Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai V2

bad2928
post Sep 17 2015, 08:36 PM

628 posts

Source: Desktop foobar with wasapi(hi-res up to 192khz)
Equipment:onkyo 578(AVR pure analog mode)+wharfedale 155
Requirement: Mainly Music
Budget: Below 2k

bad2928
post Sep 18 2015, 10:17 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Sep 18 2015, 06:51 AM)
Check out Aune
ok thanks
bad2928
post Apr 4 2016, 11:59 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Apr 3 2016, 08:39 PM)
can we control volume X1s for RCA output?
bad2928
post Apr 4 2016, 07:50 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Apr 4 2016, 01:55 PM)
Thanks for the suggestions, I think Aune X1S come pretty close to my expectation, but it seem the volume knob cannot control DAC volume?
i'm looking for cheaper usb dac pre-amp too because most off them above rm3k cry.gif ,asus xonar STU cheaper than rest but discontinue already..
bad2928
post Apr 5 2016, 10:44 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Apr 5 2016, 12:20 AM)
Aune X1s and t1se international price range is below RM 1k.

X1s comes with preamp. So if you switch on preamp, you can control volume using the volume knob when connecting to speaker.
If you want a pure line out, then select dac and use rca out.
You can also use it as a dac amp for headphones.
ok that's interesting
bad2928
post Apr 5 2016, 10:51 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Apr 5 2016, 09:42 AM)
Foxtex is your only hope haha, I dun see any other products in the market within cheap price range as the Fostex, I've got a modded O2 ODAC combo with RCA output, but amplified ady with 1X, so not clean output, and I've seen a lot do this incorrectly... doh.gif
aune x1s is better choice base on liquidgal reply icon_idea.gif
bad2928
post Apr 6 2016, 05:16 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Apr 6 2016, 04:23 PM)
Actually depending on what you want. X1s At this price range is a very good dac. 
But if you are driving a higher impedance headphone, I do suggest pair it with another headphone amp or you get a dac amp which is strong at both like audio gd, matrix and so on.

If using mainly for speaker, then you only need to concern about dac.
i'm only using it for speaker
bad2928
post Apr 7 2016, 08:34 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Apr 7 2016, 07:01 PM)
X1s as mentioned is strong at DAC part. It would be a good DAC for your speaker (using line out). Pre-amp and headphone amp is more like a complimentary. It's not a dedicated preamp for speaker.

If your speaker is an active speaker, usually comes with build in preamp and power amp. So actually you don't really need another pre-amp actually. It may also cause distortion due to double amping.
Unless you can bypass the build in pre-amp or the original speaker doesn't come with it, only have power amp.
ok,noted.no wonder a dedicate desktop dac/preamp is expensive..e.g;mytek,yulong,teac sweat.gif
bad2928
post Apr 7 2016, 09:03 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Apr 7 2016, 08:02 PM)
That's the tricky thing, using headamp module to amplify DAC output and supply to speakers will not work, I've been tested this for long, so in the market there are very few DAC, preamp/headamp that designed correctly, I believe Fostex HP-A3 is designed for that, maybe Audinst HUD-MX2 too? hmm.gif
if i were you will consider Fostex HP-A4/A4BL brows.gif
bad2928
post Apr 8 2016, 04:48 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Apr 8 2016, 11:59 AM)
Yes in your case, you need a DAC with preamp function as volume control.
I tend to misunderstand when you mentioned, "so in the market there are very few DAC, preamp/headamp that designed correctly"
Some may need a preamp and some may not.

Also my mistake, Aune X1S doesn't come with preamp function. The older version Aune X1 pro did come with preamp. I didn't notice they cancel it on the latest model.

Actually there are still a lot of options if you are looking for DAC with preamp such as Matrix new mini i, Mini i pro, Musical Paradise MP-D1 MK2, Audio-GD C2, NFB1 amp and so on.
If you just need something as volume control or separate preamp but not dedicated one, then get Bravo ocean will do.
can you recommend budget dac/pre-amp?
bad2928
post Apr 9 2016, 03:51 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Apr 8 2016, 07:06 PM)
Below 1k, can try iFi Nano iDSD. You can control the volume of RCA output. Portable, supports DSD.
http://ifi-audio.com/portfolio-view/nano-idsd/

Below 2k, strongly recommend Musical Paraside MP-D1 mk2. It is tube DAC, can adjust the sound signature and quality by tube rolling.
user posted imageuser posted image
ok,thanks for your recommendation but i'm suddenly change my plan now because i brought marantz pm8005 no need dac/pre-amp just stand alone dac sweat.gif rclxm9.gif
bad2928
post Apr 29 2016, 09:02 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Apr 29 2016, 03:39 AM)
How much is the O2/ODAC here in malaysia and where can I find it?
win1983 wanna let go his o2 odac.
bad2928
post Jun 30 2016, 01:24 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(lol4291 @ Jun 30 2016, 09:54 AM)

I was looking for a DAC and headphone amp for my ATH AD900. Was interested in Fiio E10K, then I came across Micca Origen+ and it seems to suit me, as I can use to pre-out for my Edifier R1800T3.

Does anyone know where to get the Micca Origen+ in Malaysia and it's price?

11street

0.0216sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:39 AM