Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

L_nette
post Nov 6 2015, 12:01 AM

43 posts

Hello everyone. Planning japan trip now. Osaka + tokyo.

Which transport combo is more worth it?

KL>Tokyo>Osaka>KL
KL>Tokyo>Osaka>Tokyo>KL

From my research, the JR 7day pass is quite value for money if i take from tokyo to osaka and use there for travelling around. The only question is if sitting shinkansen for so many hours to osaka is viable. If too crowded maybe have to reconsider..
L_nette
post Nov 6 2015, 08:06 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 6 2015, 07:32 AM)
You sendiri research lah, why ask us?

For the dates you want to go, search flight KUL-NRT/HND return, and KUL-NRT/HND, KIX-KUL open jaw and compare price difference.

Then see whether that price different makes sense financially vis-a-vis the need to buy JR Pass (for Tokyo-Osaka Shinkansen return) vs Single-journey Tokyo-Osaka ticket. Also consider extra travel time needed.

Then decide lo.

For me when I did Kansai/Tokyo I did

SG>Osaka (fly)
Osaka>Tokyo (shinkansen ala carte ticket because JR Pass not worth it)
Tokyo>SG (fly)

Cos for my particular dates this was cheaper for me.
Of course i got other concerns like if the train got sufficient space/crowded. Because i will have to bring luggage on board maybe souvenir and shopping purchase as well. If there is no space then maybe i will consider taking one way ticket instead of struggling both ways or taking jetstar instead since i can check in luggage.

0.0381sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:33 PM