Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

bbgoat
post Jul 7 2015, 11:14 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 7 2015, 09:16 AM)
More like combination - the money allocated and parked in FD is essential for my children's education right at this moment and as such cannot tolerate any risk. 

Click here to see my latest spending of my children's future inheritance, hahaha.

Oh, all the luxury watches, one of the 50 ever produced ! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

So when you go to the banks, wearing like "VCD sellers" also wearing all these watches ?? hmm.gif brows.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 7 2015, 07:01 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 06:13 PM)
Do u need to return FD cert for validation upon expiry?
For MBB step up, on maturity just bring cert to redeem. My last step up with them, now I remember, all the interest paid on maturity. Unlike RHB and PBB, paid on each step up point. biggrin.gif

For PBB, the next step up rate printed on reverse of the FD cert (6+6 mths). biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 7 2015, 07:02 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 7 2015, 07:04 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 06:58 PM)
I suppose Maybank need to validate 2nd 6 mths later  hmm.gif
No, no need to. People would be reluctant have to go back to validate for step-up rate. biggrin.gif

Just like PBB, RHB worst still, every 3 mth. RHB recent step up last 3 mth, monthly basis !! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 7 2015, 07:05 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 7 2015, 07:26 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Jul 7 2015, 07:24 PM)
Hello all, from post no.3, it said that RHB doesn't give interest for non working days, does it mean, their 4.21% per annum, is actually exclude Saturday and Sunday?  If yes, then it would be only 3% per annum.  365 days, Saturday's and Sunday no interest, only Monday - Friday got interest?  Seriously?
laugh.gif It means if FD maturity falls on Sat/Sun or public holiday, no interest paid. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 09:20 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 7 2015, 08:16 PM)
Will our FD in ambank be affected by the latest scandal?
I have 3 years FD in AmBank. If people suspect it will be affected, there will be a run on the bank. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 10:04 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 8 2015, 09:26 AM)
No scxxed meh.  tongue.gif

Well time to go hunting for FD promo again as have some due next month. Getting tired already..
Scxxed on this bank and that bank, will be scxxed to death first. laugh.gif tongue.gif Thats why spread out my eggs to diff banks.

My next target is OCBC with Hugo Boss pen promo. Also for eyetertainment in mind as well. brows.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 8 2015, 09:56 AM)
I had a chat session with Ambank, was informed that Ambank is having a FD-CASA promotion:

Min 10k, 4 months @ 5%p.a, you need to put another 10k into savings/current account.

The good news is, True Savers account is eligible for this promo, and it gives 2.8% p.a
Is it 50/50 FD/CASA split, any T & C ?

But it is of short term which may not be of interest to some of the people here. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 8 2015, 10:07 AM
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 10:08 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 8 2015, 10:06 AM)
50/50 placement, effective rate 3.9% p.a if placed in True Savers, good for those who only want short terms
Yes, short term wise, it is a good rate. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 11:17 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Jul 8 2015, 10:54 AM)
OCBC with Hugo Boss pen promo? Is this tied with the CASA? My AMBank is due few days ago, thinking of placing at either Affin or OCBC/UOB now..............
OCBC's one pure FD. See below:

http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac...mart/index.html

http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...o_savesmart.pdf

Need to register first ! biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 12:33 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 8 2015, 12:25 PM)
Magic, if you talk to the senior female RM in Am Bank's Sri Petaling branch like that.. for sure she will
ask you to keep your money at home..

No joke.. because she talked to me like this twice last year..  biggrin.gif  As a result, I sent a complaint letter loh..
Good luck..  thumbup.gif
Almighty Magician, high time for action. Has been quiet for a long while, other than "you no scxxx meh" comment ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 8 2015, 12:34 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 01:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 8 2015, 01:21 PM)
I hope the RM will talk to me like that otherwise boring nothing to do nowadays.
Oh, all hell will break loose then .............. brows.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

How come  a few of your deposit  comes into Not Scxxed territory? hmm.gif
Looking at high FD rate ended up in banks that may show issue later on. But also have experience with one foreign bank which gets into problem, scxxed me for a while especially I was out from the country for few months at that time.

So no more scxxed. Expereince builds up confidence. tongue.gif

Not sure if I answered to what you are trying to say. hmm.gif

No new promo so most likely will deposit at OCBC ( no need scxxed bank).
I am looking at OCBC (leng lui RM drool.gif and Hugo Boss pen), Affin and RHB for now. rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 8 2015, 01:28 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 02:05 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Jul 8 2015, 01:46 PM)
Do not have that much ammo to fire.
Will most probably go for the Affin 15m 4.33%. Straight forward FD right? Dont need to open a SA?
icon_question.gif
I placed for the Affin 4.33% FD in early June. No auto-renewal for this promo. On maturity, the principal and interest will go to the SA. So need to open a SA. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 8 2015, 02:58 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 8 2015, 02:42 PM)
You guys really lah, AmBank and Affin, the money deposited into it and not like BR where money went out in carpetman's case.
What you mentioned above is very true.

And now that aeiou228 have shared with us how much PIDM actually have, well, it really makes no difference if we deposit our money with a bank where our money is insured by PIDM  doh.gif Best we now deposit with only UOB and OCBC where both are so called among the strongest banks in the world. Then again, is the ranking also applicable for UOB and OCBC  incorporated locally? 

To all: For those of you who do not have the time to go chase after FD Promos or overseas often and willing to sign up as a UOB PB customer, click here and read my article A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That - Volume 1, Chapter IX where I will teach you how you can enjoy higher interest rates than board rates without stepping into the bank.
Not sure I read you correctly ? Are you saying the 3 banks all have problem ? BR, Affin and AmBank, or just the first one ? hmm.gif

So it makes no diff if we deposit to banks with or without PIDM ? hmm.gif

Well, I won't put all eggs in UOB or OCBC only. For those chiak bui leow one, will they ? For 2 banks, that will be 50% of their assets each. brows.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 8 2015, 03:09 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 9 2015, 09:45 AM

6,614 posts

Wait & wait, finally the CIMB UT which matured eggs back to my account ! rclxm9.gif CIMB increased online transfer limit helped. Also now IBFT costing RM0.53. rclxms.gif Transferred to my main CB acct instantly ! thumbup.gif

Heading to OCBC, leng lui, here I come ! drool.gif drool.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 9 2015, 09:46 AM
bbgoat
post Jul 9 2015, 08:28 PM

6,614 posts

In OCBC to do the Hugos Boss pen FD promo. The PB centre staff and the leng lui RM are NOT aware of the promo. This promo is solely OCBC and not related to RinggitPlus, they asked me if it is RinggitPlus. They checked OCBC website and finally found the promo. shakehead.gif OCBC really did not communicate this well, even PB centre staff not aware of this promo. Around CNY, they are also not aware of their Ang Pow FD promo.

The leng lui RM told me this promo is an islamic one. So have to open a new islamic FD account. Luckily this time opening of the account is faster as compared to the first time (oh the first time .............. tongue.gif ). So hopefully I can get the pen 2 mths after end of July. rclxms.gif Call Almighty Magician for help if cannot get the pen. tongue.gif

The earlier 180+180 days 4%/4.4% FD still ongoing. This one in fact gives better FD rate as the first 180 days interest added to the principal for the next round. Except no pen for this one.

The Hugo Boss pen promo is for normal 1 year period, 365 days. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 9 2015, 08:33 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 9 2015, 08:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 9 2015, 07:55 PM)
bbgoat
Affin bank also in trouble... tongue.gif
Very scaxx loh .......... cry.gif sweat.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 9 2015, 09:04 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 9 2015, 08:55 PM)
Will u withdraw tomorrow?
QUOTE(magika @ Jul 9 2015, 08:59 PM)
shocking.gif
This young goat heart very strong n steady one. Someone said money go in not out is very good.
laugh.gif This Uncle Magic can read my mind. What to do. Scaxx here and there, might as well sleep soundly 6 feet underground. No need to be scaxx anymore !! tongue.gif

Cannot move all assets to OCBC and UOB. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 9 2015, 09:06 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 9 2015, 09:23 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 9 2015, 09:18 PM)
Thank you for educating the staffs. Hopefully it will be easy for me next week to make the placement.  rclxms.gif

Care to share where to register first in order to get the pen?

Tq
See the "Step 1 & 2" at bottom of the page:

http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac...mart/index.html

Either SMS or register on the web page. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 9 2015, 10:37 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 9 2015, 09:18 PM)
Thank you for educating the staffs. Hopefully it will be easy for me next week to make the placement.  rclxms.gif

Care to share where to register first in order to get the pen?

Tq
One more thing which I forgot to mention. OCBC PB centre is now doing a promo to get new PB member. RM300 is the reward. I signed a document on recommending new PB member and will get the RM300 depositing to my account in about 1 months' time. rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 10 2015, 07:27 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 9 2015, 10:50 PM)
They had the promo a couple of years back...a person can recommend his/her spouse and can get RM300....

Thanks for your speedy response on the roller pen rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I was told they started the promo again just recently. RM300 incentive not bad ! Go for makan makan drool.gif biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 10 2015, 07:38 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 10 2015, 06:38 AM)
Tis could b just the tip of the iceberg  brows.gif
So, pull out from UT, FD etc etc ?? hmm.gif

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled