Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

asokakenji
post Jul 16 2015, 12:50 PM

42 posts

Hi all, I am going to Osaka, Kyoto and Nara with my family from 4th November to 9th November 2015. I have worked out my itinerary as below. Appreciate if you all can give me some feedback. Thanks.

4/11/2015 (Kansai airport to Kyoto)

- 1am flight from KLIA2 to Kansai Airport. Will touch Kansai Airport at 8.25 am.
- Get ICOCA & Haruka and take JR Haruka to Kyoto Station
- Visit Ninanji temple, Ryoanji temple, Kinkakuji temple, kitano tenmangu shrine.
- Can I get any food from Nishiki Market after 5 pm?

5/11/2015 (Arashiyama & Fushimi Inari)

- Arashiyama until lunch time (is the bamboo grove less crowded early in the morning? any idea what is the earliest time can we enter?)
- Take Torrokko Arashiyama Train for sight seeing
- Fushimi Inari (Is it ok to arrive at about 2pm?)

6/11/2015 (Nara & Eastern Kyoto)

- Visit Nara in the morning
- Back to Kyoto Nishiki Market for Lunch
- Yasaka Shrine, Kiyomizudera, Gion, Pontocho (By bicycle, since the owner of the house provide free bicycle for us)
- Is it recommended to squeeze Nijo Castle and Imperial Palace in this day?

7/11/2015 (Kyoto to Osaka)

- Leave to Osaka
- Use Osaka Amazing 2 day pass
- Osaka Bay area, Kaiyukan, Cruise ship santa maria, Sakishima tower (Morning to noon)
- Dotonburi, Tomburi River Cruise, Kuromon Market (Noon to night)

8/11/2015 (Osaka)(Osaka amazing 2 day pass)

- Osaka Castle, Osaka museum of housing and living, Tenjinbashi underground street, onsen Naniwa no Yu
- Grand front Osaka, Umeda underground street, HEP Five wheel, Umeda Floating garden, hot spring spa Suminoe

9/11/2015 (Osaka)

- Den den town, Shinsekai, Tsutenkaku tower, tennoji park, ABENO HARUKAS, Shinsaibashi
- Flight back to Malaysia at 11.35 pm.

asokakenji
post Jul 21 2015, 02:39 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 20 2015, 04:41 PM)
since you are visiting Nara in the morning. i assume you will reach Kyoto after lunch. it is already very packed to visit the other shrines and Kiyomizudera. Kiyomizudera itself needs more than an hour to explore.
you do not have time to visit more attractions bearing in mind that a lot of temples close at 5pm or 6pm depending on the season.
you need to check the opening hours online.
Thanks for your feedback.
Assuming I reach Kyoto at about 2.30 pm, I think I will just visit Kiyomizudera then lepak at Gion in the evening.

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 20 2015, 08:32 PM)
you can take JR to Kyoto directly from Namba. don't have to go to Umeda.
Which JR Line is that? According to the link I found, http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2363.html?aFROM=2157_2158 , I need to drop at Umeda if I were taking JR Kyoto line.

0.0401sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:03 AM