hi all,
What are the pro and cons of using multi split air con with single compressor?
Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance
May 2 2021, 09:19 PM
619 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
hi all,
What are the pro and cons of using multi split air con with single compressor? |
May 3 2021, 01:35 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 3 2021, 01:13 PM) Putting all the eggs in one basket is the risk of having that ODU spoil = then you have zero aircon to use. hi many thanks for your valuable inputMany units of single split, any problem, just that one pair ODU/IDU cannot work. Multisplit is a bit cheaper than buying many bigger (2hp+) single splits, for price-wise. It also depend on mounting area.. if no space then multisplit better idea.. if space is not an issue single split give more redundancy. Single split efficiency better than multisplit if you only turn on one aircon at any one time. |
Jun 6 2021, 06:55 PM
hi all,
anyone got experience/review using sharp inverter j tech air con? |
Jun 6 2021, 10:22 PM
Jun 7 2021, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 7 2021, 12:34 AM) Correct.. for NON inverter the compressor only have one speed setting which is full speed.. every start operation from 0 rpm consume the most electricity hi again ceo,So its programmed to minimise the amount of start stop as little as possible. So NON AC operating pattern is, you set 25C target temp. It will run full speed to overcool to 23C.. then turn off compressor. Room will warm up.. let it warm up.. once reach 26C time to start work again then it repeat the 23C - 26C cycle again and again for a 25C target temp. The overcooling to 23C is why people say NON inv models are colder than INV. In aircon, its just like cars..not all are good..some can be lemon model. So in terms of AC whilst Sharp is generally reliable, my partner been using Sharp AC all along its pretty reliable, not all series are created equal (w.r.t cooling performance/BTU). Currently the series you should get is the one where 1hp = 9700btu and 1.3hp = 12600 btu. 9000btu 1hp is consider low end. So AHX9VED / AHX12VED series is the one to look for if you're getting Sharp. I use commonly available brands. In my parents' house we have dinosaur Toshibas, Mitsu Mr Slim, and Hitachi INV/NON Personally I use Hitachi INV for frequently used areas (living room and bedroom) in my own apartment. Just so happened they were available at reasonable pricepoint with good cooling capacity btu. Yes, the diff between NON and INV is the running pattern after the aircon already reach target temp. Before it reach target temp, all AC also run full speed. So (1) the target temp need to be an achieveable one like 25C. If set to 16C freezer it will have no savings from INV since it take a long time to achieve that target (might as well buy NON) And after that target temp say 25C is achieved.. (2) why people say INV can have cost savings in terms of power consumption the INV can run like a car once you hit speed limit just hold it there (maintain cruising speed) it won't use much fuel. As the aircon compressor still running (slowly) it will continue to dehumidify the room (so NOT stuffy) (3) why INV can have better comfort (less stuffy) Unfortunately the NON can only in either full pedal or not pressed at all - there is no in between. So the driving pattern will be up-and-down temp and fuel consumption also increase. When compressor off (refer operating pattern above "NON AC operating pattern") there is NO dehumidifying here (since compressor is OFF) so user feel stuffy = (typical user behaviour) to keep the aircon compressor ALWAYS running = set to 16C lor = no cost saving. (4) frequency of usage for AC that the intended usage is only 2 weeks in a year, NON also good enough. The operating cost saving take too many decades to recover the purchase price diff. for AC that is frequently used, the power consumption saving can ROI in few years especially at 3rd tier TNB and onwards (0.51c/unit or higher) quickly, so it makes sense to get an INV for lower TCO (total cost of ownership) Many thanks for your recommendations.. What about their parts availability for Sharp? Easily available? I also read your comments on suggesting Gree Queen series.. Any feedback or review on this brand? |
Jun 8 2021, 07:30 AM
QUOTE(blibala @ Jun 7 2021, 11:39 PM) I have 2 inverter sharp Jtech aircond and 2 other japanese brands. Thanks for the advice.. How long have you owned the sharp? Any major repair beside servicing?Cooling wise about the same. Sharp tend to get dirty very fast compared to others. According to technician it is due to the fins design and do not switch on plasmacluster feature. Not sure how true is this. I need to service my sharp ac twice a year compared to other rooms aircond. My final advise: dont go for Sharp |
Jun 8 2021, 08:48 PM
Jun 10 2021, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Jun 10 2021, 07:28 AM) Yeah we are using two units. 1.0 HP and 2.0HP J-Tech Inverter for more than a year now. thanks for sharing this review.. appreciate itI am also using the older 1.5HP and 2.0HP Eco Inverter Series from Sharp which has a better build quality compared to the J-Tech Inverter units. The new 2.0HP J Tech Inverter has follow me function (the louvres is motorised) to direct air your way. Initially got Sharp Eco Inverter series because of the coanda airflow feature but now other brands have it too; however, the newer J-Tech Inverter energy efficiency is higher at low price point. Thus, went for Sharp again. Our Eco-Inverter series is 6 years old now; compressor is slightly noisier (buzzing sound when it hits some mid frequency) and then it goes away on the 2.0HP but still very much quieter compared to our neighbours Panasonic Inverter Air cond which are newer than ours. Our 1.5HP unit is run nearly 24/7; also no issues with it but we service every 6months to 9 months once. Sharp indoor unit fan noise can be loud (can hear wind blowing sound) if on high speed probably due to the long air throw feature, to me it was comparable to Mitsubishi Electric AC sound and quieter than York (now Daikin). |
Jun 12 2021, 01:01 PM
hi @ceo684,
Do you recommend cassette type of air con or 2 separate unit of air con? This is for my living hall + dining hall together.. |
Jun 12 2021, 05:36 PM
Jun 12 2021, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 12 2021, 10:22 PM) For larger room size, the cassette give more even cooling than the usual wall mounted split AC. Ceiling height higher than normal is good for cassette. If its too low there may be cold-spots (more apparent with 4-way blower). just thinking if I use cassette, and I only need air con for living hall but air flow also flows towards dining area.. wouldn't it a bit wasted? |
Jun 19 2021, 08:23 AM
Check with members here, have you all try buying online air con from shopee?
Warranty wise how to claim if got problem later? |
Aug 18 2021, 08:44 AM
Hi all,
Any review or comment on this model York 2.5hp inverter YWM5J25AAS? |
Sep 9 2021, 08:01 AM
Hi all, Paid some visit to electrical shops..In general here are the comments by the sales advisor: 1. Sharp wind not strong 2. Toshiba is the best with the least complaints and problems 3. Many recommended Haier due to longest warranty period (3g+5c) and also doesn't have much issue. Claim used 3 years at home still strong and no problem 4. Hitachi, York, Daikin, Panasonic generally commented buying brand not quality. Question: 1. Should I go for Haier? This unit will be at living area and we are planning to get 2.5 non inverter. 2. We also plan to get 1.5 inverter for room. Should we go for the Toshiba which they advise for more robust usage? 3. Any other brands or model should I consider for robust usage 1.5 inverter? Headsup! liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0439sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:50 PM |