Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

SUSslimey
post May 27 2021, 08:09 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ May 27 2021, 03:16 AM)
Hey guys, need your help.
My Electrolux Air Conditioner displaying H3 error code.
Meaning compressor faulty? Or compressor overheat?
How to solve this?
Just happened at midnight and I will check again later. According to New MCO 3.0 SOP, is technician allow to fix and repair air conditioner at customer's house?
Off the electric power and then turn it on again.

If the aircon can blow out cold air, off the aircon and then use a hose and spray water at the outdoor unit from the coil side, not the fan side. Spray the coils until water that exits the compressor run clean.

Good luck.

This should solve it.

This post has been edited by slimey: May 27 2021, 08:13 AM
SUSslimey
post May 27 2021, 08:13 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 27 2021, 03:31 AM)
Error code: H3
Error name: Protect against compressor overload

Could be the run capacitor died. Its a quick fix if you can access the ODU safely..just open up it will be like a big beer can or two, and buy similar uF one online. Important: familiarise urself with capacitor handling procedure i.e. Discharge old one before touching.

SOP refer https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5148398
Some highrise MO need to see paperwork for recent virus testing.
Although the test is pretty pointless (morning go test, afternoon infected, night result negative) as its historical and not realtime.
A dirty condenser coil is a usual suspect also. Where the dirty coil would cause increase in temperature and hence pressure due to lack of airflow to cool the refrigerant.

This increases the load on the compressor and hence increased current usage, possibly beyond the manufacturer limit which trips the overload mechanism.
SUSslimey
post May 27 2021, 12:56 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ May 27 2021, 11:33 AM)
Hello, thank you for the quick response. Is it expensive to replace the part?
The air conditioner is around 5 years now. I remembered around 2016 fix in the shoplot.
We fix in the shoplot then later transfer air conditioner to my sister's room.
Repair or replace air conditioner in this scenario? Is this error code H3 very common or rarely happens?
Thank you for the quick response as well.
Last midnight happened this, then no cold air coming out.
Spray the water to left or right side of the ODU?
If right side not possible as the space is very narrow and it is blocked by the wall.
Just tried switching on, H3 error code still there with the operation light blinking.
I told my sister to switch the main power and check again later at 12pm.
Thank you for the quick response as well.
Last service date was 23rd April 2021. Normal service like without dismantle the whole unit down.
Just take out parts one by one. Clean the filter, indoor unit cover, swing blade. I guess the fan didn't clean.
I will check with my condominium management and the technician afterwards.
Did you unplug the electricity of the aircon before switch on?

SUSslimey
post May 27 2021, 03:23 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ May 27 2021, 01:41 PM)
I tried many times still same. I switch off then wait for 30 minutes then power on via remote control.
First few minutes like normal then after a while H3 appears and cooling light symbol blinking.
likely the run capacitor then.
SUSslimey
post May 27 2021, 03:25 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ May 27 2021, 03:23 PM)
likely the run capacitor then.
if run cap change still dont solve then it is compressor
SUSslimey
post Jun 1 2021, 08:31 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 1 2021, 03:13 AM)
Hello ceo684 ycs slimey mini orchard

Some updates regarding the Electrolux air conditioner.
Called technician to fix, wash the outdoor unit with water and vacuuming does not fix this issues.
I think I guess will install a new one better as the technician cannot find what's the issue over there.
Wasted my RM50 and the issues still come back. cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Today start lockdown for whole Malaysia. As technician not allowed to fix air conditioner during this period.
Panasonic released new X-Premium Inverter model which is CS-XU10XKH-1.
Got one shop quoted me for RM1849 without installation. The Save 2.0 suddenly open back for a short period.
Final price will RM1649 with the Save 2.0 promotion from the government by claiming through TNB part.
So should I reserve for full price without installation now to claim the RM200 off from the government?
As I might afraid that Save 2.0 aka RM200 off will end again.

The new model comes with built in WiFi which is a bonus for me.
I wish to get the CS-XPU10WKH-1 model but no left right auto swing.
Last time I bought Daikin FTKU series but haven't claim due to quota finished and now open back again.
Now the shop told me Daikin temporary no stock. Luckily get one for my room before OOS.
Now is my sister's room suddenly display H3. No idea the problem comes from where.
Don't wanna waste my time and money when the H3 display again after fixing.
Not only showing H3 error, left and right motor swing also spoil, can hear clak clak clak sound when auto swing.
The technician last month came said no spare part. Gonna let it go I guess. About 5 years like that.
Can't remember which year that I bought it. MCO making me headache to see Air Conditioner out of stock everywhere due to global chip shortage

Anyone using the latest Panasonic ones already?
lol........must be lousy technician.

the reason i ask first whether there's cold air first before proceed to washing the coil is to differentiate the overload cause between dirty coil or compressor no run. to save you the time and effort of washing. should fix the issues and get the aircond to run first then only consider washing the aircond.

i would still open up the outdoor unit, check the run capacitor status.

the capacitor is so easy to check and so cheap i dont understand why a technician couldnt even be bothered to check it. it cost like rm20 only the part.
open up the outdoor unit is just 4 screws.
taking out the capacitor is just pulling out 3 wires from the capacitor.
checking the health of the capacitor can be done by eye or just 1 second probe with a multimeter

This post has been edited by slimey: Jun 1 2021, 08:34 AM
SUSslimey
post Jun 1 2021, 09:28 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 1 2021, 09:12 AM)
I'm living in Penang. So not possible get that price.
I check variation of that price RM1799 excluding installation.
But if apply and deduct Save 2.0 voucher will be cheaper. .
The technician brought and test using refrigerant meter to test.
In the end mention outdoor unit thing dirty.
We told the guy display H3 error. Don't want to waste my time if the next technician cannot fix what's the issues.
Will try to use up the Save 2.0 voucher. Can save RM200.
lel..........

if refrigerant pressure is high means either the compressor is not running or running at a slower speed than usual or dirty coil.

to differentiate the cause need to use a multimeter with amp clamp to check the amp drawn by compressor. if amp high means coil dirty, if amp low means capacitor going bad, if amp very low means compressor not running.

must be a crappy technician laugh.gif
SUSslimey
post Jun 1 2021, 09:58 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 1 2021, 09:56 AM)
Yalor. It's better for me to get a new cause if no spare parts or issues come back after repair.
i would repair it.

a capacitor is easy to get and it is a simple issue.

if it is a leak at indoor unit which is very hard to repair......that i would seriously consider getting a new one.
SUSslimey
post Jun 1 2021, 10:29 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 1 2021, 10:17 AM)
Yup, don't know how to explain the issues to the technician already.
I guess is not Electrolux, should I call Electrolux instead of normal technician after the lockdown?
i cant make that decision for you.

i've been maintaining my own stuff for a long time now after countless fed up with aircon technician.
SUSslimey
post Jun 3 2021, 10:31 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Jun 2 2021, 07:03 PM)
Need some expert advice.

May I know what is those white spot? It looks like ice for me, but I turn off my aircon before morning, and I check evening still can see this. If is ice it should be melt after some times.

I wonder is my additional filter cause the air flow problem. I will remove it and monitor.

just some deposit which consist of mineral, biofilm(bacteria, fungus) etc etc.

those are no big deal and can be left alone. it doesnt impede airflow or damage the fin.

SUSslimey
post Jun 4 2021, 02:40 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jun 4 2021, 02:29 PM)
CAUTION! This morning my neighbour was trying to replace his ODU capacitor and it exploded on his hand...so loud noise, I immediately jumped out of my chair and run outside to see, looks like all his fingers were all disintegrated...
He was in shocked. His mother sent him to hospital already. Dunno what happen next. So becareful guys, don't DIY replacing capacitor if you dunno what you are doing. I will try to upload some photos of the incident later, if allowed by the neighbour.
possible reasons :

1. didnt follow safety first ( power down properly and isolate electricity, disconnect old cap, discharge old cap, install new cap correctly, secure the cap and odu then only on power).
2. buy the wrong cap. as far as i know, all the aircond odu caps are non-polar in nature. if bought a polar one and assembled wrongly(reverse polarity) then the cap will blow when powered on.

otherwise, it is extremely hard to mess up changing a capacitor
SUSslimey
post Jun 5 2021, 07:20 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 5 2021, 12:32 AM)
He didnt discharge the cap properly before handling. All AC cap still got residual charge inside. Should use one of those old 60W or 100W hot bulb to discharge.

Personally i don't condone using screwdriver to short out the cap. A resistor-based cap discharge tool is best, or just hook up one hot tungsten bulb will be enough to discharge it.
But usually a failed cap can’t hold a charge.
And caps are designed to be able to discharge quickly when shorted with a screwdriver. And often there is self discharge mechanism built into the aircon circuit.

The only time they explode violently is when it is installed reverse polarity.

But I have yet to see a polar cap in aircon.

This post has been edited by slimey: Jun 5 2021, 07:22 AM
SUSslimey
post Jun 7 2021, 08:36 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jun 7 2021, 08:28 PM)
I see, thanks for the tip

Oh btw, usually every year( plus minus) my AC would leak water and the drain pipe would be clogged with jelly like substance, is there a way to clear the jelly away?
i would take out the aircond casing, release the bottom hook, pull out the drain hose and use water hose to flush the drain hose.
but this method is for semi-advanced ppl.

less advance method is use the aircon cleaner spray. let it soak and then let the aircond run for like 30 minutes and hope that the cleaning solution dissolve the clog.
SUSslimey
post Jul 5 2021, 06:27 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(alvintcn @ Jul 5 2021, 06:08 PM)
Hi sifus, recently my aircon broke down. It was blowing normal/warm air instead of cool air.

I noticed that the compressor fan is still running, and the compressor sound is softer than usual.

It is an old aircon 1.5hp Panasonic aircon (CS-PC12EKH)... probably more than 10 years already. I managed to get someone to check. He told me is it time to change the whole aircon even though he has not done any checking.

Is there anything that I should or am able to check first?
Lol.
Get someone else to check.
Most likely it is just a compressor start capacitor that fail.

Easy fix.
SUSslimey
post Jul 6 2021, 11:50 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 6 2021, 07:36 AM)
It was never confirm it was the capacitor malfunction but a mere speculation. For an experience AC technician, changing capacitor is easy money job compare to installation of new AC.
yes. charging rm 100 for a capacitor that cost rm20.
total time to change just less than 5 minute

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.0390sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:51 PM