125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

muaxs
post Sep 3 2015, 09:34 AM

15 posts

I will be in Tokyo for 7 days.
Then making a day trip to Kawaguchiko and Hakone.
Should I get Suica or JR Pass?
notworthy.gif
ch1ck3n
post Sep 3 2015, 09:54 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(muaxs @ Sep 3 2015, 09:34 AM)
notworthy.gif
both different items wor sweat.gif

suica is just a convenient way to board trains without lining up to buy tickets each time round.
JR pass is another thing altogether.

since i would like to do good in this thread.
I would advise, if you would be only going around Tokyo and Hakone area.

Suica + Hakone travel pass is enough.

JR pass never pays off if you dont roam far enough cross country.

michlove
post Sep 3 2015, 10:51 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(muaxs @ Sep 3 2015, 09:34 AM)
notworthy.gif
You only need JR Pass if you travel out of Tokyo then back to Tokyo i.e. Osaka, Kyoto, Nagoya, Nagano, Gifu...
If you are not going to these place, then your JR pass would not pay off...
vincentwmh
post Sep 3 2015, 10:59 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Sep 2 2015, 09:44 PM)
Eh if only Tokyo
i don't think you need a rail pass
using suica would be better unless you really get around the city more than 5 times per day.
from my shallow research, i plan to>>

1)3days tokyo metro & Toel subway pass to cover the city - cost Y1500/pax
2)3days kanto area pass to cover kawaguchi/mt fuji, disneyland, nikko - cost Y8300/pax;
3)1day 2-way express bus to Gotemba - cost Y2880/pax;

that's 7days travel plan out of my 12days in tokyo, rest of days still no plans yet.

need advice, will travelling with suica cheaper/better alternative to cover the above

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: Sep 3 2015, 11:00 AM
sacwoc
post Sep 3 2015, 11:54 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Sep 3 2015, 11:59 AM)
from my shallow research, i plan to>>

1)3days tokyo metro & Toel subway pass to cover the city - cost Y1500/pax
2)3days kanto area pass to cover kawaguchi/mt fuji, disneyland, nikko - cost Y8300/pax;
3)1day 2-way express bus to Gotemba - cost Y2880/pax;

that's 7days travel plan out of my 12days in tokyo, rest of days still no plans yet.

need advice, will travelling with suica cheaper/better alternative to cover the above
Why do you want to go to Gotemba? Outlet? If yes, you can think of the outlet in Karuizawa which is covered by the kanto area pass.
deodorant
post Sep 3 2015, 12:26 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

lucaswjk Sounkyo those hiking trails to the mountain summit how hardcore is it? Wear normal sneakers can liao or must buy those real hiking boots?

[edit] hmm some blog say if wanna hike to the peak need proper shoes or rent boots

http://www.frommers.com/destinations/sounkyo/620241

I suppose in October it will be farking cold as well huh. Gotch go down to 0deg?

Summoning RegentCid oso.

[edit2] hmm it seems around mid September the summit already normally snowed in and no more colours. And in early October when we go probably it will be snow, ice and mud. Is it adviseable for two 30-something inexperienced hikers to go up? Footwear, I read that can rent rubber boots from 7th station Hut?

This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 3 2015, 01:31 PM
vincentwmh
post Sep 3 2015, 12:31 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Sep 3 2015, 11:54 AM)
Why do you want to go to Gotemba? Outlet? If yes, you can think of the outlet in Karuizawa which is covered by the kanto area pass.
i shd opt for karuizawa premium outlet then. will google more on this PO
thks sacwoc, u just save me some yen for more sushi rclxms.gif

dear all,

can i reconfirm that kanto pass can take me all the way to 5th station mt fuji?

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: Sep 3 2015, 12:34 PM
Human Nature
post Sep 3 2015, 12:36 PM

- student of human nature -
26,522 posts

QUOTE(yippi @ Sep 3 2015, 07:34 AM)
As there are too many options available where I not familiar with so many transport system available, any suggestion of what type of pass I should buy in various place I planned to visit?
it still depends on the places that you want to visit. start with that first.
sacwoc
post Sep 3 2015, 01:01 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Sep 3 2015, 01:31 PM)
i shd opt for karuizawa premium outlet then. will google more on this PO
thks sacwoc, u just save me some yen for more sushi rclxms.gif

dear all,

can i reconfirm that kanto pass can take me all the way to 5th station mt fuji?
Kanto Pass is the only pass that I can use. Others I am not entitle to. I used this before to go to Karuizawa, Kusatsu and Izu. Best thing is that the shnkansen to Karuizawa already cost more than the pass itself.
TSRegentCid
post Sep 3 2015, 02:05 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(notok @ Sep 2 2015, 11:22 PM)
I will be only travel within the kanto area. For nikko, kusatsu onsen area and hakone, is it advisable to use kanto area pass ?
I see the subway map of tokyo city, metropass cover almost 80%, why go for pasmo/suica ?
Hakone are own by Odakyu Company.
Odakyu are Private line which Kanto Pass are useless here.

Subway pass are 1500 Yen for 3 days means one day 500Yen. You can used up that much or not? Means you have to travel around tokyo by metro alot alot per daily only worth it. Otherwise just get a Pasmo / Suica.
Plus Pasmo card can used on any 7-11 / Dawson / Family Mart too.

vincentwmh
post Sep 3 2015, 02:22 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 3 2015, 02:05 PM)
Subway pass are 1500 Yen for 3 days means one day 500Yen. You can used up that much or not? Means you have to travel around tokyo by metro alot alot per daily only worth it.  Otherwise just get a Pasmo / Suica.
with this info, i decided to drop the 3days subway pass(1500Y) and just use Suica.

regentkid, for my travel to >>

kawaguchi/mt fuji(day 1), disneyland(day 2), nikko (day 3), is it best to take 3-days kanto area pass Y8300? any cheaper alternative?

gotemba PO(day 4) by express bus Y2880 seperately?
ch1ck3n
post Sep 3 2015, 02:31 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Sep 3 2015, 02:22 PM)
with this info, i decided to drop the 3days subway pass(1500Y) and just use Suica.

kawaguchi/mt fuji(day 1), disneyland(day 2), nikko (day 3), is it best to take 3-days kanto area pass Y8300? any cheaper alternative?

if you extend your nikko trip to two days, this can be potentially worth it.

http://www.tobu.co.jp/foreign/pass/all_pass.html
notok
post Sep 3 2015, 02:38 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 3 2015, 02:05 PM)
Subway pass are 1500 Yen for 3 days means one day 500Yen. You can used up that much or not? Means you have to travel around tokyo by metro alot alot per daily only worth it.  Otherwise just get a Pasmo / Suica.
Kanto area pass did stop at odawara station right? From odawara I can purchase Hakone pass
lucaswjk
post Sep 3 2015, 02:48 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 3 2015, 12:26 PM)
lucaswjk Sounkyo those hiking trails to the mountain summit how hardcore is it? Wear normal sneakers can liao or must buy those real hiking boots?

[edit] hmm some blog say if wanna hike to the peak need proper shoes or rent boots

http://www.frommers.com/destinations/sounkyo/620241

I suppose in October it will be farking cold as well huh. Gotch go down to 0deg?

Summoning RegentCid oso.

[edit2] hmm it seems around mid September the summit already normally snowed in and no more colours. And in early October when we go probably it will be snow, ice and mud. Is it adviseable for two 30-something inexperienced hikers to go up? Footwear, I read that can rent rubber boots from 7th station Hut?
i went during oct (~10th) oso... freaking cold...
got icing/snow after the second ropeway and all the way to the top

im wearing jogging shoe... so it is slippery but acceptable for me
and got 1uncker from hong kong wear hiking sandals... he said no problem

fyi my shoe didnt wet, but the other guyz yes...
if u didnt hv hiking boot, i recommended u at least wear hiking sandals

---
my review... the autumn foliage is perfect at mid of oct
coz mid of sept to oct, many tree is still green
i purposely change my flight to okinawa (delay 1week+) before i goto hokkaido

---
sounkyo must hike!!! the view on top is mesmerizing wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
u need to see it to believe tongue.gif
TSRegentCid
post Sep 3 2015, 05:41 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Sep 3 2015, 01:22 PM)

Kanto pass cannot used on Kawaguchi / fuji Because this area transport are Private company Fujikyo Monopoly. Going Disney are Metro so Kanto pass are useless. Tobu pass are much useful at Nikko.
Basically Kanto pass useless.

QUOTE(notok @ Sep 3 2015, 01:38 PM)
Kanto area pass did stop at odawara station right? From odawara I can purchase Hakone pass
Why waste money? I rather buy Odakyu Hakone pass direct from Shinjuku to Hakone.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 3 2015, 05:41 PM
notok
post Sep 3 2015, 07:06 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 3 2015, 05:41 PM)
Kanto pass cannot used on Kawaguchi / fuji Because this area transport are Private company Fujikyo Monopoly. Going Disney are Metro so Kanto pass are useless. Tobu pass are much useful at Nikko.
Basically Kanto pass useless.
Why waste money? I rather buy Odakyu Hakone pass direct from Shinjuku to Hakone.
Thanks for your feedback. Because I plan to go to minakami and kusatsu onsen area. I check from Japan - guide Web page, the round trip from Tokyo to kusatsu onsen already cost 1000 0 yen. Is there any cheapest alternative ways to go there?
TSRegentCid
post Sep 3 2015, 07:16 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(notok @ Sep 3 2015, 06:06 PM)
Thanks for your feedback. Because I plan to go to minakami and kusatsu onsen area. I check from Japan - guide Web page, the round trip from Tokyo to kusatsu onsen already cost 1000 0 yen. Is there any cheapest alternative ways to go there?
1st time to Tokyo? I wont recomemded you go Kusatsu Onsen. It too far away and you must over night at Kusatsu Onsen. If no plan overnight no point going there.
necrox77
post Sep 4 2015, 10:03 AM

85 posts

Anyone who live at tokyo can want to do simple baito for me? I need a representative to collect official document from Malaysia embassy n send to malaysia using ems service on 7th September.

Pm me if interested.
TSRegentCid
post Sep 4 2015, 10:48 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(necrox77 @ Sep 4 2015, 09:03 AM)
Anyone who live at tokyo can want to do simple baito for me? I need a representative to collect official document from Malaysia embassy n send to malaysia using ems service on 7th September.

Pm me if interested.
sacwoc
JooSeng
post Sep 4 2015, 10:56 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(notok @ Sep 3 2015, 07:06 PM)
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 3 2015, 07:16 PM)
1st time to Tokyo? I wont recomemded you go Kusatsu Onsen. It too far away and you must over night at Kusatsu Onsen. If no plan overnight no point going there.
Agree with RC, plus there is quite alot of nice places u should cover.
Normally kampung places should be the least 2D1N.
Otherwise rugi weh cuz u can't actually enjoy the kampung life.
I've been to both places, n if can repeat i would go for 3D2N
But nonetheless is up to your preference as well bro smile.gif

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:43 PM