9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2007, 11:05 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Futurisco @ Jan 5 2007, 10:47 PM)
Because currently I stay at Singapore, my Malaysian fren contact number will be +60xxxxxxx. I find that my Singaporean fren number which saved as XXXXXXXX without the + sign...the name displayed properly... I guess this might be the problem
But then i have a fren in Singapore, i saved her number as she gave me which is +6598XXXXXX (Sg number), it display without any problem wo..... unsure.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 6 2007, 12:21 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 5 2007, 03:38 AM)
New firmware....V 4.0623.0.42
Updted through Nokia Software Updater
I have confirmed this new firmware. Don't really know what they updated though. My latest firmware information:

V4.0623.0.42
20-09-2006
RM-92
Nokia N80 (11)
TSSurvivor
post Jan 6 2007, 02:16 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ Jan 6 2007, 06:53 AM)
Changes/ Improvements

FOTA
- Camera forward compatibility fix for FOTA update
- Sync agent forware compatibility fix for FOTA update

Messaging
- SMS sending delay

Display
- Correction for miss-read of ASIC version causing pink display
Thanks for the information realpesky!!! I will put that on the 1st post as well wink.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 7 2007, 05:20 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

There are only two version available....one is the normal N80, which is in the market for some time already....and the other one is the new N80 internet edition, which just available in the market recently....correct me if i m wrong....
TSSurvivor
post Jan 7 2007, 09:46 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(nasi_lemak @ Jan 7 2007, 06:41 PM)
hey survivor,can u copy me ur url to fix the loose problem?
where to get it?2 mnth loose d
Bro....please refer the post #1, click on the spoiler to check out the tips to fix the loose slider...the steps is pretty simply, let me know if you face any problem wink.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 7 2007, 09:48 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(leepast @ Jan 7 2007, 08:36 PM)
Same firmware version with survivor rclxms.gif just wanna know do u have QuickOffice?Just curious one thing..when i restore backup from my memory card to phone memory(after upgrading to the latest firmware)....all the other program such as adobe,Wlan wiz can be opened.Only QuickOffice cannot be opened  doh.gif  the error is " Menu: Unable To Execute File For Security Reason".I've tried to uninstall it then it shows " unable to delete QuickOffice".Hope that anybody can give any kind of guide to solve this related problem. icon_question.gif
Yeah i have quick office, but after the latest firmware update, the quick office icon seems to change, to a darker color than the previous one...is it me or just everybody?
TSSurvivor
post Jan 8 2007, 12:03 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 7 2007, 10:37 PM)
hey guyz is it worth it to get a n80 now?cuz i really like that phone but then its kinda old already and im afraid i'll regret getting the n80 later..especially when n95 releases here laugh.gif
QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 7 2007, 11:38 PM)
I guess the price difference for n80 and n95 will be around Rm1k-Rm1.5k, and as a new phone, normally it will takes sometimes for n95 firmware to be tuned to perfection. As for N80, it is working without any problem now, if compared when it was launched about a year ago. My advise, if u have the patience and money, and for latest buzz, go for N95 which will be available in 1-2 months from now.
This is just my opinion....
It's all down to what u want and how much you are willing to pay for it. As silencer said, the price difference between N95 and N80 will not be small, thus the question will be down to what is ur budget for a phone? As a new phone, i believe N95 firmware will be buggy...do u have the patience to wait? cool.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 8 2007, 12:58 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Jan 8 2007, 07:34 AM)
I want to ask something about n80...
Is the loudspeaker on n80 loud enough...?
My friend said that the maximum volume of n80 is same with 6630...Is it true..?

And one more thing does n80 support the nokia 3250 audio remote control...?
I for one definitely think that the N80 loud speaker is loud enough....always talk using the loud speaker mode during driving....good sound quality and loud thumbup.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 8 2007, 03:05 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(love_hina @ Jan 8 2007, 01:44 PM)
Hi! I'm planning to get N80 but before that i have to learn to use this high end phone. I don't really know how this phone work especially with the wifi 

all i know is that this wifi can surf internet with wireless network, right?
and how it works?

1.do we have to set up anything or setting to use this wifi. if yes, how?
No, you don't have to. There is a new application by Nokia call WLAN which makes wifi usage as easy as 1 2 3 rclxms.gif

2.is it expensive to use wifi? if yes, how much? i'm currently using digi prepaid.
Wifi is free of charge, that is if you found open wifi network like in Starbucks. Wifi has nothing to do with your phone credit.

3. is it like the way we surf internet with computer? we can do the same thing with this phone?
Yeah, it is most likely the same. Just that u dun have the luxury of your big monitor and mouse. Surfing using the phone need some effort but no bad experiences.

4.I also heard from some of my friends that if you use 1bg or more on this N80, the phone will be functioning s-l-o-w-e-r ..and always "hang" (jammed) in the middle of work, is that true?
Not true at all!!! I am using 2G miniSD with my N80, lightning speed! (compared to other symbian phone tongue.gif)

5.the battery life is poor  .. how poor is it?
Normal usage, the battery can last a whole day. Daily charging is recommended.

Need to know more about this N80 .. before getting it. if very bad, then i will switch to another model ..
Find your answer above wink.gif

This post has been edited by Survivor: Jan 8 2007, 03:06 PM
TSSurvivor
post Jan 8 2007, 09:52 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(edkiasu @ Jan 8 2007, 09:03 PM)
How come u compare the quality of image from n80 and n73? n80's camera is just average, and n80 is not in imaging, it just for connectivity.. I tested n80's photos quality, its indeed average stage only, for closed-up shot, it would produce a good quality shot. For n73, it shots every image in detail and clear.. n73 beats everything of n80, only lack of wifi..
QUOTE(edkiasu @ Jan 8 2007, 09:05 PM)
Wait for n95 or buy n73 instead of n80 if wifi doenst really important for u.
I am afraid I can't agree with you on this, especially on the "n73 beats everything of n80" statement. N73 is not that superior than N80 and the advantage N80 has over N73 is not only its WIFI. It's all down to what an individual wants on their phone and I think it is unfair to draw the line here and saying N73 is a better phone than N80. For one, N80 has a clearer display than N73. I saw the N73 screen before and all the graphic pixalize really is not pleasant to the eyes. Well, u might argue that u don't mind the pixalized graphic and I also can tell u that I don't really mind the average camera quality. End of the day, it is up to the individual and from my point of view, N80 beats everything of N73 flex.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 9 2007, 09:58 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(xeNOS @ Jan 9 2007, 09:36 AM)
Hello N80 bros !

1st off, happy new yr to ya guys !

hey, any1 thinking of changing their N80 housing? cos i have N80 ap Original housing for sale. but i need atleast 6 units to complete the order.
well, the more the better and also subject to avaibility.

any1 interested ?

price is RM85/unit, Black n silver (on lelong is RM100++)
since i don operate any physical store n hv no overhead expenses therefore i can giv better price lo.

jz PM me if interested. thx ya ! smile.gif
Hahaha...Bro, thanks for the information! rclxms.gif But i think u need to post this in the garage sales rather than here tongue.gif Post this again at the garage sales and send me your link. I will put it at the 1st post wink.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 9 2007, 12:16 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(love_hina @ Jan 9 2007, 11:55 AM)
so using digi prepaid also can use if i'm at wireless zone? and doesnt charge anything AT ALL? need account like streamyx or jaring ma?  hmm.gif

can check hotmail/yahoo mail at mobile?
can msn/ym ppl ma?

icon_question.gif
Yes, it doesn't charge ur Digi AT ALL when you are using Wifi, it got nothing to do with your phone credit. You do not need account like Streamyx or jaring if u are using the open Wifi network like the one in Starbucks. There are some paid Wifi services anyhow.

And YES you can check your hotmail or yahoo mail at mobile. Do it all the time! I even has my G-mail setup so that the mail can auto-retrieve to my phone thumbup.gif
As for MSN/YM, for MSN you need 3rd party software installed to your N80. YM it is possible to use it through the Yahoo Go! or Yahoo WAP.
TSSurvivor
post Jan 9 2007, 03:05 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(xeNOS @ Jan 9 2007, 12:55 PM)
hi, i notice some weird connection problem when in DUAL MODE.

tis morning, with dual mode on i notice there is 3G connection at my office(Subang jaya uptown) but i later switched to GSM mode and then back again to DUAL mode, this time  the 3G connection is not there anymore. Nw i'm still in my office with dual mode on but NO 3G. does any1 experience this prob b4?

and sometimes, my N80 doesnt detect 3G but my fren W850i detects it. hm....

any comment ? thx alotz !
It maybe the fluctuation of the 3G signal from your service provider. If you are using Maxis, that is probably normal tongue.gif I experience the lost of 3G signal also sometimes...i assume it is normal unsure.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 9 2007, 11:08 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(edkiasu @ Jan 9 2007, 09:54 PM)
Bro, screen quality same la.. i owned n n80 before la, the pixel just the same, mebe u saw n73 got larger screen then just perasan lo.. I never say n80 lousy also, its a awesome phone for me, but sad cuz camera is important to me, average battery life as well, but not as n80's battery life.. Even the wifi not enuf me to play for 2 hours, then the battery from full charged went down to low batt..
Bro, I have no comment on how they will ever look alike from your eyes. Have u tried compare the 2 phone side by side and c which one is with the clearer screen? Below data is taken from http://www.nokia.com, verify it if you wish.

N73 Display: 240 x 320 pixels with 262,144 colors
N80 Display: 352 x 416 pixels with 262,144 colors

I know everyone has their rights to give opinion but i hope you can do more research before you dump a bomb here.
TSSurvivor
post Jan 9 2007, 11:15 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(edkiasu @ Jan 9 2007, 10:02 PM)
Zzz.. I rather use keyboard+large monitor ler..  sweat.gif  U will get it bored very soon one la.. Or mebe not if u really interested in numpad and small screen and with charger pin always connected at ur n80 for surfing net  biggrin.gif

Mind me to add, if u use 3mp quality, the size for each photo is around 1mb for the poor quality.. How come? Or already got the solution for it? If compare to 3mp k800i and n73, their photo quality were awesome with oni around average 400-500kb.

Everyone's requirement for a phone are different, i just state my requirement for choosing a phone. Any potential buyers or users that having different requirement can just ignore my statement. This is just a reference, no offence tongue.gif
It is very funny when u said "Zzz.. I rather use keyboard+large monitor ler.. "...so i guess i can say "I rather use my Canon Digital Camera ler.."
It is OK to state your requirement for choosing a phone, but it is NOT OK when you brush off other phones while saying ur choice of phone is good.

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Jan 9 2007, 10:12 PM)
Bro, that wifi is not build for the purpose of surfing net at home ler... That is for those who are doin business and etc whom needs internet vry much. For them, N80 can enlightened them without bringing their laptops running here and there. For them who want to use it for home usage its not a prob also.

OH ya... 1 more thing, pls use the quote button.... Dont spam...
Good points there bro! thumbup.gif

TSSurvivor
post Jan 10 2007, 11:15 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(alienLYN @ Jan 10 2007, 09:50 PM)
After reading reviews of this phone from CNET, this phone sure is packed with loads of functions. Seriously considering getting either the N80 or the N73

I've not heard much about its capabilities as a music players besides able to support
common file types (WMA, MP3 etc). So my question to all of you 1st hand users of N80, what do you think of it? Can it be comparable or better than Sony Walkman series phones?  smile.gif
For me, the N80 sound quality is good enough, especially when u use it with the ear phone thumbup.gif I never used Sony Walkman series before so I cannot give u a direct comparison between them wink.gif .
TSSurvivor
post Jan 10 2007, 11:28 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jan 10 2007, 11:15 PM)
different ppl different style what.. no one would be carrying PC around the house nor carrying notebook around or taking HP all day round just for IM. I bet our parents will screw us upside down if we used it whole day even some family time @ living room.
I think what he meant is that N80 is an alternative to connect to wireless network besides laptop and PC. When u don't feel like using the laptop or PC to go internet, or when both the laptop and PC is not available to u, u can still go online with the N80.

TSSurvivor
post Jan 12 2007, 08:35 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Lipsy @ Jan 12 2007, 08:19 PM)
Hi All,

Its been awhile, since my last noob post here.

And today I have bought my 1st N80 Internet version, cost RM2,000, Zitron original.

Charging it to full 8hrs ATM. Until then, will start to play the equipment.

Oh, add me into the list of owner.
Welcome to the club! thumbup.gif I've added u in the proud owner list! smile.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 13 2007, 09:02 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(nasi_lemak @ Jan 13 2007, 03:55 AM)
add me as well..
guys,any one got the dictinary software?
i cant get it la.pls pls psl
You are added! Welcome to the club! rclxms.gif

You mean you dun have the dictionary software installed in ur N80 at all? The dictionary software should be installed in ur phone by default. Do you have the icon on the phone? Is it only the database you are missing? The dictionary database is installed in the memory card which comes with ur phone, if u change to other memory cards, u need to copy the database file from the old memory card to the new one for the dictionary to function properly. The dictionary database is "101f9cfe" folder in ur default memory card.

If u dun have dictionary software installed at ur phone at all, visit Here to download it. If it is the database u r missing, PM me ur e-mail address and i will send u the database. After u received the database, paste it in the "private" folder of ur memory card.

QUOTE(reagan87 @ Jan 13 2007, 09:06 AM)
Guys, can anyone please guide me with my problem on my N80 since yesterday. While i was in the cinema, the coverage was shut down since it was the norm. But once i came out of it, there was still no coverage for me till today. I switched my Hotlink sim card with another phone and it seems to be working perfectly fine there but not in my own N80. I've tried all the usual methods to gain coverage where i was guided through Maxis customer service. But then seems like the problem lies with my N80. I've got no idea what else can i do with it. Can anyone out there be generous enough to help me out with this problem? Thanks in advance.
Hmmm....i never face this kinda problem before. Is the problem persist after u restart ur phone? Have u tried to search for the signal manually?

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Jan 13 2007, 06:42 PM)
I'm also interested in knowing how to get the dictionary software. Anyone can help?
Please refer to what i answered to nasi_lemak above wink.gif

QUOTE(Lipsy @ Jan 13 2007, 08:33 PM)
It's me again,

Got a noob Question to ask. After plugging in the N80 to my PC using USB, how do I safely unplug it? Cant find the function to safely remove the phone.
My practice is just unplug the USB cable and since my N80 is still working properly, i believe this method at least won't damage ur phone, use ti at ur own risk though cool.gif

This post has been edited by Survivor: Jan 13 2007, 09:03 PM
TSSurvivor
post Jan 17 2007, 07:00 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(jsonraj @ Jan 17 2007, 06:07 PM)
Hi all

i have a few questions...sorry if these has already been asked/answered before.

my fren has a N80 and when i meet him last week he wanted to sell the phone cause he say the phone got alot of problem like cannot read certain files/perform a lot of other task that can be done with other phone like attaching photo to contact.

He also cannot flash/format. He already ask the nokia service centre but they oso say they cannot.

Is it true. his software version is attached.

Can this be solved/formated/flased. If can pls give some idea of how much will it cost amd where can it be done. The phone is AP set and less then 6 months old.

Thanks in advance

[attachmentid=182411]
I think it can be flashed....just that the Nokia Service Center dun wan to do it for ur friend. Try to ask him to go to other phone shop which provide flashing services.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0414sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:34 PM