Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here
SkyCaptain
Oct 24 2015, 03:08 AM

@RegentCid, @sacwoc and other sifus, I'm visiting Tokyo with my 5 year old kid and I have a Suica card from my previous trip to Tokyo. From my homework, I gather that my 5 year old kid travels for free with an accompanying adult (me).
Now, my question is how do both of us walk pass the turnstiles at JR train/Tokyo metro stations after swiping my Suica card? Will the machine detect and allow a small child to walk through with an accompanying adult or would I have to be prepared to seek help from train station staff if one of us can't get pass the turnstiles after swiping my Suica?
SkyCaptain
Oct 24 2015, 09:14 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 24 2015, 08:28 AM) You and him have to cross together. For safery just hold him up. Like carry a baby. Kid 5 & 6 are very near. Age 6 need to pay children fare already. If your kid grow quite tall, station master will ask for his id. If every station also ask that then quite leceh one. Thanks, RC. Do you think this year's autumn/winter in Japan will be warmer compared to the past few years? I was told to expect 5-12C. Debating whether to layer up with thermals, t-shirts and light jacket or go with less layers and thicker jacket. We'll be outdoors more than indoors.
SkyCaptain
Oct 24 2015, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 24 2015, 09:28 AM) I dunno about the 'mainland,' but in hokkaido 2 weeks ago there was a HUGE variation in perception of cold between rainy and sunny days. Sunny day daytime 15 deg no wind, long sleeve t shirt oso enough d. But when it rains and cloudy and windy it can feel close to 0deg. All this talk about El Nino making it a warm winter has clouded my packing strategy. Trying my best to pack as light as possible but it's statements like these that makes it difficult to justify packing light.
SkyCaptain
Oct 24 2015, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(Samurai @ Oct 24 2015, 12:24 PM) For kids age below 6 year old are free ride with their parents . If you kids are elementary school for age 7 year old above there you need to buy the train ticket. Not only at trains but you can get free entry like Ueno Zoo or Aquarium . I got free entrance for kid at age 3 and have to pay for 6 year during my visit to Disneyland. Before you swiping your Suica card ,make sure your kid already in front of you. So far,i traveling with kids age 3 and 6..don`t have any problem. Not recommended to use baby stroller because connecting other metro stations use stairs .Only a few places have lift.  Arigato, samurai. Where's the best place to get a samurai uniform figurine in a small case? I'm thinking Asakusa.
SkyCaptain
Oct 25 2015, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(Samurai @ Oct 25 2015, 10:55 AM) Last 2 month ago ,landed at Kansai International Airport with luggage 50 kilogram. Full with dry foods..spice .curry powder,maggi,Milo,Basmathi Rice 10kg and other . All stock until next year 2016. Bento set ,Sushi and other food ready made will sell at 50% off discount after 19.30pm...and all item will sold out before 20.00pm before they close at 22.00pm . Normally available at supermarket such EON and other. Isn't rice prohibited? I thought I read this on the immigration embarkation form.
SkyCaptain
Oct 25 2015, 09:38 PM

For visitors to Tsukiji Market who are specifically looking for a sushi meal, you could join the queue for a few hours at Sushidai or Daiwa Sushi (where nigiri sushi sets start from ¥3000).........or alternatively walk for 5 mins to Katsura Sushi @ 2 Chome-15-4 Tsukiji where the queue's are much more reasonable and the lunch time deal is a big steal. I paid ¥1050 for 11 pieces of fresh nigiri sushi. There's a slightly cheaper ¥950 set that has 9 pieces of nigiri sushi. Dinner time prices at Katsura Sushi start from ¥5000.
SkyCaptain
Oct 25 2015, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 25 2015, 10:26 PM) This one I give 3 of 5 Star. Consider pass. Price: very wise, cannot complain too much. Taste: No diffrent from Malaysia Sushi Zanmai. Sifu, have you tried their nidan-chirashizushi set? Kindly recommend me equally wallet friendly restaurants. My wallet would appreciate it. My wife's favourite restaurant in Shinjuku is Nakajima at B1F, Hihara Bldg, 3-32-5 Shinjuku. Michelin Star set lunches at ¥800-900.
SkyCaptain
Oct 26 2015, 05:56 AM

QUOTE(Samurai @ Oct 26 2015, 05:39 AM) Basmathi Rice cost me ¥3000 for 5 kg is RM105.00...i have to buy through Online from Tokyo.Yes rice under restricted item.Every 1 month must kena Briyani Rice bro... http://baticrom.com/Yeah, bro. I'll do the same if I'm in your shoes.
SkyCaptain
Oct 26 2015, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(ch1ck3n @ Oct 26 2015, 09:08 AM) I am going next year and this was on the plan.  now you leak out maybe the line longer? haha thank you for sharing. thank you for this tip, this is a very nice tip especially if you are being careful with budget but still want to enjoy some good food. Do you have any more tips for these? Thank you in advance if you can share more bro! I wish I had more tips to share. The rest of the places I visited last July were not as wallet friendly as you'd wish. I'm visiting Tokyo again end Nov and I'll update here if I find some good deals. Cheers.
SkyCaptain
Oct 27 2015, 09:59 AM

That's a lotta luggage.
SkyCaptain
Oct 29 2015, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Oct 29 2015, 11:16 AM) google map need data which i don have Rent a pocket WiFi device. Best advice ever for your Japan trip.
SkyCaptain
Oct 31 2015, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(adwan @ Oct 31 2015, 01:16 PM) why not just buy the IIomio data plan SIM card. Instead of pocket wifi. Is it cheaper than renting pocket WiFi? Would using data drain more or less battery juice than using WiFi?
SkyCaptain
Oct 31 2015, 05:48 PM

I used Global Advance Communication too during my previous trip. Would recommend it.
SkyCaptain
Nov 2 2015, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(Ashwell John @ Nov 2 2015, 10:11 AM) How much do you need to pay for this monthly? Have a look at their website. They charge a daily rate. Those renting longer will enjoy slightly better rates.
SkyCaptain
Nov 8 2015, 11:44 PM

@RegentCid and other Tokyo destination experts, between Muteppou at near Numabukuro station or Senrigan near Shimokitazawa station, which serves the better bowl of tonkotsu ramen? I'm thinking of racing there after visiting Doraemon Museum from Mukogaokayuen station.
SkyCaptain
Nov 18 2015, 06:49 PM

Having doubts about visiting Doraemon Museum. Should I ditch it?
SkyCaptain
Nov 25 2015, 10:23 PM

For those of you visiting Legoland, you may purchase tickets from Japanican to enjoy some savings rather than buy directly from Legoland website. Buying a parent and child combo ticket from Legoland directly costs ¥3000 but if you buy from Japanican you pay ¥2800 instead.
SkyCaptain
Nov 26 2015, 05:47 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 26 2015, 12:39 AM) Japan Legoland Opening at 2017. Still too early to post here. It will Open at Nagoya Sorry, meant to say Legoland Discovery Centre at Decks Odaiba.