Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V14, #PrayForM2Amex #ripM2Amex

MilesAndMore
post Jun 26 2015, 01:51 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Prodigenous Zee @ Jun 25 2015, 05:05 PM)
Latest catalogue shows only one voucher redemption that amounts to 1.20% cashback. Rest is 1.08%.
1.25% is when you redeem the voucher at Maybank on the spot counter.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 9 2015, 07:06 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Jul 8 2015, 09:19 PM)
If the weekend 5% cash back is taken away what is the benefit of having this card anymore?
Unlimited 1.25% cash back in the form of shopping voucher ? That's better than most VISA/MC in the market.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 18 2015, 02:54 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 17 2015, 12:18 PM)
That's the only merchant that offering higher value. Hope they don't revise this sweat.gif
Yes, that's why it is 1.25%, last time even better.
It is 1.3125% for AEON Big gift card, not 1.25%.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 4 2015, 11:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Aug 4 2015, 09:45 PM)
NO POINT to use the AMEX at all.
I beg to differ. Before Maybank introduced this wonderful card (Maybank 2 Cards) about 4 or 5 years ago, everyone was rushing to apply the Gold American Express credit card (without Maybank logo) as that was the first American Express card in Malaysia that gives 5x Membership Rewards Points and best of all, it is annual fee free. And before that, we were all using American Express charge card and we had to pay a fee to subscribe for turbo Membership Rewards Points (which many of us didn't mind paying).

Yes. The return of this card is not as good as it used to be (with TP inflation and the cut of 5% weekend cash back except for dining) but it is still a lot better than most VISA or MasterCard on the market.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 5 2015, 11:01 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Aug 5 2015, 07:01 PM)
5% for dining and weekend is actually quite pathetic for the cashback terms.

And do note that there is a difference between AMEX charge card and AMEX credit card, which in the case of Maybank 2  cards, it is AMEX credit card.
AMEX credit card did pale in comparison with various other cashback cards available
Yes. I am very well aware of the difference between AMEX charge card and AMEX credit card. As a matter of fact, i have used many different versions of AMEX. I started off with an AMEX credit card that comes with a Maybank logo. Then i changed to the green AMEX charge card. After that AMEX introduced the gold AMEX (without Maybank logo). That is the original AMEX card that comes with 5x Membership Rewards Points. Then Maybank came up with Maybank 2 Cards. Almost all AMEX Gold credit card (the original AMEX with 5x MR) jumped ship.

Many years ago there was no such thing as weekend 5% cash back with any AMEX card, be it charge card or credit card (both with and without Maybank logo).

The point i am trying to stress is, AMEX is and will still trump most VISA and MasterCard in term of rewards return on the market.

And as one fellow member has pointed out, one of the main reasons banks have been cutting down on credit card benefit is due to the recent cap introduced on "Merchant Discount Rate" (MDR). It is almost a certain thing that this is not the end of it. Instead we may see more banks make further cut on credit card benefit in the near future. Many banks in fact have increased silently the number of rewards points needed to redeem a shopping voucher (Citibank, HSBC, CIMB Bank just to name a few). So for most VISA and MasterCard out there, the effective cash back is only around 0.20% to 0.40% compared to 1.25%- 1.3125% for MBB2 AMEX.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 5 2015, 11:01 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2015, 12:01 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 5 2015, 11:50 PM)
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 5 2015, 11:01 PM)

So for most VISA and MasterCard out there, the effective cash back is only around 0.20% to 0.40% compared to 1.25%- 1.3125% for MBB2 AMEX.
Not true. There's hlb wise offering 10%, ikhwan offering 5%, uob vox also 5%, AEON Watami 3%. I don't see where MBB2 amex beats them in cashback as the cards I mentioned definitely gives more than 1.25%
Did you miss the bold text most ? And how many credit cards offer 2-10% cash back ? Just a few. Hence the bold text most. And many of these 2-10% cash back are only for select categories and there is also a cap on the cash back you can earn.

MBB AMEX 2 on the other hand, still gives you unlimited 5x TP at all places accepting AMEX except government bodies, education and insurance payment. Therefore this still makes MBB AMEX 2 the best all rounder credit card!
MilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2015, 01:12 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 6 2015, 12:57 AM)
thumbup.gif
Bro, Do You Now Still Keep Your Amex Charge Card...??? blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
No. I canceled the charge card before the government started charging RM50/RM25 credit card service tax a few years ago. In fact i stopped using it already as soon as i received my Maybankard 2 Cards. That was definitely a good card. Back then it came with 3-year annual fee waiver and it gave unlimited 2x Membership Rewards Points. At that time one needed only around 16,500 Membership Rewards Points to redeem RM100 (5x RM20) Jaya Jusco vouchers. That was around 1.212% cash back for every Ringgit spent. Almost old regulars here had either the Green or Gold Charge Card (or the Gold AMEX with Maybank logo - very ugly design, withdrawn from sale some time ago). And at least two people here have(had ?) the Centurion Charge Card. Back then turbo membership rewards points, platinum charge card annual fee, who has the Centurion charge card were the main points of discussion when it comes to American Express on this card. And we also didn't have a dedicated credit card sub-forum then.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 6 2015, 01:14 AM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2015, 12:46 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(pvateme @ Aug 6 2015, 10:08 AM)
for my case, i rather take HL essential card, which give me 1% rebate, on everything, not limited to any categories. I still holding amex, but i think i wont use it to collect the 5x point = 1.25% rebate. reason being is, i dont want to wait till 22,000 point then only get rm50 metrojaya (or anything else) voucher, which may take me few months to collect the points. with hl essential, i can take back the cahsback immediately next month.
The extra 0.25% is a small difference indeed but there is this Malay proverb that goes like this : "lama-lama jadi bukit". It's a bit like putting your money in FD. You don't really need the money now and you just let it rolls. And i used my OCBC World MasterCard that gave me unlimited 1.20% cash back until a few months ago wherever AMEX is not accepted. Otherwise, AMEX is still my primary card even after the recent TP inflation and benefit cut. I am also using Hong Leong Bank Wise VISA and Mach by Hong Leong VISA now but those cards are strictly for my selected categories only.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 6 2015, 12:49 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 6 2015, 01:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(pvateme @ Aug 6 2015, 01:10 PM)
does your OCBC World MasterCard collect annual fee for second yr onwards? 1.2% sounds better than essential, but not sure if it will be waived with 12 swipes a year.  smile.gif
From ocbc page,
- First RM1,000 Total Retail Spending- 1.2%
- Subsequent Total Retail Spending – 0.6%
so i think i will still stick to essential, easier for me..
I did manage to get the annual fee waived for this year. It is strictly case by case basis, as far as i'm concerned.

It used to be giving unlimited 1.20% cash back but was revised to the current T&C a few months ago.

0.0199sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:53 PM