[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

user_51
post Mar 24 2018, 03:43 PM

39 posts

what u guys think of alkaline water vs hydrogen water vs purified water?
Any good brand recommended?
MGM
post Mar 24 2018, 05:14 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Mar 23 2018, 10:26 PM)
This thing makes no sense at all. Honestly, looks like they took cheapest China made components and threw everything in one package.

There are so many things that are wrong about this product...

1. only 1 pre inline carbon block filter? Very possible that some chlorine will make it to the membrane and kill it premature.

2. RO membrane by Filmtec. What comes out of it must be purest water, RO can remove more than ANY other filter. Then why UF after it?

3. UV... So water goes through RO, then through UF (for no reason) then UV? WHY? This is like taking Evian water and passing it through UV. You can do it, yes, but what for?

4. If anything, UV AFTER the tank would make sense, but not before. There will be bacteria growth in tank and UV could potentially kill it.

5. TDS Controller... What the hell is that and how does it keep "good minerals" filtered by RO in the water? Is it a bloody TDS meter?

6. Post carbon... again, if it was AFTER the tank I would get it, but before?

Honestly, whoever designed this thing has no idea about water treatment. And believe me, at this price and with all these "features" if they were of good quality, this thing should cost like 5k. This is like a car with 5 wheels, one mounted on the roof and connected to the drivetrain and spinning while you're driving.

Spend the same amount and get a real water filter system instead of this Frankenstein.

P.S. I'm back from my trip and back to this thread smile.gif
Luckily we have u, an expert to correct us from making wrong decision. So u r going to be a seller for filteration system, pls furnish for info.
hestati
post Mar 24 2018, 05:32 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 24 2018, 05:14 PM)
Luckily we have u, an expert to correct us from making wrong decision. So u r going to be  a seller for filteration system, pls furnish for info.
Thanks!

I will be a seller, yes, but I do not want to sound like a salesman saying "my system is the best, only buy mine". I want to always remain objective and provide valuable information first. Sales, if any, come second.
aeiou228
post Mar 24 2018, 06:35 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Mar 24 2018, 02:17 PM)
Hey brother,

In fact I was in USA, negotiating with supplier who keeps delaying and delaying and delaying. Finally at least the test order should be in Malaysia before April 10. But also found another supplier who is a lot more professional.

Yes, got Aquaphor for now. This is real Crystal Eco, straight import from Russia, so no difference.

I'm planning to film short videos explaining everything I know about the water treatment, explanation, reviews, myth debunking etc. Hope this will help Malaysian consumers who are bombarded by filter salesman.
QUOTE(hestati @ Mar 24 2018, 05:32 PM)
Thanks!

I will be a seller, yes, but I do not want to sound like a salesman saying "my system is the best, only buy mine". I want to always remain objective and provide valuable information first. Sales, if any, come second.
it's good to have you in this forum. Please share more information about your new filter system. I think this topic allow discussion about any water filter brand except selling. You can do the selling in trade zone and put a hyperlink in your signature ( You should make your current signature clickable).
Can't wait to watch your video.

bluesky87
post Mar 24 2018, 08:29 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Mar 23 2018, 10:35 PM)
How would you install POE in the condo? If you have a space to do it, then simple 5 micron sediment filter should do it for you, no need to spend on 3M.

I'd be more concerned with what you're drinking at that point. Boiling cannot remove any of that.
Thanks for the info hestati, been following the thread and earn a lot of precious info from your replies. May I know how and where can I get these or someone could do it for me or perhaps you have such service as well? I mean the 5 micron sediment filter. I want to install POE in my new place but I have limited space and budget.

Also, relatives are pushing me to get Elken drinking water filter. In my mind I wanted Aquaphor since it's budget friendly, but can you give your review about Elken drinking water filter system? Thanks a lot in advanced.
Netto Hikari
post Mar 24 2018, 10:21 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

any review on this blondal? boleh pakai?
ar188
post Mar 25 2018, 01:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 24 2018, 01:56 PM)
hestati Bro, you had gone to Russia and brought back Aquaphor pulak? I thought you want to come out with your own 3-stage system with UK/US quality and materials?

Your RM1199 Aquaphor Crystal Eco and RC is way cheaper than Bro zheilwane price @RM1699, any difference between the two?

Those overpriced RM3k and RM4k water filter systems can go fly kite liao. rclxms.gif
its basically a usd 180-200 product.
really dunno why similar spec /other brand products in malaysia can jack up price until 3-5k wan.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Mar 25 2018, 01:44 PM
aeiou228
post Mar 25 2018, 01:54 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 25 2018, 01:43 PM)
really dunno why similar spec /other brand products in malaysia can jack up price until 3-5k wan..  laugh.gif
Compare to if we were to buy directly from Amazon + postage fee + hassle + postage risk + no warranty, I think hestati's pricing is quite fair. More so his replacement cartridges pricing is even cheaper than Amazon.
ar188
post Mar 25 2018, 01:57 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 25 2018, 01:54 PM)
Compare to if we were to buy directly from Amazon + postage fee + hassle + postage risk + no warranty, I think hestati's pricing is quite fair. More so his replacement cartridges pricing is even cheaper than Amazon.
ya, i didnt say his mid price not fair. just saying other brands similar style system does mark up super high.

aeiou228
post Mar 25 2018, 02:05 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 25 2018, 01:57 PM)
ya, i didnt say his mid price not fair. just saying other brands similar style system does mark up super high.
Exactly. So your relatives bring back the water filter from UK already ? Never share your user review pun?
hestati
post Mar 25 2018, 03:57 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(user_51 @ Mar 24 2018, 03:43 PM)
what u guys think of alkaline water vs hydrogen water vs purified water?
Any good brand recommended?
Marketing, marketing, marketing. Alkaline and hydrogen water is pure marketing, nothing else. Purified water is just clean water coming from a filter or RO system. Make sure your water is clean and don't fall for marketing traps.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 24 2018, 06:35 PM)
it's good to have you in this forum. Please share more information about your new filter system. I think this topic  allow discussion about any water filter brand except selling. You can do the selling in trade zone and put a hyperlink in your signature ( You should make your current signature clickable).
Can't wait to watch your video.
Will do, just don't want to do it yet until it actually arrives here in Malaysia. Then people can come, take a look, maybe even taste the water coming out of it.

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Mar 24 2018, 08:29 PM)
Thanks for the info hestati, been following the thread and earn a lot of precious info from your replies. May I know how and where can I get these or someone could do it for me or perhaps you have such service as well? I mean the 5 micron sediment filter. I want to install POE in my new place but I have limited space and budget.

Also, relatives are pushing me to get Elken drinking water filter. In my mind I wanted Aquaphor since it's budget friendly, but can you give your review about Elken drinking water filter system? Thanks a lot in advanced.
I think you're talking about BioPure k-100, right? I looked at it. As a system, it kinda does make sense. Regular, very standard RO system sediment+carbon+membrane+post carbon.

Few concerns:

1. Again, why just 1 granular carbon? Most RO systems need 2 carbon blocks (not even granular carbon) to eliminate all the chlorine. Chlorine damages the RO membrane.

2. Where are the components made? Who is the manufacturer of RO membrane? Maybe I haven't found the info...

3. WQA-S300 is one of the certifications no one uses. I think they remain the only company in the world certified to it, everyone else gave it up or never even bothered. I would look for NSF or EU certification.

But honestly, water filter from a company that sells lingerie, detox products... If they said "our membrane is Filmtec, our filters are Omnipure (or whatever) and it is all NFS certified" then it would be ok. Instead they say "The assembly of sleek lines and futuristic curves is a fusion made to quench your desire in more ways than one. Lauded as the machine of the future...", to me sounds like another Amway. No published pricing, dealers, non-transparent business.

I'm not saying it's bad, no, at least the system makes sense on paper unlike Kent system posted above. It's all about price though. Similar Chinese made, non-certified components system should cost about 1000RM. How much is Elken?

This post has been edited by hestati: Mar 25 2018, 04:00 PM
Warsaw89
post Mar 25 2018, 04:11 PM

52 posts

Hi all, panasonic tk as 40, beside changing water filter cartridge, anything need to change for maintenance?
Coz im thinking does it work like amway water filter, one uv light and one filter, 2 things to change...
Experienced user pls let me know. Thks.
ar188
post Mar 25 2018, 04:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 25 2018, 02:05 PM)
Exactly. So your relatives bring back the water filter from UK already ? Never share your user review pun?
suitcase full adi. cos brought back some other power tools for me. laugh.gif
hestati
post Mar 25 2018, 04:54 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 25 2018, 01:43 PM)
really dunno why similar spec /other brand products in malaysia can jack up price until 3-5k wan..  laugh.gif
Remember that most of these brands have:

1. Very aggressive marketing

2. Monthly payments

So people do not pay 3500RM, they pay 200RM/month for 4 years and think it's a good deal. And honestly, if one can easily afford 200RM/month it's not a bad deal. You get a filter, cold/hot/warm water dispenser that looks good and stylish. My only concern is that even these 5k brands do not use top quality components. Or maybe they do, but they never even say where these come from, who makes them etc. When you buy Mercedes, you know that all your electronics is Bosch. When you buy Cuckoo you don't even know who makes your filters...
Netto Hikari
post Mar 25 2018, 08:01 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

any recommended water filter for POE? plan to install in my condo.
hestati
post Mar 25 2018, 08:23 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 25 2018, 08:01 PM)
any recommended water filter for POE? plan to install in my condo.
Looks like I should bring POE for condo...

Standard 4.5" case + pleated polyester at 5 micron should do it. Can add carbon to it if you want, then need 2 standard cases. This will kick arse of any "3M" type filter. Make sure you use quality cartridges.
aeiou228
post Mar 25 2018, 10:21 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Mar 25 2018, 08:23 PM)
Looks like I should bring POE for condo...

Standard 4.5" case + pleated polyester at 5 micron should do it.  Can add carbon to it if you want, then need 2 standard cases. This will kick arse of any "3M" type filter. Make sure you use quality cartridges.
Any idea where to buy good pleated polyester standard 10" cartridge in Klang Valley or online store?
4.5" case ? Easy to find the cartridge?
hestati
post Mar 25 2018, 10:53 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 25 2018, 10:21 PM)
Any idea where to buy good pleated polyester standard 10" cartridge in Klang Valley or online store? 
4.5" case ? Easy to find the cartridge?
The only one I know currently is this one:

http://malaysiawaterfilter.com.my/index.ph...emart&Itemid=29

However, their whole package comes to roughly 600 RM (housing+filter) and filter is probably no-name China made AND it's not pleated polyester but melt blown... They don't carry 5 micron pleated... I tried to search Lazada, no luck.

I had no idea we don't even have them here.

I can get Pentek housing + USA made pleated 5 micron for 500 RM total, replacement is about 150RM, change every 1-1.5 years (washable, but iron clogs any filter)

So for now, can get this blue housing and melt blown only... Maybe someone else can find pleated polyester?

This small 4.5" by 10" housing is good for a medium size condo. For large house, better get 4.5" by 20".

However, this type doesn't get rid of the smell and taste. That could be a problem if when you shower, water smells really bad and has too much chlorine. Then also need carbon. Add roughly 600 RM for quality radial flow carbon in similar housing.

The beauty of standard housings is that you can start with sediment only, see the results, if not happy, add carbon easily. And it will still cost you much less than "big brand" system.

This post has been edited by hestati: Mar 25 2018, 11:05 PM
Warsaw89
post Mar 26 2018, 12:31 AM

52 posts

RePost #2286
Hi all, panasonic tk as 40, beside changing water filter cartridge, anything need to change for maintenance?
Coz im thinking does it work like amway water filter, one uv light and one filter, 2 things to change...
Experienced user pls let me know. Thks
hestati
post Mar 26 2018, 12:55 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Warsaw89 @ Mar 26 2018, 12:31 AM)
RePost #2286
Experienced user pls let me know. Thks
No, this one uses proprietary cartridge with hollow fiber, AKA ultrafiltration and that removes all the bacteria. No UV in it. Just replace the cartridge and all set.

0.0517sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:49 AM