Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

DarkNite
post Dec 27 2009, 04:29 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

I find that Bangkok is cheaper and safer than KL.
Best place to stay if only for shopping is either one of these 2:-
Holiday Inn, 971 Ploenchit Road
or
Pathumwan Princess, which MBK shopping center is connect to.

Save time and money taking taxi or getting stuck in the famous Bangkok jam.

Food glorious food!
The stew pork leg rice is only 25Baht and that is with veg and half an egg!

Yup the crab are big and fresh. The crab meat is firmer and sweet. Had crab the first day in a Chinese restaurant which caters only for the locals as the menu is all in Thai. Good thing I had a local with me or else sure kena slaughter.

Had the Oo Chien thai style. Wow, these oyster are big. Bigger than the ones in Kuching which I thought was big already. As usually we have the Tom Yam and Green Curry. It is amazing how the Thai can get such big prawns and very fresh!
The bill was about 3500Baht for 8 persons including drinks. 3 Beers, soft drinks and free flow of nam (aka drinking water)
Of course we were there for the next 3 consecutive dinners laugh.gif

We went for the Siam Niramit Show, worth every baht. Do go there early and you will want time for photos taking and avoid the traffic jams at that hour.
http://www.siamniramit.com/

I hope I haven't bored you guys with the same story of Bangkok.
Maybe a Mod could update the 1st post with places of interest and places to eat?

I'll try to get the address of the crab place.
DarkNite
post Dec 27 2009, 06:15 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

For a mainly Buddhist centri nation they sure knows how to put on a show for the tourist even if it is Christmas!
Bangkok Central World's Christmas Outdoor display. >>
another part of their wonderful display >>
Land of Smiles >>

DarkNite
post Jan 12 2010, 08:45 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jan 12 2010, 12:40 PM)
how to go damnoen saduak market from bangkok?
if by bus where to take?
if by tour where to find one?
and
how to go back from there?
If you meant the floating market, don't bother going there. 30 years ago I would recommend but today nope. It is more for western tourist. Everything there is so fake!
Better you use that money to see the Tiger Monastery or Siam Niramit or Dusit Palace
DarkNite
post Jan 22 2010, 08:39 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Jan 22 2010, 02:02 AM)
hi , i heard my friend said dat bangkok can buy many branded things like clothes ,sneakers and bags (genuine) in lower price compared to msia and singapore .
is this true ?

It depends on what BRANDED apparels, shoes and bags you are looking for? And added, consideration for size, variety and range. So far, for ladies who are on the big side - XL and above, don't bother going shopping in Bangkok for apparels and shoes.
FYI, there are many BRANDED apparels manufacturer in Bangkok. If you know factory owners, then maybe you can get the genuine apparels at a quarter of its retail price. Example T. Pink men's long sleeve shirt is about RM50, you go Mid Vally and see for your self how much they are selling there. wink.gif

For real the High End branded stuff like shoes and bags, better you fly to EU for cheaper price.
DarkNite
post Jan 22 2010, 11:55 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

It is now a standard practice for most International Airports - taking off shoes, removing belts, coins and metal objects from your body.
They will also ask you to remove your laptop and scan separately from its bag. All carry on bags are check for liquids, sharp and dangerous objects. So do plan to get to the airport early.
Anyway Bangkok International airport is very interesting place to shop and eat.
Try the Auntie Anne's ham croissant or try the many free sample of the various local fare. laugh.gif

DarkNite
post Jan 22 2010, 12:18 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 22 2010, 12:06 PM)
Sooner new ruling on taking off pants & shirts..That will be interesting
That one no need la, already have body scanner that sees most of the your body!
Naked Scanner

Déjà vu, you watch Arnold Schwarzenegger's Total Recall. Science Fiction comes true!

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Jan 22 2010, 12:21 PM
DarkNite
post Jan 26 2010, 08:50 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Jan 25 2010, 02:58 PM)
Hi all.
I am planning to go to Bangkok in July. The main purpose is to go shopping! We four ladies are planning to go to Platinum Mall, Central World Plaza, Pratunam Market and MBK..Basically pratunam area!
Any nice budget hotel to stay around? Budget from RM100 to RM140.
Was planning either
1) Baiyoke Boutique Hotel
2) First House Hotel
3) Grand Watergate Hotel

Which of these is the most strategic??

I know this is above what you have planned but if you ladies are hard-core shopper then do give it a thought. My suggestion is Pathumwan Princess which is part of MBK. It cost us about RM250 nett per room thru travel agent. We work out the savings on taxis and sky train can go towards a better room and mainly location. It is like shopping in mid-valley and staying in the Cititel upstairs. The convenience of able to sent shopping bags up to your room any time, shop the whole day, be the first shopper when the shop opens and shop till the shops close!
And not to mention all major shopping complexes are reachable via the sky walk. laugh.gif

DarkNite
post Jan 27 2010, 09:52 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 27 2010, 09:36 AM)
my company is having a 3days 2 nights trip to bangkok trip. any suggestion for where we should go, visit and best place to eat. We got RM3000 budget for a dinner on the 2nd night. We only have 11 person on this trip.
Dinner? Halal or not? French? Thai or Teow Chew? Crabs or other seafood?
Better you suggest generally what are the 11 person food preference?

0.0515sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:09 AM