Traders Kopitiam! V8

wodenus
post Sep 7 2015, 07:56 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MohdPuskas @ Sep 4 2015, 01:01 AM)
Hi guys, noob newbie here

I just registered CDS acc, according to some sifus this is not the right time to start, but I just do it for the sake of learning experience and if lucky maybe gain some

What the recomended minimum amount I should start with ? smile.gif 1.1k should be ok ? Maybe 500 for 2 stock each time, another 100 spare tongue.gif
If you have 500 to blow, why not? Just for the experience. But if you are hoping to make money, ask yourself how much you can gain with that 500. I can guarantee you it will be less than you work part-time for a few months - and that is risk-free income.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 7 2015, 07:57 AM
wodenus
post Sep 7 2015, 08:03 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MohdPuskas @ Sep 7 2015, 07:59 AM)
Is it ? Capital 500 the revenue will be too low ?
If you can make rm50 a year from that you'd be doing very well already smile.gif
wodenus
post Sep 10 2015, 10:40 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 10 2015, 10:33 AM)
Hug and cry with u lor laugh.gif
Crazy gamblers smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 03:13 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 03:04 PM)
I don't even bother to average down on my O&G stocks now. But in a few blue chips during the correction. Making some good profit now smile.gif

Year end window dressing coming too tongue.gif
Can't understand this.. what is a good profit if you can't spend it smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 03:17 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 03:15 PM)
Can't understand you too.. U mean unrealised profit?
Yes.. you can't spend your unrealized profit.. it's so weird, like you have money but don't have money smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 03:23 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 03:20 PM)
You're weird. So let's say you buy a stock, you make a good profit although you hold less than 2 weeks for example.. Or 1 month..

And you so happen to share it out say you making a good profit. I'm sure you have paper profit which you still holding.

Unless you said you will only share you profit once it's been realised than I have nothing to say.
Maybe I'm weird, I think money is something you can spend smile.gif see let's say I have Rm500 this month, I can spend Rm100 this month (for example.) But if you have say Rm500 paper profit, how do you budget?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 11 2015, 03:24 PM
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 03:31 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 03:27 PM)
Answer me my question above first.

1. Do you have paper profit?

2. If yes, if you don't ever share you make some good profit on some stocks you haven't realised then I understand your initial intention of your comment.
1. I did once. I had this exact same problem.

2.No I don't usually share any profits.. but all the same I'd like an answer to that because I had this "how much do you budget" problem.

wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 03:45 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 11 2015, 03:40 PM)
ROFLMAO!

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
don't torture yourself laaaa.................... tongue.gif
People are going to say I'm "trolling" again lol.. but seriously what is the answer to this? it's like today someone gives you a lot of money, and then you think of the so many things you can buy with it.. but tomorrow he takes it away smile.gif how do people know how much to spend like that?
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 04:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 03:52 PM)
I don't have an answer to that. You're like asking how much is enough for you to sell. I learn my lesson not to hold on a profit for too long. Rather make less then have all of them erase.

Right? what do you do with the paper profit/loss that you have, that is the question.

wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 04:07 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 04:03 PM)
You can have A LOT of unrealised profit, but you don't realise it's no use.

It's like you have a lot of money.. but you don't. Right? smile.gif

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 04:03 PM)
I was only making a point to him that once you started investing, you will have unrealised profit/loss. Because he was earlier saying what's the point of holding on to unrealised profit. But once you start investing, you will have unrealised profit and loss.
I think you misunderstand me a bit.. I understand that you can have that.. my question is what do you do with it? I understand what you do with money.. you spend some and save the rest. But what do you do with an unrealized profit?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 11 2015, 04:23 PM
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 04:36 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 04:20 PM)
Let's say u choose to hold. Market turn bad. Boom. All profit wiped out. U are back with that question.

Right? I need to see the point so I'm asking all of you experienced traders and investors.. it always seems as if I'm missing the point somewhere. You seem to make money you can't spend and can lose tomorrow. I'm trying really hard to see why all this is not just a terrible waste of time and effort. I mean, you guys are in it like full time, I just tried it once, and even then it was heavily hedged and I maybe made 6% lol.. there was a lot of studying involved, and then the conditions had to be almost perfect. And even after that there was constant studying and worrying, and reading, and planning, and strategizing, and more reading, and planning, and calculating.. and all I made was 1.8% above FD rates tongue.gif

But at one time yes there was this huge paper profit that I did not know what to do with.. I think at one point it was 20% or something like that. And then I was like "wow.. now I can buy some really good stuff" but it disappeared the next day. Eventually I got tired of all this and dumped it.

And yes I sound like I am trolling again, but I am really trying very hard to understand why this is not just a terrible waste of time and effort. And yes if you are thinking "if you think it is.." well yes but I want to know why you don't think it is.. obviously you get it and I don't.. and I want to get it.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 04:44 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 11 2015, 04:21 PM)
VALUATION, valuation

If u think it can go all the way to 2, or even 3

Why sell at 1.50? Why worry at 80 sen?

When it goes down.. what makes you think it will go up again? what makes you think the market will agree with your valuation?

Again, assuming u don't need the funds anytime soon. Market sentiment mar, let it fluctuate lor...

Then you are incurring a huge opportunity cost right? because you are getting older and that money is not being really productive or anything.

For me, I'm no trader, I don't set target profit or stop loss. I invest on valuation.

So why did DIGI's valuation suddenly turn bad the day you sold it?

wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 05:07 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 11 2015, 04:47 PM)
I sold at price where DY = <4% whistling.gif
Ok so did you really make money from that?
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 05:13 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 11 2015, 04:53 PM)
<--- FD thread is over there
I knew you would say that.. but obviously people are making more than FD doing this.. otherwise they would not be doing this. But how does this "work" ? what is the "point" of it? why are you doing all this work?

wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 05:15 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM)
I'm not with wood.

Did he PM you or something? smile.gif

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM)
But malaysia telco generally grow at 4% p.a over the year. So which means you won't be interested in telco stocks?

If you want 6-7% DY telco stocks, Indo thai telco stocks offer that.

Right but exchange rate risk now.. cross rate is pretty high.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 11 2015, 05:15 PM
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 05:18 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM)
I think one of the things Boon3 is always trying to say is that you must find and do whatever method suits you best as each person is different. The end goal is to make a profit. Some do it on a daily basis, some buy and sell in days or weeks, or some hold for months or years. You don't have to follow what others do. Just find whats working and best for you. If you're making a profit, small or big, you are doing something right. If not, you're doing something wrong.
But if the end goal is to make a profit, why isn't everyone in FDs? that's a guaranteed profit.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 11 2015, 05:20 PM
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 05:26 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Sep 11 2015, 05:21 PM)
Because it is possible to make more profit than you get with an FD. Its not guaranteed and it may be risky, but the reward is there if you get it right.
Ok.. so how do you get it right?
wodenus
post Sep 11 2015, 05:28 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 11 2015, 05:21 PM)
This thread is for gamblers...punters... whistling.gif

So all you're doing is gambling? I can't believe that smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 12 2015, 11:36 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 11 2015, 07:40 PM)
You seems serious in your question today  thumbup.gif

Of course.

Everybody has his own risk appetite. Those here are high risk taker. FD of 4% pa they "look no up". Don't even mention the word FD here it is taboo. They are expecting maybe 20% in 1-2 months range (120% annualized), or 10% in 1 week (500% annualized). If you get in frontken at 0.17 a few month ago, and sell at 0.34 2 months later, you made 100% in 2 months (600% annualized). That is the level of profit they expect. But after sell at 0.34, frontken dropped back to 0.26 and if he feels it is cheap and re-enter, then it dropped further to 0.16. He loss 0.10. So high risk high return/loss

Was there any reason for FRONTKEN to go up 100%? why would someone buy it at 0.17? What does that someone see in Frontken at 0.17 that makes him want to buy it?

If you still think FD is comparable against stock trading, then I think you should not waste your time here.

Isn't that like saying if you think it is better to take public transport, you should not waste time learning to drive? even if you take public transport, I think it would be a good idea to learn how to drive. Knowledge is never wasted anyway right?

Sure the risk i can take.. risk is not much to me if there's a return.. but if there is a return. I'm not asking anyone to show me how they make money.. but how they know how much to spend. I understand how salaries and FD works - you get RmX.. you spend RmY.. you save RmZ. Next month, same thing happens smile.gif

But if you are trading.. you make RmX today.. what is the Y and Z ? end of the month how do you pay your bills?

wodenus
post Sep 12 2015, 01:03 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 12 2015, 12:54 PM)
Lol you are as confuse as they come to stock investing... 1st time i see such argument  doh.gif

Yes kind of confused tongue.gif

Never mind I will feed the troll...

Not a troll just confused lol

By investing you are attempting to do as below.... whistling.gif

You get RM X from your salary .. you spend RM Y and INSTEAD of saving RM Z , you INVEST them.

From the investment of RM Z, you invest/trade/speculate (or whatever that floats your boat) and get gain .. or loss.. repeat and rinse, while keep adding to your RM Z from your monthly extra. It still stay as RM Z.. it does not goes away.. unless you lose it all..but highly unlikely if you have stop loss strategy. You WILL win and lose from time to time.. the trick is to make sure you win MORE than you lose and thus will get gains. As the RM Z snowballs get bigger .. so does your net worth.

OK but what if you have an emergency (like if your house burns down, or you lose your job in a downturn or whatever?)

0.0400sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:47 AM