Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here
Human Nature
Sep 3 2015, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(notok @ Sep 3 2015, 12:22 AM) I will be only travel within the kanto area. For nikko, kusatsu onsen area and hakone, is it advisable to use kanto area pass ? I see the subway map of tokyo city, metropass cover almost 80%, why go for pasmo/suica ? if you can plan your trip to cover the cost of the pass, then it is worthwhile. when i plan my trip, i always try to rely on just metro lines first to see if can save or not, but never able to do so. i find that a mixture of jr lines and metro works best, hence pasmo/suica
Human Nature
Sep 3 2015, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(yippi @ Sep 3 2015, 07:34 AM) As there are too many options available where I not familiar with so many transport system available, any suggestion of what type of pass I should buy in various place I planned to visit? it still depends on the places that you want to visit. start with that first.
Human Nature
Sep 4 2015, 02:35 PM
You can buy USJ ticket at JR midori office too.
Human Nature
Sep 4 2015, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 4 2015, 02:41 PM) JR Midori is train service right? Yes, the ticketing office. Or you can also buy it from Kansai Tourist center
Human Nature
Sep 10 2015, 11:43 PM
After not touching my itinerary for few months, looked back at it today and made some changes. Decided to leave out higashiyama district and kiyomizudera temple as have visited them before. Adding Nanzen-ji, Chion-in and Eikando tentatively since they are along philosopher's path. Might drop one of them as cannot stand too many entrance fees  and also one of them is under renovation. At first wanna replace with Kifune Jinja but too north-wards and it is probably similar to Kasuga Taisha in Nara anyway This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 10 2015, 11:45 PM
Human Nature
Sep 14 2015, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(jefferenelee @ Sep 14 2015, 09:48 PM) Hi, noted that the day is getting dark by 5pm during November in Kyoto. If we choose to check in the accommodation about 5pm, is it difficult to search for direction without the daylight? And is it safe to walk from the train station to the apartment that we stay? Anyway It's just about 5 mins walk from the station. My apologies ya for asking stupid question. There are streetlights no? Don't worry, kyoto gives the me impression of being super safe. I walked alone along a back alley from 7-11 at midnight once and I came across several girls, each walking alone. Seems to be the norm for them. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 14 2015, 09:53 PM
Human Nature
Sep 16 2015, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 16 2015, 12:13 AM) Now we discussing was area such as Harajuku , Ginza , Shinjuku those more on shopping district. You only can either eat inside convenience store or tapau it first then eat later at park. You won't find any people walking + eating together in this kind area. But the crepe at takeshita-dori harajuku ler?
Human Nature
Sep 16 2015, 12:38 PM
hehe i walked and makan
Human Nature
Sep 16 2015, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 16 2015, 01:12 PM) Then people know you are tourist. Some Japanese sure willsay this must "Mainland" tourist. Lol no ler..some Japanese school high school kids also doing d same
Human Nature
Sep 22 2015, 03:40 PM
5K worth of yen for 2 pax not enough ler..especially if it includes souvenirs
Human Nature
Sep 22 2015, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(ivzh @ Sep 22 2015, 04:01 PM) department mall/premium outlet/pharmacy accept credit card right? (just in case my wife want do some shopping) this one should be no problem
Human Nature
Sep 22 2015, 06:49 PM
Since both are related to temperature, if autumn leaves peak later, will cherry blossom peak earlier or later too?
This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 22 2015, 06:50 PM
Human Nature
Sep 22 2015, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 22 2015, 06:54 PM) this year sakura bloomed slightly a few days early according to japanguide report  yeah...if i recall correctly, i read before that autumn leaves and sakura is opposite of one another..so if autumn leaves is later, cherry blossom in 2016 will be earlier..which is good news to me
Human Nature
Sep 23 2015, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(fnm83 @ Sep 23 2015, 02:32 PM) That period is schoold holiday just started. Pls expect lotssss if crowd (kids) in the themepark. Don't forget prc also alot there. Not so much groups from PRC in my previous visits and hope it stays the same. Will be going around the same period too 😃
Human Nature
Sep 23 2015, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(fnm83 @ Sep 23 2015, 04:33 PM) Did u encountered them at themepark all? i didnt encounter any at disneyland and disneysea
Human Nature
Sep 25 2015, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Sep 25 2015, 06:05 PM) My plan in Kobe town is to just try Kobe beef (lunch) and perhaps walk around short while that area around Sannomiya. Do you think is feasible for me to travel to Arima Onsen just to try out the onsen since it's my first time to Japan and plan to try it out. I'm only covering Kansai area this time and not going Tokyo. But I check Hyperdia it takes about 40 mins to there and after that I plan go back Osaka straight which takes about an hour. Is it worth the travel to go there? I have no other plans in Kobe so I actually can afford the time. But all the way down there and just soak onsen for maybe 1 hour (at most?). The travel will it be worth it as in the experience and time? PS : I'm not planning to hike Mt Rokko. Thanks in advance for all sifu help if you have not try onsen before, probably worth the experience.
Human Nature
Sep 27 2015, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 27 2015, 06:24 PM) I also do not prefer heavy winter clothing but I'll going to sight see few places like temple and etc...just afraid cannot stand the cold wind haha. Maybe I'll just get some jacket with long jeans  i am still fine with a jacket and layering, end of november
Human Nature
Sep 28 2015, 12:58 AM
11 days without Kyoto can even cover Fukuoka/Hiroshima
Human Nature
Sep 29 2015, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 29 2015, 10:15 AM) Oh...then it wasn't as cold as I imagined. I thought it would be damn cold and need thick jacket  Btw, when you said layering, how many layers is that? 2-3 uniqlo heatech stuffs
Human Nature
Sep 30 2015, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(tbcheese @ Sep 30 2015, 08:02 PM) I recall when I was checking up on Tokaido shinkansen that you need a separate shinkansen ticket on top of the jr pass except maybe the one that stops most. The Japan Rail Pass is not valid or requires a supplement fee in case of the following exceptions: -Nozomi trains along the Tokaido/Sanyo Shinkansen http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361.htmlQUOTE(silvsapp @ Sep 30 2015, 08:23 PM) I'm planning to travel from Tokyo to Kyoto and Osaka and back to Tokyo. I'll buy a JR Pass as I'm going back to Tokyo. Am wondering, do I need to buy another pass for when I'm in Kyoto/Osaka area (if yes, which pass do you recommend), or pay per ride and use JR Pass whenever possible? Cause I'm aware that JR Pass will have little use in that area. Thanks. Depends on the places/route you will be going and duration.