Mobile Number Portability (MNP), Switching mobile no. to other telco

LaR_c
post Sep 30 2008, 03:16 PM

Mediocrity is not an option
1,595 posts

To be honest, this thread is beginning to sound like a DiGi Fan club instead of MNP discussion.

It's hard to determine the churn rate (the rate where people port to which operator and so on) because there is no official report about it yet so far. Who's to say which operator is gaining, or losing customers? It's a bit unfair to say that Maxis is sinking just because you and your uncle and grandma jumped ship from Maxis to other operators.

As a matter a fact, MNP hasn't even gone nationwide. There are a lot of factors to consider. Some operators might lack coverage in areas outside of Klang Valley, and may decide to port their number to operators which may offer coverage. And then there's the competition of better call packages, benefits, value added services, quality of the service etc etc.
LaR_c
post Sep 30 2008, 03:53 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 30 2008, 03:20 PM)
yea and that doesnt give u the right to insult other ppl grandma and uncle. When its official its too late for u even to judge.
I'm referring to no one's relative in particular, no worries. When it's official, there's always a time and chance for every telco to assess their 'losses', improve, kick up the level of competition, and win the customers back. That's the main benefit of MNP.

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Sep 30 2008, 03:34 PM)
come on lah dude, this is a forum where people talk, speculate or etc......if you want correct fact, don't come in here-just read the newspaper or see tv........

close minded tongue.gif
I believe this is where we have a valid discussion, backed by facts and knowledge, instead of making blank accusations at certain party just because you don't like their advertisment/package plan.

I'm just merely pointing out that it's way too early to make conclusive statements here, like Maxis is going down and all that, just by looking at the trial period, even before MNP go nationwide.

LaR_c
post Sep 30 2008, 07:51 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Sep 30 2008, 04:55 PM)
why are you so sakit hati about people saying maxis going down? are you working in maxis?
they can say whatever they wanna say, right?
in the end of the day, if maxis does not go down they malulah.......

anyway do you think MCMC wil reveal to the public of the porting percentage to the public?
wait long long.....
then we should stop discussing since they are no facts?

cheers.....
Now it's funny that you should ask that, because ironically I am working for an operator, just not Maxis.

It's certainly true that everyone has a right to their opinion, mine just differs because I'd rather look at the current MNP situation and comment, and perhaps provide another more neutral angle at looking at it.

However, it seems that I've stepped on some people's toe, so my apologies for it, yeah?

Cheers.

This post has been edited by LaR_c: Sep 30 2008, 07:52 PM

0.0637sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:08 PM