The question is, should i charge them? If so how do i it?
Below is a sample.
How much shall i charge for a web design?, I'm thinking of doing it for free...
Oct 31 2006, 09:38 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
18 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
I'm currently creating a web design for a Singapore outsourcing company from previous employment. I've create a set of GIMP generated image samples for their perusal. They liked it and even added that i used it as a finalized product.
The question is, should i charge them? If so how do i it? Below is a sample. |
Oct 31 2006, 09:56 PM
15,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Heights |
Charge them above RM1K definitely, if you need to maintain their site weekly. Don't know, some company just need a designer to design a site for them without requesting for the files everything. So how should we charge them, in this case?
This post has been edited by zeist: Oct 31 2006, 09:57 PM |
Oct 31 2006, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 31 2006, 09:56 PM) Charge them above RM1K definitely, if you need to maintain their site weekly. Don't know, some company just need a designer to design a site for them without requesting for the files everything. So how should we charge them, in this case? Yeah like you said just design the site for them. I won't be maintaining the site. It will be uploaded on their server. So how do i charge them on per what basis? Per page or per content? By the way, I've included some SEO customization, which mean Search Engine Optimization in the web meta code. If i add that too, how do i charge them also? TQ. |
Oct 31 2006, 11:33 PM
4,210 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(h_tere2000 @ Oct 31 2006, 09:38 PM) I'm currently creating a web design for a Singapore outsourcing company from previous employment. I've create a set of GIMP generated image samples for their perusal. They liked it and even added that i used it as a finalized product. So did they choose the design they wanted to use like picking a template from a library?The question is, should i charge them? If so how do i it? If Yes, then I suppose you have to charge cheaper because it's something you're re-using and it isn't providing an actual solution to them. QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 31 2006, 09:56 PM) Don't know, some company just need a designer to design a site for them without requesting for the files everything. So how should we charge them, in this case? A website design is kind of like selling a template. However, template or not the price is determined by how much you feel the design is worth. I charge on a larger scale whenever anyone requests for the original work file because it's the only intellectual property I have as a designer.So in the case you mentioned, if you're passing them a flatten JPG or PNG design for the pages, you'll need to quote base on hours spent on the design. The hourly rate should be equivalent to your current status and qualifications. QUOTE(h_tere2000 @ Oct 31 2006, 10:30 PM) By the way, I've included some SEO customization, which mean Search Engine Optimization in the web meta code. If i add that too, how do i charge them also? META code today is really nothing and that isn't actual SEO though it is one of the common optimization methods. Did you spend hours researching the keywords? Or planning in advance of how the META will help the website? Will you track the performance of the SEO implementation?TQ. If you're not doing all those then it isn't real SEO, so if you really do want to charge just do it in a very small amount like RM50. Hope all of that helps. Cheers. This post has been edited by etsuko: Oct 31 2006, 11:34 PM |
Nov 1 2006, 01:42 PM
I'm using my own template. Created it from scratch based on a few samples that relate to the design concept concluded.
As for qualifications, a UTAR degree majoring in Information System Engineering, and this is one my few portfolios. And you're right, meta code means nothing. Keywords are the real focus here. Yeah, thinking of implementing SEO into the site - as an all in one package. If that's the case, RM 50 By the way, this is new, following design process contributed by CSSZen web designers has been a learning and attempting experience. So could say it took me 2 hours to brain storm a list of words to conceptualize the site 4 hours to narrow down the concept 6 hours to browse through samples 12 hours to sketch 10 hours to put the sketch into PNG/JPG format 2 hours to produce a page based on my designed template Qualification: UTAR degree - second class lower Experience in web design in a working enviroment/industry: None Off hand web design experience: 4-6 years So how do i formulate it? |
Nov 1 2006, 05:53 PM
489 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: malaysia |
with the sample.. i think you should charge like RM 100... to me..
Nov 1 2006, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(ikram_zidane @ Nov 1 2006, 05:53 PM) Thanks Etsuko and Ikram, but do you guys really mean i that i should charge the whole set of PNG/JPEG samples around RM50 -100?if so then what about the hardcoded pages later, what is the market rate for that? specifically how much would a page cost? What is the unit of measures and the appropriate rate --based on the information given so far? I appreciate all the info so far. TQ. |
Nov 3 2006, 02:14 AM
640 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: S.Jaya, Selangor |
bro if you wanna do ask a charity basic den you just charge them RM100 or Rm200 lor is you wanna earn den mah charge them around RM1200 or RM1800, if let say the company is singapore den charge them in Sing $ or US $
This post has been edited by alanelf: Nov 3 2006, 02:16 AM |
Nov 3 2006, 02:25 PM
189 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
I looking for someone to do for me a main page web design... only design and a logo...and I will upload it myself to do any inclusion of the links...etc..etc... I'm using Frontpage right now to do my editing... Website hosting..i'm using linux... if you are interested, please drop me a PM and i will furnish you with info I need on my site... Thanks Vince |
| Change to: | 0.0199sec
5 queries
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:11 AM |