WARNING to the FALL UPDATE!, PLEASE READ!!
TSedoras81
Nov 1 2006, 10:10 AM, updated 20y ago
In an article on gamespot today it was brought to my attention that the latest fall update causes bricking in modded 360's. In other words modded 360's will become expensive paperweights! Additionally there are some rare cases of bricking in unmodded 360's too but its rare.....however this problem can be fixed if sent for repairs....please be warned...and here's the link.............http://www.gamespot.com/news/show_blog_entry.php?topic_id=25101615&sid=6160771
P.S. I think MS intentionally did this!!
gnome
Nov 1 2006, 10:14 AM
Way to go MS Ori ftw!
judge-the
Nov 1 2006, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(edoras81 @ Nov 1 2006, 10:10 AM) In an article on gamespot today it was brought to my attention that the latest fall update causes bricking in modded 360's. In other words modded 360's will become expensive paperweights! Additionally there are some rare cases of bricking in unmodded 360's too but its rare.....however this problem can be fixed if sent for repairs....please be warned...and here's the link.............http://www.gamespot.com/news/show_blog_entry.php?topic_id=25101615&sid=6160771 P.S. I think MS intentionally did this!!why you wanna blame msoft? as expected my friend... i just pity those paid extra to sg wangs shops believing in the socalled "modchip"
TSedoras81
Nov 1 2006, 10:26 AM
No lah friend not blaming MS...the exclamation marks was for the excitement!!!
XenoFr3ak
Nov 1 2006, 10:40 AM
I support ori all the way.
DjiNn
Nov 1 2006, 11:05 AM
Currently it happens on "unmoded" console as well~
hikaru_x
Nov 1 2006, 01:47 PM

eh? there's an update liao? what new features/fixes? excuse me for my ignorance, didnt have the time to reconnect my router and 360 since back from hari raya *edit: nvm, found it already... WMV playback is interesting, gonna hook it up when i get back This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Nov 1 2006, 01:53 PM
terencey
Nov 1 2006, 02:03 PM

I saja update only. Didn't realize that it might brick non modded console as well. Phew... luckily my update went well.
Notice visual some changes on the dashboard.
xxboxx
Nov 1 2006, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(edoras81 @ Nov 1 2006, 10:10 AM) Additionally there are some rare cases of bricking in unmodded 360's too but its rare..... i'm scared of this already when i was updating mine, but lucky nothing happen. is there any modded box but didn't brick when update? QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Nov 1 2006, 01:47 PM) eh? there's an update liao? what new features/fixes? excuse me for my ignorance, didnt have the time to reconnect my router and 360 since back from hari raya *edit: nvm, found it already... WMV playback is interesting, gonna hook it up when i get back  just make sure ur power and internet connection was stable before doing the update. This post has been edited by xxboxx: Nov 1 2006, 04:32 PM
marauderz
Nov 1 2006, 04:56 PM
Yes.. main thing is.. the update actually flashes to a ROM so during that time NOTHING bad must happen when it actually flashes.
acougan
Nov 1 2006, 05:26 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « ^whether the bricking was intentional onot, at least sum1 at MS has a sense of humor
UnUsUaL
Nov 1 2006, 08:01 PM
ah jek
After updated and reboot it stuck at the "X" logo for almost 2 mins, scared the hell out me
XenoFr3ak
Nov 1 2006, 08:13 PM
Mine got stuck b4 I even update it ... but after restart my console and update it ... everything is fine.
Btw ... whats the meaning of bricking ?
daidzz
Nov 1 2006, 08:18 PM

bricking if im not mistaken is modifying the flash card of the 360's firmware. making it able to play pirated games. please correct me if im wrong guys.
terencey
Nov 1 2006, 08:20 PM

No lar. Bricking means turning your xbox360 into a brick
If failed update and cannot use anymore, its basically becomes a brick or paperweight or door stopper or wadever u can think of.
This post has been edited by terencey: Nov 1 2006, 08:27 PM
Mgsrulz
Nov 1 2006, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Nov 1 2006, 08:13 PM) Mine got stuck b4 I even update it ... but after restart my console and update it ... everything is fine. Btw ... whats the meaning of bricking ? QUOTE Brick is the slang term for an electronic device which cannot function (or has been rendered useless by a damaged firmware). This comes from the fact that the device in question can be considered as useful as a brick.
The firmware can be damaged by accidents during firmware update or by malicious software. QUOTE(daidzz @ Nov 1 2006, 08:18 PM) bricking if im not mistaken is modifying the flash card of the 360's firmware. making it able to play pirated games. please correct me if im wrong guys.
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Nov 1 2006, 08:51 PM
holy crap! at first, when i read that modded consoles will be brickified after the update, i was like..wooohey! go MS! but then some original consoles got brickified too?? i mean..WHAT??? what's the purpose of the update then?? shouldn't like MS give some warning first? so tell me guys, what could be the possible causes of update failure? maybe disconnected while updating?we're using tmnuts here so anything could happen.. but well, eventho my update went well but still i get the feeling similar to when u take a picture and later find a ghostly apparition beside u in the final photo. hopefully future updates are not this scary..or i shall retain from updating until no negative issues come up. but hey wmv streaming 'out of the box' rules!
Mgsrulz
Nov 1 2006, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Nov 1 2006, 08:51 PM) holy crap! at first, when i read that modded consoles will be brickified after the update, i was like..wooohey! go MS! but then some original consoles got brickified too?? i mean..WHAT??? what's the purpose of the update then?? shouldn't like MS give some warning first? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « so tell me guys, what could be the possible causes of update failure? maybe disconnected while updating?we're using tmnuts here so anything could happen.. but well, eventho my update went well but still i get the feeling similar to when u take a picture and later find a ghostly apparition beside u in the final photo. hopefully future updates are not this scary..or i shall retain from updating until no negative issues come up. but hey wmv streaming 'out of the box' rules! this isnt the first time something like this has happened PSPs have been bricked,too... want to support ori,and this happens
XenoFr3ak
Nov 1 2006, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Nov 1 2006, 08:51 PM) holy crap! at first, when i read that modded consoles will be brickified after the update, i was like..wooohey! go MS! but then some original consoles got brickified too?? i mean..WHAT??? what's the purpose of the update then?? shouldn't like MS give some warning first? so tell me guys, what could be the possible causes of update failure? maybe disconnected while updating?we're using tmnuts here so anything could happen.. but well, eventho my update went well but still i get the feeling similar to when u take a picture and later find a ghostly apparition beside u in the final photo. hopefully future updates are not this scary..or i shall retain from updating until no negative issues come up. but hey wmv streaming 'out of the box' rules! Like I said b4 ... please DO NOT blame Tmnet for this lar ... without em .. u guys cannot play on Xbox Live.