10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

ironcrowz
post Nov 6 2023, 01:46 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Teutonic Knight @ Nov 6 2023, 12:14 PM)
Question about LG Puri Care WD516, I am considering to buy outright RM2800 for this model.

But I have few queries as below,

Currently using external water pipe that connects to the kitchen. During hot weather, it can get really hot. Does the hot water affect the internal parts and shorten the life span of the filter?
Hi bro, 516 outright price is RM3200 ya, 216 is the one at RM2800, 216 is 100% same as 516 except no cold water

But i recommend u consider rental again cuz if rental 516 is the one with promo price, then over 7 years ur cost is only RM210 diff compare to u buy 216 outright then buy 5 yrs service package, in short u pay extra RM210 u get cold water and 5 more yrs warranty (average 1 year only pay extra RM30)

Hot water can damage filters that are not designed for it. Yes LG internal pipes are all stainless steel and there's hot water flushing internal pipes every week, but these water doesn't pass thru the filter and is solely used for flushing, hence is alright, but if for drinking, the water must pass thru the filters to get filtered, then they could potentially damage the filters.

We need to know how hot is the water coming in before we can conclude ya, LG filters can go up to 45°C max, u got try test the water temperature coming in?

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Nov 6 2023, 01:50 PM
ironcrowz
post Nov 6 2023, 10:29 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Teutonic Knight @ Nov 6 2023, 06:15 PM)
Very informative bro. Thank you. The usual salesperson would said its not a problem no damage will be done but they did not consider the hot water will go through the filter during drinking. Will measure the temperature when it's naturally hot from the Sun.

Meantime, I do not intend to buy the 516 model as I dont drink cold water plus RM50/month for 7 years is just ridiculously high for my expense.
Let me list out the calcs for u ya

If rent 516 for 7 yrs = RM50 * 12mths * 7 yrs = RM4200, Free 7 yrs filters and warranty

Buy outright 216 = RM2800, Free 2 yrs filters and warranty
To make them comparable, add 5 yrs of Careship package cost RM1190, total will be RM3990 (2800+1190)

So between renting 516 and buying outright 216, u are only paying RM210 more over the same 7 yrs period (or RM30 more per yr)

But u get:
1. Cold water, doesn't matter for u since u don't need
2. 5 yrs more warranty, Careship package only covers filters, not warranty

So ur decision probably depends on whether u feel is worth it to pay extra RM210 for 5 more years of warranty or not notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Nov 6 2023, 10:30 PM
ironcrowz
post Nov 7 2023, 12:23 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Teutonic Knight @ Nov 7 2023, 09:49 AM)
Thanks for the info. That is the very reason I am holding back my purchase for water purifier. Yes, housing pipes are exposed to direct sunlight and the water flow through the kitchen and bathrooms can get really hot.

Other reason why I was considering LG is because it gives me the flexibility to self service the filter but having the abnormal hot water coming in is just a drawback now. Do you have any alternative towards this other than the mini tank?
I think can test the temperature on a sunny day then only decide, if temperature is only 40°C, LG filters can cater, but probably ur water will taste a bit warm if u don't mind

But if exceeded 45°C, can consider few options:
1. As Dayalan mentioned, off the purifier valve then let the water runs cool first before using, a bit troublesome but doesn't cost money
2. Insulate the outdoor pipes, cost money
3. Water tank to cool off water, probably cost more money than insulation, but can be useful during water disruption too
4. Heat exchanger, just googled there are things like this biggrin.gif , but probably the most expensive option and also consume electricity

But anyway, test first then only decide, maybe ur water only 40°C then u can forget bout all the above thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
ironcrowz
post Nov 7 2023, 09:16 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Nov 7 2023, 06:00 PM)
40 degrees is not a good operating temperature for carbon. Yes, cartridges are normally rated to 40-45 degrees, meaning they will not disintegrate at these temperatures, but they can't be used much time. This is why you never see carbon based shower filter, the water in the shower is rarely even 40 degrees, but carbon would last for a couple of days maybe a week. For the hot water the only solution is KDF based filter. Custom filter would work best, for example, sediment followed by KDF followed by UF or disruptor type (electoadhesion). All these cartridges will withstand 40-45 degrees and will not deactivate.
TBH I only know there's a specific range of temperature the filters must work in after checking on our own products, without fully understanding why, so a bit of googling told me hot water can actually damage filters, but they never mention how hot hmm.gif hmm.gif

Doing further search, I still couldn't find any source specifying the maximum temperature carbon filters can work in general, most only says hot water could:
1. Damage it; or
2. Release pollutants trapped inside the carbon

But none says it disintegrates carbon... Would u mind to share where should I look?

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Nov 7 2023, 09:17 PM
ironcrowz
post Nov 8 2023, 02:25 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Nov 8 2023, 02:14 AM)
No no, I wasn't clear probably. So "up to 45 degree" means that for example that the glue that holds the parts in the cartridge together will not melt, this is what I meant by disintegrate, structurally.

The carbon doesn't disintegrate, it gets disactivated and yes, it will also release what it trapped at lower temperatures. So in practical terms it means it will not be effective for nearly as long as it is designed for and it may go through trap-release cycles. This is why in hot water applications, such as quality shower filters, KDF is used, you rarely, if ever, see carbon shower filter (unless it is installed before the heater).
Do u mind to share source where it says how hot the water must be to deactivates carbon?

I search around only found general statement that "hot water damages carbon filters", but they never mention how hot, so I took the LG labeled max temperature 45°C

Also found shower filters with activated carbon so I'm not really sure whether hot water really deactivates them or not
ironcrowz
post Nov 9 2023, 10:09 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Nov 9 2023, 07:14 PM)
I can't find a study with an actual water temp vs life of a cartridge. However, we have done a test and if interested you can repeat it if interested. We tested out large carbon block for shower filter (10 by 4.5). In about a week or 10 days the chlorine that would go through was pretty much the same as the inlet, however, in the beginning it was catching most of the chlorine (not all, because shower flow is a bit too high). We then took KDF and its performance remained pretty much the same for weeks. You can repeat the experiment with simple test kit that shows free chlorine. Note that temperature in the shower is about 40 degrees.

As for some who sell carbon based shower filter, yes, they do, but they are the same as "vitamin c" shower filters. They will last a few days / weeks at the very best unless installed prior to the heater.
Also eSpring and many other manufacturers found out the same through their tests:
"Tests have shown that optimal removal and adsorption efficiency occur when
the water is at an average 25° C temperature. Higher temperatures will reduce filter efficiency.
Contaminants remain bonded to carbon in cool water. When exposed to hot water, some difficult-to-remove
contaminants may detach from the carbon and enter the treated water stream. Finally, the use of hot
water may cause the structural integrity of the unit to be compromised."

Also discussed here https://www.chemicalforums.com/index.php?topic=69498.0

However, when we are talking about sediment filters, they are usually rated to 45 degrees, because the temperatures above that would damage it structurally (bonds, glue etc). So this is why LG is mentioning 45 degrees. The cartridge will still be ok, but the carbon part will have difficult times getting through these temps. Not saying this to say LG is bad, they are all like that pretty much. For our products, if someone mentioned to me that he will be using at 40-45 degrees, I would just not recommend to install or install at his own risk.
Very cool thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Wait my current filter finish then let's do a little test icon_idea.gif
ironcrowz
post Nov 11 2023, 10:48 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Nov 10 2023, 10:36 PM)
My unit is a 845 soft unit, just came across the idea of doing filtration system for the whole house instead of driving water only.

Can anyone provide a objective comparison among each other? Thanks sifuu
Yea as bro hestati said, no point wasting money and flush toilet with filtered water

Just get a simple POE filter to filter sediments/dirt/sands, usually for the kitchen sink so u wash dishes and veges with filtered water

But to get drinking water quality, filter sediments alone is not enuf, u also need to filter heavy metals, rust and viruses, so need to get a POU filter like Cuckoo, LG, Coway etc.
ironcrowz
post Nov 11 2023, 10:31 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Nov 11 2023, 04:36 PM)
Any recommended counter top 3 or 4 stages water filter (without hot/cold water) with reasonable price filter cartridges for future replacement?

Had a look at Aquasana but counter top only have 2 stages.

PS: already have POE sand based water filter outside the house
I think how many stages are not important, cuz most manufacturer combine few stages of filtration into 1 filter, to reduce size of the machine while maintaining water quality

I check that Aquasana is rated 0.5 micron, which should be able to filter most bacteria but not viruses, LG is rated 0.1~0.3 micron, will filter out even viruses for safer drinking

If u choose to purchase LG outright, already free 2 yrs filters to u, after that filter package only costs RM320/year, while Aquasana is RM320/box

Aquasana filters both are rated 1800L, while LG 1st filter is rated 1800L and 2nd filter is rated 3600L

So for the same RM320, LG gives u 3600L but Aquasana only gives u 1800L (cuz LG filter package count by year but Aquasana count by box / no. of filter)

In short, LG filters are smaller micron, more capacity for the same RM320, and even Free 2 yrs to u

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Nov 11 2023, 10:33 PM
ironcrowz
post Nov 11 2023, 11:37 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Nov 11 2023, 11:31 PM)
Wow, LG resellers are fairly active/aggressive in promoting in this thread but thanks anyway. Not looking for such high end purifier
No prob, just highlighting the pros and cons for u when no one did thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Nov 11 2023, 11:41 PM
ironcrowz
post Nov 16 2023, 11:37 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Nov 16 2023, 07:07 AM)
I’m interested to get a LG at promo RM50/month, but my dillema is I still have a unit of cuckoo king top, finished payment, but I want to sell it instead of discarding it.
Don't think they are worth much, since nowadays many new technologies are coming out and all brands are similarly affordable

Maybe can sell for RM200? But will the new owner have problem with servicing?
ironcrowz
post Nov 25 2023, 11:53 AM

460 posts

In theory, this shouldn't happen, either they missed their servicing schedule or the water tank is contaminated during servicing
ironcrowz
post Dec 4 2023, 11:46 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Leto @ Dec 4 2023, 11:32 AM)
anyone here using LG water purifier?

just curious if the filter replacement can be bought outside aside from going back to LG.. and if yes how much?

was thinking to go for outright payment given there's only 2 ppl in my household
So far can only buy direct from LG ya, prices as below

If compare rental 7 yrs and outright purchase, rental will be more expensive by RM500, but at the same time the warranty is also extended by another 5 yrs, filter package above only covers filters and not warranty.

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Dec 4 2023, 11:46 AM
ironcrowz
post Dec 7 2023, 02:57 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(biastee @ Dec 7 2023, 02:19 PM)
I agree ceramic is fragile and requires careful handling. ;-) However, I haven't broken any in 21 years - touch wood!
To prevent the ceramic from clogging too fast, it is pre-filtered by a 5 um PP filter.
I find scrubbing the ceramic surface sufficient to restore water flow. When scrubbing becomes less effective over time, then it is time to replace the ceramic - that typically happens after ~3y. So, it is good for both environment & wallet :-). However, if UF can offer the same cost effectiveness, I am willing to switch.

The ceramic does NOT rid chlorine. A carbon filter is required for Cl removal, but a new carbon filter will initially leak carbon powder. So, in an RO system, a ceramic filter in the no. 3 position can prevent the carbon powder from fouling the expensive RO membrane.
I think the concern is even though ceramic filters can be scrubbed, over time u push the dirt into its pores deeper and deeper, it either results in clogged filter or contamination inside the filter itself, compromising water quality

LG filters are Carbon and UF, no scrubbing required, just use and throw

1 year filter cost RM320 for 2 carbon filters and 1 UF filter, is that cost effective enuf for u to consider? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Dec 7 2023, 02:57 PM
ironcrowz
post Dec 15 2023, 06:47 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Octopuz @ Dec 15 2023, 06:00 PM)
interested in LG WD518AN..
Pls PM the best package 🙏
Pm sent bro
ironcrowz
post Dec 18 2023, 10:59 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(evilzeal @ Dec 18 2023, 10:01 AM)
Anyone has contact where I can purchase the filter cartridge for SK Magic Ria. I asked some but they only offer yearly membership which costs around RM 550.
I think can buy from their official agent only, just like LG, we sell by years not by filters, this way we help u keep track when to change and send the filter to u, if we let customers buy filters from retail store (like Senheng, Harvey Norman), some customers may forget or delay to change filters, end up water quality affected

But LG service package is cheaper at only RM320/yr, if rental plan then filters alrd covered~
ironcrowz
post Dec 19 2023, 06:49 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Dec 19 2023, 05:51 PM)
Hi all, please PM - I am interested in LG 216, i heard it is at RM2800 for outright?
With current promo of RM50/mth, 516 is a better deal bro

Essentially, u pay the same price (no matter u choose to buy outright or rental plan) but u get cold water

Promo ends this month though, better book and lock price first
ironcrowz
post Dec 22 2023, 02:51 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 22 2023, 02:29 PM)
Go for rental difference only few hundred but got warannaty the whole 7 years. Outright I believe warranty is 5 yrs only.

-----

Today second day using LG Puricare WD516AN. Due to RM50 a mth promo I went for it. So far so good. Hope can last 10 years before needing to change again. thumbup.gif
Outright 2 yrs warranty only bro, thanks again for supporting notworthy.gif

At least sure can use 7 years la, LG will repair or change for u in case the machine break down within the 7 yrs rental tenure thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Dec 22 2023, 02:51 PM
ironcrowz
post Dec 30 2023, 04:17 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Dec 30 2023, 01:29 AM)
Hi all, I'm looking for a replacement drinking water filtration system for an old RO water system.

1. landed.
2. 4 pax in my household. Most of the time only 2 pax.
3. got senior ~60 y/o with no major health issue.
4. either DIY or on-site service also okay. Preferably won't need to mess with those fittings and hose often if DIY.
5. Instalment below 80/month.
6. 1-time off purchase below 3.5k. (Still depends on service package in total and future support)
7. No external filter, probably once a month will get water disruption and get very brown tap water momentarily.
8. hot/cold water not required at all. If it comes with it and doesn't use much electricity then it's fine.

The existing RO water system with water tank has been with us for more than 10 years, starting to give us issue like pump getting weak and slow filling. It also has a ceramic pre-filter that needs to get clean periodically.

I was researching for a new RO system that sits on countertop and doesn't take up lots of space. My friend recommended me to get a Xiaomi one as he had good experience with his 400G for a few years. I'm quite interested with the Xiaomi 1200G with dual RO filtration, but still undecided due to lack of local support and some users reporting that their other Xiaomi unit either leaks or pump failure.

I am not super fixated on RO only, but our family does prefer the taste of RO water (like a bit sweet?  hmm.gif ). I've tried cuckoo at work (the floor standing one) and they taste a bit different too, iinm they are RO but quite noisy.

I've also considered LG Puricare WD518, looks quite pretty and modern, plus many forumer here seems to use LG. My only concern is that motorised dispenser spout, it says minimum glass/cup height of 16cm for the sensor to work properly. And it also has the same issue like other similarly designed system whereby the spout is fixed and they seem to optimise for a certain type of container (same like most water dispenser nowadays). For my household, we do have cups of various sizes depending on its purpose, water bottles, kettles and jugs. So having a somewhat fixed access is a bit of an inconvenience. I've not used one or seen one in person, so maybe my concern is totally not an issue.

Perhaps sifus here can chime in a bit to advise. Thank you.
If u do not really need hot/cold water function, u can just go for a simple undersink filter and they are typically cheaper too, definitely much lower than ur budget

If u don't mind spending more (but still within ur budget), and don't mind hot/cold water as an extra, most mainstream brands will satisfy u (Cuckoo, Coway, LG etc.)

The Xiaomi 1200G should be good too, but I personally a bit skeptical towards only changing filters every 5 yrs, the longest I can accept before changing filters is 2 yrs, longer than that I don't think the filter is working as well as it should

The difference in taste of RO u experience could be due to the post-carbon filter in the machine. They mainly function to tune the taste of the water cuz after RO the water will have no mineral contents, hence the unusual taste, so some brands introduce it to make their water more likeable

As for the LG WD518, there's no minimum cup height requirement, if ur cup/container is very short (say 3cm), the spout will still drop to its lowest height (16cm) and dispense water, just that water droplets might spill out due to the height difference

Afaik, we LG is the only brand with auto moving tap (some brands are manual) and stainless steel internal pipings, all at a competitive price which is well within ur budget

We also have WD516 which is 90% similarly spec-ed as the WD518, it only lacks 2 functions which not everyone needs but is selling RM10/mth cheaper, have to act fast if u interested cuz the promo is ending 31 Dec 2023 notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Dec 30 2023, 04:22 PM
ironcrowz
post Jan 4 2024, 01:12 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Jan 3 2024, 11:53 PM)
Hi all, need some help with LG Puricare Water Filter.
The LG Puricare water filter has a water inlet and outlet meant for flushing water out right?

I realize my water filter outlet keeps on having water flow out (hear it from the sink outlet drain). Like literally non-stop for the whole day.

Even when powered OFF also it will keep like that. The only way to stop it is to close the water inlet so no water goes in.

When I dispense water, the flowing out stops for a while then continues back again. I called LG and they say it's supposed to do that, but want to ask whether any of you experience the same?

Takkan the water really keep flowing 24/7 right? and takkan when powered off also keep on draining water right?
Hmm no water should flow when the machine is not flushing...

How old is ur LG unit? It might be due to faulty valves in the machine hmm.gif

If got photo/video of ur kitchen setup then easier to see how ur plumbing was done and if there's any other possible cause of this

Can u Whatsapp them to me? I'll assist u to get LG to fix it
ironcrowz
post Jan 5 2024, 10:58 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 5 2024, 09:59 PM)
ironcrowz since you're LG agent, what is LG's product equivalent to SK Magic Hyper and Ria? (these are around rm69-79 a month with the servicing package. Tankless with hot/cold function.

Which is better between LG and SK Magic?
Hi bro, LG is better, 100% not bias, objective comparison as below:

1) Ria has no moving tap, water may spill out a bit due to height of water tap to ur cup
2) Ria has less preset volume (only 120 and 1000ml), LG 516 has more (120, 250, 500 and 1000), LG 518 even more canggih, while still have the 4 same preset volume options, can even control every 10ml between 120~1000ml
3) Ria may not have auto internal sterilisation function (no info on website), so can only keep itself clean every few months when technician visit
4) Ria internal pipings are most likely plastic, if it's SUS304 stainless steel like LG or Hyper, they'll probably advertise it as a strong selling point
5) Most importantly, they are charging u more, higher price for less compare to wat LG is giving

If compare to Hyper, it is much much better spec than Ria, but still:
1) Hyper has moving tap, but only manual by hand, LG's is auto every time u dispense water
2) Hyper I'm not sure whether it has internal sterilisation function or not, their website only says UV water outlet sterilisation every hour, LG has UV sterilisation for water tap every hour and auto internal piping sterilisation every week
3) And again, they are charging u more, pricier than LG

Hope it helps bro, Whatsapp me if u interested to see demo video of LG water purifiers notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Jan 5 2024, 11:02 PM

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.2155sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:19 PM