Strata act 757

mini orchard
post Sep 30 2023, 08:31 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Sep 17 2023, 12:02 PM)
need to ask, MO informed me my unit had a water leak at the bathroom and i ask contractor to check. no Form 28 was issued. i done waterproofing at the bathroom and after two weak, water leak more heavy and this time MO told me is water pipe leak (as water meter is running when no 1 at the house or using water).

now MO threatened to issue me Form 28 if not rectify the leak by next wed.

need to ask, is MO need to state the cause of the leak in form 28?
mini orchard
post Oct 15 2023, 08:39 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ Oct 14 2023, 02:07 PM)
Hi everyone, if my question was discussed previously, pls guide me to the post. Thanks.

My issue:
My mum bought a office lot almost 20 years now, the project was sold by level. However, the strata title is yet to be issued until today. The developer is taking its own sweet time to process, always say is in the processing, but never commit when to complete it. Also found that the developer is processing the strata title application selectively, my mum unit is not in the processing list.

Is there any government agency that owners can seek help to force the developer speedup the processing and doing it all together, not by selection ?

Thank you.
There are many reasons why strata titles are not issue for older developments .... financial, building law compliance, title issue etc.

On the govt side, they can give some leeway to certain developments such as low cost but for commercials, I think is unlikely.

There are few articles in google which you can read to better understand the issues and then work from there.

And I don't think land office will accept developer selective strata application submission.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 15 2023, 09:43 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 16 2023, 11:51 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ Oct 16 2023, 09:57 AM)
Thank you for your fast reply.

The developer is rich with Tan Sri title, and having very good relationship with state gov top ppl.

In Pahang, landed shoplot can process strata title individually, bcos my friend at other project managed to get strata title ahead of other onwers. My mum unit is a landed shoplot, but sold by level, so I belief the same scenario applies to selective processing.
I found out they selectively process the starta title application when I visited the land surveyor who was appointed to apply for subdivision of land title, they informed me my mum unit is not in the processing list, they just follow instruction from developer. And they told me of more complicated problem with my mum unit, bcos it sits on border of 2 plot of land. I managed to get the developer to start processing application to join the plot of land, but that was 1 and a half years ago, and until now, the lawyer who was tasked to apply for joining the land is still pending to receive signed document from the developer for over a year.

We are helpless.
You have to initiate the pressure and follow-up on the developer by gathering all affected units to bark. You can also approach your local adun or mp to assist.

Do it regularly with each unit calling the developer monthly. If nothing done, the developer will treat it as non urgent.

mini orchard
post Mar 19 2025, 08:05 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(noobieneub @ Mar 18 2025, 05:20 PM)
Guys need some advice on this bit of strata law regarding removal of items from common areas:

20. Prohibition of obstruction

(2) The management corporation may without prior notice, remove or confiscate any property of a proprietor, including but not limited to, bicycles, potted plants, vases, furniture, trolleys, boxes, goods or objects of any kind whatsoever. The management corporation may put up a notice of any removed or confiscated property which may be claimed by the proprietor within fourteen days from date of the notice subject to payment to the management corporation of a charge not exceeding two hundred ringgit. If a removed or confiscated property is not claimed at the expiry of the period of fourteen days, the management corporation may discard or dispose of such property as it deems fit without any liability to the proprietor.

If the management didn't put items into storage but instead just straight up trashed it what can be done on the owner's side?
Firstly, owner must have proof that mc confiscated the property and later thrashed it up. Having said that, owner can proceed an action in court for recovery of items or monetary compensation.

mini orchard
post Mar 19 2025, 10:49 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(noobieneub @ Mar 19 2025, 10:06 AM)
Thanks! Yes owner indeed has all the video proof needed. Which court is that? The Strata Tribunal?
Not sure your case is listed under the Strata Management Tribunal, but you call to check whether you can file your case with them or you have to go to the civil court.

0.0241sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:54 AM