QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 11 2015, 04:47 PM)
I'm not with wood.But malaysia telco generally grow at 4% p.a over the year. So which means you won't be interested in telco stocks?
If you want 6-7% DY telco stocks, Indo thai telco stocks offer that.
Traders Kopitiam! V8
Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM
2,081 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM
640 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 11 2015, 04:36 PM) Right? I need to see the point so I'm asking all of you experienced traders and investors.. it always seems as if I'm missing the point somewhere. You seem to make money you can't spend and can lose tomorrow. I think one of the things Boon3 is always trying to say is that you must find and do whatever method suits you best as each person is different. The end goal is to make a profit. Some do it on a daily basis, some buy and sell in days or weeks, or some hold for months or years. You don't have to follow what others do. Just find whats working and best for you. If you're making a profit, small or big, you are doing something right. If not, you're doing something wrong. |
Sep 11 2015, 05:07 PM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 11 2015, 05:08 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM) I'm not with wood. 1. Read recent news, analyses and quarterly reports of telcos. Growth IS slowing, competition is fierce. Expect VERY LOW single digit growth going forwardBut malaysia telco generally grow at 4% p.a over the year. So which means you won't be interested in telco stocks? If you want 6-7% DY telco stocks, Indo thai telco stocks offer that. 2. I'm okay with 4.5-5% DY, when I invested in DiGi, its DY was 5%. Actually now (RM5) is okay for me, but I chose to be conservative and keep cash for opportunities This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 11 2015, 05:10 PM |
Sep 11 2015, 05:09 PM
Double post
This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 11 2015, 05:10 PM |
Sep 11 2015, 05:13 PM
Sep 11 2015, 05:14 PM
Habis kerja...balik
Sep 11 2015, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM) I'm not with wood. Did he PM you or something? QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM) But malaysia telco generally grow at 4% p.a over the year. So which means you won't be interested in telco stocks? If you want 6-7% DY telco stocks, Indo thai telco stocks offer that. Right but exchange rate risk now.. cross rate is pretty high. This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 11 2015, 05:15 PM |
Sep 11 2015, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM) I think one of the things Boon3 is always trying to say is that you must find and do whatever method suits you best as each person is different. The end goal is to make a profit. Some do it on a daily basis, some buy and sell in days or weeks, or some hold for months or years. You don't have to follow what others do. Just find whats working and best for you. If you're making a profit, small or big, you are doing something right. If not, you're doing something wrong. But if the end goal is to make a profit, why isn't everyone in FDs? that's a guaranteed profit.This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 11 2015, 05:20 PM |
Sep 11 2015, 05:21 PM
LOL
Paranoia. Suspek PM PM make alliance to wage war pulak Dah cakap...nak guaranteed profit... <--- FD thread there This thread is for gamblers...punters... This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 11 2015, 05:21 PM |
Sep 11 2015, 05:21 PM
Sep 11 2015, 05:26 PM
Sep 11 2015, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 11 2015, 05:21 PM) This thread is for gamblers...punters... So all you're doing is gambling? I can't believe that |
Sep 11 2015, 05:34 PM
Sep 11 2015, 05:52 PM
820 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Sep 11 2015, 05:01 PM) I think one of the things Boon3 is always trying to say is that you must find and do whatever method suits you best as each person is different. The end goal is to make a profit. Some do it on a daily basis, some buy and sell in days or weeks, or some hold for months or years. You don't have to follow what others do. Just find whats working and best for you. If you're making a profit, small or big, you are doing something right. If not, you're doing something wrong. There are many types of investors and traders. 1. Some play contra within the same day or within the T+2/3/5/7 period. Make RM0.005 to 0.10 per share also cukup if play in super big volume. Some help capitalise on the sudden surge and make RM0.20 to RM2.00++ per share also have. 2. Some are dividend yield investors - emphasize on the appropriate yield and absolute occurrence of dividend payment + capital protection. Some want both capital appreciation + dividend yield. 3. Some are happy trading making 5 - 10% return weekly/monthly. 4. Some are super value investors, willing to buy and hold at decent prices and won't sell until reach 30% to 200%++ for as long as it takes to reach the target. 5. Some play with IPO and private placements to gain a decent advantage and return. 6. Some play with warrants, iculs, rculs etc and leverage on the timing and maturity. If you are good can make 20% to 400% profit. 7. Some mess around with arbitrage on conversion of warrants to mother share and make quick/easy 5 - 10% profit. 8. Some average down or average up on their shareholdings to try to breakeven or get even higher returns. 9. Some purposely hunt stocks with bonus issues, special dividends etc 10. Some target stocks that are potential M&A comps, RTOs, potential privatization comps etc Some people want their investment methods kept simple to gain X% return. Some want it complicated to gain Y% return. Some just follow the trend, herd, family ,friends, rumours, news etc and and hope to get Z% return. Some do a tonne of homework and aim to get XYZ% return. Everybody's preference on a required rate of return, regardless whether guaranteed or the probability or achieving is different. Tonnes of ways to make money, but everything requires your time, dedication, competency, your plan/strategy, your vision, experience, confidence, guts, money and some lil bit of luck. Everything added up will eventually have an impact on that small decision of yours - which is to buy or sell. Easy way out, get someone or an investment firm/bank to invest for you. Or buy unit trust, ASNB, FDs, do real estate investing, business. Everything will have their own risk and return. |
Sep 11 2015, 06:08 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
48,426 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Bank Negara Malaysia decided to maintain the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) at 3.25 percent.
Sep 11 2015, 06:14 PM
15,942 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(TC-Titan @ Sep 11 2015, 05:52 PM) There are many types of investors and traders. 1. Some play contra within the same day or within the T+2/3/5/7 period. Make RM0.005 to 0.10 per share also cukup if play in super big volume. Some help capitalise on the sudden surge and make RM0.20 to RM2.00++ per share also have. 2. Some are dividend yield investors - emphasize on the appropriate yield and absolute occurrence of dividend payment + capital protection. Some want both capital appreciation + dividend yield. 3. Some are happy trading making 5 - 10% return weekly/monthly. 4. Some are super value investors, willing to buy and hold at decent prices and won't sell until reach 30% to 200%++ for as long as it takes to reach the target. 5. Some play with IPO and private placements to gain a decent advantage and return. 6. Some play with warrants, iculs, rculs etc and leverage on the timing and maturity. If you are good can make 20% to 400% profit. 7. Some mess around with arbitrage on conversion of warrants to mother share and make quick/easy 5 - 10% profit. 8. Some average down or average up on their shareholdings to try to breakeven or get even higher returns. 9. Some purposely hunt stocks with bonus issues, special dividends etc 10. Some target stocks that are potential M&A comps, RTOs, potential privatization comps etc Some people want their investment methods kept simple to gain X% return. Some want it complicated to gain Y% return. Some just follow the trend, herd, family ,friends, rumours, news etc and and hope to get Z% return. Some do a tonne of homework and aim to get XYZ% return. Everybody's preference on a required rate of return, regardless whether guaranteed or the probability or achieving is different. Tonnes of ways to make money, but everything requires your time, dedication, competency, your plan/strategy, your vision, experience, confidence, guts, money and some lil bit of luck. Everything added up will eventually have an impact on that small decision of yours - which is to buy or sell. Easy way out, get someone or an investment firm/bank to invest for you. Or buy unit trust, ASNB, FDs, do real estate investing, business. Everything will have their own risk and return. Lucky my poison not listed....... |
Sep 11 2015, 06:59 PM
Sep 11 2015, 07:34 PM
820 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Sep 11 2015, 07:40 PM
4,258 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 11 2015, 05:18 PM) You seems serious in your question today Everybody has his own risk appetite. Those here are high risk taker. FD of 4% pa they "look no up". Don't even mention the word FD here it is taboo. They are expecting maybe 20% in 1-2 months range (120% annualized), or 10% in 1 week (500% annualized). If you get in frontken at 0.17 a few month ago, and sell at 0.34 2 months later, you made 100% in 2 months (600% annualized). That is the level of profit they expect. But after sell at 0.34, frontken dropped back to 0.26 and if he feels it is cheap and re-enter, then it dropped further to 0.16. He loss 0.10. So high risk high return/loss If you still think FD is comparable against stock trading, then I think you should not waste your time here. Your risk appetite is not suited for stock trading. You want guaranteed profit ? Can go with 4%pa return. But Don't expect those 20% return in 1-2 months (120% annualized) will happen without taking any risk |
| Change to: | 0.0267sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:53 AM |