10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

ironcrowz
post Feb 26 2024, 12:44 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 25 2024, 09:50 PM)
icic... then it makes sense...  tongue.gif

i wonder like my case, it is 7 years rental (rm60), will there be a case that after 7 years the current model i have is already end of life, even filters also no longer selling that i can get replacement filter for free? hahaha.

for WD516AN, do i need to manually doing the Water Outlet Sterilization myself?
So far the filtration tech are pretty mature, so from biz point of view I believe LG will try to use the same filters even for future water purifier models to minimize cost, but that's just my opinion, no one knows wat will happen in the future biggrin.gif

As for the water outlet sterilisation, yes, suggest do it once a month, cuz UV sterilisation only kills bacteria, but dust might still stick to the outlet over time

Just put a glass under so it catches the hot water while the water outlet is being flushed

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 25 2024, 10:01 PM)
rental (7 years self-service): total cost is rm5040
rental (5 years self-service): total cost is rm5400

why would one goes for 5 years rental?

besides, what are the differences between these two models? which one is better?

With 5 year rental plan, customer gets to choose one of these at the end of 3rd year at no penalty/cost :
1) Continue using the current unit
2) Upgrade/Change to another model
3) Cancel and return the unit

So naturally with that flexibility, the 5-yrs plan will be more expensive than the 7-yrs plan where customer is tied for the whole 7 yrs biggrin.gif

518 and 516 only 3 differences, prices are exactly the same:
1) 518 has 10ml volume control
2) 518 has favourite setting
3) 518 water outlet is fixed horizontally once installed (due to the square shaped design), 516 water outlet can be swing horizontally freely, both still have automatic up-down water outlet though thumbup.gif

Even though 518 offers 2 new functions, some of my customers still chose 516 cuz it's more convenient to fill up cooking pot etc.

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Feb 26 2024, 12:45 PM
ironcrowz
post Feb 26 2024, 09:05 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Feb 26 2024, 06:57 PM)
for "Upgrade/Change to another model" - will it incur same cost as renting new again?  and contract period reset?
Correct, if upgrade/change, will follow new model's price and reset the contract
ironcrowz
post Feb 27 2024, 10:34 AM

460 posts

U looking for indoor or outdoor filter?

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Feb 27 2024, 10:35 AM
ironcrowz
post Feb 27 2024, 11:55 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(kinwah123 @ Feb 27 2024, 10:54 AM)
indoor.
If u need only room temperature water, u may consider undersink filters, just make sure they filters out heavy metals and bacteria/viruses so it's directly drinkable

If u prefer the convenience of directly drinkable straight from the filter, LG cheapest model WD216 is only RM50/mth, for 7 yrs, replacement filters and warranty are all free, and it has hot water function too
ironcrowz
post Feb 27 2024, 05:06 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(HeroesSlayer @ Feb 27 2024, 04:56 PM)
Does the LG water purifier have continuous water mode for normal water (not hot or cold), because there are times that I need to have 3L of water and wonder if this can support. Also if hot or cold water what is the maximum volume that it can support at one time?

The pricing is fix for the next 7 years if let say I sign onto the package and wont change within that period right?
Yes it does, continuous dispense for 3 minutes or till u press stop, just press again if after 3 min it still haven hit 3L

If hot/cold water, can dispense bout 1.5~2L at one go, if room temp water, its unlimited

Yes, it is a contract binding on LG too, so the price RM60/mth is fixed for the whole rental contract 7 yrs
ironcrowz
post Feb 29 2024, 04:44 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(mastedo @ Feb 29 2024, 10:38 AM)
Good Morning,

I am looking for water purifier

below are reply for the guide question:

1. landed or condo? landed

2. how many pax in your household? 3 person

3. got senior / babies / people with disease like kidney failure for example in the house? no

4. can you able to do some small DIY installing yourself or not? (like replacement filter yourself?) simple DIY

5. how much u afford to installment per month for at least 5 years? 50/mth or 100/mth or 150/mth?

6. or do u prefer 1-time off purchase? below 1k or 2k or 3k?
Prefer 1 time purchase.

7. do you own external water filter yet? No yet. Planning too.

8. hot/water function is it a must for you? will you willing to fork out another RM50/mth electricity bill for the feature? or you just stick with thermal pot + fridge cold water? No need extra function. Direct drink just enough.

Prefer the direct pipe mount at sink.

Thanks in advance.
Are u looking for indoor or outdoor filter? Or both?

Since u do not need any functions except directly drinkable, find one that filters heavy metals and viruses, the cheapest LG model that suits ur need is RM2,800 or RM50/mth
ironcrowz
post Feb 29 2024, 04:45 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Feb 29 2024, 11:01 AM)
for sand water filter (outdoor).. usually how long do we need to do maintenance? can anyone share more on this.. ty
Better refer the shop where u bought it ya, but usually maintenance once a year
ironcrowz
post Feb 29 2024, 05:05 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(mastedo @ Feb 29 2024, 05:01 PM)
Im looking for indoor filter first.
WD216 is the cheapest model we have, its exactly like 516 except no cold water function (still has hot water)

Other than the usual dirt/odor/chlorine being filtered, it also filters out 9 types of heavy metals and norovirus

Since it's also tankless, it cost less electricity and doesn't require a technician visit for service (we still provide such service to those who cant DIY at additional cost)

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Feb 29 2024, 05:07 PM
ironcrowz
post Feb 29 2024, 09:25 PM

460 posts

1. Ur air suam is room temp or luke warm? biggrin.gif Ambient = Room temp (usually 26°C), 40°C = luke warm

2. Ya same, the button is there in case u want to do it manually (i.e. outside the scheduled timing)

3. Roughly 15~20 min, but usually our technician set it at midnight 3am when no one is using and it just run auto so u probably wont notice

4. Outlet sterilisation = Flushing the outlet with hot water (in addition to the hourly UV sterilisation), since hot water will flow out, need to put a container before starting the process, that's why can only do it manually. Suggest do it once a month thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Feb 29 2024, 09:26 PM
ironcrowz
post Feb 29 2024, 11:22 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(shebbycs @ Feb 29 2024, 09:35 PM)
1. Understood haha smile.gif

2. Thank you

3. Thank for the advise, just now set to the midnight 3am

4. Maybe I am asking stupid question still I want to know the reason to do internal pipe sterilization (weekly) and water outlet sterilization(monthly), hope can explain easy way that can I understand because I am noob about this
No worry, not stupid question thumbsup.gif

Only 1 type of sterilisation is manual, the other 2 types are auto, so u dun have to worry bout them:

1. Internal pipe sterilisation auto weekly, to flush with hot water the machine's internal pipings

2. Water outlet UV sterilisation is auto hourly, to kill bacteria growing on its surface

3. Water outlet sterilisation (hot water flushing) is manual, cuz it uses hot water to flush the outlet, so must put a container
ironcrowz
post Mar 1 2024, 11:33 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(shebbycs @ Mar 1 2024, 10:48 AM)
1. Internal pipe sterilisation auto weekly, to flush with hot water the machine's internal pipings - this is what purpose?

2. Water outlet UV sterilisation is auto hourly, to kill bacteria growing on its surface  - this one understand purpose to kill bacteria

3. Water outlet sterilisation (hot water flushing) is manual, cuz it uses hot water to flush the outlet,(this is what purpose?) so must put a container
1 and 3 are both flushing with hot water, mainly to clean up any residue in the pipes or any dust on the faucet (since the faucet is exposed, flying dust may attach on it, even though UV alrd kill any bacteria, still need to clear the dust) biggrin.gif
ironcrowz
post Mar 2 2024, 02:24 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(ykk3 @ Mar 2 2024, 12:16 PM)
I am not sure if I should go for 216 or 518. Can anyone pm me to explain more. Preferably someone in PJ
Both 516 and 518 has both hot and cold water, 216 only have hot water, other aspects all same as 516

216 vs 518 only 4 diff:

1. 10ml volume control - Can set any volume u like every 10ml between 120~1000ml (i.e. 120, 130, 140 etc. all the way to 1000ml)

2. Favourite preset - Can set 3 favourite presets of volume + temperature combo (Preset A = 120ml 40°C for baby formula, Preset B = 270ml 85°C for coffee etc.), 1 button to change both volume and temperature you use most frequently

3. Both has auto up-down water tap (to avoid water spill out, safer hot water use), but LG Objet is square shape, so once installed water tap cannot swing horizontally 180° (But LG can help reposition/relocate for Free 1 time every year)

4. 518 is RM60/mth, 216 is RM50/mth
ironcrowz
post Mar 7 2024, 05:05 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Invulnerability @ Mar 7 2024, 04:39 PM)
interested to get the wd518 one, should I wait for rm50/month promo?
it is ok direct connect to the unfiltered tap or need 1 more extra filter tap outside?
I suggest don't wait, cuz both models stock constantly running low, unlikely HQ will do promo price again, current promo is combo bundle with air purifier RM88/mth

Can just direct connect to water source, inside alrd equipped with carbon filter, extra filter not necessary since LG ships filter to u every 6 mths, so no worry the filter run out fast

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Mar 7 2024, 05:05 PM
ironcrowz
post Mar 7 2024, 11:06 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Mar 7 2024, 10:49 PM)
518 last time promo time only 50/month right?
That one was 516, 518 never have promo price except bundles cuz its the newest model thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Mar 7 2024, 11:06 PM
ironcrowz
post Mar 8 2024, 10:10 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Mar 8 2024, 08:07 AM)
516 current rental 50/month? or this model has discontinue?
Not discontinue, just no more promo price bye.gif
ironcrowz
post Mar 8 2024, 11:28 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Mar 8 2024, 11:24 AM)
Thanks. It is 4560 vs 5040
Yes, but the addon filter package doesn't cover warranty

If rental then free 7 yrs warranty
ironcrowz
post Mar 11 2024, 05:18 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Mar 11 2024, 04:36 PM)
Is anyone on jiksoo hyper? Need some inputs. Thanks
Hyper's rental is bout RM100 for 5 yrs as i see, unless there's a ongoing promo that I'm not aware of.

LG's rental is RM110 for 5 yrs with regular service by technician, but if u can DIY service it (which is simply changing the filters urself and let the machine handle the rest), the rental goes down to RM90 for 5 yrs

If 7 yrs will be cheaper but just gonna use 5 yrs so that it's comparable to SK Magic

Keeping the price diff in mind, LG has everything Hyper has (tankless, s/steel pipe, multiple volume/temperature, hot/cold water, UV faucet sterilisation), plus:
1) Hyper's moving tap is manual, LG's automatic
2) Hyper's moving tap is vertical only, LG 516 can move both vertical and horizontal
3) LG has auto weekly internal sterilisation (not shown on SK Magic's website)
4) LG has an app to let u monitor its water and power usage, set the sterilisation schedule etc.

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: Mar 11 2024, 05:18 PM
ironcrowz
post Mar 12 2024, 09:33 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Mar 11 2024, 11:02 PM)
Guys, I really think this thread is being turned into a page for LG Puricare. As you may know, I always recommend it too when people are looking for a dispenser system (even though I am not a rep and do not plan to become one), it is definitely a good product, but lately it is all about LG, selling it to people who want undersink, who want SK Magic, discussing promotions on every page etc. I understand the business, but let's keep it more with a purpose of genuine help, otherwise people will stop coming here alltogether.

For example, last question about SK,you may want to know why the person has decided to choose SK, any specific reason, have he considered other brands etc.

No offense to anyone, just a suggestion
Thank u for the suggestion, maybe I was just too eager to help ppl make the right choice considering that at same price u get more with LG

If I've been hot-headed, I apologise notworthy.gif
ironcrowz
post Mar 14 2024, 11:59 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Mar 14 2024, 08:53 AM)
nowadays seldom heard ppl stressing on NSF certified.
is this certification still taking important role in water filter machine? or it has replace by something else
Personally thinks that NSF is more important for smaller/newer brands, for big brands it might not be necessary

Cuz I never trust their integrity 100% since they are being paid by the brands

But of coz if no NSF, the brand themselves can cut short on their products/filters too

Either way, it's all about trust i guess biggrin.gif
ironcrowz
post Mar 15 2024, 02:25 PM

460 posts

Yea, never 100% trust the one being paid to check the one paying xD

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1937sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:11 PM