Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

heavencloud
post Sep 15 2015, 09:48 AM

346 posts

Greetings to all smile.gif

I have been following this thread a few weeks now. My wife and I currently gearing up for our first trip to japan which will be on 18th Oct till 23rd Oct. Landing in Haneda and back via Kansai.

The plan will looks like this:

Day 1
Touchdown, sleep at haneda royal hotel, wander around the airport

Day 2
kawaguchiko

Day 3
Tokyo

Day 4
Kyoto

Day 5
Kyoto/Osaka

Day 6
Kansai

We only planned to visit 3 or 4 places in a day, the trip itself is more like saying konnichiwa to Japan as we will go again next April but pure focused on tokyo and years to come biggrin.gif

Anyhow, I have some inquiries that I would like to ask the members here:

1) Is there any high possibility that the bus to kawaguchiko first trip will be sold out early?

2) during the flight (both kl > haneda and kansai > kl) , may I know how many meals time that will be served by air asia?

3) in kyoto, is it much efficient to take the taxi or the bus (since some of the attractions a bit far from the train station) ?

4) will it be easy to book the first train nozomi from shinagawa to kyoto? i mean like will it sold out really fast?

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by heavencloud: Sep 15 2015, 09:50 AM
heavencloud
post Sep 15 2015, 01:49 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Sep 15 2015, 09:59 AM)
thanks, then i shall prebook 2 meals then biggrin.gif

the bus route seems complicated from their official website haha

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 15 2015, 11:39 AM)
heavencloud have you already bought flight tickets? Cos 6d5n trying to cover Tokyo AND Kansai is stupid (it's effectively only 4-5d after you take out the time at airport, shinkansen, etc).
haha, indeed i have bought it, since last year tongue.gif
at that time, we thought this will be the only once-in-a-lifetime to visit japan. so we packed everything together.
then i just realized, heck it is not that expensive going to japan. even can afford do annual trip haha. hence i bought another ticket to haneda next april for a week and intend to explore tokyo only nod.gif

and yeah i agree with u. the trip will likely be a hectic as hell laugh.gif

This post has been edited by heavencloud: Sep 15 2015, 02:00 PM
heavencloud
post Sep 18 2015, 06:10 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(lowsian @ Sep 18 2015, 05:28 PM)
Dear bosses, I will be visiting Fuji in November and had been wondering about transport  as the following dilemma:

1) As AA changed the flights, we will be arriving at Haneda @ 10pm - our initial plan was to purchase the bus tickets as soon as we arrive at Shinjuku station (previous tickets should arrive at 11AM) - so wondering if these bus tickets stations will still be opened or not; otherwise will the ticket be available for sale the morning itself

2) was looking at highway express bus which departs from shinjuku and have the following questions: are the counters 24hrs so that I can purchase on my arrival and depart the next day - per Q1; are there better alternative ? Are the boarding points at Shinjuku Bus Terminal  easily identified?
since u are transferred to haneda, maybe you can consider this bus instead:

http://hnd-bus.com/route/kawaguchiko.html#timetable

The bus can be straight taken from haneda

Japanican got offer to make an advance purchase of the tickets for certain of its schedules as example:

http://www.japanican.com/en/tour/detail/TK...6D_/?typecd=PRA (currently japanican under maintenance)

Got special rate offer of JPY 1,950 reduced from JPY 2,470

I myself thinking of grabbing this too

heavencloud
post Sep 21 2015, 10:52 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Sep 20 2015, 11:56 PM)
I "kiasu-ly" reserve my bus ticket from haneda - kawaguchiko too (640am departure) for my nov trip as it show only 4 seat left..  doh.gif
dont worry, u are not the only one, i just did too laugh.gif more like japanican got 4 reserve slot for the bus

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 21 2015, 10:18 AM)
Haneda are 24 hour but 90% of restraurant are not. Only few are 24 hour such as Mcdonald. Haneda International Terminal are small compare to T1 and T2.  Bus stop are all at Ground Floor.

It was good practise. Learn area around you and save time.

You can have food in bus but smell cannot be strong. Most breakfast are hot food and smell are strong....Strongly not advisable eat at bus.

One more thing are since early bus means you will sleep in bus, before you lowering your seat must must must get permission from Passenger seat behind you.
since i can only take halal foods, my main diet for the trip focused on onigiri, sushi, and breads. That should be less smelly right?
heavencloud
post Sep 21 2015, 02:40 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(lowsian @ Sep 21 2015, 11:40 AM)
Thanks bro for your reply, I think I will arrange for Fujikyo and or the Japanican and see see..

I wont be going straight from Haneda as I will have to check-in at Shinjuku first and leave the next morning doh.gif
cancel the booking and book a room at haneda, assuming u booked direct with the hotel tongue.gif i kinda noticed that booking direct with hotel in japan has a much leniency in term of cancellation policy notworthy.gif

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 21 2015, 01:56 PM)
Bread cannot, smell are strong.
arrr..... sweat.gif
heavencloud
post Sep 21 2015, 03:44 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(lowsian @ Sep 21 2015, 03:00 PM)
its airbnb apartment i bao for a whole week doh.gif

really prefer to store luggages at apartment and then go sight-seeing with bare minimum tongue.gif
then cannot be helped la laugh.gif as for me, going to utilize the locker at the train station, 500 yen sweat.gif

QUOTE(Prometric @ Sep 21 2015, 03:31 PM)
Guys im travelling to Tokyo on 18th - 25th October. How is the weather like? Will it be cold? Planning to wear short pants with slippers, is it doable?

source: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2273.html

good luck doing that during night time tongue.gif
heavencloud
post Sep 22 2015, 09:38 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Eujing @ Sep 22 2015, 02:28 AM)
I also traveling to Japan at 31 March till 10th April. ...any suggestions I need to take care?
Ps: I am newbie =_=
go plan and book a hotel straight away. Good hotel rooms with good locations usually sold out really early
heavencloud
post Sep 22 2015, 06:54 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 22 2015, 06:49 PM)
Since both are related to temperature, if autumn leaves peak later, will cherry blossom peak earlier or later too?
this year sakura bloomed slightly a few days early according to japanguide report sweat.gif
heavencloud
post Sep 30 2015, 05:26 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Sep 30 2015, 05:21 PM)
here is my itineri:

28-Mar OSAKA
29-Mar OSAKA
30-Mar OSAKA USJ
31-Mar OSAKA
1-Apr NARA
2-Apr KOBE
3-Apr KYOTO
4-Apr KYOTO
5-Apr KYOTO
6-Apr HAKONE
7-Apr HAKONE
8-Apr TOKYO
9-Apr TOKYO
10-Apr TOKYO
11- Apr    Balik

going during cherry blossom
is it working without expensive JR pass?
one way ticket tokaido shinkansen from kyoto to tokyo should cost around rm500++. since u didn't intend to go back to kansai to balik, then yea no need to buy the railpass
heavencloud
post Sep 30 2015, 08:42 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Sep 30 2015, 07:04 PM)
Hey guys, I got a question to ask. I've never used the AirAsia flight
to Haneda before. It's supposed to reach at 10.30pm.
How often does this get delayed? I need to plan my way out of
there before the last train/bus for the day. Thanks.
you can get the estimation from the link below:

http://www.flightradar24.com/data/flights/d7522/

I always monitor it. Usually it arrived on time (green). Just that recently the plane departed a bit late, most likely due to the haze in klia i guess. But still around less than 20 minutes late (yellow)
heavencloud
post Oct 12 2015, 12:10 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(chlangle @ Oct 12 2015, 10:15 AM)
HI,

Anyone try renting pocket WIFI from either these 2 company? Any comment?

http://www.beeemobile.com/#!wifi/c3c1
http://visondata.com.my/plans/japan

Rate : RM25 / days , unlimited

going to try visondata on my trip to japan next week. will update you later on the performance smile.gif
heavencloud
post Oct 12 2015, 03:04 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(chlangle @ Oct 12 2015, 01:26 PM)
lol... I'm heading east this saturday  blush.gif
Thanks for the info drool.gif  Will check it out  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
and i'm on the next day after u laugh.gif
heavencloud
post Oct 13 2015, 09:49 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 12 2015, 07:02 PM)
The rate was even lower.
Used only in Emergency.
so if i were to compare which method that gives us more profit (from top), is it something like this:

1) change money in malaysia (most profit)
2) use credit card (got 1 or 2% visa/master/amex admin fee)
3) withdraw money from atm in japan (most loss)

heavencloud
post Oct 17 2015, 08:51 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Damage_bug @ Oct 17 2015, 03:45 AM)
how about halal food is it easy to find any halal food there ?
There are plenty of halal foods. I myself took it from here http://www.halalmedia.jp/ they are quite up to date with the latest halal's shop and activities in japan
heavencloud
post Oct 29 2015, 12:35 PM

346 posts

yey, finally i'm back after a week in japan biggrin.gif The weather was cold and luckily no rain. It was a good journey smile.gif

*picture pornz*

day 1
- reach haneda
- explore airport
- nothing to do
- slept at royal haneda

day 2
- took bus to kawaguchiko station
- stare at fuji-san all day long
- went up kachi2 ropeway
- rent a bike and cycled half of the kawaguchiko lake, knees and ankles longgar
- stayed at konansou with private onsen

day 3
- bus back to shinagawa
- went to takeshita street
- ate marion crepe, tak sedap
- ate halal kebab, not bad
- shopping at kiddy land, laox
- tokyo tower
- stayed at keikyu ex inn in shinagawa goos

day 4
- took shinkansen to kyoto
- went to fushimi inari, kiyomizudera, kinkakuji
- seriously too many tourist and school kids do field trips, dozens of bus queing to enter kiyomizudera
- ate matcha ice cream
- ate halal lunch at gion naritaya
- jalan2 inside the kyoto station. played with the scary escalators, relaxing at the garden at the rooftop
- ate halal dinner at ayam-ya
- stayed at ibis styles kyoto

day 5
- took train to osaka
- went to osaka castle
- ate matcha ice cream
- went to umeda sky building, took the elevators, but then straight went back without paying anything
- dotonburi
- we ate creo-ru takoyaki and tamago with negi with takoyaki
- ate kani doraku
- ate daiki suisan sushi
- ate halal udon at sanuki udon in kansai airport
- stayed at nikko kansai

day 6
- balik :'(

it was a nice experience going there. although most japanese dont quite speak english.

looking forward for next trip in april biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by heavencloud: Oct 29 2015, 02:14 PM
heavencloud
post Oct 29 2015, 02:11 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(yippi @ Oct 29 2015, 01:44 PM)
Nice picture.

I going in 2 more weeks time, is it very cold? light jacket/sweater is it sufficient especially for my kids 9&11 yrs old.
if u are going to kawaguchiko area, during the day the temperature was around 16c and night was around 9c

As for others like tokyo, kyoto and osaka, daytime around 20 - 22c and night around 16 - 18c. for kids maybe should wear light jackets i guess if they cant tahan. just like walking in an aircond room biggrin.gif

QUOTE(yippi @ Oct 29 2015, 01:46 PM)
All pocket WIFI should be compatible with Samsung phone right? See mostly are I Phone there.
my samsung was fine without any problem when connecting to the pocket wifi all day long
heavencloud
post Oct 29 2015, 05:16 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Oct 29 2015, 02:43 PM)
ok!!! my trip 3 weeks from now (20/11-2/12), i believe not so much different then, temp won't drop so much kua.

just gonna pack a light jacket to layer over knit-wear top inside and jeans will do.  thumbup.gif

u think good enuf??
errr.... it does get colder over the time since winter is coming soon. since u mentioned that u are going end of nov till early dec, i think confirm u kena prepared all the jackets and stuff sweat.gif

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2273.html

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Oct 29 2015, 03:35 PM)
May i know why u wasted 1 day at Haneda? Izzit because u reach there very late at night/midnight?
yea u are right. flight aa to haneda touchdown at 10.30pm, then they parked very2 far, had to walk quite a distance. Plus at that 10.30pm, there will be around 2 or 3 flights touchdown too at the same time. the immigration looking like chow kit already rclxub.gif queuing took around another 30 - 40 minutes. so after all done, came out at the arrival around 11.30pm, nothing much to see already haha

But the real reason i stayed there becoz got highway bus direct from haneda to kawaguchiko smile.gif

heavencloud
post Oct 29 2015, 05:48 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Oct 29 2015, 05:32 PM)
Wow..didnt knew the queue would b that long. Then i better allocate some time for it also...

but u mention the real reason is because got highway bus direct from haneda to kawaguchiko..that means when immigration ccleared by u by around 11.30pm..the bus service already closed right? Thus cheaper for you to wait till nxt morning and take the highway bus direct instead of taxi or other transport at 11.30pm?

Jst wanna know more as i will be landing at Haneda nxt yr as well for 2 wks smile.gif
by the time i went to the bus stops during my walkaround, there were only like 1 or 2 last bus left, but i didn't notice the destination of the bus. my bus to kawaguchiko departs 6.55am next day.

well, there are some options either sleeps at the bench (which a lot of people do that in haneda, quite a common sight) or rent a room at the hotel for hourly usage. there are plenty of charging stations too provided by the airport. even i spoke with one of a frequent traveler, the airport also provided limited number of blankets.

as for me since i bring my wife, so need a proper place to rest. if single, sure under escalators also is fine laugh.gif
heavencloud
post Oct 30 2015, 12:03 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 29 2015, 06:45 PM)
Table Fan Did you take that immigration picture? Better be careful in future. Many countries have no photo policies at customs and immigration checkpoints.
gomen, it was me sweat.gif i went trigger happy with the camera from the moment i landed. took all the photos while walking, signboards, planes, advertisement board, people, and eventually didn't realized i was already in the immigration until i saw one guard kept showing hand gesture "X" to foreign visitors that tried to take pictures too sweat.gif

QUOTE(yippi @ Oct 29 2015, 10:01 PM)
Hi heavencloud,

By the way, what pocket WIFI u used?
i rented from visondata.com.my

QUOTE(ivzh @ Oct 29 2015, 06:03 PM)
heavencloud, our intinenary have alot similiarity..

haneda->kawaguchiko->kyoto->osaka->kl

I will arrive at haneda too , then take the early morning bus to kawaguchiko next day. So ur bus is full? it reach kawaguchiko ontime?

how is the onsen experience in konansou? haha it's in my shortlist but in the end i choose ubuya

anyway what time u reach kyoto by shinkansen? visit fushimi inari->kiyomizudera->kinkakuji abit rush
The bus that morning was like less than 10 people, free seating. If you want, you can buy the morning ticket from japanican. it is cheaper too than the actual price:
http://www.japanican.com/en/tour/detail/TK...pecd=PRA&kw=Bus

The bus reached 6.50am and departed right on time. I reached kawaguchiko around 9.20am, 5 minutes early. Please be advise that you can't purchase a return ticket (eg from kawaguchiko to shinagawa) from haneda airport. You can buy it once you reached the kawaguchiko station. So best to do it once you arrived right away. The counter is located in a room on the left of the station ticket gates. My return journey to shinagawa on the next day was even less people lol. The best thing about the bus, they got toilet inside.

As for the onsen, ok la. my first time, so i dont have much comment haha. but it was nice since i'm able to dip myself in while watching fuji-san the whole time. had to spend more to take that private onsen becoz going naked in front of other guys is not my thing laugh.gif

some of the shots of the konansou:

I took the earliest Nozomi 99 at 6.00AM from Shinagawa. It reached kyoto station at 8.02AM
Seriously kyoto got too many tourist, locasl and foreigners during my time of visit rclxub.gif If according to my original plan, i suppose to go to the tokufuji temple, but i decided to skip it since fushimi inari alone was a lot of people. I didn't walk very deep to the top. Save it for the next time. From fushimi inari, i saved a lot of time by taking taxi straight to kiyomizu dera. It cost around 1800+ yen if not mistaken. I also took taxi from kiyomizudera to kinkakuji. that one slightly expensive around 2400+ yen including the road to kiyomizuderwa was packed with bus. But yes, save more time compared to wait for the bus. There are no train station near with kinkakuji, so i decided to go with the taxi, even back to kyoto station sweat.gif

heavencloud
post Oct 30 2015, 09:10 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(yippi @ Oct 30 2015, 07:46 AM)
How this WIFI? Good performance and stable?

Btw, are u take it from MV at 20/Oct afternoon?
yea, the connectivity was very good. Even during the journey in the bus towards kawaguchiko, around the kawaguchiko town, and during travelling inside the shinkansen

i took a day before my trip which was on saturday 17th around 12pm. i rented the unlimited 3G package. it was more than enough for facebook-ing and google maps nod.gif

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 30 2015, 08:04 AM)
Go climb at Morning. Right after it opens. Very less people. I go Inari shire more than 20 times. Always target morning.
yes, my wife and i definitely will come back again for a proper sight seeing nod.gif i thought from the japan-guide, it said the fushimi inari dont have closing time?

0.0872sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:47 AM