QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 2 2009, 08:21 PM)
hmm hotel not near bts.... is it special rate hotel or something? i think one near a bts will be much better. bkk is pretty safe, i been there so many times walk around at night with no problems. as long as you dont go to those sleazy areas you will be safe. but yeah lah. every city is the same. hehe. KL also not safe leh.
I don't think it is special rate. The reason why i choose that place is because it's near to khaosan road. I heard lots of backpackers will be there and maybe can meet new friends and travel together. Another location i've not decided but it seems that there is a night market in chatuchak during weekends. So, i suppose i'll stay nearby the area where i can visit the night market. I think that would be my first destination for accomodations. mayb after 2 nights, shift to khaosan road where i can visit the other part of bangkok(khaosan road area for the grandpalace, n some temples). And then visit Ayuthaya.
Any suggestions where to stay so that i can visit those chatuchak market and the surrounding area?
QUOTE(vermins @ Dec 2 2009, 09:46 PM)
Yeah Xmas eve is generally a lot more happening then in KL, its a bit like SG's Orchard Rd.
And like Panda said, crime is normal everywhere, just becareful where you go to and how you keep your stuff. But crime rates are a lot lower when compared to KL's. Lets just say.. I feel easier walking about in BKK then in KL really =\
Erm.. Do you know where is the hotspots for this celebrations?
For the safety, i guess i jsut need to be careful not to offend the ppl over there.
For language, any advice on that? ie what is the usual words tha ti need to learn up etc etc.
For money, any advice on that?ie prepare small denominations of money etc etc.