Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

ChongHan90
post Apr 12 2021, 01:29 PM

189 posts

Hi Guys,

Haier offer cheaper price but providing 3+10 years warranty, is that mean the quality is good?

How about panasonic 1+5 years only, is it quality not good? that's why no confident to give more warranty?

Another question is LG dual inverter, is it really helpful, and worth to the price?

Thinking of getting Inverter for 1x 2HP + 2x 1HP Air Cond.

Thanks in advance for answering. Appreciate.
ChongHan90
post Apr 12 2021, 03:10 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 12 2021, 02:01 PM)
There are many ways to design something and to sell something. :laugh.gif
Fit cheaper component (whether from MTBF or spec standpoint) but give long warranty also one way,
fit cheaper component from spec standpoint and maintain long warranty for a drop in pricing also one way,
fit standard component but set the warranty period shorter so don't need to keep big spare parts stockpile and lessen service call % (based on statistics it don't fail often within x warranty period) also one way.

So aside from warranty period we also see btu spec as a measure of cooling performance;
and ST star rating to see how good technically the inverter (and inverter programming logic) is;
depending on heat load of the room (sizing) vs aircon btu and its efficiency curve (EER) + running power range, if already reach target temp and heat load is very small, for a tiny room where you put one bed already fill up the room no space to walk - hence minimum load - a 1.0hp @ 225W min power @ EER13.xx is certainly more efficient than oversized 1.5hp @ 295W min power @ EER 12.xx for this load.

However if the space is large enough to host a yoga session with friends then putting the same 1.0hp running full blast at 920W turbo@EER 11 may NOT be efficient as compared to buying a more suitably sized 1.5hp running at normal mode 1,020W @ EER 12 (since its bigger cooling capacity, it may not need to use turbo mode)

also compare physical weight to see if the cooling coils "have enough metal" between similar hp models of other mfg. Usually the lower btu model also correspond to lighter IDU/ODU.

Usually as consumer we try to have the best spec and longest warranty at best price but usually only happen for stock clearance of new old stock (previous series).

Dual inverter LG see if the power (running W) any difference between other mfg models of same hp.
(Speculating) Else it may just be further separation between motor start and motor run into two inverters which is overkill design. On factory big motor we normally just hook up one inverter unit to one motor. I do not recall ever commissioning dual inverters for a single motor laugh.gif
Thank you for you details explanation.

Another question about how to choose between inverter or non-inverter. Is it really inverter only save energy if use over 7-8 hours?
ChongHan90
post Apr 12 2021, 03:51 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Apr 12 2021, 03:36 PM)
no.
So mean inverter can save even less than 8 hours usage?

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Apr 12 2021, 03:48 PM)
hope your juz being sarcastic

u see savings over the non inverter if temp set btwn 24-25C , and over >3hrs  .
Is it mean non-inverter still can save energy if temp set at 24-25 C for over >3h?

ChongHan90
post Apr 12 2021, 09:17 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 12 2021, 04:14 PM)
Inverter
Drive all the way to work using car with full working gearbox and accelerate gently normally.. if jam press 2% if clear road speed up la.

Non inverter
Drive all the way to work using only the 2nd gear only and always press maximum gas when moving and maintain it at maximum. You only have one gear and you either press full gas to move or not at all, like on off switch. There is no press half gas or press 2% gas. There is no choice of using 1st 3rd 4th 5th 6th gear.

Thats how a non inverter and inverter work. Basically inverter fancy name is VFD (variable frequency drive) acting as a gearbox & speed control for the motor.

For first 5 min not much measurable diff as u still in taman rolling slowly.
Once u get to highway or encounter jam you still drive like the two extremes of course your fuel also makan with non inverter. The difference in fuel (=AC power savings) is better when you have a full gearbox and accelerator/gas pedal control (=with inverter). Of coz this is just an analogy to compare but inverter having a gearbox is smoother drive (=temp control) than trying to control driving like a mad person right..

whether the fuel consumption differ enough to justify installing a proper gearbox in your car instead of using only one gear to drive everywhere.
If the car (aircon) only used 10 days in a year then no need inverter la.
For everyday used car it makes more sense to get one with proper gearbox since driving with 2nd gear max acceleration will never save fuel.
Thanks for the details. Understood now.
ChongHan90
post Apr 19 2021, 08:45 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(hendry91 @ Apr 18 2021, 11:34 PM)
Recently I've bought 2 penasonic 1.5 & 2.0 XU series AC from lazada by using save 2.0 voucher and 3 units Panasonic bayu 5 fan.
But I found that, a lot of shop are out of stock for Panasonic products, not sure what happened to Panasonic. What's wrong with Panasonic now?
I prefer to have same brands for whole house.
So still need to buy 4 fan, 2 wall AC, and 1 cassette. But suddenly feel x confident with Panasonic. lol
I asked few shop nearby my house, all Panasonic AC out of stock too.
So I scare the Panasonic spare part might difficult to find in the future, was thinking to continue buy Panasonic AC at lazada or change to other brands.
Any suggestions? Or any recommended brand & model for AC(1hp & 1.5hp wall and 2.5hp cassette?
I wonder about this also. All the shops giving the same answer, have to wait around one month only can get. (May)

0.0379sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:08 AM