[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System
TSNightFelix
Aug 24 2020, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(gooroojee @ Aug 24 2020, 07:26 PM) Dear sifus, I'm using eSpring for many years and I'm wondering if there is any information or publication from Amway on the safety of the eSpring filtered water for infants and babies to drink from the tap? My friend put filtered water to mix milk formula for his 7 month old and mana tau suddenly kena hospitalised for salmonella. Admitted for 11 days. No joke. So I'm hoping for some assurance from sifus here on the above. Appreciate your info and advice. I more interested to find out which filtered that your friend using and when was the last time his filter replace/service?
senscents
Aug 24 2020, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(hestati @ Aug 24 2020, 08:30 PM) I don't see anything to be stated differently. There is no filter that is certified does not mean that it there is no filter that can remove it. It is a simple bacteria of a relatively large size, no magic. You can get salmonella from water, but that is usually attributed to water from a well (not municipal) or when something goes terribly wrong at the treatment plant/delivery system. But even then, 0.5 micron carbon block will most probably stop it, UV (or any other bacteria removing mechanism) will most probably kill it. To get salmonella from municipal water + quality filter is... very difficult. Unless filter is neglected, bacteria is breeding in carbon, UV is never cleaned AND you got some in tap water to begin with (say from the neglected condo water tank). This is why I stress the importance of changing cartridges on time, especially in relatively warm tap water. Good explanation. 👍 Not certified but still be able to remove this dangerous bacteria. 🤔 It is estimated that Salmonella species causes 93.8 million cases of gastroenteritis worldwide annually with 155,000 deaths. Source: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5989457/
senscents
Aug 24 2020, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 24 2020, 10:00 PM) I more interested to find out which filtered that your friend using and when was the last time his filter replace/service?  I think i saw some where that espring does certified that it can filter or from uv the dangerous Salmonella bacteria. Why did cdc say differently. 🤔 Can anyone confirm?
hestati
Aug 25 2020, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(senscents @ Aug 24 2020, 10:52 PM) Good explanation. 👍 Not certified but still be able to remove this dangerous bacteria. 🤔 It is estimated that Salmonella species causes 93.8 million cases of gastroenteritis worldwide annually with 155,000 deaths. Source: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5989457/yes, considering most world population has no access to municipal water and relies on well/underground/surface water sources (rivers, lakes, spring etc) it is the risk. I see people drinking from springs up in the mountains all the time, they say "no humans here, therefore water is safe". Such a careless and crazy assumption.
lifeisjustgreat
Aug 27 2020, 10:27 AM
 Hi all, any of you used this kind of outdoor filter? Any comments? Thanks!
TSNightFelix
Aug 27 2020, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(lifeisjustgreat @ Aug 27 2020, 10:27 AM)  Hi all, any of you used this kind of outdoor filter? Any comments? Thanks! Got one like 20 years ago, my dad pasang one. lol
lifeisjustgreat
Aug 27 2020, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 27 2020, 10:48 AM) Got one like 20 years ago, my dad pasang one. lol Still using after 20 years ? Wow!
TSNightFelix
Aug 27 2020, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(lifeisjustgreat @ Aug 27 2020, 12:23 PM) Still using after 20 years ? Wow! already disposed back in 12-14 years ago. Upgraded to more modern carbon based POU filter.
hestati
Aug 27 2020, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(lifeisjustgreat @ Aug 27 2020, 10:27 AM)  Hi all, any of you used this kind of outdoor filter? Any comments? Thanks! You can get one of those, but not transparent. When transparent fail (and they do because of cracking at the base because of the material etc etc) they fail badly and violently (most of the time). Grt quality one white or blue, do not expose it to UV, change cartridges on time and replace/lubricate the o-ring and it will last for years.
UnknownH
Aug 27 2020, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 27 2020, 12:36 PM) already disposed back in 12-14 years ago. Upgraded to more modern carbon based POU filter. That old thing stil selling these days  I'm nub. Can link to a picture or product of that modern filter?
lifeisjustgreat
Aug 27 2020, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(UnknownH @ Aug 27 2020, 07:46 PM) That old thing stil selling these days  I'm nub. Can link to a picture or product of that modern filter? https://shopee.com.my/Instar-Life-Single-Wa...38079.209618525https://shopee.com.my/10-Inch-Big-Blue-Wate...7913.2175077449 (recommeded by hestati? just look at how much price diff btw this and the above!)
brobro
Aug 27 2020, 09:11 PM

Sifu,
1. landed or condo? Condo 2. how many pax in your household?5 3. got senior / babies / people with disease like kidney failure for example in the house?Yes 4. can you able to do some small DIY installing yourself or not? (like replacement filter yourself?)No 5. how much u afford to installment per month for at least 5 years? 50/mth or 100/mth or 150/mth?RM 100-RM150 6. or do u prefer 1-time off purchase? below 1k or 2k or 3k?3K above ok but need good after sales service 7. do you own external water filter yet? No but condo got PureGen PGSA 4272 (NAF certified) installed at main water tank, up to 10 micron 8. hot/water function is it a must for you? will you willing to fork out another RM50/mth electricity bill for the feature? or you just stick with thermal pot + fridge cold water?Yes i want hot cold and variable temp if possible. I prefer tankless type, direct-from-water inlet and slim/compact type.
Any sifu here, appreciate your recommendation. Am noob in this. Has been drinking mineral bottles water all my life.
blanket84
Aug 27 2020, 09:18 PM
Any recommended alternative to 3M Easy Cyst-ff water filter. I am looking for water filter that doesn’t require additional faucet.
hestati
Aug 28 2020, 04:25 AM
QUOTE(lifeisjustgreat @ Aug 27 2020, 08:30 PM) Well, you are comparing 10 by 2.5 with 10 by 4.5, therefore the difference. If you believe 10 by 2.5 is enough for you, just get it in white or blue. If you need BB, which is 10 by 4.5, then it's the 2nd link. Main advantage of smaller one, it can hang on the pipes. BB you will need to mount somewhere. QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 27 2020, 09:18 PM) Any recommended alternative to 3M Easy Cyst-ff water filter. I am looking for water filter that doesn’t require additional faucet. You mean you want to connect between your current faucet and the water inlet? It is not that popular, mainly because the faucet becomes the weak spot. Look for something with 6L/min flow, or it will be quite slow for every day use. What is your goal, drink from it or boil later?
blanket84
Aug 28 2020, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(hestati @ Aug 28 2020, 04:25 AM) You mean you want to connect between your current faucet and the water inlet? It is not that popular, mainly because the faucet becomes the weak spot. Look for something with 6L/min flow, or it will be quite slow for every day use. What is your goal, drink from it or boil later? Yes. I want to connect my water filter directly to the faucet, which means everything that comes out of that water is filtered. My objective is to filter any contaminants & chlorine taste, if possible, drinking straight from the tap. Otherwise I could just boil the water to drink because most of the time I will boil & bottle my drinking water anyway since that is the norm for me since I was little. 3M "full flow" water filter flow rate is at 5.68L/min. I will have a POE water filter anyway (Probably 3M AP902). Do I even need a POU water filter? This post has been edited by blanket84: Aug 28 2020, 11:23 AM
blanket84
Aug 28 2020, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 14 2020, 05:30 PM) I actually check with Grohe technical side (not sales person), they confirm their single lever (hot/cold) mixer tap can be used for this. i.e. the filtered/non-filtered water will not mix. May I know which model can do this? I am also thinking whether I could use the hot water inlet to provide filtered water since I will only be using cold water inlet even though I am buying a mixer
MeToo
Aug 28 2020, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 28 2020, 01:22 PM) May I know which model can do this? I am also thinking whether I could use the hot water inlet to provide filtered water since I will only be using cold water inlet even though I am buying a mixer  any hot/cold mixer tap
blanket84
Aug 28 2020, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 28 2020, 03:09 PM) So just connect the hot water inlet to the water filter and it will function as filtered water dispenser? Or how to do it?
MeToo
Aug 28 2020, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 28 2020, 04:20 PM) So just connect the hot water inlet to the water filter and it will function as filtered water dispenser? Or how to do it? Thats bsically it. You have 2 inlet, just connect them to regular water and filtered water. and remember which is which. settled.
blanket84
Aug 28 2020, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 28 2020, 04:34 PM) Thats bsically it. You have 2 inlet, just connect them to regular water and filtered water. and remember which is which. settled. Thanks. I already bought Grohe for my kitchen faucet. I guess my problem is settled then.