Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

bpay14
post Mar 23 2021, 12:21 PM

557 posts

Reading from some of the previous discussion here, seems like multisplit AC is fully depending of the users need.

I'm looking into replacing my new condo AC to multisplit coz developer put it 3 unit at balcony, 1 unit at yard; no AC ledge available.
I have to replace the 1 at yard so that i can install sliding windows at yard to turn it into an indoor condition...

after soem searching, seems like only Daikin & Panasonic have multisplit model?
and i only see people discussing here about Daikin one, anyone know about Panasonic one?

bpay14
post Mar 23 2021, 01:25 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 23 2021, 12:28 PM)
Mitsu Starmex also one of the top system 3 4 5 in SG.
wonder local AC seller/technician is skillful & knowledgeable enough on multisplit tye hmm.gif
bpay14
post Mar 23 2021, 02:03 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 23 2021, 01:46 PM)
Technically not that hard but there is the commonrail (BP) junction boxes for gas pipes and electric cables - see https://www.daikinac.com/content/assets/DOC...eering-Data.pdf from page 84 onwards.

However one should question them on the spec of the materials used, copper pipe what thickness, what brand (preferably at min 0.71 acson/daikin pancake) as this is about the best economical option available locally

and cables using good stuff like mega kabel or caramay OR using non certified crap laugh.gif
thanks for the sharing. thumbsup.gif
will definitely check with whoever doing the work for me when the renovation time come.
bpay14
post Oct 1 2021, 05:34 PM

557 posts

Hi guys, I'd like to seek or some advise / opinion / experienced from here if any -- regarding multi-split AC.

to make it short, I would like to exchange my current x3 unit of rooms AC (of coz after deep assessment about my requirements) given by developer to multi-split unit, because 1 of the compressor is located in yard, and I'm gonna seal my yard with sliding windows, will be indoor most of the time.
So after I replace, there will be only 1 compressor for rooms sitting in my balcony (another 1 for living room, untouched)...

put aside about the cost needed, I've been engaging with a few AC guy/contractor, to ask for quotation about my plan for the replacement.

But almost all their respond when hearing i wanna use a multi-split AC is like a big NO..... wave.gif
Among the reasons are...
1) if compressor went down, all rooms no AC
2) if compressor spoilt, hard to find spare part
3) it's very expensive, not worth the cost to replace and exchange.

so I'm wondering is it really that bad for multi-split AC? hmm.gif
this multi-split AC so fragile one meh? so easy to spoilt?

even i went to some AC supplier shop when I'm asking for multi-split AC price, they look at me like alien... doh.gif

i know it is not so common in Malaysia for this type of AC, but I'm not sure are they really not recommended, or the contractors themselves also not familiar with this and refuse to bring trouble to themselves?

I'm really confused.. confused.gif
hope any taiko have some valuable input that can share with me?

0.0292sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:08 AM