or can i specify it to install on the miniSD instead? like PC, can specify to install on other drive instead of C: ?dun wan to burden the phone's memory.
06> can N80 play RealPlayer files? RM? RMVB? Does it need an additional programs?
07> Do i still need to backup, if i bought my N80 and upgrade its firmware on spot?
08> Do N80 come with a default software to configure WiFi? Or i need to install the WLAN wizard.
09> Antivirus, is there any free or cracked version? I read Nokia offical site said u can get 1 mth free trial antivirus.
10> Is there anyway to hide your bluetooth without disconnecting it? I heard virus can be spread thru BTooth, especially you are using a BTooth handsfree. But i will want to get a BTooth handsfree and dun wan others to exploit is as loopholes.
11> Have anyone tried its Infra-Red function? I do still have equipments using IR. It will be nice to transfer data without bringing up my old laptop.
12> The only flaw i see in this N80 is the battery. Other than cut down the dual netowrk searching & WiFi, wat are the steps can be taken?
13> Any other way except for Survivor's way to add tapes to handle the "slide" problem. I suck at doing this delicate stuff.
14> Which 2GB miniSD goes well with N80? I heard Kingston is lifetime warranty, but is it good with N80?
15> Which BlueTooth handsfree work the best with N80?

So far tht's all, sorry for long questions list. But being a novice in this smartphone, i gotta ask.

And again, thks in advance.
Answers to your question: smile.gif

1) *#06# will only show the EMEI number...I m not sure on how u can check the manufactured date of the phone. Anyone know please share wink.gif

2) I think u can certainly sync ur Outlook with N80, but i never try before. Anyhow, I'd setup my N80 to receive mail from my Gmail inbox though, it works great!

3) You can refresh ur firmware by using the Nokia software update.

4) Yeah it is hotswap.

5) You can specify where u wanna install the program, either in the phone memory or the memory card. Anyhow, some programs have no option but to install it in phone memory but majority of them have the option to choose.

6) N80 can play .rm file using the Real Player. Not too sure about the RMVB though.

7) You must backup ur phone before u upgrade the firmware. You'll lose all the data in the phone once u performed a firmware upgrade.

8) Well, wifi is not that hard to config in N80 though. But WLAN Wizard definately helps!

9) As far as i know only FSecure antivirus is available for Symbian 9 v3 (N80). I personally don't think you really need antivirus software in ur phone though tongue.gif

10) I think there is an option to hide ur bluetooth status.

11) Never tried the IR...hehe tongue.gif

12) Hmmm....a spare battery maybe? tongue.gif Anyhow, I can live with daily charge wink.gif

13) No comment as I done it the Survivor's way tongue.gif

14) I m using the OEM 2G miniSD bought from fellow LYN forumer. Works like a charm so far thumbup.gif

15) No comment as i don't use BlueTooth handsfree tongue.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 08:34 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(genexon @ Dec 15 2006, 08:07 AM)
May i know who is the authorized dealer of N80 beside zitron. Are the internet edition being release to malaysia market ? 10S
I-mobile is another authorized dealer of N80.
TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 11:25 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(genexon @ Dec 15 2006, 09:26 AM)
How about SAMART? Is it same with i-mobile?
Yeah they are the same....refer here
TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 04:47 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Lipsy @ Dec 15 2006, 12:22 PM)
As for antivirus, how rampant is the phone virus anyway? I really need to secure the phone as much as possible. Hoping to reduce my load by leaving my digital camera, laptop and MP3 player by getting a N80. I can't wait to work with my company's server, LAN and WiFi system.
I have read in some forum and review that it is very hard for a virus to attack Symbian OS Series 60 (S60) 3rd Edition platform as they already implementing totally new security features, among them is the signing of the software which software developer really hates. Thus the Symbian OS Series 60 (S60) 3rd Edition doesn't really benefit from the anti-virus software because the OS itself is already a big "ANTI-VIRUS"... hehe biggrin.gif

This is a link from a forum i found discussing about anti virus in S60 v3...Hope it helps smile.gif

This post has been edited by Survivor: Dec 15 2006, 04:52 PM
TSSurvivor
post Dec 18 2006, 09:13 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Dec 16 2006, 10:54 PM)
I'm part of n80 family now  biggrin.gif  . Got a question here....i've installed a crappy theme and would like to delete it. How to do it? Not sure how to delete a theme that i dont like. Thanks and im a proud owner of n80 now  thumbup.gif
Welcome to the big family barney! smile.gif
You can delete the theme in the Application manager. You will find the theme installed in the list and just select and delete it.

QUOTE(maRx @ Dec 17 2006, 01:20 PM)
guys, just wanna share my experience with the new users.. to those who just bought the phone, i highly suggest you skin the back portion of the phone.. expecially the ring around the camera (the one with the 3 mega. wordings) . now my wordings behind are gone, stupid mamak tables.. eat up my paint.
So serious? My wordings are all still clear though i always put them on the tables too... hehe whistling.gif

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Dec 17 2006, 01:28 PM)
Wa..... luckily i use hard cover... RM9 worth enough to protect the phone... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
I tried the hard cover before but don't really like it. Drop it after used it for 2 weeks. The hard cover makes the N80 feel more bulky.

QUOTE(allrightall @ Dec 17 2006, 05:33 PM)
halo guys, i have a question smile.gif

my n80 ram total shows only 15MB only in handy taskman, is it normal to have this low amount of memory out of 44MB?

just curious... how about you guys? notworthy.gif
RAM for 15MB is quite good dy...it can run down to 9 ~ 10MB sometimes. I assume you are talking about the operating memory but not the phone memory itself.
TSSurvivor
post Dec 19 2006, 04:47 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

I've tried to install a few themes in my N80, but nothing come close to matching the Nokia original theme... hehe....
TSSurvivor
post Dec 22 2006, 01:53 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Dec 21 2006, 11:32 PM)
ugh.wanted to get me a n80 and almost all the shops dont have them  sleep.gif and then they tell me the n80 has alot of problems and stop production already bla bla bla  shakehead.gif
huh? blink.gif the only word i can think of to describe the shop ppl is....ermm....RIDICULOUS!!! We all here are using the N80 for quite some time already and most of us all think that if it is not a good phone, it is a GREAT phone! thumbup.gif Go for N80 pengster! smile.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 28 2006, 01:57 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Hey guys, do u guys experience that sometimes (every time!) when u plug ur N80 through the cable to ur PC, it will prompt that it is unrecognized USD device? Then u need to unplug n plug several times for it to work. Is it just me or everybody experience this?
TSSurvivor
post Dec 28 2006, 02:23 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(unamed @ Dec 27 2006, 06:01 PM)
Well i would have rated the sliding mechanism maybe less than 6/10...it tends to get loose because there isn't a spring or ribbon support.  Anyway the thing i like most about N80 is the screen resolution.
If it involved movable parts in the phone, it will lead to tear n wear, just the nature of things. If u r a very careful user, maybe the phone will last longer, but not forever cool.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 29 2006, 09:57 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Dec 29 2006, 07:45 AM)
Bought mine for 2K+ original set lar .. no AP. Ur reply does not related to my question. Can somebody please replay my question ?
I personally never face this kind of problem before. Since your N80 is an original set, i suggest u go and claim the warranty of your display, or if u just bought it few days back, go back to the shop and ask for an exchange. Welcome to the club! smile.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 3 2007, 08:38 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(alrockan @ Dec 30 2006, 02:15 AM)
Helo..Survivor, pls add me to the proud owner of N80 list. I juz bought my N80 2 days ago. It's a great phone anyway...like it so much  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(leepast @ Dec 31 2006, 03:21 PM)
hye all....just got my N80 today thumbup.gif so excited one....i try to find this AP set all around Sg Petani and Penang...but there's no stock...if got stock the price are absolutely mahal  doh.gif if i added a few more bucks i can buy original set.Thank God my bro manage to bought N80 in KL (the price is around rm15++)So damn laju one than my previous 6600.The sound from music player and ringtone was really awesome icon_rolleyes.gif that's why i've been explore for this 2-3 hours la.....still blur how to configure MMS/GPRS for this phone....i'm using Celcom Xpac and i've been searching through celcom site but still can't find the setting.Anyone can help?  notworthy.gif
Welcome to the club guys!!! rclxms.gif

@leepast,
For the Celcom settings, please refer post #1 for the Celcom settings link. Hope it help smile.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2007, 05:16 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 5 2007, 03:38 AM)
New firmware....V 4.0623.0.42
Updted through Nokia Software Updater
Can you double confirm this? Thanks wink.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2007, 09:55 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Futurisco @ Jan 5 2007, 08:17 PM)
Hi guys I am a proud owner of N80 now.  biggrin.gif This phone is so great. I have a problem, I copied all my contacts from my old sim card to the phone, but when my friend sends me sms i can only see their number and not their name. I double check and yes their number and names are in my contact list in the phone. Any idea?
Welcome to the club bro! rclxms.gif
The problem never occurs to me though...when u have set the contacts then it should display the name but not the number wo... unsure.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:15 PM