PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V6,, Comparison and Advice

xxboxx
post Feb 10 2018, 03:33 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(toiletwater @ Feb 8 2018, 12:03 AM)
Looking for bookshelf speakers that are Bluetooth enabled. Currently considering R1700bt and Micca Mb42x (with bt amp). Any other that are worth considering?

My girlfriend likes classical music, while I like music with lots of drum and bass..
I read and see review that R1700BT give a very good quality sounds for it's size and price. I see people compare MB42x level to R1280, and R1700 is a step up than R1280. Considering it used to be almost USD200 price range, now can get it for less than RM400, that's about the same price with R1280DB. Even Amazon still selling it as USD150, so it's a very good bargain for quality bookshelf speaker.
xxboxx
post Nov 14 2019, 06:29 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsAter @ Nov 13 2019, 08:47 PM)
Hye, would like some recommendation as I am super noob here. I really appreciate good sound and currently thinking of upgrading. Currently I'm using only Edifier M1335 for speakers and Custom One Pro for my headphones. I'm thinking of going to do Edifier r1280db + Topping mx3 and maintaining my headphone. Is this path okay?

Main usage is media entertainment (movies, youtube, netflix, spotify, mp3s, flacs) and also gaming. Oh, all these are used with my desktop currently.

Would like to hear alternatives if available and I think my budget is around RM 700. Can go higher a bit maybe..

Thank you

MX3 is quite a low performance from Topping. You might want to reconsider on getting this DAC.
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/in...3-dac-amp.7312/

Topping DX3 Pro is still one of the best desktop DAC they produced.

R1700BT is one of the good speaker Edifier have created, both sound and aesthetic. You can check out this channel playlist, it have R1700BT compared to plenty of other speakers. It also have plenty of other speakers tested too.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLvAQ...YcyuMZRiMsIsWQS
xxboxx
post Nov 18 2019, 01:39 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsAter @ Nov 18 2019, 10:16 AM)
thank you. after watching the r1700t vs 1280, I liked the 1700 sound more. Guess I'll be getting that.

This leaves me with dac choices then, since I moved in into my new house already and rearranged my pc/desk setup, my pc is quite far from where i will be sitting thus unable to plug in my headphones. I think that a simple desktop dac will provide me a closer headphone jack plus a potential better sound and volume control. Also potential headphone upgrade in the future (I drool over fidelio x2hr hnngghh  drool.gif )
If space is not an issue and you like to output the sound very loud, you might want to consider R200DB. Bigger diaphragm can go louder.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tccM1DTZ6ss

Is it worth to pay 100 dollars extra over the price of Edifier R1700BT to get Edifier R2000DB ? There is no simple answer to that question, but I hope this video will help You answer it. In my opinion R2000DB is a better speaker, with more natural and extended bass, slightly better midrange and a bit nicer top end, but R1700BT is not far behind it. R1700BT is a bit too forward in the upper ranges and can be a bit tiring because of that, but simple attenuation with tone controls can make them more gentle to the ear. R2000DB on the other hand seem a bit too laid back, but again slight boost with tone controls can make it sound more exciting. All in all I think that it is the R1700BT that is better value for money here, as long as You do not need the extra bass or digital coaxial input. Do You agree with me or maybe You have different opinion about that? Let me know in the comments below! Cheers!
DAC or DAC+AMP like MX3? DAC and AMP I don't really know, there's like thousands of them and with different configurations of DAC, headphone output, AMP, headphone AMP, etc. But I do know that most hardware that use AK449* or ES9038 DAC chip sounds great. I just got myself on 11.11 a Topping NX4 for my headphone which is using ES9038 and it's low, mid and high sounds much more balanced than my handphone DAC. FiiO also makes good DAC/AMP. Maybe you can see this page on some of the DAC/AMP they have reviewed:
Master Index of Measurement Comparison Charts
xxboxx
post Nov 19 2019, 09:53 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Nov 18 2019, 09:10 PM)
I personally think R2000DB can perform even at low volumes. The real selling point of going bigger is definitely soundstage yo.

Big speakers on table easily reach ear level and has better dynamics compared to small speakers trying to be big. laugh.gif

I miss the days Edifier loan me their discontinued R2800 with 8" drivers as their lower full range. Best stereo feel ever. Definitely reminds me of the old school hifi where people used to have actual bookshelf sized speakers easily bigger than my shoe rack cabinet mega_shok.gif

I also considered R2800 last time when I want to buy desktop speaker. But luckily my head can think straight, R2800 is too big as a desktop speaker.
Have you tested S880DB? I still wondering how much I'm missing because going for R1700BT instead.

QUOTE(ThisIsAter @ Nov 19 2019, 09:50 AM)
but then my room is about 5m x 4m size only, big speakers is a bit overkill no?  sweat.gif  and also i definitely heard some hissing when no music played, a dac should be able to eliminate that i think?  hmm.gif

really want to learn more about all these

Amp also can cause the buzzing sound. Strangely, if I off my speaker with remote it will have buzzing sound, tho it's hard to notice. If turn off from rear switch or speaker is turn on then there's no buzzing sound.
xxboxx
post Nov 20 2019, 09:46 PM

5,261 posts

Then maybe not much different to justify the double price.
xxboxx
post Jan 21 2020, 10:35 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jan 21 2020, 12:01 AM)
I don't own the exact TPA3116 amp but the platform used with TPA3116 is very effecient and powerful for its size.
It can replace my NAD302 for driving a pair of my big Sony SS-D201 speakers while providing enough power to drive JVC CSGD-1210 300w subwoofer with a quarter of the power.
They do distort on the treble when I push it close to their promised 2x50W but since you are using small efficient speakers from C3 you'll probably have tons of headroom.

Edifier original amp may be tuned for the speakers but they are not efficient and with EIDC causing distortion, I think you'll be happy with the current chinese amp offerings.

And it's half your RM400 budget for replacements so I'd say its quite a good deal to try out. Nothing really can compare to your C3 with RM400 now other than downgrades nod.gif

As for if it sounds good or not? I'm not sure. My TPA3116 amp didn't sound good when I pair with my Edifier S530D with muddy mids coming out from the subwoofer. The amp I linked has a crossover point and it should solve my issue of vocals coming out of my subwoofer. With my car subwoofer I have a passive crossover so that isn't an issue

Overall the fullrange part is pretty okay

Last time you say you miss the big speaker sound from R2800, so you get this Sony speaker? tongue.gif
Before this you using 2 ways speaker with 4 or 5 inch woofer? How much different compare to it?
I also were thinking to change my R1700BT to something bigger but not sure how much better will the sound be.
xxboxx
post Jan 22 2020, 08:33 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jan 21 2020, 03:52 PM)
I have this 3 way Sony long before I knew Edifier. It was my dad's radio set. I even have em compared side by side with the R2800 haha. Link to expired review here
My Sony SS-D201 is a 6.5" woofer with 3" mids and a 1" piezo tweeter. Pretty bland speaker if your amp doesn't have bass adjustment. Push too much bass and it chuffs port noises instead of bass.

The difference I cannot remember anymore. I just love bookshelf feeling smooth without the weird bass gap to subwoofer in common pc 2.1 speakers.

As for R1700BT other than extended headroom for dynamic range, soundstage will be wider with bigger drivers acting as mids. But it really depends on how they design the speakers.
Wow that long, I thought you got it after R2800 blush.gif

Ya, 2.1 not that suitable for music. Bigger speaker always better especially for something like orchestra, small speaker sound thin.
xxboxx
post Jan 22 2020, 09:28 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jan 22 2020, 08:43 PM)
Music can go 2.1 no problem actually. Subwoofer is there to help the deep lows. Got DSP and the will to tune your setup can d. I mean most concerts are basically stereo with crazy number of fullrange and subs (imagine line array 140 fullrange and 40 18" subwoofers) more or less and it'll sound good as long as engineer power in his mixing skill.

It's either buy good speaker pre-tuned by manufacture or buy cheap n tune kawkaw. Car hifi oso got sub when they already got fullrange.
Never stop venturing into audio yo.  mega_shok.gif
Most 2.1 have small speaker (not the subwoofer) so the sound not that impressive. The bass separation to subwoofer also some not done properly which can feel it come from different place.

Some not good speaker tune also won't get good sound since the speaker or enclosure itself is the problem.
I was thinking of finding 8" woofer bookshelf speaker but not much choice.
xxboxx
post Jan 23 2020, 10:26 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jan 23 2020, 04:39 PM)
Can venture into passive bookshelf or go studio bookshelf  flex.gif
Yamaha got good HS8 sets pretty good sounding imo. Better than my office using Roland RSM90. Very smooth sound with speaker stands. Don't need sub if placement is good. Very bassy but not in your face like consumer level.
And also quite forgiving in sound. Usually studio speakers can hear bad youtube sound but this is quite okay for daily use oso.
That looks good. Except for the price. sweat.gif
Can get planar or ribbon tweeter already
xxboxx
post Apr 2 2020, 09:57 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Apr 1 2020, 11:10 PM)
thanks guys

i plan to buy the speakers with mx3 including stand and foam altogether on 4/4

any other alternatives to topping mx3 i should know of? i watched z review on youtube and the fact i can power both speakers and headphone won me over
Isn't presonus eris e5xt is active speaker?
Topping mx3 is an amplifier with built-in DAC
It only have powered output, don't have RCA output.
MX3 is use with passive speaker.

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Apr 2 2020, 01:23 AM)
starting to spill out of budget aha. started at rm400 for just thr r1700bt and now ive gone past 4x the initial budget
i can afford it but now the added cost is making me wonder if for 1.8k should i start looking at something else entirely

ive mainly just been using 3.5mm and all the technicalities are killing me, which is part why i decided on a pair of actives hoping to just learn along the way and sacrificing bluetooth which seems to be a part of most other non monitors.
To make it simple, you can either go for:
DAC with/plus AMP and pair with passive speaker
or
DAC and pair with active speaker

Edifier speaker have good highs and mids, but r1700bt lacking some in deep bass. If use for desktop environment where you just about 1 meter away from speaker and you're not bass head then it is still good. But since you can go higher budget I suggest you get something with bigger bass driver, 5" to 6". Bigger bass driver from Edifier is S1000DB or S2000 Pro within your budget, you will not feel dissatisfied with both speaker. Or S360DB if you need space.

There's a lot of other brands too. If got opportunity is best to have a listen to the speaker first. If not then read review/opinion or see video as much as possible to know what are the speaker strength and weakness.
xxboxx
post Apr 2 2020, 10:28 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Apr 2 2020, 10:02 AM)
yeah i really dont know jack about these things

i think rather than just reviews i need to understand the technical aspect of things first so i can actually tell what i want or dont want
The speaker that you plan to get, where you going to use it? Desktop or living room?

Read 101 or beginner guide for what is DAC and AMP. That should give you plenty of info you need.
Active speaker basically is speaker with built-in AMP in it. Some even have DAC built in the speaker.
xxboxx
post Apr 2 2020, 11:30 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 2 2020, 10:40 AM)
oh shoot I didn't realize that too  doh.gif
Hahaha I know that because last time I considering to get MX3
xxboxx
post Apr 2 2020, 03:32 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Apr 2 2020, 01:01 PM)
both. i live alone in a decent government quarter because no one wanted to move in

now that the discussion has reached this stage for me im seriously considering to just buy something basic lel

got any source i can read up on
You can't optimize it for use as desktop and also living room. Desktop is on table where you also sit beside the table, such as computer table or writing table and speaker is just about a meter from you or less than that. Living room is you sitting at least 3 meters or away from the speaker. You can only optimize listening for one of it.

DAC explanation

AMP explanation

While you at it, might want to read What is frequency response, this is on speaker on how it reproduce sound.

To put it simply, there's 3 things that you need to understand:
DAC
AMP
SPEAKER (passive / active)

DAC is something that convert digital signal into analog signal. AMP is amplifying the signal to as loud as the hardware allow. Speaker receive the signal and create sound wave that human can hear. Got 2 type of speaker, passive speaker and active speaker. passive speaker means it only receive the 2 positive and negative wires into the speaker, no power plug. active means it have power plug, it can have RCA, 3.5mm, optical, spdif, usb, or any other type of connection and in any combination.

Example is your laptop have all 3 above. If your laptop is playing sound then it is using it's internal DAC to convert digital sound to analog sound, then using it's internal AMP it amplify the signal that send to the laptop's speaker.

If your laptop is connected to an active speaker then it is using laptop's internal DAC to convert into analog signal then send to active speaker. Active speaker have built-in AMP in it, which amplify the signal before feed into the speaker's driver.

Some active speaker also have built-in DAC. Using example above, your laptop send the digital sound to the speaker through USB or optical connection, which the speaker's DAC convert into analog sound, then amplify it and feed the speaker's driver.

You can have plenty of scenarios how you want to get the sound.
Source (PC/laptop/handphone) using it's internal DAC to active speaker
Source to active speaker that have built-in DAC
Source to external DAC then to active speaker
Source to external AMP then to passive speaker
Source to external DAC then to external AMP then to speaker
Source to external DAC with built in AMP then to speaker
Or plenty more combination.

If you can understand all that I wrote without any confusion then you are ready to buy the speaker and other hardware. tongue.gif
xxboxx
post Apr 2 2020, 07:54 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Apr 2 2020, 04:19 PM)
ill check out the links.
most of the stuff you wrote, im aware of. what suffocates me are the more in depth technicalities

stuffs like the difference between i/o and why some people prefer a particular kind
amp classes and preamps, and what features do i want on them
digital audio interfaces - why some people use them and what features to look at

the featuresets are what bothers me the most. its the sort of thing you might come to really like once you get used to it, but the added features can be really expensive for experimental fancies

on that note, if i still go e5xt is there a cheap way to sync the volume of the pair? will the behringer um2 do the job?
The bolded parts, it's up to you if you want to go until that depth for it's i/o, interfaces, classes. The main thing is only the 3 things I mention earlier.
Features is something that you can't overlook, because it depends what is your need. Such as for me I must have volume knob on my DAC as that's what I need, digital button or remote don't have the same feel. Some maybe have AMP with free optical port so he must get DAC with optical output. Some must have bluetooth function. Some must have hardware with display.
So it really depends what features you need.

If you want cheap you can even split the RCA cable so that it can go left and right speaker then volume is controlled on your source device.
UM2 also can work. Most important is check what's the comment on the product that you wan to get.
xxboxx
post Apr 4 2020, 12:53 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Apr 3 2020, 06:26 PM)
nah i dont have the know hows

according to LBS on shopee i dont need an interface to sync the presonus
The cheapest way to connect to both presonus speaker is get 3.5mm to RCA cable, split between it's middle so that each RCA can connect to each speaker.

MX3 is for use with passive speaker. If you want to use this AMP+DAC then get a passive speaker.
xxboxx
post Apr 4 2020, 12:41 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Apr 4 2020, 10:48 AM)
i think ill buy the speakers first and see from there what else i can get to improve my experience. the seller said i dont need anything to sync the volumes so ill take his word for it at the moment

this is my first foray into expensive speakers and i dont want to make the same mistake as i did for my other hobbies haha

im pretty much set for e5xt now. do you guys think there are other things i should consider before pulling the trigger? a lot of the debates surrounding the whole studio monitors for casual use seems to be centered on convenience (bt, remote etc). not having the luxury to experience this in person is kinda sucky

whatever the case ill pull the trigger at 10
I think you misunderstand on the whole volume sync thing, volume sync will only be an issue if you try to change the volume at the rear of speakers. If you change on your source such as PC/laptop then there's no sync issue.

Features for convenience (bt, remote etc) can be added later when you really feel the need for it. That time one of the way is you can add DAC that have the features you need.
xxboxx
post Apr 4 2020, 07:40 PM

5,261 posts

Big difference from E5 XT to R1700BT sweat.gif

If you want it to have good enough sound for now then it is adequate. Next time when you want to have better sound then only spends for better speaker.
xxboxx
post Apr 11 2020, 01:27 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(-LoVe- @ Apr 11 2020, 10:34 AM)
Hi bro, thank you for your reply.
Ya mostly for music. My wife like song with good bass.
My living room not big just 9 x 16 FT. So R1700BT is okay for music right? I prefer with Bluetooth input.

Oh btw vinnfier BT500 or BT800 sub size are 6.5" too.
BT500
BT800
R1700BT bass sounds thin especially more if listen from a distance such as in living room.
Take a listen to this. R2000DB have 5" driver while R1700BT is just 4". Listen from 3 minutes 50 seconds.

Personally I think R1700BT is good for classical, Jazz, R&B music where the emphasis more on mids and highs.
You want good bass then need bigger driver or those with subs.
xxboxx
post Apr 11 2020, 07:04 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 11 2020, 03:49 PM)
rear ported near wall + bigger speaker vs front ported mini speaker of coz le laugh.gif
I got R1700BT and it's really lacking bass, more so when sit far away. 100hz below almost can't hear anything.
xxboxx
post Apr 12 2020, 09:12 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Apr 11 2020, 08:45 PM)
So even for living room TV usage R1700BT is unsuitable?
Depends what's your expectation from the speaker.
If compare to TV internal speaker, then it is much better
If always listen to mids and highs, such as violin and guitar, then it is great
If want to listen the low rumbling or low beats then it is not satisfactory.

0.0655sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:59 AM