Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

TSOM
post Nov 30 2015, 03:11 PM

2,145 posts

Hi..

I got 2 questions:
1) What's the benefits of buying that Suica & monorail card at Haneda airport??

2) That JR rail pass - must deliver to home? Cannot just collect in Japan?

7 days for RM1000+ .... really not cheap.
TSOM
post Nov 30 2015, 03:48 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Nov 30 2015, 03:16 PM)

easy to travel around tokyo n can use in many convenient shop and food stall, other option u can consider is tokyo metro discount pass http://www.tokyometro.jp/en/ticket/index.html

U can purchase at the airport, just show em ur passport.

wow, wat kinda pass is that bro

but according to the website, JR pass can only be purchased from overseas, no?? Can still buy when arrive in tokyo?

that price is the standard ordinary 7 days pass. Costs $230 USD.
TSOM
post Nov 30 2015, 04:20 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Nov 30 2015, 03:57 PM)
there are many type of JR pass that offer different discount depending on which area u wan to cover.

u may want to check this out if u hv not -> http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/pass/
thanks but I already checked that.
This is only a regional pass.

I want to go from Tokyo - Kyoto - Osaka then Tokyo again. I was wondering if it's possible to buy 2 regional pass instead. Maybe it's cheaper? hmm.gif
Like Kansai regional pass and JR East regional pass? But these two regions don't overlap. How to change train?? rclxub.gif
Have to buy a separate train ticket then?
TSOM
post Nov 30 2015, 11:20 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 30 2015, 04:56 PM)
Just buy JR Rail Pass. Jr east pass cannot bring you to Kyoto plus Kansai Thru pass cannot bring you back to Tokyo.
the problem is, I'm going for 2 weeks. If I take the 7 days pass, maybe it's not enough. sad.gif

If say 4D Tokyo, 1D Nikko, 3D Osaka, 3D Kyoto, 1D Nara, and left over to other cities, then it feels like I need a 14D pass. hmm.gif
TSOM
post Dec 1 2015, 02:56 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Dec 1 2015, 01:31 PM)
do you ever consider going one region first, then next time go for another region?
like focus on kansai, then next time go for kanto
yeah, I thought about that too, but I'm actually staying a bit more than 2 weeks. If just visit JR East, not too much meh? hmm.gif
I'm also eager to visit Kyoto and Osaka.

maybe I should fly to Osaka instead. Maybe it's cheaper to fly?

0.0415sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:02 PM