Mobile Number Portability (MNP), Switching mobile no. to other telco

soul2soul
post Aug 28 2008, 01:07 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 28 2008, 12:59 PM)
When they mention
"Service providers are allowed to charge up to RM25 each time a subscriber changes their mobile phone service provider. This will give the users choice and freedom to choose their service providers without the inconvenience of having to change their numbers."

If I start from Celcom port to Maxis.
Don't like Maxis then port to Digi.
Don't like Digi then port back to Celcom.
Can or not? biggrin.gif
That's the idea. But bear in mind that when you port, it will take a few days for the numbers to be fully ported. Plus, you need to fork out registration charges, deposit charge for new telco.. so it's not that cheap to port...

I will stay with maxis at the moment. Their postpaid service is quite good and reliable.

Digi , I might consider if they have 3G video calls, etc.

Celcom - NEVER

Good news guys - quickly subscribe to U-mobile get their 018 - 88888 XXX number than port it to maxis/digi.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 28 2008, 01:08 PM
soul2soul
post Aug 28 2008, 02:41 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

same number.
soul2soul
post Sep 30 2008, 10:54 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

I think Digi will be very aggresive in the upcoming months after they launch their 3G service. They sure want to pancing maxis numbers.
soul2soul
post Oct 16 2008, 04:40 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

any data to support people have been switching to DIgi from maxis, or is it just hearsay nia?
soul2soul
post Oct 17 2008, 09:06 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

maxis service is good wat..
soul2soul
post Oct 17 2008, 10:18 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 17 2008, 10:15 AM)
mms also free?
you sure?
yes, Digi and Celcom MMS is free between family lines.

Dunno why maxis no offer free MMS...
soul2soul
post Oct 25 2008, 08:47 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(hankeymeal @ Oct 25 2008, 07:52 AM)
I also changed from hotlink to digi postpaid DG50.I went to Tesco Ampang at 11am.At 4pm my digi line has been activated.

My mom a maxis user.Monthly around RM300.What is the best plan in Digi for her?Is it good for her to be my supplementary line?I want to lower her bill.Around RM200 if possible.
It depends. If she calls maxis number most of the time, then it makes more sense to stay with maxis.

celcom executive plan will be a nice plan for aunties and uncles who talk a lot. They could not be bothered with sms / 3G / mms.

soul2soul
post Nov 20 2008, 02:38 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(jasmine84 @ Nov 20 2008, 02:32 PM)
need help here~
I'm thinking of change my telco or the package.
I'm only using around RM20 per month. What plan are you going to suggest to me?
Thank you.
again, look at your contact lists and coverage of each telco.

Then, choose

1. Prepaid - purchase the 365 validity either with celcom/digi/maxis depending on your contact list/coverage

2. Supplementary to a Principal Postpaid -
a) maxis RM30 with credit sharing
b) celcom RM5 but expensive call rate and sms charge
c) Digi RM30 - average sms/call charges but no credit sharing.

Frankly, I would go for prepaid if I were you since you only use RM20 a month.

A principal postpaid is not worth it for you.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Nov 20 2008, 02:38 PM
soul2soul
post Nov 20 2008, 03:58 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(jasmine84 @ Nov 20 2008, 02:56 PM)
if go prepaid, which telco is have a better choice since in my area, there is no difference.
thank you

Added on November 20, 2008, 3:01 pmim currently using M postpaid, is that possible for me to transfer (MNP) to prepaid plan of any other telco?
yes can switch from Maxis postpaid to any other telco prepaid. Make sure you settle your bills first, and remember to follow up on the deposit.

Prepaid, the cheaper ones will be Hotlink and Digi Prepaid. If your contact a lot of maxis numbers, then go to Hotlink. Consider Digi prepaid if you sms a lot to other network.
soul2soul
post Jan 11 2009, 12:50 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

actually all telco the same, each have their good and bad, but generally they are all good in terms of service and coverage. The only difference is the rates and the amount of saving you will get from each telco.

Maybe 10 years ago I will say Digi coverage sucks, but not now. It's really hard to tell which is the best now.
soul2soul
post Mar 9 2009, 09:05 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

why so quiet now MNP? Not popular anymore?
soul2soul
post Jan 22 2011, 08:55 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Hi all,

Currently I am the Maxis principal line with 3 supplementary lines under me.

I want to port all these 4 numbers to Celcom as supplementary lines to existing Celcom principal postpaid line.

How do I go about this?
soul2soul
post May 17 2011, 12:47 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(half_lif3 @ Apr 23 2011, 02:56 PM)
I'm using maxis. and 1 of sub line wish to mnp to digi.
how can i go abt it?
straight away go to digi let them know i wish to mnp?or any procedure to deal with maxis 1st?
The problem with supplementary lines is that they are tied to the principal's name. So you need to change the ownership of that line to that person.

Simplest way is to convert that supplementary line to hotlink and change the ownership of the line to him. I was told it costs RM25 and he has to wait a few days for system to truly register the line under his name.

After that, he can go to Digi and port in.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: May 17 2011, 12:48 PM
soul2soul
post May 28 2011, 10:42 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 21 2011, 12:59 PM)
YES, that is the fastest and simplest.......

convert the supp line into a Hotlink prepaid ( maxis will charge u rm25/number ) and transfer ownership into your name as the principal ownerated

by the next day when your Hotlink is activated, usually its instant or in abt 30mins, then you can go to any celco to MNP
I was told the change of ownership takes a 'few days' to fully register in Maxis system. Is that true? I was advised to wait for a few days before porting in to other telco in order to avoid problem with ownership of the number during MNP.

Can anyone verify this?
soul2soul
post Jul 19 2011, 04:04 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jul 18 2011, 03:42 AM)
thinking to port my maxis subline to digi smart plan .

can be done ?
Assuming your digi smart plan is under the same name,yes.

But you need to convert your supplementary line to hotlink - RM25 service charge with 39 cents preloaded credit only. From there, you can port that number to any telco, postpaid or prepaid.

0.0216sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:04 PM