16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hi-Fi Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System V2, Pls state your budget pls!!!

wim1983
post Jun 15 2015, 08:40 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Jun 15 2015, 01:10 AM)
im sure that a pair of cheap but capable passive speakers would be nicer?

paired with a budget amp i think the result would be better than computer speakers wouldnt it?

im guessing if i spend rm800 on a pair of passive bookshelf speakers and get a decent amp that will do the job right?

These speakers
http://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42X-Bookshel...k/dp/B00E7H8GG2

with this amp
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HFG3FY...d=ATVPDKIKX0DER
Try to get some used speakers, if litmited budget. Or my advice would be save more a bit to buy better speakers. Try to get something as good and standard well regarded speakers. Good luck hunting your speakers laugh.gif
wim1983
post Aug 13 2015, 12:41 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Spotted second hand Dynaudio Focus 160 for 5.5K, hmm kinda hard to decide whether to go for this or Wharfedale Jade 3, it's balanced and has got flat response, which could be boring to listen to, wonder shoulld I try Dynaudio sound signature instead? Any thoughs guys?
wim1983
post Aug 13 2015, 08:40 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 13 2015, 01:53 AM)
I have a pair of Dynaudio DM2/7 and absolutely love it. What are your amp & source like?
You can see that in my signature section. I know I also worry about the ease to drive those Dynaudio speakers, but I think should be fine, though I'm driving a pair of Denton which consider a bit power hungry too. Just that I have concern on the rear port firing design, it can be problem to me where placement in small room is not easy for me.
wim1983
post Aug 13 2015, 08:42 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Aug 13 2015, 07:50 AM)
Definitely not when it's almost 10 grand brand new. And there are much much more pricier options out there too.
But then I'm a bit concern why so many people selling these Dynaudio Focus 160, I just think that it's not good enough in craftmanship for a 10K+ bookshelf, still not that worthwhile consider we have other options hmm.gif
wim1983
post Aug 13 2015, 08:49 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Aug 13 2015, 07:23 AM)
5.5k for a used 2-driver bookshelf? Dont you think it is kinda of pricey?
I agree with you, not used price, but even original price I ady consider that is way too expensive too, the cabinet does not look great enough to me hmm.gif
wim1983
post Aug 14 2015, 06:21 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 14 2015, 01:44 PM)
Dynaudio (mine anyway) was easy to drive. No problem there. I had it hooked up to the Marantz PM6005 and the amp drove the Dynaudio speakers easily. In fact I hooked the amp to my BMB subs as well and there was no problem driving all three speakers.
Focus 160 is more forgiving speakers from what I heard, very smooth sonic signature? How do you feel compare to your DM 2/7? In terms of dynamic and power handling, I think your 7'' woofer driver handle a little better, while the Focus will sound more forgiving for most recordings?
wim1983
post Aug 22 2015, 02:31 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 20 2015, 11:52 PM)
Crazy EVEN with normal exchange rates man...
Went to CMY this afternoon and had a good chat with them. John is willing to bring over the Evidence to my place for me to audition. Price? 250K+ negotiable but shud be able to get it at 220K. So....Momentum + Evidence = MYR457K. Nordost Valhalla2 (2m) interconnects = 30K & Nordost Valhalla Speaker (3m) cables = 30K. Total (without source) = 517K
This must be heard only at the end of my life laugh.gif
wim1983
post Aug 31 2015, 12:07 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Aug 30 2015, 05:38 PM)
anybody can advice on which version of lepai LP2020 that i should get? i need to get one after purchasing the sony SS-HA3 for only RM400. the fact that they changed to lepy and then there's the LP2024 makes it even worse for me. more so i can't read the language on taobao lol
Why dun you get the Topping Tp60, it's about 600, way more better amp, though it works with more modern speakers only
wim1983
post Aug 31 2015, 08:42 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Aug 31 2015, 01:18 PM)
Ah I see. Thanks for the explanation.
I hold the fact that the speakers/headphones produce much more change to the sound sig than the amp and source. Being a student with limited money makes it even harder to justify upgrading the amp instead of the speakers lol. Plus, if you try to search for reviews on the Sony SS-HA3, you'll pretty much find nothing on it. That's gotta say something lol.

TL;DR : Limited budget + Speaker quality != justification to get a more powerful amp icon_rolleyes.gif
Try second hand stuff rclxms.gif
wim1983
post Sep 1 2015, 08:32 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Sep 1 2015, 12:22 AM)
nah. i pretty much avoid any second hand stuff. unless hand-me-downs lol
You try NAD 3020i, a nice amp, around 500 only, got headamp, preamp, and stereo amp function, very worthwhile value, smooth listening experience
wim1983
post Sep 8 2015, 09:17 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Guys, just went to Desa Home Theather, Kepong to audition Wharfedale Jade 3, seriously black oak does not look attractive to me at all, I wish to check other finishes like piano black or rosewood/burgundy, as for the sound I think it's pretty balanced, though I notice if very close to the aluminium tweeter it could be a bright, for bass I'm not sure as audition a bit rush. Should I go to Ancorp Mall to check other speakers. Some speakers I did consider before but end up not considering are:

ProAc Response D2 - lol I don't like several design points like logo and metal band, and also the price, I think should be more than 10K

KEF R300 - sadly, I'm not able to audition it when visit the Desa Home, while KEF LS50 in terms of bass still not satisfying for me

Rogers LS3/5 - I seen this at Desa Home, asking around 8K, a bit big cabinet for me, though it looks a bit traditional and just fine to me

Maybe I should consider Dynaudio? My budget around 5K for 2 channel speakers only, improvement seeking is dynamic mainly, I also consider Wharfedale Opus 2 M2, though it's really too big for me

Any other recommendations? Ancorp Mall? Or PSB Sychrony One B?

This post has been edited by wim1983: Sep 8 2015, 09:21 PM
wim1983
post Sep 8 2015, 10:36 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Sep 8 2015, 10:53 PM)
Monitor audio RX series or B&W CM5
Thanks for the recommendations, though I think both lose advantage if consider price / performance ratio hmm.gif
wim1983
post Sep 9 2015, 08:31 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Sep 9 2015, 01:43 AM)
Dynaudio anytime...BUT no piano black or burgundy or rosewood. Just black.
Or Usher...Taiwan made but still good for money.
NEVER ProAc - slow - not good for fast music & too costly but great for vocals.
hmm, I also considering Dynaudio, but their ranges of product is a lot, which one should I go for? Also do you know where can I audition it?
wim1983
post Sep 9 2015, 08:34 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Sep 9 2015, 01:50 AM)
GoldenEar Aon 3. Very airy, slightly v shaped, clean sound with solid solid bass. You can drop by to audition these babies.
Where should I head to? Also can I bring along my DAC and power amp? My plan is to play some FLAC files, but your side got player that can play FLAC files with USB output to my DAC? And with volume control?
wim1983
post Sep 9 2015, 06:15 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Sep 9 2015, 09:57 AM)
I'd go with Dynaudio or Focus Audio.....

I've auditioned the Focus Audio with Densen amp....fantastic

Dynaudio....hah the name speaks for itself.....i have a set of Dynaudio in my car for years and i still love them....
Thanks for the suggestions, if want to go for Dynaudio Focus, I think I need to save more. If go for Focus Audio, what model? FS6 SE? How much estimate?
wim1983
post Sep 9 2015, 06:18 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Sep 9 2015, 02:01 PM)
A&L Audio Station at Bangsar Village II. We have Focus Audio  stuff there as well. And sure you can bring your DAC and amp no issue.
Thanks for your explanations. Should I book for auditions? Is it open on Malaysia's Day?
wim1983
post Sep 10 2015, 08:44 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Sep 9 2015, 09:43 PM)
FS6SE i think above 5k lor...

i'd be honest....if you are looking to upgrade....go for a few steps ahead...otherwise the change won't be significant

and you have to consider your amps and source as well

its better to have a well balance setup...i've heard budget good setups and they really balance well together.....
hmm, the FS6 SR series look a bit awkward to me, very plain "white" look, for 5 inch alum woofer? How does it perform, I think it will hit some limitation?
wim1983
post Sep 10 2015, 07:56 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Sep 10 2015, 09:59 AM)
well don't under estimate small chili padi......
just like Usher S502.....it might be 5.5" mid/bass.....its got alot of bass in it

bass reproduction is also impacted by your speaker stands, your wall and other factos as well
I agree with you on this. I got a pair of Denton, it may look traditional or vintage feel, but the bass is no joke, no boomy, but it cannot take too much power and has dynamic limitation, currently I can utilize 50% of the power amp potential only hmm.gif
wim1983
post Sep 10 2015, 08:59 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Sep 10 2015, 09:38 PM)
50% of the power amp thats ok wat
hmm that's very loud already, but then i feel that that's it for the dynamic, not enough beefy for orchestra playback, consider my small room size, I feel that I can utilize another pairs of more powerful speakers, but not floorstander, something like Jade 3, sealed box design, where placement could be flexbile. Though, small little handsome speakers still has important place in my heart.
wim1983
post Sep 10 2015, 09:49 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Sep 10 2015, 10:31 PM)
well to get the full sound stage out and beyond the speakers edge....thats alot of work

you need to have a very clean power feed....and not just from the wall socket
its form the DB fuse itself you have to invest on good copper cables
then the socket, the power cord....this is to ensure your amp and cdp gets good clean power

2nd  is placement of speaker.....in order to have big sound stage...you need have some space at the back of the speaker from the wall.....funny thing is....even front ported or fully sealed behaves the same....

speaker stands, spikes and shoes......i heard some putting solid wood stands with wooden spikes on a piece of 2'x2' granite slab....freaking fantastic

cables....again the debate....more importantly if you can....go for OCC copper cables instead of OFC....especially power cables.....

the main objective is to make the sound as transparent as possible....
hmm, I also planning on getting a pairs of solid wooden stand hmm.gif , Ancrop Mall there got?

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0816sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:38 AM