2,140 posts

QUOTE(notfair @ Dec 12 2017, 04:54 PM)
any good installer recommend?
Where you based?
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 08:18 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ Dec 12 2017, 07:09 PM)
Hi everyone. I'm new here. I have a question regarding aircond. This is my first time installing aircond in my house. No clue about choosing the best aircond for my need. Based on this and this, Panasonic and Daikin are the best brands so far. Can I trust the web? My budget is around 1.5k. I want to install aircond for master bedroom. These are the specs. 1.5hp should be enough or not? Really need help from experienced sifu here. Thank you!!

L x W x H
5m x 3m x 3m

Landed property. Window facing north.
Refer to this post and 12 posts back to see how a proper professional installer would have done it.

Additional consideration on compressor placement mentioned here.

Never ever get an appliance shop to install for you unless you know their handiwork first hand evidenced by coolkwc's anecdote in this thread here . Same goes for developer..I rather rip out their AC piping and redo unless they do like those pros do 12 posts back.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 12 2017, 08:59 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 13 2017, 12:15 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 12 2017, 11:54 PM)
thumbup.gif

they didnt protect the outside with another pvc pipe. hopefully is weather proof...
They can and should where it is direct. Another post pic should show. Perhaps that's under a shaded roof and at the back where direct sun is not an issue.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 13 2017, 12:15 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 13 2017, 06:10 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(arju @ Dec 13 2017, 12:44 AM)
Daikin 3.0hp Eco King Ceiling Cassette Type Air Conditioner FCN30F/RN30C (R410A) or

Mitsubishi 3.0HP CASSETTE Air Conditioner (R410) : FDT71CR-S

TQ
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries FDT71CR-S is spec is rated at 24,225BTU/hr (7.1kW).

The Daikin FCN30F spec mated with RN30C is 30,000BTU/hr (8.79kW)

If greater cooling capacity is your priority, the choice is clear. Check the price at Lazada, could be cheaper.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 13 2017, 06:26 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 13 2017, 09:54 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Dec 13 2017, 09:47 AM)
is it normal some areas require hand bending the pipe? i can think of how they can pre bend the whole pipe before installing, unless the pipe is flexible.

btw anyone know the minimum clearance for typical indoor unit counting from the top of the indoor unit to the drain hole? the ceiling is not very tall i want to know where to put the drain hole and i don't have the AC Unit yet.
Follow the installation manual. Different model will vary. See for example Fujitsu one but take it as a rough guideline only.
halcyon27
post Dec 13 2017, 12:08 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(arju @ Dec 13 2017, 11:39 AM)
i mean if both same spec recommend daikin or mitsubishi?
which one more reliable n lifespan. TQ bro. you aircon sifu here.
Actually, it's obvious that Daikin model with the compressor has a higher cooling load 30000BTU/hr vs MHI 24245BTU/hr. If your priority is cooling powerfully, the choice is Daikin.

Spare parts wise, availability is easier with the Daikin.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 13 2017, 12:17 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 13 2017, 12:26 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Dec 13 2017, 10:08 AM)
hi, i'm asking about the minimum distance between top of indoor unit to the drain hole of the indoor unit, what is the typical clearance required i know some brand varies but won't run too far from standard. a AC guy told me normally 15" but some say 14" also can but my ceiling is low.

also for concealed drain pipe is it really a big problem with condensation if they don't have insulators pre-installed?

anyway to post install without hacking the whole wall? the drain pipe is not very long as there are toilets right behind those walls (only 1 slightly longer around 2 meters).

also is it possible to use bending tool to bend every bend of a long pipe run or really some areas need bend by hand?
Straight pipes need bender. Coiled pipes no need, installer needs to ensure that it stays in place. Perhaps it may need to be bent to keep it in that shape.

Existing condensate pipes uninsulated will develop mould unless it's behind tiles which will not be seen but doesn't mean it would not develop.

Leave the minimum possibly clearance for circulating air flow and most importantly to pasang the indoor unit and also open (lift up) the front access panel. Then work backwards. AC has flex tube for drain connection so no worries as long as the drain is below the pipes too receive condensate. The installer should know how to do it.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 13 2017, 12:35 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 14 2017, 06:30 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Dec 13 2017, 11:55 PM)
Thanks halcyon27 for the information. I contacted Culmi with no success. I'm looking for both piping and ducting solutions. Will try to look around for the shops that you mentioned. I tried googling Inaba Denko, 2 businesses appear, one in Subang and another in Shah Alam, tried contacting both but number is not in service. Do you know if these shops exist? I'm getting quite a number of items for multiple ac installation, so prefer to go directly to a more reliable source like distributor
How about Rero?
halcyon27
post Dec 14 2017, 06:56 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Dec 13 2017, 06:07 PM)
Inaba is straight or coiled?

drain pipe is already inside the wall, at most can only add insulation on the exposed area... anyway to reduce the chance of mould?

i need to know the clearance because i have to advise the ceiling guys how much space to leave. guy told me min 3" gap on each side and maybe 1ft deep but i'm not sure about the depth because most units are already nearly 1ft deep.

also is there a reliable way to check the drain is working without installing the AC unit to ensure water will indeed flow to the drain? like pouring water into the pipe and check if water comes out from the drain outlet?
Inaba Pair*coil* is soft flexible tubing whereas Neopipe is rigid.

Bending done by hand although possible with coiled pipes will not guarantee kink-free bends if the radius is very tight. Rigid copper pipes should use pipe bender tools on the outset. It all depends on installer's skill. Coiled pipes although easier to bend is not immune to kinks at extreme angles unless the tool below is used.

Clearance from where to be specific? Ceiling? 4" minimum or more if the AC front panel when lifted needs height clearance. Left and right the minimum necessary esp if pipes are in casement and the first path next to indoor unit bends upwards rather than embedded/concealed.

If laid already, not unless you rehack or easier but uglier lay a new one exposed in the toilet and have it conveyed to discharge near a drain. Testing is as you mentioned. Pour it via some tubing feed bottle. If you are not confident that the drain may be clog free, one alternative is an have an exposed uninsulated drain pipe in the toilet which should be in front of the tiles as mentioned earlier. The AC insulated drainage tube just connects to it directly. If drain pipes are clogged and you don't want the hassle of extensive hacking, install a condensate drainage pump like Easi Flo. The installer should know. A flexi tube carries the discharged water but it still needs to go somewhere so they may drill through the wall to get it into the toilet etc. This scenario also works if relying on external casement in which case just run the flexI tube in the casement to have it discharge elsewhere say a common place if the runs are short or to a insulated drain pipe inclined to guarantee drainage to be discharged safely elsewhere. The other brand that does the same but is neater and can be 'hidden' is Aspen but hard to find. Like this one below:

If you're installing pipes using exposed casement, this Aspen model may be used if the drainage pipes are clogged.

You've ask this before and I mentioned it also. Support the floor mounted compressor as shown. This is a 3HP or higher compressor I saw mounted like so.
These are found in hardware stores and usually used to mount washing machines.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 14 2017, 08:32 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 14 2017, 08:29 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(bagok @ Dec 13 2017, 03:38 PM)
Hi

May i know whether below copper pipe support 2.5HP inverter.

My model is Panasonic 2.5HP Premium Inverter AERO Series Air Conditioner CS-S24TKH

How old are these pipes? Follow the model spec. Have a reliable installer to check. Panasonic models quite sensitive so if you can, install better insulated piping like Inaba Denko Paircoil. See my earlier post for contact.
halcyon27
post Dec 14 2017, 08:59 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Dec 14 2017, 08:36 AM)
oh i though need riser for Compressors so washing machine works too? how do you secure the washing machine riser on the floor since from experience used on washing machine they will still move.
The guys just used cement I think. The compressors are heavy to begin with and they seat them above anti vibration mats and secure the feet with a screw into the mat and block.

It functions the same way as risers: to prevent the compressor from sitting on the floor.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 14 2017, 09:45 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 15 2017, 02:35 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Dec 15 2017, 02:16 PM)
Contacted Rero and no luck as well. They dont do installation service and only sell in high volumes. Seems like they dont do any small business nowadays. Do you have any other recommendation?  sad.gif
Call them and ask for a list of installers around your area. Where are you based?

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 15 2017, 04:43 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 17 2017, 02:06 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Dec 17 2017, 12:29 PM)
[attachmentid=9437154]
hi, anyone know what is the difference between total cooling capacity(W) and input power(W)? if i want to calculate energy consumption, which (W) should i use?
Input power. Cooling capacity is expressed as BTU/hr which is British imperial unit or Watt which is the metric si. EER would be the energy efficiency ratio measured by dividing BTU/hr over input power. The metric ratio would be Coefficient of performance (COP) dividing cooling capacity in Watt/hr by input power also expressed in Watt.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 17 2017, 02:17 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 18 2017, 01:39 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(lepo @ Dec 18 2017, 09:55 AM)
Hi sifu,

Does this York 1.5hp inverter + Rm250 for installation consider ok price?

One shop told me that If York brand are from China and difficult to get spare part?
Read this post and the replies below that on the same page.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 18 2017, 01:46 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 19 2017, 06:42 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Dec 18 2017, 10:42 PM)
Yeah man. Sharp consumes more energy, but comparing the same price range, it has the most functions, and what I really appreciate are, the Sharp Plasmacluster and Long Throw Coanda airflow.

For the similar functions while most energy efficient unit I come across is the MHI, but the price is higher for a greater BTU and lesser energy consumption.

Ended up with the Sharp as budget really holding me back to get the MHI. Sigh..
Think of it as an air purifier integrated into an air conditioner. If this is a bedroom AC for kids, try 28°C AUTO cooling mode with coanda with 2 speed ceiling fan else your own set to 27°C AUTO cooling mode. For my family, we dress according to the climate which is essentially shorts and singlet or cotton tee here and use summer or fleece blankets or without. Day time set to 26°C is comfortable enough or 24°C if very warm. All this assumes cooling load calculator sizes it adequately. The clean mode after every use should prevent mould build up. They have a human comfort program which you can use which might optimise as long as cooling load is adequately sized. Instead of Cooling mode try AUTO mode at preset temperature. It should switch between cooling and dry mode where appropriate.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 19 2017, 06:44 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 21 2017, 09:49 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(gilabola @ Dec 21 2017, 12:34 AM)
I was quoted the following price for a 1  HP installation:
- RM200 for first 10 ft
- RM80 for point
- RM16 per ft

I may need an additional 20ft so it will cost quite a bit in per ft costs

Does this cost sound reasonable? RM 600 + in total
Why the additional length? Is it because of placement choice or condo restricting compressor placement necessitating long pipe runs? AC should go over the shortest possible route that is above the window so that compressor is placed outside at the AC ledge. Normally around 2.5-3m for landed dwelling.

If your preference is because of deep placement within the room which needs extra length to reach compressor space, account the cost for concealment and painting back the walls or laying exposed trunking.

Finally, note that not all 1HP maximum pipe length (expressed in m or feet one way) are the same. Some could be max 10-15m. Rarely if not very few for 1HP to exceed 15m run length. For such it's more common for 2HP and above which commonly reaches 20-30m max pipe length depending upon model. The only exception where 1HP piping going beyond 15m is when a multi split system where one compressor powers a combination of 2-4 blowers of up to 4HP or more in total.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 21 2017, 10:53 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 21 2017, 04:30 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(gilabola @ Dec 21 2017, 03:39 PM)
It’s an old single storey intermediate terrace house where the air well has been covered. The bedrooms in the middle do not have any external facing window or wall. So the compressor has to be on top of the front porch roof and the pipe has to run through 1/3 the length of the house
The restrictions I mentioned apply. What's the total length of the build up area? 40-50ft? One third would be 14-16ft not including the external length to reach the compressor which works out roughly to extra 6-8ft. By doing so, ensure the AC compressor for the model chosen can support the total run length deduced above of 20-22ft or 22-24ft.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 21 2017, 05:46 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 22 2017, 06:24 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(gilabola @ Dec 22 2017, 08:13 AM)
Thanks for the advice, cuttlefish and advocacy. I looked at the specs on the Panasonic website and it says 10 g/ m:

Chargeless Pipe Length (m) 7.5
Maximum Pipe Length (m) 10
Maximum Elevation Length (m) 5
Additional Refrigerant Gas* (g/m) :10

Will watch out for this when I engage an installer
By the anyone has an affordable installer to recommend? The quote I got was RM 800 to install. There is additional work needed to hack walls for drain pipe to route to nearest toilet
Where you based?
halcyon27
post Dec 26 2017, 12:21 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 25 2017, 09:59 PM)
Hi guys! I'm currently prepping for my new move and are considering the numbers of aircond required at my new home.

Currently I'm considering Panasonic Inverter type (no Haier/Samsung - bad experience from them) but not sure if sifus here have any comments/feedbacks?

I'm not sure if the living room x dining kitchen really requires 2 units of 2HP Inverter; or just stick with one unit icon_question.gif

Below is the draft floor plan. Windows are North/South orientation and I might be tinting the windows too (albeit shouldn't be too much effect/benefit already)
[attachmentid=9453252]

Usage pattern wise:
- Master room: Weekdays 11pm - 5am; Weekends/public holidays almost 24 hours (except when going out)
- 2nd room: occasionally during bedtime (1am - 11am)
- 3rd room: rarely - non occupied at the moment
- living room: during noon, afternoon, and evening but will not be continuously more than 3 hours (12pm - 9pm)
- dining: rarely? only dinner time / party time? or perhaps during some light cooking
Your bedrooms will be sunned from morning to evening from Apr to Oct as it traverses northwards and then southwards. The cooling load is highest during this period. The master will get sunned from the other months at the south to some extent but not as badly as the exposed walls faces east whilst the smaller window south.

Living, dining and kitchen seems to be one contiguous zone divided functionally for each of the designated space? Perhaps a 2.5HP AC would help here.

Besides balcony and yard, are there dedicated AC ledges to place the compressors? You might want to consider 2 multi split compressors if there are no dedicated AC ledge. One system 3 compressor (4 or 4.5HP) powers living (2-2.5HP) and two bedrooms (2x1HP)placed in the balcony. The other, a system 2 compressor (3.5 or 4HP) in the yard serving dining (2 or 2.5HP) and master bedroom (1.5 or 2HP). Multi splits here would be Daikin and Fujitsu but in SG there are more choices from the other manufacturers like Toshiba, Panasonic, Mitsubishi Electric, LG besides those two mentioned.

Piping should be very good like Inaba Denko Paircoil otherwise the AC compressor spoils sooner esp if it's a multi split. In SG, they use a multi-split with good insulated piping and regular preventive servicing, it lasts 9-15years before they decided to upgrade. Individually insulated piping ensures the compressor don't overwork which is the primary cause for their konk-ing before their time.

However, the MBR looks quite large compared to dining and living space if compared individually. Do you have the space dimensions for each space so that the cooling load can be calculated accounting the factors imposed?

The other option is a system 2 compressor for the two bedrooms totalling 2HP whilst living and dining use a 3HP long throw mounted above the balcony sliding track or a 3HP cassette if there's which ceiling clearance. Ensure there's enough space for multiple compressors without a dedicated AC ledge.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 26 2017, 12:59 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 26 2017, 01:02 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(topearn @ Dec 25 2017, 08:53 PM)
When we buy aircon, do they include installation ? If yes, can buy now and instal 2 months later ?
Recommend getting a good installer. You can buy without installation and keep it there but have a pro installer come and install it later. I don't recommend shop or developer installers (too many bad experience with incorrect installation and kinked pipes that eventually develop leaks) but rather professionals who know their craft and gets it right the first time.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 26 2017, 01:05 PM

19 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:03 PM